Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Supporting the Safe Management of Medication reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Pathophysiology and Pharmacology for Nursing Students by Carefully designed to provide an integrated introduction to both the biology of disease and the therapeutic agents that are used to manage them, this book considers the underlying pathology of many common illnesses and diseases but by focusing on those conditions which have a pharmacological intervention is able to provide nurses with a broader understanding of bioscience that reflects care given in practice. It covers the basics of pharmacology, the core pathological concepts of inflammation, infection and cancer as well as a systems-based consideration of the pathophysiology and relevant pharmacology of common disorders. Providing the ideal starting point for student nurses to develop a robust, integrated knowledge of human disease and pharmacology, this book will enable them to provide care based on up-to-date knowledge of this important subject.
Call Number: 615.1 ASH
Publication Date: 2016
Medicine Management for Nurses by Medicine management is an important and demanding aspect of nursing practice. It requires both clinical knowledge and the use of professional judgement. This accessible book is designed to help both practising and student nurses prepare to deal with the challenges of medicine management. It covers the principles and skills involved in a range of common medicine management scenarios and will help nursing students integrate their knowledge of physiology, pathophysiology, pharmacology and nursing care.
Call Number: 615.1 BAR
Publication Date: 2013
Essentials of pharmacology for nurses 3rd ed. by This ideal starter text for student nurses makes pharmacology less intimidating by focusing on the knowledge needed at pre-registration level in order to practice as a newly qualified nurse.
Noted for its clear layout and jargon-free language, this updated edition introduces pharmacology in a friendly, informative way. The book does not assume previous knowledge of pharmacology, or a level of confidence with maths and drugs calculations.
Call Number: 615.1 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures by Nationally recognised as the definitive guide to clinical nursing skills, The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures has provided essential nursing knowledge and up-to-date information on nursing skills and procedures for over 30 years. Now in its 9th edition, this full-colour manual provides the underlying theory and evidence for procedures enabling nurses to gain the confidence they need to become fully informed, skilled practitioners. Written with the qualified nurse in mind, this manual provides up-to-date, detailed, evidence-based guidelines for over 200 procedures related to every aspect of a person′s care including key information on equipment, the procedure and post-procedure guidance, along with full colour illustrations and photos. Following extensive market research, this ninth edition: contains the procedures and changes in practice that reflect modern acute nursing care includes thoroughly reviewed and updated evidence underpinning all procedures is organised and structured to represent the needs of a patient along their care pathway integrates risk-management into relevant chapters to ensure it is central to care contains revised procedures following 'hands-on' testing by staff and students at Kingston University is also available as an online edition
Call Number: 610.73 DOU + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Medicine Management Skills for Nurses by Anxious about managing medicines? Worried you'll make a mistake? This handy book is an essential guide for all nursing students, enabling you to understand the theory and practice of drug administration and facilitate your confidence and competence. This essential guide explores the theory and practice of drug administration briefly and coherently, with ?test your knowledge? exercises and questions throughout to assess your learning. It also includes ?words of wisdom?- tips from real life students from their own experiences. Ideal for carrying to clinical placements, Medicine Management Skills for Nurses is an essential guide to drugs and medicine administration. Special features: - Pocket sized for portability - Clear, straightforward, and jargon-free - Takes away the fear of drugs and medicines management, making it approachable, easy and fun - Features tips and advice from real life nursing students - Ties in with the NMC standards for pre-registration education and the Essential Skills Clusters - Examples and questions based on real life nursing and healthcare examples
Call Number: 615.58 BOY + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Managing Long-Term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Care by Effective management of long-term conditions is an essential part of contemporary nursing policy and practice. Systematic and evidence-based care which takes account of the expert patient and reduces unnecessary hospital admissions is vital to support those with long-term conditions/chronic diseases and those who care for them. Reflecting recent changes in treatment, the nurse's role and the patient journey and including additional content on rehabilitation, palliative care, and non-medical prescribing, this fully updated new edition highlights the key issues in managing long-term conditions. It provides a practical and accessible guide for nurses and allied health professionals in the primary care environment and covers: - the physical and psychosocial impact of long-term conditions - effective case management - self-management and the expert patient - behavioural change strategies and motivational counselling - telehealth and information technology - nutritional and medication management. Packed with helpful, clearly written information, Managing Long-term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Careincludes case studies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements. 2288; effective case management - self-management and the expert patient - behavioural change strategies and motivational counselling - telehealth and information technology - nutritional and medication management. Packed with helpful, clearly written information, Managing Long-term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Careincludes case studies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements. dies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements.
Call Number: 616.044 CAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Nursing Calculations by This internationally renowned guide to basic arithmetic for nursing students has been fully revised and updated for a new generation of readers. Now entering its ninth edition - with over 200,000 copies sold worldwide - this popular and friendly volume has been designed to make medication calculations straightforward and easy to perform in a variety of settings. Written in response to nurse educators, Nursing Calculations features an initial self-testing chapter to help readers to identify and address areas of difficulty before moving on to numerous practical examples. Chapters then cover the core areas of clinical practice including calculations relating to oral medications (including both tablets and liquid form), injections, intravenous infusions and intravenously administered medication, and paediatric specific medication. Throughout the book, emphasis is placed on giving confidence to the reader by explaining in a step-by-step manner how the correct answer is derived together with a wide range of practice questions and later revision opportunities. This edition comes with a quick-reference card to fit in the pocket to remind readers of essential formulae and an additional on-line question bank to allow readers to practice their calculations on the move! Nursing Calculations will be perfect for student nurses and midwives at different levels in a variety of courses, 'Return to Practice' students, student paramedics and anyone involved with medication administration in the healthcare setting. Over 200,000 copies sold since publication! Initial self-testing chapter allows readers to identify and address areas of difficulty before moving onto practical examples 'Important Boxes' highlight potential pitfalls for the reader Special section on paediatrics covers medication calculations relating to body weight and body surface area Contains glossary and useful abbreviations Brings together basic math skills and clinical examples to prepare readers for real life drug calculations Quick-reference card fits in the pocket and remind readers of essential formulae Questions have been revised and updated when necessary to reflect current practice New material includes the use of medication charts in questions that involve medication labels Additional worked examples facilitate understanding of the 24-hour clock Contains a new revision chapter to help consolidate learning NOW COMES WITH AN ON-LINE PROGRAM TO ALLOW FURTHER SELF-TESTING VIA THE USE OF MOBILE DEVICES!
Call Number: STSK 513.02461 GAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Nursing Drug Guide by A comprehensive, up-to-date drug guide for nursing students and practicing nurses,Lippincott Nursing Drug Guideprovides quick A-to-Z access to current, vital drug information. The book provides complete monographs for 725 common drugs, including generic and trade names, pronunciations, pregnancy risk category, controlled substance schedule (if appropriate), drug classes, therapeutic actions, indications, contraindications and cautions, available forms, dosages, pharmacokinetics, IV facts (if appropriate), adverse effects, interactions, and nursing considerations organized by nursing process steps (assessment, interventions, and teaching points). TheLippincott Nursing Drug Guideis the only drug book that includes a DO NOT CRUSH" logo so nurses can quickly identify medications that should not be crushed - a key patient safety feature. More than 20 appendices cover a wealth of additional information, from key facts on more than 200 less commonly used drugs to alternative and complementary therapies, pediatric dosages, federal drug classifications, normal lab values, topical and ophthalmic drugs, combination products, CYP450 metabolized drugs, and more. The book also includes a 32-page full-color photoguide to pills and capsules and a detailed index for quick retrieval of needed information. The electronic ancillary, called the Web Toolkit, contains the latest FDA updates on new drugs, indications, and warnings; videos on safe drug administration; an audio pronunciatiion guide; an English-Spanish translator; mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs; updated NCLEX-style questions; a free CE test; bonus discounts; and more.
Call Number: 615.1 KAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Medicines Management in Mental Health Nursing by Medicines are a crucial part of the jigsaw when considering how to provide recovery-focussed care in mental health. It is important that mental health nurses understand how psychiatric drugs work, what the common treatments are and appreciate the ethical and legal dimensions that affect how medicines can and should be used in mental health care. Using innovative activities and real-life case studies, this book has been carefully designed to provide all this and more making it the ideal resource to build knowledge and confidence in this crucial area of practice. Key features · Clear explanations of both the underlying biology and pharmacology as well as the wider practicalities of working with medicines · Provides accessible information on the most common conditions and treatments · Linked to the NMC standards and essential skills clusters · Activities and case studies help students to apply what they have learnt to practice and consider the full impact that medicines will have on service users
Call Number: 616.8918 MUT
Publication Date: 2017
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by SAFETY FIRST! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Fourteenth Edition delivers all of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS One-year subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to over 1,100 monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE...AT A GLANCE Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, CAPITALIZED letters for life-threatening side effects Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Pedi, Geri, OB, and Lactation cautions IV Administration subheads REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Pharmacogenomic content Canadian-specific content Much more! LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at DavisPlus NEW! Student resources online at DavisPlus. (Redeem the Plus Code on the inside front cover of a new, printed text to access your DavisPlus resources.) Student Resources More than 1,100 Nurse's Med Deck-style, printable drug monographs for care planning and patient education Audio library for 1,200+ drug names Self-test tutorials Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/kg, and Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive case studies Additional Resources Interactive flash cards Audio podcasts Video clips Animations Schematic brain illustrations Much more!
Call Number: QV 735 + eBook
Publication Date: 2014