Welcome to your Introduction to Relational Databases reading list. Here you will find resources selected by your course team to support you throughout this module.
An Introduction to Database Systems by Date, C.J.An Introduction to Database Systems provides a comprehensive introduction to the now very large field of database systems by providing a solid grounding in the foundations of database technology while shedding some light on how the field is likely to develop in the future. This edition has been rewritten and expanded to stay current with database system trends.
Information and Data Modelling by Benyon, D.Based on a data modelling course held at the Open University, this updated edition places data modelling alongside functional analysis, aiming to balance practical issues with database theory. No previous computing knowledge is assumed. It features examples and an extended case study.
Call Number: 005.74 BEN
Publication Date: 1996
Data Analysis for Database Design by Howe, D.Data analysis for database design is a subject of great practical value to systems analysts and designers. This classic text has been updated to include chapters on distributed database systems, query optimisation and object-orientation.The SQL content now includes features of SQL92 and SQL 99. With new databases coming online all the time and the general expansion of the information age, it is increasingly important to ensure that the analysis and model of a database design is accurate and robust. This is an ideal book for helping you to ensure that your database is well designed and therefore user friendly.