Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Histology reading list. Here you will find resources selected by your course team to support you throughout this module.
You are encouraged to consult one or more textbooks form the list presented. A good histology book/atlas (either Garg, Grathner, Mescher or Young)will be fundamental to strengthen your knowledge and accompany you through the microscopy practical sessions. However, you should use the one most suited to your learning style. Cell biology textbooks listed here provide a further source of learning around principles, methods and techniques applied not only in the field of histology and histopathology, but also in the area of biomedical sciences in general.
Essential Cell Biology by Cell biology is taught in classrooms around the world to provide students with a firm conceptual grounding in biology. This text provides basic, core knowledge about how cells work and uses colour images and diagrams to emphasize concepts and aid understanding.
Call Number: 571.6 ALB
Publication Date: 2019
Molecular Biology of the Cell by As the amount of information in biology expands dramatically, it becomes increasingly important for textbooks to distill the vast amount of scientific knowledge into concise principles and enduring concepts. As with previous editions, Molecular Biology of the Cell, Sixth Edition accomplishes this goal with clear writing and beautiful illustrations. The Sixth Edition has been extensively revised and updated with the latest research in the field of cell biology, and it provides an exceptional framework for teaching and learning. The entire illustration program has been greatly enhanced. Protein structures better illustrate structure-function relationships, icons are simpler and more consistent within and between chapters, and micrographs have been refreshed and updated with newer, clearer, or better images. As a new feature, each chapter now contains intriguing open-ended questions highlighting "What We Don't Know," introducing students to challenging areas of future research. Updated end-of-chapter problems reflect new research discussed in the text. Thought-provoking end-of-chapter questions have been expanded to all chapters, including questions on developmental biology, tissues and stem cells, the immune system, and pathogens.
Call Number: 571.6 ALB + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Textbook of Histology by Textbook of Histology, 5th Edition, brings you up to date with all that's new in the field, while providing a solid foundation in the basic science and clinical application of cellular and molecular biology. Concise and highly illustrated, it functions as both a text and a histology laboratory guide and remains the only histology textbook that includes laboratory exercises for nearly every chapter. Numerous new clinical observations illustrate the importance of histology to clinical practice. More than 170 photomicrographs as well as new drawings, and histology laboratory instructions in most chapters have been added to this edition. Greatly revised content includes new findings in cellular and molecular biology such as the newly discovered endoplasmic reticulum-shaping proteins, the abundance of stem cells in adipose tissue, the phases of Alzheimer's disease and the role of the newly discovered glymphatic system in slowing the progression of the disease, and developments in the microbiome. More quick-reference tables have been added to summarize information discussed in the text. PowerPointT presentations, bolded key terms, bulleted lists, and chapter summaries highlight "need to know" information and facilitate comprehension A combination of USMLE-style questions and image-based questions are found in each chapter of the digital edition Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: 611.018 GAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Sixteenth Edition by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning For more than four decades, this trusted classic has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, Junqueiras Basic Histology provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology; it provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. It covers all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more. Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's explains how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems. Each chapter includes multiple-choice self-test questions enabling readers to assess their comprehension of important material; some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology--and there is nothing else like it. Features: Self-test questions in every chapter Key points and summary tables highlight key content Clinical correlations presented with each topic Illustrations depict key aspects of cell biology and histology Electron and light micrographs deliver a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures Valuable appendix explains light microscopy stains Lab manual alerts readers to see what they are actually reading about in real-life patients; enhanced lab manual available online Links to Junqueira micrographs
Call Number: 611.018 MES
Publication Date: 2021
Wheater's Functional Histology by Take a simple approach to understanding the fundamentals with Wheater's Functional Histology. Offering concise text accompanied by hundreds of captions and images of histology slides, this best-selling textbook will equip you with all the must-know histology information you need to complete your courses and ace your exams. All (print) purchasers receive the complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult) - which now includes BONUS access to an all new bank of multiple choice questions to test your understanding and aid exam preparation. Recognize the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and how it relates to function with the help of over 900 high-quality histology images and illustrations. Master how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter. Access the entire contents online at Student Consult, including all of the images, a virtual histolab, and USMLE-style self-assessment questions and rationales. Gain a rich understanding of histology through simple, concise text and captions that are thoroughly updated with the most recent research and new discoveries. All (print) purchasers receive the complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult) - which now includes an all new bank of multiple choice questions to test your understanding and aid exam preparation.
Call Number: 611.018 YOU + eBook
Publication Date: 2013