Speech Sounds by
Speech Sounds: * helps develop the fundamental skills of the phonetician * investigates the various aspects involved in the production of speech sounds * uses data-based material to reinforce each new concept * includes examples from a wide range of languages * provides dozens of exercises with solutions and cross-references * can complement existing course or textbook material. The second edition of Speech Sounds has been revised and updated throughout and includes new examples and exercises, a new appendix giving information on career prospects; and a fully updated further reading section.
An Introduction to English Language by
How does the English language work? If you are interested in discovering the answer to this question, then An Introduction to English Language is the ideal place to start. Written in a clear, lively, and easy-to-follow style, this introductory textbook is based around three core topics of linguistic study: WORD: English words, how they fit into sentences, their internal structure, their meaning and how they make up vocabularies for various purposes. SOUND: the sound systems of English, its phonetics and phonology, and English intonation and stress patterns. SENTENCE: English sentence structure and introductory English grammar. Packed with classroom tested examples and graded exercises, the third edition of this popular book features: a multimedia companion website , containing Powerpoint slides, mini-lectures, quizzes and downloadable audio files to aid study new material on language variation and change, including more examples of regional dialects, and extra material on New Englishes a new introduction to linguistics as a subject, familiarizing students with key issues and topics. Carefully designed as a course-book for either group or individual study, An Introduction to English Language remains an essential text for students and teachers of English language and introductory linguistics.
A Course in Phonetics by
Offering the most current coverage available, A COURSE IN PHONETICS, 7e remains the authoritative text for the study of phonetics. Combining Peter Ladefoged's student-friendly writing style with Keith Johnson's comprehensive presentation, the Seventh Edition introduces concepts of speech production, describes speech in acoustic terms, and teaches practical phonetic skills including IPA transcription. Expanded sections on acoustic phonetics and speech motor control bring instructors up to date and help students use tools for digital inspection and manipulation of speech. Numerous updates include MRI images of vocal tracts. In addition, the thoroughly revised companion website includes interactive exercises, instant spectrograms for every chapter, over 4,000 audio files of nearly 100 languages, and maps keyed to sounds of languages where they are spoken. With its broad overview and numerous examples, A COURSE IN PHONETICS remains the ideal introduction to phonetics-no previous knowledge required!
Linguistics by
Written by a team based at one of the world's leading centres for linguistic teaching and research, the second edition of this highly successful textbook offers a unified approach to language, viewed from a range of perspectives essential for students' understanding of the subject. Using clear explanations throughout, the book is divided into three main sections: sounds, words, and sentences. In each, the foundational concepts are introduced, along with their application to the fields of child language acquisition, psycholinguistics, language disorders, and sociolinguistics, giving the book a unique yet simple structure that helps students to engage with the subject more easily than other textbooks on the market. This edition includes a completely new section on sentence use, including an introduction and discussion of core areas of pragmatics and conversational analysis; coverage of sociolinguistic topics, introducing communities of practice; a wealth of new exercise material and updated further reading.
The Study of Language by
This bestselling textbook provides an engaging and user-friendly introduction to the study of language. Assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, Yule presents information in bite-sized sections, clearly explaining the major concepts in linguistics - from how children learn language to why men and women speak differently, through all the key elements of language. This fifth edition has been revised and updated with new figures and tables, additional topics, and numerous new examples using languages from across the world. To increase student engagement and to foster problem-solving and critical thinking skills, the book includes thirty new tasks. An expanded and revised online study guide provides students with further resources, including answers and tutorials for all tasks, while encouraging lively and proactive learning. This is the most fundamental and easy-to-use introduction to the study of language.