Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Final Project reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
There is no essential reading for this module
Research Methods for Postgraduates by This new edition of 'Research Methods for Postgraduates' is a response both to the success of the first edition and to the rapid change in methods and technology in this area. This book is unique in bringing together guidance for postgraduate students on how to organise plan and do research from an interdisciplinary perspective. The wide-ranging coverage of the first edition is enhanced by the addition of new chapter on creativity, the use of the web in research, guides to writing, and the use of software packages. Updates are provided on issues relevant to postgraduates in all subjects, from writing a proposal and securing research funds, to data analysis and the presentation of research, through to intellectual property protection and career opportunities. Like its predecessor, the second edition of 'Research Methods for Postgraduates' is accessible and comprehensive, and is a must for any postgraduate student.
Call Number: STSK 001.42 GRE
Publication Date: 2009
How to Research by "I found this book brilliant, I had never undertaken anything like a dissertation before and this book had everything in it that I needed to know. It is written in 'simple English' which is a bonus as some books are just too hard to understand. Everything you need to know about writing your dissertation is in here. I would recommend this book to all levels." *****Review of the third edition from Amazon.co.uk How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
Call Number: STSK 001.42 BLA
Publication Date: 2010
Critical Thinking for Students by The skills of Critical Thinking are important whatever subject you are studying. They enable you to assess what's been said or written by asking the right questions: 'What does this mean?' 'What else could it mean?' 'What other evidence do I need?' With your answers, you can suggest other explanations or scenarios: 'Perhaps it's this rather than that'. As a creative, enquiring thinker, you can then move on to produce well-argued material of your own. This new edition has been totally updated, but it continues in the tradition of the earlier editions in that it is invaluable for all students, whether you're doing a course in Critical Thinking (like the AS-level) or not. It quite simply covers everything you need to become a skilled Critical Thinker. Contents: Preface to 4th Edition; 1. Giving Claims a Significance; 2. Explanations; 3. Inferences; 4. Assumptions; 5. More Building Up of Arguments; 6. Evaluation of Arguments: Looking at Evidence; 7. Evaluation of Arguments: Weaknesses in Reasoning; 8. Analogies, Hypotheses; Definations and Principles; 9. Credibility of Evidence; 10. Producing Arguments; Resources for further study; Additional information for the exercises; Index.
Call Number: 168.024375 BRI
Publication Date: 2010
Doing Digital Humanities by Digital Humanities is rapidly evolving as a significant approach to/method of teaching, learning and research across the humanities. This is a first-stop book for people interested in getting to grips with digital humanities whether as a student or a professor. The book offers a practical guide to the area as well as offering reflection on the main objectives and processes, including: Accessible introductions of the basics of Digital Humanities through to more complex ideas A wide range of topics from feminist Digital Humanities, digital journal publishing, gaming, text encoding, project management and pedagogy Contextualised case studies Resources for starting Digital Humanities such as links, training materials and exercises Doing Digital Humanities looks at the practicalities of how digital research and creation can enhance both learning and research and offers an approachable way into this complex, yet essential topic.
Call Number: 001.301 CRO + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook by "The book itself covers everything university students need to know from exam revision and e-learning to work-life balance." The Bookseller "We would heartily recommend the book to students who are at the beginning of their studies." Maxine Fletcher, Lecturer, Oxford Brookes "This book's crammed full of very useful topics, information and exercises that I've never seen before, especially in the section on research, which I particularly liked." Joel, Student, Keele University Competition for graduate jobs has never been so fierce. The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook will help you succeed from the first week of your studies through to graduation. Covering all the core skills you will need to help you make the most of your university course, The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook is your key to success. This is the handbook of techniques, tips and exercises. Written by a team of experts and tested on students, the advice in this book will help you to improve your grades, save time and develop the skills that will make you stand out to prospective employers. Whichever subject you are studying, this practical and concise book will help you find your individual learning style and tell you exactly what you need to know to excel as a student: Working out the best way for you to learn Doing your research Presentations Revising for exams Improving your critical thinking skills Managing your time
Call Number: STSK 371.30281 MOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2010