Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Promoting Health in Acute Care Practice reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient by Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient sets out the principles and practices needed for early recognition and assessment of patients either at risk of or showing signs of acute deterioration, or those recently relocated from higher levels of care. The focus is on patient assessment, interpretation and evaluation of data, immediate management of significant problems, ongoing and further assessments in order to improve clinical outcomes. Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient provides a framework for a systematic initial patient assessment and explores principles of effective assessment. Body systems are considered in order of life-threatening priority following the ABCDE approach, dealing with the assessment and management of airway, breathing, circulation, disability - and everything else; covering topics such as visual, palpatory and auscultatory assessment, use of additional documented information (charts, notes etc), and interpreting diagnostic investigations. Methods to ensure effective communication and team-working are also discussed. Key features Part of the Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses series Aimed at nurses working in wards and specialist departments Explores the assessment skills required for a rapid response to a patient at risk of becoming acutely unwell Enables students and practitioners to develop practical and interpretative skills Provides a framework for assessment and principles of first line treatment Includes ?Look?, ?Listen?, ?Feel? and ?Measure? icons Sheila Adam is Head of Nursing, Specialist Hospitals Board, UCL Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and author of Nursing in Critical Care: Science and Practice (now in its 2nd edition), The Oxford Handbook of Critical Care Nursing and Nutrition in the Critically Ill. John Welch is Nurse Consultant in Critical Care, University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, and former Chair of the National Outreach Forum. Mandy Odell is Nurse Consultant in Critical Care, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust, Nurse and Allied Health Professional representative for the Intensive Care Society and former Chair of the British Association of Critical Care Nurses.
Call Number: 616.075 ADA + eBooks
Publication Date: 2010
Interpersonal Relationships by Effective communication with clients, families, and professional colleagues starts here! With Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 7th Edition, you'll see how good communication skills can lead to achieving treatment goals in health care. Clear guidelines show how you can enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. And you'll see how to apply theory to real-life practice with case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. A two-time winner of the AJN Book of the Year award, this book is updated to emphasize interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. From expert nursing educators Elizabeth Arnold and Kathleen Underman Boggs, this comprehensive, market-leading text is unmatched for helping nurses develop effective communication skills!
Call Number: 610.730699 ARN + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Acute Illness Management by The prospect of caring for acutely ill patients has the potential to overwhelm students and newly qualified health professionals, with many reporting feelings of stress, fear and inexperience. In this context, Acute Illness Management arrives as a much needed guide to the fundamental aspects of care in the hospital setting.This book equips students with a practical understanding of essential skills ranging from resuscitation to early intervention and to trauma care. It explains the rationale behind protocols of care highlighting the relationship between theory and practice. Key Features:Includes tips for analyzing care decisions in a critical and effective mannerOffers reflective activities and self-assessment questions to cement learningProvides legal and ethical considerationsAcute Illness Management is an invaluable resource for students and qualified practitioners in nursing and other health professions.
Call Number: 616.028 MUL + ebook
Publication Date: 2011
Foundations of Nursing Practice by This second edition of Foundations of Nursing Practice has been revised and updated specifically to meet the needs of nursing students in all fields of practice The book explains how and why sensitive, safe, evidence-based holistic nursing care is carried out, including topics common to all fields of practice. Core nursing skills are emphasised to reflect the importance of clinical skills as well as the underpinning theory. Aids to learning in each chapter: Learning outcomes Interactive boxes for all age groups and fields of nursing practice Key words and phrases for literature searching Useful websites, references and further reading. This book provides a comprehensive introduction to nursing that will meet the needs of students, nurses returning to practice, mentors and other registered nurses. Relevant to all branches of nursing settings: infants, children, adults, pregnant women, older people and people with a learning disability or mental health problems Themes relevant to all stages and fields of nursing practice include safety, infection prevention and control, managing stress, communication, managing wounds and pressure ulcers, and dealing with loss Scenarios develop the skills of evidence-based practice, critical thinking, reflection and health promotion, and encourage further learning The areas of psychology, sociology, physiology and pathology are clearly related to nursing practice Key principles of health promotion, the law and ethics, the human lifespan and development are explained in earlier chapters, then applied in later chapters Cultural diversity information helps with understanding the needs of people from different backgrounds Person-centred approach encourages problem solving and application to practice Evidence-based practice is explicit throughout, and best-practice guidelines underpin exploration/explanation of nursing care. Easy-reference Glossary at the back of the book. Meets the requirements of the new pre-registration nursing curriculum including the NMC (2010) competencies and Essential Skills Clusters Greater emphasis on safeguarding vulnerable people, maternal health and first aid Self-test questions with answers available on accompanying website.
Call Number: 610.73 BRO + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Minor Illness Manual by This new edition of the best-selling Minor Illness Manual has been completely revised and updated with the latest clinical guidance and prescribing information, and includes a new chapter on the changing demands of Primary Care. The simple, clear and easy-to-use format enables Primary Care professionals - such as nurses, pharmacists, midwives, doctors, and paramedics - to quickly access the current procedures for dealing with situations they are likely to encounter in their daily practice.
Call Number: 616 JOH + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
An Introduction to Human Disease: Pathology and Pathophysiology Correlations by An Introduction to Human Disease: Pathology and Pathophysiology Correlations, Ninth Edition provides students with a clear and well-illustrated explanation of the structural and functional changes associated with disease, the clinical manifestations of disease, and how to determine treatment. Ideal for Pathology, Pathophysiology, or Human Disease courses, the first part of the text deals with general concepts and with diseases affecting the body as a whole. The second part considers the various organ systems and their diseases.AncillariesFor InstructorsPowerPoint Presentations, an Instructors Manual, a Test Bank, and an Image Bank. All materials are formatted for online course management systems.For StudentsThe companion website is accessible to students through the redeemable access code provided in every new text. It offers useful study tools and activities including Crossword Puzzles, an Interactive Glossary, Practice Quizzes, Web Links, and more.
Call Number: 616.07 CRO
Publication Date: 2012
Nursing and Collaborative Practice by As modern healthcare evolves, it is essential for nurses to understand and work with a diverse range of people to provide quality care. But it is often difficult to grasp the many roles of those in healthcare services. This book provides a clear, practical and up-to-date guide to the various people that nurses work with, including the essential role of service users themselves, and how to work with them to improve care. This new edition includes increased coverage of teamwork and improving mental health. It is updated throughout including discussion of LiNKS, the Care Quality Commission and Every Child Matters.
Call Number: 610.730699 GOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Acute Nursing Care by Delays in recognising deterioration or inappropriate management of people in acute care settings can result in late treatment, avoidable admissions to intensive care units and in some instances unnecessary deaths. As the role of the nurse in healthcare settings continues to change and evolve, today's student nurses need to be equipped with the fundamental skills to recognise and manage deterioration in the patient in a competent and confident manner, as you learn to become practitioners of the future. Using a body systems approach and emphasising the central role and function of the nurse throughout, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the essential issues in this important subject. Topics covered include: recognition and identification of physiological deterioration in adults; identification of disordered physiology that may lead to a medical emergency linked to deterioration of normal function; relevant anatomy and physiology; pathophysiological changes and actions that need to be taken; immediate recognition and response; investigations, diagnosis and management issues; and teaching and preventative strategies.
Call Number: 616.028 PEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Emergency Nursing at a Glance by From the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series comes a wide-ranging and succinct overview of the key concepts of emergency care. Emergency Nursing at a Glance uses the unique and highly visual at a Glance format to convey vital information quickly and efficiently, ensuring that nursing students have access to all the important topics they need for an emergency care placement. This highly visual, easy-to-read guide is the ideal companion for anyone entering fields involving urgent or unscheduled care. *Includes all aspects of emergency care, including trauma, minor injury, triage processes, patient assessment, common emergency presentations, as well as legal, ethical and professional issues. *Covers care of adults, children, and those with learning disabilities and mental health conditions *Presented in the bestselling at a Glance format, with superb illustrations and a concise approach Emergency Nursing at a Glance is an invaluable resource for nursing students, newly qualified nurses and other healthcare professionals working in emergency departments, urgent care centres, minor injury units and walk-in centres.
Call Number: 616.025 HOL
Publication Date: 2016
Gray's Anatomy by In 1858, Drs. Henry Gray and Henry Vandyke Carter created a book for their surgical colleagues that established an enduring standard among anatomical texts. After more than 150 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice. This 41st edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from field leaders around the world. The book's traditional lavish art programme and clear text have been further honed and enhanced, while major advances in imaging techniques and the new insights they bring are fully captured in new state-of-the-art X-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasonic images. The completely reconfigured accompanying eBook version is richly enhanced with additional content and media, covering all the body regions, cell biology and embryogenesis. This unlocks a whole new level of related information, interactivity and understanding, in keeping with the spirit of innovation that has characterized Gray's Anatomy since its inception. Presents the most detailed and dependable coverage of anatomy available anywhere. Regional organization collects all relevant material on each body area together in one place, making access to core information easier for clinical readers. Anatomical information is matched with key clinical information where relevant. Numerous clinical discussions emphasize considerations that may affect medical care. Each chapter has been edited by experts in their field, ensuring access to the very latest evidence-based information on that topic. More than 1,000 completely new photographs, including an extensive electronic collection of the latest X-ray, CT, MR, and histological images. The downloadable Expert Consult eBook version included with your purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Carefully selected electronic enhancements include additional text, tables, illustrations, labelled imaging and videos - as well as 24 specially invited 'Commentaries' on new and emerging topics related to anatomy. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Call Number: 611 STA + eBook
Publication Date: 2015