Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Holistic Care in Mental Health reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Mental Health Nursing Skills by Mental Health Nurses require a diverse skills base to aid service users and their carers on their journey to recovery. During their training, students need to acquire and demonstrate skills to show that the care they provide is evidence-based and effective. Skills as diverse as assessment,forming therapeutic interactions, caring for physical and mental health needs as well as leadership and management, can be difficult to learn and master - until now! Mental Health Nursing Skills provides students with a highly evidence-based and practical account of the skills required for nursing practice. Written in response to the Chief Nursing Officer's review of Mental Health Nursing in England and that of the Scottish Executive, the authors translatetheory into clearly applied skills supported by practice examples, tips and online activities. By inviting contributions from nursing academics, researchers and practitioners this text reflects the best of theory and practice. Each chapter discusses the policy and evidence base for each skill, so students know their practice is rigorous, before outlining a step-by-step description of that skill. 'Practice Example and Tips' boxes demonstrate how the skill can be used on placements. Students can develop their skills throughonline quizzes, scenarios and activities on a free dedicated Online Resource Centre, which also provides updates on evidence, clinical guidelines and protocols every six months. Clearly mapped against all the benchmarks expected by professional nursing bodies and suitable for all settings, Mental Health Nursing Skills provides a high quality and student friendly account of the skills that are required for nursing practice.
Call Number: 616.89 CAL
Publication Date: 2009
Fundamentals of Mental Health Nursing by In order to provide sound, person-centred care, mental health nursing students need a thorough understanding of theory alongside the ability to translate this knowledge into practice. It can be difficult to apply ideas from the classroom and books when learning how to work with mental healthservice users for the first time. That is why the theoretical aspects of this book are presented alongside realistic accounts of nursing practice. Fundamentals of Mental Health Nursing is a case-based and service user centred textbook for mental health nursing students. Designed to support students throughout their pre-registration studies, the text covers the essential knowledge required to provide high quality nursing care. Contributionsfrom real service users and cases of fictional clients are explored in detail to provide excellent transferable skills for practice.Dedicated chapters explore fundamental nursing skills and mental health law before providing a case-based exploration of the areas and subjects that will be encountered by students in university and placement. Practice-based chapters introduce students to the needs of a diverse range of fictionalclients and explain how the skills of communication, assessment, care planning and monitoring can be applied. Each chapter provides a sample care plan explaining why and how clinical decisions are made, so that students can develop their own skills and practice. The text opens with clear advice tohelp students succeed in their studies and concludes with a wealth of practical and thoughtful advice on becoming a professional and getting that first job.Online Resource Centre * Twenty one video clips of fictional service users demonstrate the application of theory and prepare students for real nursing practice * Quizzes, scenarios and a range of activities help students to apply their learning * Interactive glossary explains terminology and jargon* Sample CV's and self awareness exercises aid professional development
Call Number: 616.890231 CLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Dimond's legal aspects of nursing : a definitive guide to law for nurses Eighth edition. by Now in its seventh edition, Bridgit Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is the definitive guide to the essential law that nurses and healthcare professionals need to know. Written in an engaging style, the book shows the application of the law to everyday nursing situations showing the relevance and importance of legal considerations to nursing practice. The book covers the legal system and legal issues relating to medicine in general, before examining more specific areas, such as children and the elderly.
Call Number: 344.420414 GRI + eBooks
Publication Date: 2019
Theories for Mental Health Nursing by An understanding of the theories that shape and define mental health policy and practice is essential for every mental health nurse. This book gives you the knowledge you need to understand those complex and varying theories, concepts and approaches. It helps you to deconstruct mental health and become a critical practitioner by drawing on a wealth of literature and research. Topics covered include cognitive behavioural therapy, recovery, risk and critical theories.
Call Number: 616.890231 STI
Publication Date: 2014
Introduction to Mental Health Nursing by "I recommend this book to students beginning their education in mental health nursing. Its major achievement is showing how the material and knowledge in it 15 chapters may be transferred to real-life clinical settings." Kevin Gournay, Emerirtus Professor of Psychiatric Nursing, Institute of Psychiatry, Kings College London "This is a comprehensive and reader friendly text that offers students a great introduction and insight into the modern world of mental health nursing. The quotes from students and practical activities engage the reader and enhance application of theory to clinical practice and educational development. Students will benefit from the guidance and support this book offers to complement their nurse education." Lisa King, Senior Lecturer in Mental Health Nursing, The University of Chester, UK Full of insights into what it's like to be a mental health nursing student, including direct quotes from current students! This engaging new textbook provides a student focused introduction to the main issues and themes in mental health nursing. The book requires no previous knowledge and the content has been carefully chosen to reflect the most significant aspects of this important and rewarding area of nursing. The book includes specific chapters on: Social inclusion and the Ten Essential Shared Capabilities. Mental health promotion Mental health at different stages of the life course Physical health issues in mental health settings Mental health law Therapeutic interventions, specifically Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) and psychoanalytic/psychodynamic approaches The concept of recovery Scenarios and exercises are used to demonstrate integration of theory and practice. These can be easily linked to your placement experience and overall learning and development. Readers are encouraged to develop an analytical and investigative approach to their studies. Other important areas covered in the book include the National Service Framework (NSF) for Mental Health, the Care Programme Approach (CPA) and the Tidal Model of mental health nursing. Introduction to Mental Health Nursing is the perfect introduction for all nursing students with an interest in a career in mental health nursing. Contributors: Geoffrey Amoateng, Amanda Blackhall, Alyson Buck, David A. Hingley, Richard Khoo, Mark McGrath, Mary Northrop, Tim Schafer, Allen Senivassen, Julie Teatheredge, James Trueman, Henck Van- Bilsen, Steven Walker, Steve Wood.
Call Number: 616.89 WRY + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Assessment and Care Planning in Mental Health Nursing by Assessment of mental health problems is a challenging area of practice that covers a range of symptoms and behaviours - and involves building a trust relationship with service users while also using specialist skills. Using a values-based approach focused on engaging and working in partnership with the service user, this book is designed to take you from the core building blocks of assessment through to practice-based guidance about mental health behaviours, and concludes with case studies 'on the ground'.
Call Number: 616.890231 WRY + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Nursing in Child and Adolescent Mental Health by "This book considers the range of skills and roles that nurse's now undertake within specialist CAMHS, it provides a good basic introduction for nurses and clinicians from other disciplines. Discussion around medication management as part of a nurse's extended role is timely and will be of particular use to those considering this option within their practice. The text is easily accessible, utilising case studies to enhance learning. The inclusion of research and audit helps raise the need not only for nurses to be more involved in research but also the need for clinicians to evaluate their practice. I would recommend this text to clinicians new to CAMHS." Sharon Pagett, Senior Lecturer, Mental Health (CAMHS), Department of Nursing, University of Central Lancashire, UK "Nurses have a key role to play within the Child and Adolescent Mental Health Team. Yet there are few textbooks devoted to the specialist and advanced roles which many undertake within this field of practice. This text will fill the void addressing legal and ethical issues while focusing upon clinical practice and the application of theoretical concepts." Fiona Smith, Adviser in Children's and Young People's Nursing, Royal College of Nursing, UK This book focuses on child and adolescent mental health (CAMH) for nurses training and working in this field. The authors explore the various roles CAMH nurses fulfil and consider how these roles might be undertaken with confidence. Drawing upon both the academic evidence available, and grounded in the reality of clinical practice, the book looks at how to assess the different issues and the various interventions used in practice. The authors consider the effect of child and family development on mental health, as well as broader factors influencing mental health and well-being. Among the core issues considered are: Definitions and consequences of mental health, illness and stigma Child development Legislative frameworks Assessment skills Therapeutic work: individual counselling, cognitive behavioural therapy, family work and medication Clinical governance and supervision Research Chapters include case scenarios, clinical applications and boxes highlighting the key context issues. Nursing in Child and Adolescent Mental Health is relevant to nurses at all levels, but is especially useful to postgraduate nurses and nurses in specialist child and adolescent mental health services (SCAMHS). Other professional staff will also find it useful. Contributors: Laurence Baldwin, P. Mani Das Gupta, Clay Frake, Neil Hemstock, Michael Hodgkinson, Sarah Hogan, Cath Kitchen, Peter Nolan, Theresa Norris, Ged Rogers, Noreen Ryan, Mervyn Townley, Panos Vostanis and Richard Williams.
Call Number: 618.9289 DOG + eBooks
Publication Date: 2009
Working with Serious Mental Illness by In today's mental health services, there is a pressing need for practitioners to place greater emphasis on working with users of services and to use skills that have a sound theoretical basis. This book focuses on evidence-based practice but reflects that, in mental health, the best evidence is the personal experience of the user. Many publications explore theoretical aspects of service delivery or provide an in-depth analysis of specific clinical interventions. However, how practitioners comprehensively amalgamate theory with their practice is often missing. This book fills that gap and seeks to guide, plan and suggest down-to-earth treatment ideas for individuals on a day-to-day basis. Mental health practice focused Full of practical advice, user-friendly, clearly accessible and well-designed Reflects user-input, including a chapter written by a user of mental health services describing their experiences of mental illness Leading contributors from practice Early intervention Supervision Implementation and practice development issues Meaningful activity and recovery Engaging and working with carers Relapse prevention
Call Number: 616.89 GAM + eBooks
Publication Date: 2006
Partnerships in Community Mental Health Nursing and Dementia Care by "How useful is this book? I have referred to it often, and found myself quoting information and models of care from it. I lent it to a colleague to prepare a presentation on 'challenging behaviour' to our local carers' group and he thought it was an excellent resource. It is key reading for any mental health professional with an interest in improving the quality of life of people with dementia. I would recommend that all community teams have a copy." Dementia "Overall, this book is useful. It is well-indexed and has helpful summaries and sections on lessons for practice. It is to be hoped that the title will not deter clinicians other than nurses from reading it, as it will be of interest and of use to them too." mentalhealth today "This is an excellent reader aimed at a wide readership. I believe it is particularly appropriate for qualified staff in CMHTs, but also for mental health, occupational therapy and social work students as a comprehensive introductory text for mental health for older people in community settings." Mark Vincent, University of Northampton, UK "A very useful foundation book for those wishing to understand the challenges of dementia care. " Anthony Fraher, University of the West of England, UK What is the role of the community mental health nurse (CMHN) in dementia care? What knowledge and frameworks influence the way CMHNs practice in dementia care? How will community mental health nursing be driven forward in the future? This exciting and long-awaited new book is a companion volume to the respected Community Mental Health Nursing and Dementia Care: Practice Perspectives (Open University Press, 2003, edited by Keady, Clarke and Adams). The book enhances the link between theory and practice, providing a rounded and evidence-based account of the complexity, breadth and diversity of community mental health nursing practice in dementia care. The text is divided into three distinct sections: Models of community support and practice values Professional roles and clinical work Moving forward: Changing and developing CMHN practice The book includes coverage of key contemporary issues such as service user involvement, nurse prescribing, younger people with dementia, social exclusion and vulnerability.Partnerships in Community Mental Health Nursing and Dementia Care: Practice Perspectives is key reading for students of dementia care at all levels. It is also of relevance to professionals within the field of community mental health nursing and all other mental health or gerontology related areas. Contributions to this book are drawn from practising CMHNs in dementia care, researchers and commentators who are working at the forefront of their respective fields. Contributors: Trevor Adams, Susan Ashcroft-Simpson, Caroline Baker, Diane Beavis, Catherine Brannan, Dawn Brooker, Shane Burke, Suzanne Cahill, Caroline Cantley, Peter Caswell, Charlotte L. Clarke, Vivienne Davies-Quarrell, Kenneth Day, Kay de Vries, Aine Farrell, Paula Gardiner, Sue Gunstone, Philip Hardman, Steve Iliffe, Dee Jones, Gary and Linda Jones, John Keady, Cordelia Man-yuk Kwok, Jenny Mackenzie, Mike Nolan, Simon O'Donovan, Sean Page, Emma Pritchard, Jan Reed, Jeannie Robinson, David Stanley, Fiona Wilkie, Heather Wilkinson, Kevin G. Wood
Call Number: 616.89 KEA + eBooks
Publication Date: 2007
Foundations of Mental Health Promotion by Foundations of Mental Health Promotion provides an overview of mental health and mental illness with a focus on medical, epidemiological, behavioral, sociological, political, historical, developmental, and cultural perspectives in the field. Students are given an introduction to the field of mental health promotion, and both individual level and population level approaches to handling mental health concerns are emphasized.This text is unique in that it was written as an introductory text in the area of mental health for undergraduate students, introductory graduate classes, and practitioners interested in working in mental health. Currently, such a text for health education and health promotion students does not exist. Topics covered:* Roles of health educators and health promoters in mental health promotion* Determinants of mental health* Stress and coping* Major psychotic mood, anxiety, and personality disorders* Alcohol dependence, tobacco use, and substance abuse* Essentials of psychopharmacology and treatment of mental health disorders* Mental health promotion for children and adolescents, mental health promotion for adults, mental health promotion for older adults
Call Number: 362.22 SHA
Publication Date: 2011
Nursing Law and Ethics by Nursing Law and Ethics explores a variety of key legal and ethical issues in nursing practice using a thought-provoking and holistic approach. It addresses both what the law requires and what is right, and explores whether these two are always the same. The book provides an overview of the legal, ethical and professional dimensions of nursing, followed by exploration of key issues in greater depth. This edition features updated legislation and new material on patient safety. Key topics are accompanied by both a legal and an ethical perspective, covering both law and ethics Case examples throughout place concepts in a real-life context Written by experts in the field and includes contributions from leading nurses, lawyers and ethicists Accessible, relevant, and comprehensive, this title is ideal for pre- and post-registration nurses.
Call Number: 344.041 TIN + eBooks
Publication Date: 2013
Older People and Mental Health Nursing by Older People and Mental Health Nursing provides an evidence-based guide to caring for the growing number of older people with mental health issues. It focuses on the knowledge and key skills which practitioners require to work effectively with older people who have, or are at risk of developing, mental health needs. Divided into five sections, Older People and Mental Health Nursing first explores the background, historical perspectives and influences on mental health care in later life. It then looks at the ethical and legal issues involved, therapeutic relationships, and the values underpinning support and care. Part three focuses on aspects which have traditionally been neglected in mental health care, including culture, religion and sexuality. Part four details specific mental health issues for older people, including delirium, depression, and dementia. The final section explores future trends in older people's mental health and offers ideas on how nursing is developing, and could develop, to address these. Offers a practical evidence-based guide to the care of older people with mental health conditions Includes thought provoking practice examples throughout Contains guidelines for nursing practice & therapeutic interventions Includes case studies and reflective scenarios Written by experts in the field
Call Number: 618.97689 NEN + eBooks
Publication Date: 2007
Mental Health Nursing by This new edition of Mental Health Nursing: an evidence-based approach has been fully updated to include the latest research-based guidance. A wide variety of client problems is covered with , so that students are assured that what they learn is underpinned by a sound evidence base for treatment, and qualified mental health nurses can be confident that their practice is informed by the most up-to-date research. Skills acquisition is emphasised and experiential exercises encourage connections between theory and practice.
Call Number: 616.89 NEW + eBooks
Publication Date: 2008
Psychosocial Interventions in Mental Health Nursing by In order to give high quality care it is essential that mental health nurses have a solid grasp of the most common therapies and interventions used in mental healthcare. If nurses understand what the various interventions involve then they will be much better equipped to support patients through their recovery. This is a practical, engaging introduction to the major psychosocial interventions that demonstrates to students what the interventions are, why they are important and how they can be used. Key features - Interactive approach through realistic case studies that show how interventions can work to promote recovery - A patient centred approach considers the social as well as psychological aspects of mental healthcare - Each chapter is mapped to the relevant NMC standards and Essential Skills Clusters so that readers can see how they are meeting their professional requirements - Activities throughout challenge the reader to think critically and develop graduate skills
Call Number: 616.890231 WAL + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Care Planning in Mental Health by Care planning and delivery are essential parts of everyday practice for all mental health practitioners. This new edition of Care Planning in Mental Health: Promoting Recovery moves away from a professionally-oriented model of care planning towards the active promotion of the personal narrative as being central to planning effective mental health care. It outlines essential concepts linked to the recovery process which is carried out in partnership with people with mental health problems and those closest to them. New to this edition: A stronger, more explicit focus on recovery A unique interpretation and explication of the recovery process A greater promotion of the centrality of personhood Examples drawing on a range of international perspectives and experiences Enhanced user-friendly pedagogy, including practical case illustrations and first-hand accounts throughout Care Planning in Mental Health: Promoting Recovery is an ideal resource for anyone involved in the field of mental health care. It is also a valuable learning resource for students studying mental health care and the qualified and experienced practitioner wishing to gain a fresh approach to planning recovery-focused care.
Call Number: 616.89 HAL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Psychiatric and Mental Health Essentials in Primary Care by Psychiatric and Mental Health Essentials in Primary Care addresses key mental health concepts and strategies for time-pressured practitioners in various healthcare settings serving diverse populations. It offers theoretically sound and succinct guidelines for compassionate, efficient, and effective service to people in emotional and physical pain and distress, capturing the essentials of mental health care delivered by primary care providers. The text provides a theoretical overview, discussing mental health assessment, crisis care basics, alternative therapies, and vulnerable groups such as children, adolescents and older people. It includes chapters that focus on the following topics in Primary Care Practice: Suicide and Violence Anxiety Mood disorders Schizophrenia Substance Abuse Chronic illness and mental health. This invaluable text is designed for primary care providers in either graduate student or practice roles across a range of primary care practice, including nurse practitioners and physician assistants.
Call Number: 616.890231 HOF + eBooks
Publication Date: 2010
Contemporary Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing and Psychiatric Card Pkg by First published under the title Psychiatric Nursing, this book provides users with the most up-to-date, evidence-based, culturally competent, authoritative, comprehensive resource available; and presents the information in an accessible, clinically-relevant, and professional format. Comprehensive and easily accessible, this book covers all topics in the psychiatric-mental health nursing profession, including evidence-based practice, applying processes to practice, clients with mental disorders, vulnerable populations, and nursing intervention strategies and outcomes. For psychiatric-mental health nurses and practictioners.
Call Number: 616.89 KNE
Publication Date: 2003
Person-Centred Nursing by The concept of 'person-centredness' has become established in approaches to the delivery of healthcare, particularly with nursing, and is embedded in many international healthcare policy frameworks and strategic plans. This book explores person-centred nursing using a framework that has been derived from research and practice. Person-centred Nursing is a theoretically rigorous and practically applied text that aims to increase nurses' understanding of the principles and practices of person-centred nursing in a multiprofessional context. It advances new understandings of person-centred nursing concepts and theories through the presentation of an inductively derived and tested framework for person-centred nursing. In addition it explores a variety of strategies for developing person-centred nursing and presents case examples of the concept in action. This is a practical resource for all nurses who want to develop person-centred ways of working.
Call Number: 610.730699 MCC + eBooks
Publication Date: 2010
The Person-Centred Approach to Therapeutic Change by From the Foreword `It is an honour to be asked to write a foreword for this new book by Michael McMillan. I have been excited about this book ever since I read early drafts of its first two chapters some time ago at the birth of the project. At different times thereafter I have read other parts and my consistent impression has been that this is an author who has both a sophisticated academic understanding of the material and a great skill in communicating that widely. Those two qualities do not often go together! The book is about change. After a first chapter in which the author introduces us to the person-centred concept of the person, chapter two is devoted to the change process within the client, including a very accessible description of Rogers′ process model. Chapter three goes on to explore why and how change occurs in the human being, while chapter four introduces the most up-to-date person-centred theory in relation to the nature of the self concept and its changing process. Chapters five and six explore why change occurs in therapy and the conditions that facilitate that change, while chapter seven looks beyond the core conditions to focus on the particular quality of presence, begging the question as to whether this is a transpersonal/transcendental quality or an intense experiencing of the core conditions themselves. This is an intensely modern book particularly in its postmodern emphasis. Rogers is sometimes characterised as coming from modernist times but he can also be seen as one of the early post modernists in his emphasis on process more than outcome and relationship more than personal striving. The modern nature of the book is also emphasised by a superb analysis of the relationship between focussing and person-centred therapy in Chapter five, linking also with Polanyi′s notion of indwelling in this and other chapters. In suggesting that in both focussing and person-centred therapy the therapist is inviting the client to ′indwell′ himself or herself, the author provides a framework for considering many modern perceptions of the approach including notions such as ′presence′ and ′ relational depth′. Also, the link with focussing is modern in the sense that the present World Association for the approach covers a fairly broad family including traditional person-centred therapists, experiential therapists, focussing-oriented therapists and process-guiding therapists. Important in this development is the kind of dialogue encouraged by the present book′ - Dave Mearns, Strathclyde University The belief that change occurs during the therapeutic process is central to all counselling and psychotherapy. The Person-Centred Approach to Therapeutic Change examines how change can be facilitated by the counsellor offering empathy, unconditional positive regard and congruence. The Person-Centred Approach to Therapeutic Change outlines the main theoretical cornerstones of the person-centred approach and then, applying these, describes why change occurs as a result of a person-centred therapeutic encounter. The author explores the counselling relationship as an environment in which clients can open themselves up to experiences they have previously found difficult to acknowledge and to move forward. Integral to the person-centred approach is Carl Rogers′ radical view that change should be seen as an ongoing process rather than an alteration from one fixed state to another. In Rogers′ view psychological health is best achieved by the person who is able to remain in a state of continual change. Such a person is open to all experiences and is therefore able to assimilate and adapt to new experiences, whether ′good′ or ′bad′. By focusing explicitly on how change is theorized and facilitated in counselling, this book goes to the heart of person-centred theory and practice, making it essential reading for trainees and practitioners alike.
Call Number: 616.8914 MCM + eBooks
Publication Date: 2004
Essential Mental Health Nursing Skills by This book will help to identify the skills and resources that students already have and show how these can be developed into the essential skills needed for nursing in the mental health practice environment. Essential Mental Health Nursing Skills draws on the policy and theory underpinning mental health nursing but focusses on the practical aspects, providing an easily understandable guide to what to do and how to do it. It also provides a practical framework that can be applied in any setting. Examples are given to show how skills can be applied across the diversity of modern mental health nursing. Essential Mental Health Nursing Skills is also designed to be taken into the practice environment so that it can easily be referred to it when learning a skill. identifies the skills essential for the mental health nurse provides an easy to understand guide to 'what to do and how to do it' draws on the policy and theory but concentrates on the essential skills and their application in practice shows how the skills can be applied across mental health nursing designed to be taken into the practice environment to refer to when learning a skill examples from practice are included to help illustrate the material
Call Number: 616.89 OCA + eBooks
Publication Date: 2007
Risk Assessment and Management in Mental Health Nursing by Risk assessment and management is a core element of mental healthpractice, and all nurses need to be aware of the risks surroundingthem and their patients in order to create a safe workingenvironment. This timely and accessible text explores hownurses can enhance their skills, and improve their practice so thatrisk is assessed and managed safely and effectively. Risk Assessment and Management in Mental Health Nursingexplores issues including context and definitions of risk, riskassessment tools and techniques, strategies for preventing risksituations, suicide, self-harm, neglect, forensic aspects of risk,substance misuse, ethical considerations, , victimology, risk toothers and risk to self. Special Features: Written in the context of latest policy developments such asthe National Service Frameworks Discusses the role of the mental health nurse in theassessment and management of risk Explores an increasingly important and timely subject inmental health practice Practical focus, with case studies throughout Written by experts in the field
Call Number: 616.89 WOO + eBooks
Publication Date: 2009
Key Concepts in Mental Health by This book is not available as a print inspection copy. To download an E-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.Now in its 4th edition, this text continues to give you a complete and concise overview of mental health and all the issues that surround it from a theoretical and practical perspective. Restructured into 4 sections, the book starts by defining mental health and mental abnormality before examining the mental health services and the place mental health takes in society. Fully updated, the book offers: 66 bite-sized chapters including new ones on the Biopsychosocial Model, trauma and mindfulness Key points summarising what you need to know for study and practice Examples of further reading to help you expand your knowledge It is essential reading for students of health, nursing, mental health, social work and social care. It is also valuable reading for students of counselling and psychotherapy.
Call Number: 362.2 PIL
Publication Date: 2017
Psychological Interventions in Mental Health Nursing by "This book provides excellent foundations in common psychological interventions that are used in mental health and other fields of nursing ... Each chapter uses a scenario, which helps to apply the concepts to the real world of providing healthcare. This is reinforced by the robust manner in which the text signposts readers to examples which they may use or test out in their day to day practice of mental health nursing." Paul Barber, Senior Lecturer, University of Chester, UK "This accessible scenario based text gets to the heart of how to effectively integrate psychological values and emotional intelligence with professional, ethical and cognitive skills to develop a meaningful collaborative therapeutic relationship with mental health service users and their families. The language, style, and format is engaging and linked to mental health field-specific competencies which all pre-registration mental health nurses must now achieve to graduate and register with the Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC 2010)." Linda Cooper, Professional Head Mental Health Nursing, Learning Disability and Psychosocial Care, Cardiff University, UK (former Chair Mental Health Nurse Academics UK "This book takes you on a developmental journey of psychological interventions and provides a good grounding in the subject. It is one of few that successfully endeavours to preserve the true meaning of the service user''s experience whilst promoting the importance of clinical effectiveness and evidence base. This is an ideal text for student nurses and qualified practitioners ... and is particularly rewarding given the balance of authors from a clinical, academic and research background." Dr Joy A Duxbury, Head of Centre of Mental Health and Wellbeing, University of Central Lancashire, UK "Whether you struggle with mental health as a service user, or a student embarking on a career in mental health nursing, you will find this book accessible and useful ... It provides students and health professionals from a variety of backgrounds the opportunity to advance their knowledge and skills, and offers a developing and innovative approach that will place them at the forefront of mental health practice." Robert Walker, Fellow Member of the Institute of Mental Health and Associate Expert for the School of Inclusion and Communities, UK This ground-breaking and accessible book is the ideal resource for trainee and qualified mental health nurses looking for a guide to the main psychological therapies and interventions available in practice. Framed by the Nursing and Midwifery Council''s (2010) standards for pre-registration nursing education and written by experts in the field, the book explains which interventions are most effective for each of the most common mental health disorders. It also shows you how these interventions work in practice and illustrates the skills required to use them in your own practice. The book also: Provides a practical and pragmatic approach to the delivery of psychological interventions Promotes collaboration, effective risk management and consideration of the value-base of mental health nursing practice Encourages critically reflective learning through use of scenarios and interactive quizzes Considers the influence of policies and guidelines Particular attention is paid to the ethical context of psychological interventions and to the use of psychological interventions by newly qualified mental health nurses. The book challenges you to question your underlying beliefs, values and assumptions. Bursting with examples based on real practitioners'' experiences, this is a must have book for pre-registration mental health nursing students and qualified mental health nurses looking to develop their therapeutic skills and understanding. Contributors: Denise Aspinall, May Baker, Ged Carney, John Harrison, Paula Kennedy, Deborah Knott, Denise Parker, Karen Rea, James Ridley, Rebecca Rylance, Peter Simpson and Lisa Woods.
Call Number: 616.8914 SMI + eBooks
Publication Date: 2012
Planning Care in Mental Health Nursing by This practical text provides a systematic overview of the process of planning care for specific client groups and interventions. It draws on the experience of good practice, and explores areas such as assessment process, theoretical framework, practice development and the skills necessary to plan care.
Call Number: 616.89 TUM
Publication Date: 2004
Mental Health Practice by 'Mental Health Practice: a guide to compassionate care' examines the relationship between mental health professionals and people using services during the recovery process. The disabling distress experienced by many people with mental health problems is viewed from a holistic, person-centred perspective with the road to recovery being seen as the result of true collaboration between professionals and service users. This book is the second edition of 'Mental health Nursing: the art of compassionate care' and a companion book to 'Recovery: a guide for mental health practitioners'. The first in-depth exploration of the intentional use of self in mental health care and its significance in the recovery journey, extensively updated New content on action research, eco-psychology and organisational culture Story boxes illustrating key themes in compassionate care Self-enquiry boxes engaging readers in reflective practice A primer on humanistic psychology and its relevance to mental health care
Call Number: 616.89 WAT + eBooks
Publication Date: 2008
Recovery by In this book the author charts the journey of recovery from severe and disabling mental health problems. The book's optimistic tone challenges the prevailing notion that recovery is an outcome open only to a minority. It describes the necessary transformation of mental health services into a recovery culture. At the heart of the book are five recovery stories which are a testament to the indomitable nature of the human spirit that enables us to rise above adversity. It is these themes that mental health professionals must engage with if they are to be guides and companions to people on their recovery journeys. Uses a model of recovery based on the 'hero's journey' Maps a clear pathway to recovery that can be used collaboratively by clients and mental health professionals In-depth exploration of recovery relationships and a recovery culture
Call Number: 616.89 WAT
Publication Date: 2007