Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Introduction to Research reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
How to do a systematic literature review in nursing. by This is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in nursing, or related healthcare professions, that takes you through every step of the process from start to finish.
From writing your review question to writing up your review, this practical book is the perfect workbook companion if you are doing your first literature review for study or clinical practice improvement.
The book features sample review case studies to help identify good practice as well as the pitfalls to avoid, and the practical explanations will be invaluable at every stage.
Call Number: 610.73072 BET
Publication Date: 2016
Doing a Systematic Review by Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
Call Number: 362.10723 BOL
Publication Date: 2017
How to Read a Paper by Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Call Number: 610.72 GRE + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Searching Skills Toolkit by Searching Skills Toolkit is an expert guide to help you find the clinical evidence you need more easily and effectively. Clearly presented with useful tips and advice, flow charts, diagrams and real-life clinical scenarios, it shows the best methods for finding quality evidence. From deciding where to start, to building a search strategy, refining results and critical appraisal, it is a step-by-step guide to the process of finding healthcare evidence, and is designed for use by all health and social care professionals. This second edition has been expanded with new chapters on searching for sources to support evidence-based management decision making and how to better enable your patients to make informed choices. It has also been fully updated to include new web sources, open source reference management software, and new training resources and exercises. Searching Skills Toolkit is an ideal reference for doctors, nurses, allied health professionals, managers and decision makers, researchers and students.
Call Number: 616.00722 DEB + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Nursing Research Using Grounded Theory by Grounded theory, often considered the parent of all qualitative research, is a complex approach used to develop theory about a phenomenon rooted in observation of empirical data. Widely used in nursing, grounded theory enables researchers to apply what they learn from interviewees to a wider client population. This is a practical "how to" guide to conducting research using this qualitative design. It is part of an innovative series for novice researchers and specialists alike focusing on nine state-of-the-art methodologies from a nursing perspective. International scholars of grounded theory discuss the theoretical rationale for using this design, describe its components, and delineate a plan for generating theory using grounded theory methodology. Examples from published nursing research, with author commentary, help support new and experienced researchers in making decisions and facing challenges. The book describes traditional and focused grounded theory, phases of research, and methodology from sample and setting to dissemination and follow-up. It encompasses state-of-the-art research about grounded theory with an extensive bibliography and resources. Varied case studies range from promoting health for an overweight child to psychological adjustment of Chinese women with breast cancer to a study of nursing students' experiences in the off-campus clinical setting, among many others. The book also discusses techniques whereby researchers can ensure high standards of rigor. Each chapter includes objectives, competencies, review questions, critical thinking exercises, and links to web resources. With a focus on practical problem solving throughout, the book will be of value to novice and experienced nurse researchers, graduate teachers and students, in-service educators and students, and nursing research staff at health care institutions. Key Features: Includes examples of state-of-the-art grounded theory nursing research with content analysis and extensive bibliography Describes types of grounded theory, phases of research, and methodology Provides case studies including description, data collection and analysis, and dissemination Written by international scholars of grounded theory research
Call Number: 610.73072 CHE + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Understanding Research for Nursing Students 4th edn. by If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life
Call Number: 610.73072 ELL
Publication Date: 2018
Evaluating Research for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice by Where is the evidence in a nursing research study? What is the evidence? How good is the evidence? And, how is it relevant to providing evidence-based nursing care? Ensure that students can meet the AACN's (American Association of Colleges of Nursing) goal of identifying valid research findings and using them to determine if they are providing care that is supported by evidence.
Call Number: 610.73 FAW + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Nursing Research by Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Call Number: 610.73072 LOB + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Research Methods in Health by Research Methods in Health, third edition, is an introductory text that shows students different research techniques and how they are of value to the health professions. The text assumes no prior knowledge and is written in an appealing, accessible style using examples to demonstrate the relevance and practical application of research to health care practice.Written to be inclusive of all health professions, fostering a team-based approach to health care practice.Covers qualitative, quantitative and mixed method research methods.Shows how to decide which research method to use and when.Draws sensible links between evidence-based practice and research methodology.Introduces ways in which you can make sense of the research data you have collected and instructions on how to write up the data in a more meaningful way. NEW TO THIS EDITION New chapter 2: Getting started: Research Design and Evidence-Based Practice - on designing and planning a research project. It looks at salient issues that researchers must consider in designing and planning for their research. It illustrates the differences between qualitative and quantitative research and includes content on literature review and research proposals.More material on how to critically evaluate qualitative, quantitative and mixed method researchUpdated references and examplesMore on evidence-based practice and systematic reviewMore nursing examples includedA guided tour is included to assist navigation and explain how to best take advantage of the learning features used throughout. LEARNING FEATURES Chapter Objectives - identify the material that students will cover in each chapter Key terms - help student identify key vocabulary to help them with their learning Stop and Think - questions for students that encourage them to critically reflect on what they've read in the chapter. Research in Practice - These are research examples or practical cases that demonstrate how research can be applied in clinical practice. Key term margin notes - help student identify key vocabulary to help them with their learning Practice exercises (formerly tutorial exercises) - clarify use in both tutorials and student self-directed study (based on feedback) Chapter summary - review key learning points for each chapter so students can ensure they've covered the key topics. Further Reading and Websites - encourage students to conduct further investigation into each topic.
Call Number: 641.5638 LIA
Publication Date: 2017
Nursing research: principles, process and issues by Learning about research can be a daunting task. This best-selling core text book offers a comprehensive introduction to important research concepts, processes and issues. The author guides readers who are new to research but also introduces new debates and perspectives to those with some experience wanting to develop their skills further.
This popular book equips students with the information and skills they need to read, comprehend and critique research. Whether an undergraduate taking an introductory research module, a postgraduate nursing student embarking on a project, or an experienced practitioner wanting to sharpen your skills, Parahoo's accessible writing style will ensure readers are able to utilise research throughout their study and in everyday practice.
Call Number: 610.73072 PAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Research for Evidence-Based Practice in Healthcare by This is an essential, accessible introduction to thepracticalities of research and evidence-based practice aimed at allpre-registration nursing and healthcare students. It placesresearch and evidence in the context of clinical practice,introduces the main methodological approaches in qualitative andquantitative research, and describes the processes of researchappraisal, dissemination and implementation.
Call Number: 610.73072 NEW
Publication Date: 2010
Understanding Nursing Research by Edition after edition, Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice is known as one of the leading undergraduate nursing textbooks. The streamlined and enhanced 7th edition gives you unique insights into understanding, appraising, and applying published research for evidence-based nursing practice. Known for its authoritative content, time-tested systematic approach, and unique research example format - the new edition includes an enhanced EBP focus, added mixed-methods and reduced outcomes research content, plus a spotlight on need-to-know information to meet your busy life. Clear, step-by-step organization introduces the research process and demonstrates how this systematic framework relates to EBP. Research examples provide practice in working with published studies, with many of the examples including Critical Appraisal and Implications for Practice sections. Critical Appraisal Guidelines boxes provide step-by-step guidance in appraising published research studies. Balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative research prepares you to approach research questions and clinical questions with an unbiased view of the researcher's methodology. Authoritative content is written by pioneers and practitioners of nursing research, who offer unique, first-hand insights into the field. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you develop skills in studying and appraising published research, so you are prepared for your role in working with research evidence. NEW! Enhanced evidence-based practice focus equips you to apply the latest research findings to clinical practice. NEW! Streamlined research examples serve as concise and clinically relevant exemplars of key contents. NEW! Mixed-methods content focuses on need-to-know material on mixed-methods research, which is growing significantly in popularity. NEW! Improved legibility, usability, visual appeal, and readability meets the needs of visual learners with easy-to-understand content.
Call Number: 610.73072 GRO
Publication Date: 2018
Understanding and Evaluating Research in Applied and Clinical Settings by Clinically oriented professionals and students need to understand and evaluate the research and statistics in professional articles, especially given today's emphasis on evidence-based practice. This book demonstrates how the research approach and design help determine the appropriate statistical analysis. nbsp;Understanding and Evaluating Research in Applied and Clinical Settings features: *short, independent, chapters that do not have to be read in order; *a guide to understanding why a particular statistic was selected; *an emphasis on effects sizes including measures of risk potency; *numerous cross-disciplinary examples to illustrate the material; and *methods to help determine practical and clinical significance and their relation to meta-analysis and evidence-based practice. This book is intended for practitioners and students in psychology, education, counseling, mental and allied health, nursing, and medicine, and as a text for courses on understanding research methods and statistics.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation by This innovative nursing textbook provides a clear guide to writing a winning dissertation. It contains advice and guidance for overcoming many of the difficulties students face in this process. Written by experts in the field, each chapter provides scenarios with effective solutions and clear principles to follow to answer the issues raised.
The book guides you through the stages of finding and assessing literature to answer a clear dissertation question, and the practical skills of writing and structuring a successful dissertation.
Call Number: 808.06661 GLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Research Process in Nursing by Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
Call Number: 610.73072 GER + eBook
Publication Date: 2015