Network Security Essentials by
For courses in Corporate, Computer and Network Security . Network Security: Innovations and Improvements Network Securities Essentials: Applications and Standards introduces readers to the critical importance of internet security in our age of universal electronic connectivity. Amidst viruses, hackers, and electronic fraud, organizations and individuals are constantly at risk of having their private information compromised. This creates a heightened need to protect data and resources from disclosure, guarantee their authenticity, and safeguard systems from network-based attacks. The Sixth Edition covers the expanding developments in the cryptography and network security disciplines, giving readers a practical survey of applications and standards. The text places emphasis on applications widely used for Internet and corporate networks, as well as extensively deployed internet standards.
Introduction to Computer Security by
In this authoritative book, widely respected practitioner and teacher Matt Bishop presents a clear and useful introduction to the art and science of information security. Bishop's insights and realistic examples will help any practitioner or student understand the crucial links between security theory and the day-to-day security challenges of IT environments. Bishop explains the fundamentals of security: the different types of widely used policies, the mechanisms that implement these policies, the principles underlying both policies and mechanisms, and how attackers can subvert these tools--as well as how to defend against attackers. A practicum demonstrates how to apply these ideas and mechanisms to a realistic company. Coverage includes Confidentiality, integrity, and availability Operational issues, cost-benefit and risk analyses, legal and human factors Planning and implementing effective access control Defining security, confidentiality, and integrity policies Using cryptography and public-key systems, and recognizing their limits Understanding and using authentication: from passwords to biometrics Security design principles: least-privilege, fail-safe defaults, open design, economy of mechanism, and more Controlling information flow through systems and networks Assuring security throughout the system lifecycle Malicious logic: Trojan horses, viruses, boot sector and executable infectors, rabbits, bacteria, logic bombs--and defenses against them Vulnerability analysis, penetration studies, auditing, and intrusion detection and prevention Applying security principles to networks, systems, users, and programs Introduction to Computer Security is adapted from Bishop's comprehensive and widely praised book, Computer Security: Art and Science. This shorter version of the original work omits much mathematical formalism, making it more accessible for professionals and students who have a less formal mathematical background, or for readers with a more practical than theoretical interest.
Network Security Fundamentals by
An introduction to the key tools and technologies used to secure network access Examine common security vulnerabilities and the defenses used to protect network resources Learn about cryptography, including modern-day techniques like 3DES, RSA, hashing, and the use of certificates Learn how to design, adopt, and enforce security policies Evaluate the nuances of secure network design Secure HTTP traffic by hardening operating systems, servers, and browsers Protect routers through administrative access policies and services Understand what firewalls do and how to implement them to maximum effect Inspect and monitor network activity with IDS Utilize VPNs for secure remote access Learn about PKI technologies Examine secure wireless design techniques Use logging and auditing tools, such as syslog, SNMP, RMON, and SAA, to manage network traffic Companies have long been struggling with threats from the hacking community. Keeping pace with the rapid evolution of security technology and the growing complexity of threats is a challenge even in the best of times. The increased focus on security has sent IT managers and engineers scrambling to acquire the proper expertise to implement complex, multilayered solutions. Network Security Fundamentals introduces the topic of network security in an easy-to-understand and comprehensive manner. This book is designed to provide a fundamental understanding of the various components of a network security architecture and to demonstrate how each component can be implemented to achieve best results. The book uses straightforward language to introduce topics and to show the features, mechanics, and functionality of various network security devices. A series of case studies helps illuminate concepts and shows how you can apply the concepts to solve real-world problems. Divided into four parts, Network Security Fundamentals takes you on a tour of all the essential technologies and modern defenses at your disposal to help you maintain network uptime and data integrity. Part I covers the basics, introducing terms and concepts and laying the foundation of a solid security structure. The discussion focuses on weaknesses and vulnerabilities along with an overview of the traditional defenses used to thwart attacks. Part II examines two components of security-cryptography and security policies. Part III looks at the various security components. Separate chapters cover web security, router security, firewalls, intrusion detection systems (IDS), remote access security, virtual private networks (VPN), Public Key Infrastructure (PKI), wireless security, and logging and auditing. Each chapter in this section is a self-contained tutorial, allowing you to skip to those topics of greatest interest or primary concern. Part IV includes several reference appendixes, including the Cisco SAFE Blueprint, NSA guidelines, and SANS policies. Whether you are looking for an introduction to network security principles and practices or a security configuration reference, this book provides you with the invaluable insight you need to protect valuable company resources.
Designing Network Security by
Providing a comprehensive coverage of Frame Relay technologies and the Cisco Frame Relay solutions developed in Cisco IOS Software from release 12.0 up to 12.2, this work is for both Frame Relay beginners, who need to understand the technology, and advanced readers, who need information on the wide range of Frame Relay features Cisco offers.
Guide to Wireless Network Security by
A major, comprehensive professional text/reference for designing and maintaining security and reliability. From basic concepts to designing principles to deployment, all critical concepts and phases are clearly explained and presented. Includes coverage of wireless security testing techniques and prevention techniques for intrusion (attacks). An essential resource for wireless network administrators and developers.
