Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Communication and Teamwork Reading List. Here you will find all the resources to support you throughout your module.
Interpersonal Relationships. 7th edn. by Effective communication with clients, families, and professional colleagues starts here! With Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 7th Edition, you'll see how good communication skills can lead to achieving treatment goals in health care. Clear guidelines show how you can enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. And you'll see how to apply theory to real-life practice with case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. A two-time winner of the AJN Book of the Year award, this book is updated to emphasize interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. From expert nursing educators Elizabeth Arnold and Kathleen Underman Boggs, this comprehensive, market-leading text is unmatched for helping nurses develop effective communication skills!
Call Number: 610.730699 ARN + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Interprofessional working: an essential guide for health and social care professionals by This new edition of Interprofessional Working: An Essential Guide for Health and Social Care Professionals provides the underpinning theoretical and practical knowledge all undergraduate nursing and healthcare students will need to learn how to successfully communicate and work effectively as part of an integrated, interprofessional team. As part of the topical Nursing and Health Care Practice series, this highly accessible text offers a host of practice based, real-life scenarios to show theory in practice along with a real -life case studies, boxed features and new activities to develop critical thinking and understanding.
Call Number: 610.696 DAY + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Skilled Interpersonal Communication by There is a fundamental, powerful, and universal desire amongst humans to interact with others. People have a deep-seated need to communicate, and the greater their ability in this regard the more satisfying and rewarding their lives will be. The contribution of skilled interpersonal communication to success in both personal and professional contexts is now widely recognised and extensively researched. As such, knowledge of various types of skills, and of their effects in social interaction, is crucial for effective interpersonal functioning. Previous editions have established Skilled Interpersonal Communicationas the foremost textbook on communication. This thoroughly revised and expanded 6th edition builds on this success to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the current research, theory and practice in this popular field of study. The first two chapters introduce the reader to the nature of skilled interpersonal communication and review the main theoretical perspectives. Subsequent chapters provide detailed accounts of the fourteen main skill areas, namely: nonverbal communication; reinforcement; questioning; reflecting; listening; explaining; self-disclosure; set induction; closure; assertiveness; influencing; negotiating; and interacting in, and leading, group discussions. Written by one of the foremost international experts in the field and founded solidly in research, this book provides a key reference for the study of interpersonal communication. This theoretically informed yet practically oriented text will be of interest both to students of interpersonal communication in general, and to qualified personnel and trainees in many fields.
Call Number: 153.6 HAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Nursing. 3rd edn by 'This is an excellent book. It has been really helpful with my communication teaching.' Mrs Sarah Young, Faculty of Health & Social Care, University of The West of England The new edition of this well regarded book will be useful to you for your entire course. It introduces the underpinning theory and concepts required for the development of first class communication and interpersonal skills. The authors have provided a simple-to-read overview of the central topics that provide a solid foundation in this crucial area of nursing practice. Through scenarios and theory summaries the book will teach you skills that you can immediately implement on your placements and regular activities break up the text and encourage critical thinking and reflection - two vital graduate skills.
Call Number: 610.730699 BAC
Publication Date: 2015
Team Roles at Work. 2nd edn. by Belbin's renowned Team Role theory is a familiar concept for managers and management trainers across the world.
Following on from the best-selling Management Teams: Why they succeed or fail, this second edition of Team Roles at Work provides useful insights into how to apply the theory in everyday work situations.
This book explores the impact of Team Roles from interpersonal chemistry and managing difficult relationships, to cultivating effective leaders and shaping organizations.
Now fully updated, this second edition has new practical examples and summaries bringing this book up to date 17 years after its original publication. Drawing from Belbin's own practical experience it answers the queries that have arisen during those years. Further information accompanies the book on the Belbin website, www.belbin.com/books/books.htm including a free, downloadable, full-page summary of Team Roles with their icons, descriptions, strengths and allowable weaknesses.
Call Number: 658.4022 BEL + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Person-Centred Communication : Theory, Skills and Practice Revised English language edition. by Person-centred communication involves significant and empathic perception and understanding of oneself and others. This book uses the humanistic psychology of Carl Rogers to offer a comprehensive person-centred communication framework, which the authors have tried and tested in therapeutic, education and management practice. Skilfully blending theory with practice, the authors explain the core skills of person-centred communication.
There are reflective exercises and conversation transcripts from a variety of settings, along with many examples from therapy and related helping professions. These span diverse life situations and applications, including:
One-to-one work with clients
Teamwork and groupwork
Online and other written forms of communication
Call Number: 616.8914 MOT + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Understanding Interprofessional Working in Health and Social Care by Using real-life interview extracts, this insightful book presents a contemporary picture of interprofessional collaborative practice in a wide range of settings. Encouraging readers to think critically about their own practice and learning, itdemonstrates how important effective teamwork is in modern the health and social care context.
Call Number: 362.1 POL + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Communication and Interpersonal Skills for Nurses by Good communication and interpersonal skills remain one of the enduring and fundamental characteristics of high-quality nursing and midwifery practice. This is despite major developments in our knowledge of scientific, technological and pharmacological health treatments. However, because communication is viewed as an implicit part of everyday life, the skills required for effective communication and appropriate professional interactions are often overlooked. This book provides student nurses with the essential information on communication and interpersonal skills. It clearly explores the core concepts and evidence base and is practical and accessible, helping students to gain confidence in these skills.
Call Number: 610.730699 BAC + eBooks
Publication Date: 2009
Compassion, Caring and Communication by Compassion and caring are at the very heart of nursing - possibly that's why you were attracted to the nursing profession in the first place. But what does compassionate caring really mean in nursing practice? Compassion, Caring and Communication: Skills for Nursing Practice is a practical book that guides you through the complex dimensions of caring. It considers the ways in which you connect with patients, families and co-workers, and the long-lasting impact of emotions and feelings. Using real-life narratives, case studies and reflection activities, the authors demonstrate how you can develop and maintain the empathy and communication skills you need to create effective, compassionate and caring partnerships. New to the second edition: Comprehensively updated throughout to reflect and highlight current professional pressures and public concerns around nursing practice. Includes a broader range of relevant case studies, discussions and scenarios to engage students and qualified nurses at all levels. Contains new content about the impacts of recent government reports and policies on nursing care, developing an awareness of contemporary issues and debates. The BOND caring framework has been revised and updated alongside new 'caring indicators', to support the development of compassionate caring skills. All references have been updated using the latest sources and evidence-based studies.
Call Number: 610.730699 BAU + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Communicating Health by ′This text will be extremely useful for students on a range of health-related courses as well as practitioners in the health field. The application of theory to practice is particularly well presented′ - Ruth Cross, Senior Lecturer in Public Health and Health Promotion, Leeds Metropolitan University Why is communication important in health? How can good health and well-being be promoted to the public? How can these communication skills be improved? Effective health communication is a critical aspect of healthcare at both the individual and wider public level. Health practitioners are frequently involved in the design, planning, implementation and evaluation of programmes, campaigns or policies in their work. This engaging new textbook explores current research and practice in the field and examines the knowledge and skills needed by health practitioners to promote and improve the health of the population. The book opens the debate around communication and health and the design of programmes to promote health, and thus moves closer to achieving fundamental health promotion goals. The book: " bridges the gap between communication theory and the implementation of policy " contains practical advice for designing effective campaigns " covers key topics such as health promotion theories and models; communicating with the wider public; communication in traditional and non-traditional settings; the role of the mass media and information technologies evidence-based practice; and methods of evaluation. Communicating Health will be essential reading for students needing to understand the factors that contribute to effective communication in health. It provides a detailed and up-to-date overview, drawing upon material from several health-related disciplines including public health, health studies and nursing. It will also be invaluable for health care professionals involved in public health who wish to reflect upon and develop their practice. Nova Corcoran works as a Senior Lecturer in Health Promotion and Public Health at the University of East London. She has a background in Health Promotion work in particular the planning, design and delivery of health campaigns and programmes.
Call Number: 613 COR + eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Interprofessional Teamwork for Health and Social Care by PROMOTING PARTNERSHIP FOR HEALTH This book forms part of a series entitled PromotingPartnership for Health publishedin association with the UKCentre for the Advancement of Interprofessional Education (CAIPE).The series explores partnership for health from policy, practiceand educational perspectives. Whilst strongly advocating theimperative driving collaboration in healthcare, it adopts apragmatic approach. Far from accepting established ideas andapproaches, the series alerts readers to the pitfalls and ways toavoid them. DESCRIPTION Interprofessional Teamwork for Health and Social Care isan invaluable guide for clinicians, academics, managers andpolicymakers who need to understand, implement and evaluateinterprofessional teamwork. It will give them a fullerunderstanding of how teams function, of the issues relating to theevaluation of teamwork, and of approaches to creating andimplementing interventions (e.g. team training, quality improvementinitiatives) within health and social care settings. It will alsoraise awareness of the wide range of theories that can informinterprofessional teamwork. The book is divided into nine chapters. The first 'sets thescene' by outlining some common issues which underpininterprofessional teamwork, while the second discusses currentteamwork developments around the globe. Chapter 3 explores a rangeof team concepts, and Chapter 4 offers a new framework forunderstanding interprofessional teamwork. The next three chaptersdiscuss how a range of range of social science theories,interventions and evaluation approaches can be employed to advancethis field. Chapter 8 presents a synthesis of research into teamsthe authors have undertaken in Canada, South Africa and the UK,while the final chapter draws together key threads and offers ideasfor future of teamwork. The book also provides a range of resourcesfor designing, implementing and evaluating interprofessionalteamwork activities.
Call Number: 362.1 REE + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Mental Health Nursing by A concise and user-friendly guide, Handbook of Mental Health Nursing helps nursingnbsp;students learn the essential skills required for practice. This practical handbook is informed by an interdisciplinary understanding of mental health problems and the recovery from mental health difficulties. Features: Highlights case studies and draws on narratives of patient experience to help caregivers make educated decisions in partnership with service users Focuses on assessment, classification, models of therapeutic practice, specific mental health problems and needs, and the organization of care Use a values-based approach integrating evidence-based data with service users' perceptions Presents case studies and participant narratives throughout Includes practical exercises designed to develop skills and understanding in person-centred care This book is an essential purchase for all students and educators in mental health nursing and related health and social care fields.
Call Number: 616.89 TEE + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Nursing and Mental Health Care by Improving mental health for all is increasingly important in nursing as more people suffer from mental health issues, ranging from stress through to diagnosed illnesses. It is crucial that all nurses, not just mental health nurses, are aware of mental health problems and the impact these have on patients, families and carers. This book gives a clear overview of mental health in nursing, relevant for all fields of practice. It explains the core features of the mental health nursing field, and explores aspects of mental health that every nurse should understand in order to provide holistic care to their patients.
Call Number: 616.890231 TRE
Publication Date: 2011
Communication Skills in Health and Social Care by This thoroughly revised and updated Second Edition of Communication Skills for Health and Social Care provides an accessible introduction to the wide range of communication skills needed for contemporary health and social care practice. Presented in a unique and easy-to-use dictionary format, the book acts as a working tool which students can dip in and out of throughout their course, and continue to use once they have qualified for practice. The updated edition includes new chapters on: " Groupwork. " Interprofessional Collaboration. " Emotional Intelligence. " Assertiveness. " Information and Communication Technologies (ICT). Offering a fresh approach to a core topic on the health and social care curriculum, each chapter suggests group activities and further reading, making this book an ideal resource for students of health, social care, social work and nursing, as well as qualified practitioners. Bernard Moss is Emeritus Professor of Social Work Education and Spirituality at Staffordshire University and Senior Fellow and National Teaching Fellow, Higher Education Academy, UK.
Call Number: 302.2 MOS
Publication Date: 2012
The Art of Communication in Nursing and Health Care by A handy guide to tackling difficult patient and professional interactions with confidence and compassion In this age of increasing reliance on technology, it is essential that the fundamentals of compassion and good communication√>=the art of patient care√>=remain at the heart of health care. This clear, concise guide to professional communication strategies helps nurses and other health care clinicians to build effective patient relationships and navigate a wide variety of difficult patient and professional interactions. Written by a practicing psychotherapist who has devoted nearly 30 years of study to clinician√>=patient relationships, the book tackles such complex issues as dealing with demanding patients, maintaining professional boundaries, overcoming biases and stereotypes, managing clinician emotions, communicating bad news, challenging a colleague's clinical opinion, and other common scenarios. The book guides the reader through a conceptual framework for building effective relationships that is based on the principles of mindfulness. These principles are embedded in discussions of the fundamental elements of interpersonal effectiveness, such as hope, empathy, and listening. Chapters apply mindfulness principles to specific challenging situations with concrete examples that describe effective clinical behaviors as well as situations depicting pitfalls that may impede compassionate care. From a focus on everyday manners in difficult situations to beneficial approaches with challenging populations, the guide helps health care professionals confidently resolve common problems. Brief, to-the-point chapters help clinicians channel their clinical knowledge and good intentions into caring behaviors that allow the patient to more fully experience empathy and compassion. With the guiding theme of "using words as precision instruments," this is a resource that will be referred to again and again. Key Features: Helps health care professionals and nurses communicate effectively in challenging clinical and professional situations Uses the principles of mindfulness to build satisfying relationships and resolve problems Addresses such difficult issues as demanding patients, maintaining boundaries, overcoming biases, managing clinician emotions, and much more Provides special tips for communicating with family members and caregivers Authored by a practicing psychotherapist specializing in clinician√>=patient relationships for nearly 30 years
Call Number: 610.730699 RAP + eBooks
Publication Date: 2014
Assessment and care planning in mental health nursing by Assessment of mental health problems is a challenging area of practice that covers a range of symptoms and behaviours - and involves building a trust relationship with service users while also using specialist skills. Using a values-based approach focused on engaging and working in partnership with the service user, this book is designed to take you from the core building blocks of assessment through to practice-based guidance about mental health behaviours, and concludes with case studies 'on the ground'.
Call Number: 616.890231 WRY + eBook
Publication Date: 2015