The Visual Story by
This updated edition of a best-selling classic shows you how to structure your visuals as carefully as a writer structures a story or composers structure their music. The Visual Story teaches you how to design and control the structure of your production using the basic visual components of space, line, shape, tone, color, movement, and rhythm. You can use these components to effectively convey moods and emotions, create a visual style, and utilize the important relationship between the visual and the story structures. Using over 700 color illustrations, author Bruce Block explains how understanding the connection between story and visual structures will guide you in the selection of camera angles, lenses, actor staging, composition, set design and locations, lighting, storyboard planning, camera coverage, and editing. The Visual Story is an ideal blend of theory and practice. The concepts and examples in this new edition will benefit students learning cinematic production, as well as professional writers, directors, cinematographers, art directors, animators, game designers, and anyone working in visual media who wants a better understanding of visual structure.
The DSLR Filmmaker's Handbook by
A how-to guide for getting professional-quality video from your DSLR Shooting HD Video with a video-enabled DSLR has many benefits and some tricky drawbacks that digital filmmakers and videographers can overcome to get professional results. The DSLR Filmmaker's Handbook helps filmmakers harness the HD video capabilities of their DSLRs to create professional-level video. Packed with professionally-tested techniques, this indispensible book serves as a training guide for the complex steps that must be taken before, during, and after filming. Teaches you the key tools and techniques for using your DSLR to shoot high-quality, professional-level video Distills dense information about filmmaking and filters it down to easily understood granules Shows you what to expect and what to avoid with your DSLR and how to maximize the visual look of your film Shares tools and techniques that have been used in real-world, independent movie-making environments The DSLR Filmmaker's Handbook shows you how to overcome any tricky drawbacks that you may face while shooting HD video with your DSLR.
The Complete Independent Movie Marketing Handbook by
This book gives street-level instruction and real-world examples on how to promote, distribute, and sell your production.
Set Lighting Technician's Handbook by
Comprehensive. Detailed. Practical. Set Lighting Technician's Handbook, Fourth Edition, is a friendly, hands-on manual covering the day-to-day practices, equipment, and tricks of the trade essential to anyone doing motion picture lighting, including the lamp operator, rigging crew, gaffer, best boy, or director of photography. This handbook offers a wealth of practical technical information, useful techniques, as well as aesthetic discussions.
The Set Lighting Technician's Handbook focuses on what is important when working on-set: trouble-shooting, teamwork, set protocol, and safety. It describes tricks and techniques for operating a vast array of lighting equipment including LEDs, xenons, camera synchronous strobes, black lights, underwater units, lighting effects units, and many others. Since its first edition, this handy on-set reference continues to be widely adopted as a training and reference manual by union training programs as well as top university film production programs.
Digital Filmmaking by
Now there is no reason to prevent anybody from making a film. The technology exists, the equipment is much cheaper than it was, the post-production facilities are on a laptop computer, the entire equipment to make a film can go in a couple of cases and be carried as hand luggage on a plane. --Mike Figgis In this indispensable guide, Academy Award nominee Mike Figgis offers the reader a step-by-step tutorial in how to use digital filmmaking technology so as to get the very best from it. He outlines the equipment and its uses, and provides an authoritative guide to the shooting process--from working with actors to lighting, framing, and camera movement. He dispenses further wisdom on the editing process and the use of sound and music, all while establishing a sound aesthetic basis for the digital format. Offering everything that you could wish to know on the subject, this is a handbook that will become an essential backpocket eference for the digital film enthusiast--whether your goal is to make no-budget movies or simply to put your video camera to more use than just holidays and weddings.
Color Correction for Video by
Use color to improve your storytelling, deliver critical emotional cues, and add impact to you videos. This book shows you how to analyze color correction problems and solve them- whatever NLE or plugin you use. Experienced editors and colorists in their own right, the authors also include the wisdom of top colorists, directors of photography, and color scientists to deliver this insightful and authoritative presentation of the theory and practice of color correction. The book provides technical insight into how to effectively color correct your video, also delving into how color can impact storytelling and deliver critical emotional cues. The new edition also includes 2 new "Quickstart Tutorials", a new chapter on how color impacts storytelling, information on the impact HD has had on the correcting process, and updated application specifications. The companion DVD features new and more robust tutorial media.
Film Directing: Shot by Shot - 25th Anniversary Edition by
Shot by Shot is the world's go-to directing book, now newly updated for a special 25th Anniversary edition! The first edition sold over 250,000 copies, making it one of the bestselling books on film di-recting of all time. Aspiring directors, cinematographers, editors, and producers, many of whom are now working professionals, learned the craft of visual storytelling from Shot by Shot, the most com-plete source for preplanning the look of a movie.The book contains over 800 photos and illustrations, and is by far the most comprehensive look at shot design in print, containing storyboards from movies such as Citizen Kane, Blade Runner, Dead-pool, and Moonrise Kingdom. Also introduced is the concept of A, I, and L patterns as a way to sim-plify the hundreds of staging choices facing a director in every scene.Shot by Shot uniquely blends story analysis with compositional strategies, citing examples then il-lustrated with the storyboards used for the actual films. Throughout the book, various visual ap-proaches to short scenes are shown, exposing the directing processes of our most celebrated au-teurs -- including a meticulous, lavishly illustrated analysis of Steven Spielberg's scene design for Empire of the Sun.
On film-making; an introduction to the craft of the director. by
A masterclass in film-making from the acclaimed director of Whisky Galore and The Ladykillers
What's the Story? the Director Meets Their Screenplay by
A structured perspective on the crucial interface of Director and Screenplay, this book encompasses twenty-two seminal aspects of the approach to story and script that a Director needs to understand before embarking on all other facets of the Director's craft. Drawing on 17 years of teaching Filmmaking at a graduate level, on his prior career as a director, and in production at the BBC, Markham shows how the Filmmaker can apply rigorous analysis of the elements of dramatic narrative in a screenplay to their creative vision, whether of a short or feature, TV episode or season. Combining examination of such fundamental topics as Story, Genre, Premise, Tone, Structure, World and Setting, and Key Images with the introduction of less familiar concepts such as "Cultural, Social, and Moral Canvas", Narrative Point of View, and "The Journey of the Audience", What's The Story? The Director Meets Their Screenplayapplies the insights of each chapter to a case study -- the screenplay of the short film Contrapelo, nominated for the Jury Award at Tribeca in 2014. This book is an essential resource for any aspiring director who wants to understand exactly how to approach a screenplay in order to get the very best from it, and an invaluable resource for any filmmaker who wants to understand the important creative interplay between the director and screenplay in bringing a story to life.
Better Location Shooting by
Location filming is growing in popularity with the abundance of affordable cameras. You don't need a studio, a broadcast truck, or even extensive knowledge of how to use a 16mm film camera--all you need is a digital camera, and you can take your job on the road and shoot wherever action is happening! This book will give you the knowledge and confidence you need to take your on-location shooting skills to the next level.
Better Location Filming is packed with the things you will need to know to have great results while shooting your documentary, interview, sporting event, fashion or glamour event, or current affairs/news show. Beyond introductory techniques, the author will tell you how to plan, troubleshoot, handle legal requirements and issues, and of course - he'll teach you all about location filming equipment. Practical and filled with hands-on pointers, this book is perfect for working and aspiring film & video professionals seeking a leg up in their careers.
As a bonus, advanced tips are included for novices who are ready to take shooting techniques to the next level.
Cutting Rhythms: Shaping the Film Edit by
There are many books on the technical aspects of film and video editing: e.g., how to use software packages like Final Cut Pro and Avid. Much rarer are books on how an editor thinks and makes decisions. Faced with hundreds of hours of raw footage, a film editor must craft the pieces into a coherent whole. Rhythmis a fundamental tool of the film edit∨ when a filmmaker adjust the length of shots in relation to one another, he or she affects the entire pace, structure, and mood of the film. Until this book, rhythm was considered a matter of intuition; good editors should just 'know' when to make a cut. Cutting Rhythmsbreaks down the issue of rhythm in an accessible way that allows filmmakers to apply the principles to their own work and increase their creativity. This book offers possibilities rather than prescriptions. It presents questions editors or filmmakers can ask themselves about their work, and a clear and useful vocabulary for working with those questions. Filled with timeless principles and thought-provoking examples from a variety of international films, this book is destined to become a staple in the filmmaker's library.
Indie Producers Handbook by
This is a straightforward, insightful, and articulate account of what it takes to make a successful feature film. Filled with engaging and useful anecdotes, Schreibman provides a superlative introduction and overview to all of the key elements in producing low-budget films.
