Introduction to Education Studies by
In this fully updated fifth edition of this much-loved textbook, you will be introduced to different ways of looking at education, supported by links to classic and contemporary research. Built around the essential themes of psychology, history, policy and sociology that underpin Education Studies courses, key updates include: · New 'Applying Critical Evaluation' tasks to help develop your analytical skills · Analysis of recent curriculum developments including EY assessment, Ebacc and T-levels · Examination of education policy up to, and including, 2019 · Enhanced discussion of educational neuroscience and the science of learning
Special Educational Needs, Inclusion and Diversity, 3rd edn by
Written specifically with the requirements of student teachers, trainee educational psychologists, SENCOs and SEN specialist teachers in mind, this text provides a comprehensive and detailed discussion of the major issues in special education.
Becoming a Reflective English Teacher by
The world of training to teach is changing, with moves to make teaching an M level profession. This change places new academic and critical demands on those undertaking PGCE courses, as well as the practical demands of working in the classroom. The Standards for training to teach have changed to encompass a model and a level of reflective practice that is new, and students on teacher training programmes are now required to demonstrate engagement with their subject and its pedagogy in a sustained and critical way at Masters level. Taking on a set of major issues surrounding the role of teacher of English, this book enables the reader to approach not only the practice of English, but also introduces them in a structured and practical way to the paradigmatic issues underpinning English as taught across the full Secondary age range and engages them with a range of policy and theoretical perspectives that will enable them truly and deeply to reflect on their processes as teachers and the impact of their teaching. It builds firm bridges between theory and practice through exploring evidence-based practice and pursues what this means for new English teachers. This book marks a step change in the literature available to support the professional development of student English teachers, as teaching is rapidly becoming a more research- and evidence-based profession. The materials in this book are innovative in supporting the development of the knowledge base in teaching at M level. Contributors: Angella Cooze, Robert Fisher, Jenny Grahame, Bethan Marshall, Jo McIntyre, Debra Myhill, Vicky Obied, Maggie Pitfield, Richard Quarshie, Gary Snapper, Linda Varley, Annabel Watson, Paula Zwozdiak-Myers
Special Educational Needs by
The contributors focus on particular areas of special educational need, arguing that effective educational provision can be enhanced with reference to the particular problems experienced by children. Set in the context of a generic understanding of special education, this timely book addresses commonly-raised questions: what is the condition and how can I recognise it? why does it occur? what sort of educational, personal, and social consequences are there associated with it? are there any specialist skills and resources which I should know about? what are the implications for educational provision, teacher support, curricular access, assessment and classroom management? This popular book has been fully revised to provide a comprehensive overview of special needs provision. A such it is the key text on special needs in the '90s.
The Practice of English Language Teaching by
In this new edition, Jeremy Harmer brings you *the evolving identities of global English *the impact of technology on teaching *the issue of context-sensitive methodology *DVD with clips from real classrooms, observation tasks and interviews
What Does this Look Like in the Class? Bridging the Gap between Research and Practice by
In this thorough, enlightening and comprehensive book, Carl Hendrick and Robin Macpherson ask 18 of today's leading educational thinkers to distill the most up-to-date research into effective classroom practice in 10 of the most important areas of teaching.
Approaches to Learning by
"This book provides a really sound grounding in the theories that underpin successful teaching and learning. Without over-simplification it provides accessible introductions to the key learning theories with which teachers and students are likely to engage, and it has immense practical value." Professor Sally Brown, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK This comprehensive guide for education students and practitioners provides an overview of the major theories of learning. It considers their implications for policy and practice and sets out practical guidelines for best pedagogical practice. The book can be read as a series of stand-alone chapters or as an integrated overview of theoretical perspectives drawn from the philosophy, psychology, sociology and pedagogy that guide educational principles and practice. Each chapter contains: An accessible introduction to each theory A summary of key principles Critical insights drawn from the theories discussed Examples and illustrations from contemporary research and practice Summary boxes that highlight critical and key points made Practical implications for education professionals Approaches to Learning is an invaluable resource for students and practitioners who wish to reflect on their educational constructs and explore and engage in the modern discourse of education.
Primary English: Teaching Theory and Practice by
The Sixth Edition of this popular core text provides the essential teaching theory and practice for primary English. It promotes effective teaching through secure pedagogical knowledge, covering the key skills of planning, monitoring and assessment and class management, and relating these specifically to primary English. This Sixth Edition is linked to the 2012 Teachers′ Standards. With full coverage of the theory and practice required for effective and creative English teaching, this text is an essential guide for all trainees working towards QTS. Throuhgout, practical guidance and features support trainees to translate this learning to the classroom, embed ICT in their lessons and to understand the wider context of their teaching. Trainees will find it helpful to use this book alongside Primary English Knowledge and Understanding. About the Achieving QTS series All the books in this successful series support trainees through their initial teacher training and guide them in the acquisition of their subject knowledge, understanding and classroom practice. All new titles within the series link to the 2012 Teachers′ Standards and take into accont recent changes in Initial Teacher Training. Jane Medwell is an Associate Professor of Education at the Institute of Education, University of Warwick. David Wray is Professor of Literacy Education at the Institute of Education, University of Warwick. Hilary Minns co-ordinates primary English courses in the Institute of Education, University of Warwick. Elizabeth Coates works in the Institute of Education, University of Warwick, where she co-ordinate Early Years courses. Vivienne Griffiths is Professor of Education at Canterbury Christ Church University.
Education Studies by
This book is an essential guide for all education studies students, providing you with a clear overview of the key issues within your first year. It is an introductory text that encourages critical engagement, to enable you to develop a detailed understanding of the power and importance of education. The issues are presented in four main sections - Theoretical Perspectives; Policy; Society and the Individual; Inside the School - helping you to make the connections between the different themes. 'Stop, Think and Do' boxes play a key part throughout the book, encouraging you to critically reflect on both the issues within the chapters and within Education as a whole. Other features include: Introductions to each chapter to link the themes discussed in each section A summary of the key issues in each chapter for reflection Examples and case studies Links to key readings The book helps you to extend your understanding of educational issues beyond schools to other phases of educational provision.
Reflective Teaching by
Reflective Teaching is the definitive textbook for reflective classroom professionalism. It offers exceptional support for trainee teachers, mentors, newly qualified teachers and for those engaged in continuing professional development and performance review. Andrew Pollard's Reflective Teaching has been established for over twenty years. Each edition builds on that foundation and offers something new. This edition is enhanced by- * A new look- a larger format, fresh text design, photographs and illustrations make the book more attractive and user-friendly than ever before. * New content to reflect contemporary innovations such as Personalized Learning, Assessment for Learning, Pupil Consultation and Every Child Matters. * Updates throughout in line with new teaching Standards and Competences in each part of the UK. * Advanced material to respond to the introduction of Master's Level study within many PGCE courses, the growth in evidence-informed professional practice and more coherent continuing professional development. * Research Briefings from the Teaching and Learning Research Programme (TLRP) - the UK's largest ever coordinated initiative on educational research. Reflective Teaching is the most comprehensive, evidence-informed handbook on teaching, and remains, as ever, both practical and accessible. 'This book and its associated resources have extremely serious intentions and contemporary relevance. We wish to support the continuing development of high-quality professionals who can enhance pupil attainment, and we also want to support new teachers in understanding the contexts in which they work and the significance of what they do.' Andrew Pollard Reflective Teaching is part of a set of integrated and complementary resources- * www.reflectiveteaching.co.uk - a fully integrated online resource providing regularly updated material * Readings for Reflective Teaching - a unique portable library of 120 exceptional readings
Special Educational Needs and Disability: The Basics, 3rd edn by
Special Educational Needs and Disability: The Basics provides an engaging and comprehensive overview of special educational, and additional support, needs in education contexts in the UK. The third edition of this bestselling publication covers the historical development of special provision and national policy-making, and summarises current and proposed legislation and statutory guidance across England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, examining the fundamental principles of the field from policy to practice. Additional focus is given to recent legislation in England extending the age range of young people identified as experiencing difficulties from birth to 25 years, and the implications this has for practice. Fully updated to incorporate recent research evidence, this indispensable book covers essential features of policy and practice that teachers need to consider in and outside of the classroom, including: the identification and assessment of young people's special or additional learning and behaviour needs, and/or disabilities approaches to planning in order to meet special or additional learning needs of children and young people ways to address barriers to learning and behaviour associated with a variety of difficulties statutory guidance outlined in the Codes of Practice in England (DfE, 2015), Scotland (2010), Wales (2004) and Northern Ireland (1998) special educational, or additional support, needs provision and the wider children's workforce implications of disability legislation across the UK This is an ideal starting point for all those with questions about what constitutes special educational, or additional support, needs and disability and how to support those children and young people who experience such needs. It is essential reading for trainee and practising teachers, policy-makers and all those working with young people and their families.