EBSCO have updated their user interface (UI). This change took effect on 5th August 2025.
The update to EBSCO's UI will affect all databases we subscribe to through EBSCO (see list below) and has been designed based on customer feedback to include new and enhanced features and functionality that improve the research experience. While these improvements are designed to improve your search experience as a user of these databases, these changes to the look and feel as well as functions of the databases will be different from what you are used to if you are a regular EBSCO database user.
This guide provides information about this update and how it will affect you if you are using an EBSCO database.
All databases provided by EBSCO have been moved to the updated user interface:
The new UI has an updated layout. There are also changes being made to the functionality of the search, particularly the advanced search options. More information on the proposed changes is available here:
Currently, the new UI offers a different search experience from what you are used to, particularly for more advanced, systematic searches. We anticipate that the changes will particularly impact anyone currently doing/about to start a research methods assignment or dissertation where a systematic search is required.
If you are doing a systematic search, the changes which will affect your search experience the most will include:
Use the links above for more information on how to use these functions in the new interface.
EBSCO have created a comprehensive set of guidance on using the new interface. Below you will find a few guides and videos which might be particularly useful if you are searching in an EBSCO database.
If your questions are not answered by the guidance listed below, please do not hesitate to get in touch via learningservices@uos.ac.uk and our library team will be happy to help you.