Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Complexity in Learning Disability Practice reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Learning Disabilities by Learning Disabilities: Toward Inclusion (formerly edited by Bob Gates) is one of the leading textbooks in this field. It offers real ways to improve quality of experience for people with learning disabilities in all areas of life. This new edition brings together a comprehensive and coherent collection of material from eminent authors with a wealth of professional backgrounds and roles. Its contemporary focus reflects practice developments including the impact of changing policy and legislation on the nature and configuration of services. The leading textbook for carers of people with learning disabilities A comprehensive overview of the field of learning disabilities care Well-written accessible content Activities, case studies, diagrams and further resources including useful web links The embedding of key themes across chapters to draw diverse material into an integrated whole. These are: person-centredness, values, the reality of practice, the range of ability, the range of services and national and international perspectives. Chapters on advocacy, personal narratives and life story, inclusive research, risk, safeguarding, sensory awareness, epilepsy and end-of-life care. Online case studies and activities with critical-thinking questions and 'hot links' to web resources to extend knowledge and understanding thereby facilitating learning. A fully searchable, customisable electronic version of the text to enable easy access and quick reference.
Call Number: 616.85889 ATH
Publication Date: 2011
Caring for People with Learning Disabilities by From the Foreword by Cecilia Anim (Royal College of Nursing UK President, 2015): "...an enjoyable, touching and inspirational read for all those involved in the lives of people with learning disabilities" The vast majority of student nurses, practising nurses and healthcare professionals are not learning disability specialists, but will still need to treat and care for patients with learning disabilities on a regular basis. Caring for People with Learning Disabilities is a concise introduction to the subject which covers all aspects of the care and support of the learning disabilities patient, for the non-specialist. Written in a jargon-free style, the book has numerous practical examples and case studies to really help the reader frame the special requirements of the learning disabilities patient in the healthcare setting.
Call Number: 616.85889 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Supporting People with Learning Disabilities in Health and Social Care by This reflective and evidence-based book will equip students as well as professionals who work with people with learning disabilities in primary, secondary and specialist healthcare settings, with the knowledge and skills they need to work effectively with people with learning disabilities. Chapters - written by leading academics and practitioners in the learning disabilities field - examine and discuss core issues, while a case-study approach ensures a solid grounding in practical skills. This practical element is further reinforced by the inclusion of service-user and practitioner ′voices′, whose lived experiences make the book even more engaging, as well as a range of reflective exercises and regular opportunities for readers to self-audit their learning. Reflecting the multi-professional nature of services for people with learning disabilities, this book will help practitioners and students make a real difference to the lives of people with learning disabilities who access health and social care environments.
Call Number: 362.1968 BRO + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
A Practical Guide to the Mental Capacity Act 2005 by This book provides a theory-to-practice breakdown of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and what its implications are for health and social care workers. Informative and accessible, it provides a clear depiction of the ethos behind the Act and offers instruction for its effective, lawful and person-centred application. This practical guide describes how to assess capacity and what a good assessment of capacity should look like, how to deal with conflicts and dilemmas, and the role of legal authority in decision-making. A Practical Guide to the Mental Capacity Act 2005 is an invaluable resource for any health and social care professionals working with individuals who lack decision-making capacity.
Call Number: 344.42044 GRA + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Supporting the Physical Health Needs of People with Learning Disabilities by It has long been known that people with learning disabilities have poorer health than the¬ general population, but the extent of these differences becomes striking when considering the evidence of reduced life expectancy. In 2013 the Confidential Inquiry into the Premature Deaths of People with Learning Disabilities reported that men typically die 13 years younger and women 20 years younger than the general population. In 42% of cases the death was considered premature.The reasons for this lower life expectancy are varied but what we do know is this group are two and a half times more likely to have multiple health needs than other people, and often have difficulties accessing health services or receiving appropriate treatment from clinicians.As well as looking at the challenges of accessing healthcare and navigating care pathways, this -handbook presents a practical guide to the most common conditions and health needs, with chapters written by experts in those conditions and their relationship to learning disabilities. A range of issues are covered, including mental health, cancer, epilepsy, respiratory and swallowing problems, and poor sight and hearing.The book aims to increase awareness and knowledge of how these conditions and issues present themselves, as well as how they can be prevented in the first place, and best practice in assessment and treatment. It will therefore be a valuable resource for families, support workers and health professionals.
Call Number: 362.196858 HAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Mental Health in Intellectual Disabilities by Now in its 5th edition, Mental Health in Intellectual Disabilities continues to address the need for a handbook which, while well-grounded in research and latest clinical practice, is essentially non-academic and accessible for staff occupying many roles. For example support workers and managers in learning disability service settings, GPs, psychologists, psychiatrists, community learning disability teams and other professionals who may find themselves supporting a person with an intellectual disability from time to time, as well as students of mental health and intellectual disability.The new edition represents a complete revision and updating, aiming to address key knowledge requirements and concerns of people working in the field and provide opportunities for reflection and continuing professional development. The content is illustrated by case studies to help the reader explore how best to address mental health issues in practice.
Call Number: 362.20425 HEM
Publication Date: 2018
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by This book provides nurses of all levels with a crash course in law written in clear and straightforward language. It is filled with insightful case studies and thought-provoking activities that demonstrate the relevance of law and how it underpins safe and effective practice. Written explicitly for nurses, the book is an ideal starting point for nurses seeking to better understand the legal obligations they face leaving them better prepared for safe and effective practice.New to this edition Fully updated in light of the revised NMC Code (2015) Expanded analysis and discussion of the law relating to end of life care, withdrawing treatment, DNR and assisted dying Updated to take account of the provisions of the care Act 2014 Discusses the revised fundamental standards in England
Call Number: 344.041 GRI
Publication Date: 2017
Safeguarding Adults in Nursing Practice by All nurses, whatever setting, will encounter people who are at risk. Harrowing examples of abuse and neglect are frequently in the headlines and the nursing profession has a crucial responsibility to play in ensuring that vulnerable patients are cared for and safeguarded. This Second Edition answers all of the key questions including: What is neglect? What makes someone vulnerable? What role does safeguarding play? What does good safeguarding look like? Why can safeguarding fail? How can positive practice be developed? What are the professional and legal responsibilities facing nurses? This helpful resource will improve readers' understanding of the policy, practice, and research underpinning safeguarding, while also preparing them for their important role as an advocate for, and safeguarder of, the people in their care.
Call Number: 362.173 NOR
Publication Date: 2017