Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Contemporary Health and Wellbeing reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by Provides nurses of all levels with a crash course in law, helping them to better understand the legal obligations they face, and leaving them better prepared for safe and effective practice. Written in clear and straightforward language, the book covers issues such as equality and human rights, confidentiality, negligence, disability, children's rights and mental health. It is also supported by insightful case studies and thought-provoking activities that demonstrate the relevance of law to nursing and how it underpins practice. New to this edition: · Fully mapped to the latest NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses (2018) · New chapter covering death, dying and organ donation · Updated to take account of the Deprivation of Liberty Act · New content covering GDPR, Social Media and Safeguarding of Adults and Children
Call Number: 344.041 GRI
Publication Date: 2020
Public Health by This highly anticipated new edition of Glenn Laverack's Public Health: Power, Empowerment and Professional Practice has been fully revised throughout to provide readers with a practical understanding of how to help others to empower themselves in public health practice. The book explores the key concept of power and offers practical solutions for transforming professional power relations; it introduces a methodology to plan, implement and evaluate public health programmes; and it investigates the implications of empowerment on public health practice. The book also offers two new chapters: 'Patient Empowerment' and 'Helping Migrant Populations to Become Empowered', both emerging international public health issues. The new edition is a timely and valuable literary addition that has been designed for those who want to work in a more empowering way. So whether you're studying or practising, if you aspire to be a more effective and empowering practitioner this book will help you realise your professional goals. Glenn Laverack has spent his whole life living and working with people who experience powerlessness and who suffer the consequences of poverty and inequality. He has a strong academic and practice background and has worked for more than 30 years in Africa, Asia, Europe and the Pacific regions.
Call Number: 362.1 LAV
Publication Date: 2019
Health Studies: an introduction . 3rd edn. by This new edition of a very successful textbook provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative introduction to studying health. With chapters including biology, epidemiology, anthropology, politics and psychology, it is the only book to explore all the major disciplines and highlight how they can contribute to our understanding of health in one single volume. Comprehensive, accessible and written by leading experts in the different fields, this is the introductory text for all students of health studies. Highlights of this third edition include: * A whole new chapter on Geography and health: it explores the relationship between people's health and the natural and built environments * New example features in every chapter which apply each discipline to contemporary health issues- from the increase in obesity to the impact of changing social and welfare policies- along with bullet points that highlight the latest research in the field * A complete update on both the design and layout ensures an even more navigable and enjoyable read for current students, along with new contributions from experts from across the globe. Designed to engage readers and assist learning, each chapter features a Case Study on food, diet and obesity as a contemporary health issue; Questions for discussion, reading and reflection; Thinking about to enable the reader to use their experience to understand and apply concepts; Examples to illustrate concepts, methodologies and explore contemporary issues and Connections which make clear links to other chapters.
Call Number: 362.1 NAI + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Key Concepts in Health Studies by Key Concepts in Health Studies provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners. From ageism to public health, and gender to obesity, the book offers an exciting guide to the multidisciplinary field. Each entry features:A snapshot definition of the conceptA wider discussion of the main issues Case studies illustrating the application of theory to practiceExamples of further readingHighly readable, with clear indexing, and cross-referencing between entries, this is not only a student-friendly textbook that will enable the reader to dip into and update their knowledge of a particular key concept, but a valuable resource to anyone practicing in the health care field.
Call Number: 362.1 YUI + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Introducing Social Policy. 2nd edn. by The completely revised second edition of this highly respected textbook provides a comprehensive yet digestible and accessible introduction to the theoretical foundations, development and crucial areas of contemporary concern in social policy and welfare. Fully up to date, it provides a concise but thorough overview of the context for the provision of social welfare in contemporary Britain and beyond. Providing an integrated framework to highlight the relationships between theory, policy and practice, Introducing Social Policy examines social policy from a multi-disciplinary perspective. It therefore encourages a broad understanding of the importance of the subject within social policy itself, as well in social work, healthcare, education and beyond.
Call Number: 361.61 ALC + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Health Promotion by Promote health and wellness for all ages and population groups! Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span, 9th Edition provides a comprehensive guide to leading health promotion concepts, from assessment to interventions to application. Its lifespan approach addresses patients' unique needs with case studies and care plans, with an assessment framework based on Gordon's Functional Health Patterns. New to this edition is expanded coverage of genomics and QSEN competencies. Written by nursing experts Carole Edelman and Elizabeth Kudzma, this bestselling text covers all the latest research and trends in health promotion and disease prevention.
Call Number: 613 EDE
Publication Date: 2017
Introduction to Health Psychology by This fourth edition retains the highly praised approach of previous editions, with each chapter providing an overview of the theory and research before moving on to explore applications and intervention practice. The primary goals of health psychologists are to describe, predict and then to intervene and this book continues to reflect that process.
Call Number: 616.0019 MOR
Publication Date: 2016
Learning Disabilities by This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It is the authoritative textbook for students of learning disabilities covering a wide variety of topics. It is relevant not only for nursing courses, but also for care workers, OTs, and other professional and non-professional carers. The new edition has been completely updated and includes the latest evidence for practice. There are new chapters which means the book provides comprehensive coverage of learning disablities throughout a person's life. There are also new contributors, including people with learning disabilities. Each chapter is supported by information on further reading and other resources.
Call Number: 616.85889 GAT
Publication Date: 2007
Anti-Discriminatory Practice by Addressing the common concepts and issues across the various forms of discrimination, this core text from one of Palgrave's best-selling authors explores the reasons why the development of anti-discriminatory practice is so vital and examines the steps that need to be taken towards constructing a social work practice based on principles of anti-discrimination and the promotion of equality. This is key reading for undergraduate and postgraduate modules on Anti-discriminatory and Anti-oppressive Practice modules on Social Work programmes, as well as Social Work Theory and Social Work Practice modules. Practitioners will also benefit hugely from the experience and expertise of Neil Thompson.
Call Number: 361.1 THO
Publication Date: 2016
Promoting Equality: working with diversity and difference by Practitioners working within the people professions have a legal and moral responsibility to promote equality wherever possible. This insightful book from a leading author provides a lucid guide to the complexities of inequality, and offers a sound foundation for practice that makes a positive contribution to equality, social justice and empowerment. Now in its fourth edition, this highly successful text challenges oversimplified approaches to tackling discrimination and oppression. It combines an impressive blend of theoretical analysis and practice insights, all conveyed in the accessible and engaging style which has earned Neil Thompson his sterling reputation in the field. With a clear exposition of a coherent theory base that does justice to the multi-level and multi-dimensional nature of discrimination, Promoting Equality is essential reading for students and practitioners within the helping professions, and managers and supervisors across the public, private and voluntary sectors.
Call Number: 361.32 THO
Publication Date: 2017