History Skills (Print copy) by
Degree-level history is characterized not only by knowledge and understanding of the human past, but by a battery of skills and qualities which are as directly applicable to employment as to professional postgraduate training or academic research. History Skills gives frank and practical help to students throughout their university course with advice on: research methods taking notes participating in class coursework examinations the dissertation. Designed as a guide to success, the book helps to develop the critical skills that students need to get the most out of their course. This second edition has been thoroughly updated to take into account digital resources and the benefits and risks associated with online research. New chapters on the first-year experience and employability help students to adjust to the way history is taught at university and explore the opportunities available to them after graduating. Offering an unrivalled 'insider's view' of what it takes to succeed, History Skills provides the comprehensive toolkit for all history students.
History Beyond the Text : a student's guide to approaching alternative sources ( by
Historians are increasingly looking beyond the traditional, and turning to visual, oral, aural, and virtual sources to inform their work. The challenges these sources pose require new skills of interpretation and require historians to consider alternative theoretical and practical approaches. In order to help historians successfully move beyond traditional text, Sarah Barber and Corinna Peniston-Bird bring together chapters from historical specialists in the fields of fine art, photography, film, oral history, architecture, virtual sources, music, cartoons, landscape and material culture to explain why, when and how these less traditional sources can be used. Each chapter introduces the reader to the source, suggests the methodological and theoretical questions historians should keep in mind when using it, and provides case studies to illustrate best practice in analysis and interpretation. Pulling these disparate sources together, the introduction discusses the nature of historical sources and those factors which are unique to, and shared by, the sources covered throughout the book. Taking examples from around the globe, this collection of essays aims to inspire practitioners of history to expand their horizons, and incorporate a wide variety of primary sources in their work.
Consuming History. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Consuming History examines how history works in contemporary popular culture. Analysing a wide range of cultural entities from computer games to daytime television, it investigates the ways in which society consumes history and how a reading of this consumption can help us understand popular culture and issues of representation. In this second edition, Jerome de Groot probes how museums have responded to the heritage debate and how new technologies from online game-playing to internet genealogy have brought about a shift in access to history, discussing the often conflicted relationship between 'public' and academic history and raising important questions about the theory and practice of history as a discipline. Fully revised throughout with up-to-date examples from sources such as Wolf Hall, Game of Thrones and 12 Years a Slave, this edition also includes new sections on the historical novel, gaming, social media and genealogy. It considers new, ground-breaking texts and media such as YouTube in addition to entities and practices, such as re-enactment, that have been underrepresented in historical discussion thus far. Engaging with a broad spectrum of source material and comparing the experiences of the UK, the USA, France and Germany as well as exploring more global trends, Consuming History offers an essential path through the debates for readers interested in history, cultural studies and the media.
History and Material Culture : a student's guide to approaching alternative sources. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Sources are the raw material of History, but whereas the written word has traditionally been seen as the principal source, historians now recognize the value of sources beyond text. In this new edition of History and Material Culture, contributors consider a range of objects - from an eighteenth-century bed curtain to a twenty-first-century shopping trolley - which can help historians develop new interpretations and new knowledge about the past. Containing two new chapters on healing objects in East Africa and the shopping trolley in the social world, this book examines a variety of material sources from around the globe and across centuries to assess how such sources can be used to study the distant and the recent past. In a revised introduction, Karen Harvey discusses some of the principal issues raised when historians use material culture, particularly in the context of 'the material turn', and suggests some initial steps for those unfamiliar with these kinds of sources. While the sources are discussed from interdisciplinary perspectives, the emphasis of the book is on what historians stand to gain from using material culture, as well as what historians have to offer the broader study of material culture. Clearly written and accessible, this book is the ideal introduction to the opportunities and challenges of researching material culture, and is essential reading for all students of historical theory and method.
A Concise Companion to History by
What is our relationship with the past? A quiet revolution has transformed the ways in which History provides us with answers. Indeed, not so long ago the very question might have seemed odd. But in recent decades the solid moorings to which History was seemingly tethered have proved less secure than earlier supposed. That realization has produced some discomfiture, but also many more opportunities for approaching worlds with which we have lost connection. No single book can hope to reflect all the ways in which History has 'changed with the times' nor can, or should, a volume with numerous contributors speak with one voice. Yet the Companion does range widely, addressing key themes and structures from new areas of enquiry as well as providing fresh treatment of established fields; and it does mark a significant departure in a genre still shaped by stories that are predominantly Western. It reflects a practice of history that seeks global connections and pioneers a sustained dialogue between historians specializing in the history of particular continents. It does not, in the sharply ridiculing phrase of one historian, compare the Ashanti empire to the British empire. But the scholars writing in this book build on the much greater awareness that 'Western' achievements and claims to modernity were often not as unique as once portrayed, and that the history of interconnections and multi-centric developments of different civilisations is crucial for a proper critical understanding of the past. Escorted by some of the world's leading historians, readers of the Companion will find pages an indispensable guide to what history is today.
The Pursuit of History. 6th edn. (Print copy) by
This classic introduction to the study of history invites the reader to stand back and consider some of its most fundamental questions - what is the point of studying history? How do we know about the past? Does an objective historical truth exist and can we ever access it? In answering these central questions, John Tosh argues that, despite the impression of fragmentation created by postmodernism in recent years, history is a coherent discipline which still bears the imprint of its nineteenth-century origins. Consistently clear-sighted, he provides a lively and compelling guide to a complex and sometimes controversial subject, while making his readers vividly aware of just how far our historical knowledge is conditioned by the character of the sources and the methods of the historians who work on them. The sixth edition has been revised and updated with key new material including: - a brand new chapter on public history - sections on digitised sources and historical controversy - discussion of topics including transnational history and the nature of the archive - an expanded range of examples and case studies - a comprehensive companion website providing valuable supporting material, study questions and a bank of primary sources. Lucid and engaging, this edition retains all the user-friendly features that have helped to make this book a favourite with both students and lecturers, including marginal glosses, illustrations and suggestions for further reading. Along with its companion website, this is an essential guide to the theory and practice of history.
Studying History by
This best-selling guide will help you get to grips with the larger themes and issues behind historical study, while also showing you how to formulate your own ideas in a clear, analytical style. Fully updated throughout, further advice on using web-based sources and avoiding plagiarism will equip you with the tools you need to succeed on your course.
Eyewitnessing: the uses of images as historical evidence. (Print copy) by 
History and the Media by
This book examines the boom in history, in television and film, newspapers and radio and the constraints and opportunities it offers. Leading historians and broadcasters, such as Melvyn Bragg, Simon Schama and David Puttnam, draw on their personal experiences to explore the problems and highlights of representing history in the media.
Reading Primary Sources by
How does the historian approach primary sources? How do interpretations differ? How can they be used to write history? Reading Primary Sourcesgoes a long way to providing answers for these questions. In the first part of this unique volume, the chapters give an overview of both traditional and new methodological approaches to the use of sources, analyzing the way that these have changed over time. The second part gives an overview of twelve different types of written sources, including letters, opinion polls, surveillance reports, diaries, novels, newspapers, and dreams, taking into account the huge expansion in the range of written primary sources used by historians over the last thirty years. This book is an up-to-date introduction into the historical context of these different genres, the ways they should be read, the possible insights and results these sources offer and the pitfalls of their interpretation. All of the chapters push the reader beyond a conventional understanding of source texts as mere "reflections" of a given reality, instead fostering an understanding of how each of the various genres has to be seen as a medium in its own right. Taking examples of sources from around the globe, and also including a student-friendly further reading section, this is the perfect companion for every student of history who wants to engage with sources.
An Introduction to Quantitative Methods for Historians by
Many statements made by historians are quantitative statements, involving the use of measurable historical evidence. The historian who uses quantitative methods to analyse and interpret such information needs to be well acquainted with the particular methods and techniques of analysis and to be able to make the best use of the data that are available. There is an increasing need for training in such methods and in the interpretation of the large volume of literature now using quantitative techniques. Dr Floud's text, which is relevant to all branches of historical inquiry, provides a straightforward and intelligible introduction for all students and research workers. The simpler and more useful techniques of descriptive and analytical statistics are described, up to the level of simple linear regression. Historical examples are used throughout, and great attention is paid to the need to ensure that the techniques are consistent with the quality of the data and with the historical problems they are intended to solve. Attention is paid to problems of the analysis of time series, which are of particular use to historians. No previous knowledge of statistics is assumed, and the simple mathematical techniques that are used are fully and clearly explained, without the use of more mathematical knowledge than is provided by an O-level course. A bibliography is provided to guide historians towards the most useful further reading. This student friendly text was first published in 1973.
Cultural History by
Anna Green provides a coherent and accessible introduction to the major theoretical approaches and key concepts within this most diverse of historical fields. 'Cultural History' explores the conceptual, affective and imaginative worlds of human consciousness, as reflected in elite intellectual works as well as everyday social beliefs and practices.
History by
We justify our actions in the present through our understanding of the past. But we live in a time when politicians lie brazenly about historical facts and meddle with the content of history books, while media differ wildly in their reporting of the same event. Frequently, new discoveries force us to re-evaluate everything we thought we knew about the past. So how can any certainty about history be established, and why does it matter? Lynn Hunt shows why the search for truth about the past, as a continual process of discovery, is vital for our societies. History has an essential role to play in ensuring honest presentation of evidence. In this way, it can foster humility about our present-day concerns, a critical attitude toward chauvinism, and an openness to other peoples and cultures. History, Hunt argues, is our best defense against tyranny. Introducing Polity's Why It Matters series; in these short and lively books, world-leading thinkers make the case for the importance of their subjects and aim to inspire a new generation of students.
What Is Cultural History? (Print copy) by
What is Cultural History? has established itself as an essential guide to what cultural historians do and how they do it. Now fully updated in its third edition, leading historian Peter Burke offers afresh his accessible account of the past, present and future of cultural history, as it has been practised not only in the English-speaking world, but also in Continental Europe, Asia, South America and elsewhere. Burke begins by discussing the 'classic' phase of cultural history, associated with Jacob Burckhardt and Johan Huizinga, and the Marxist reaction to it, from Frederick Antal to Edward Thompson. He then charts the rise of cultural history in more recent times, concentrating on the work of the last generation, often described as the 'New Cultural History'. He places cultural history in its own cultural context, noting links between new approaches to historical thought and writing and the rise of feminism, postcolonial studies and an everyday discourse in which the idea of culture plays an increasingly important part. The new edition also surveys the latest developments in the field and considers the directions that cultural history has been taking in the twenty-first century and may take in the future. This landmark book will continue to be essential reading for students of history, anthropology, cultural studies and literary studies.
Rousseau. (Print copy) by
Jean-Jacques Rousseau is one of the most controversial philosophers of the eighteenth century, and his groundbreaking work still provokes heated debate in contemporary political theory. In this book, Céline Spector, one of the world's foremost experts on Rousseau's thought, provides an accessible introduction to his moral, social and political theory. She explores the themes and central concepts of his thought, ranging from the state of nature, the social contract and the general will to natural and political freedom, religion and education. She combines a skilful exposition of Rousseau as a 'man of paradoxes' with a discussion of his often-overlooked ideas on knowledge, political economy and international relations. The book traces both the overall unity and the significant changes in Rousseau's philosophy, accounting for its complexity and for the importance of its legacy. It will be essential reading for scholars, students and general readers interested in the Enlightenment and more broadly in the history of modern political thought and philosophy.
History by
Demystifying the subject with clarity and verve, History: An Introduction to Theory, Method and Practice familiarizes the reader with the varied spectrum of historical approaches in a balanced, comprehensive and engaging manner. Global in scope, and covering a wide range of topics from the ancient and medieval worlds to the twenty-first century, it explores historical perspectives not only from historiography itself, but from related areas such as literature, sociology, geography and anthropology. Clearly written, accessible and student-friendly, this second edition is fully updated throughout to include: An increased spread of case studies from beyond Europe, especially from American and imperial histories. New chapters on important and growing areas of historical inquiry, such as environmental history and digital history Expanded sections on political, cultural and social history More discussion of non-traditional forms of historical representation and knowledge like film, fiction and video games. Accompanied by a new companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/claus) containing valuable supporting material for students and instructors such as discussion questions, further reading and web links, this book is an essential introduction for all students of historical theory and method.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Modern Historiography (Print Copy) by
An introduction to the history of historical writing. The text explains the broad philosophical background to the different historians and historical schools of the modern era. In an overview of modern historiography, the book includes surveys on: the Enlightenment and counter Enlightenment; romanticism; the voice of science and the process of secularization within Western intellectual thought; the influence of, and broadening contact with, the New World; the Annales school in France; and the effects of the repression and exile of the inter-war years and the Post-War moods.
What Is History Today... ? (Print Copy) by
In 1985, the well-known monthly magazine, History Today, ran a series of articles by distinguished contributors on different branches of history and the problems involved for historians in studying, researching and writing in these areas of history. A selection of these essays now appears in book form, edited by Juliet Gardiner, the former editor of History Today.
History (Print Copy) by
We justify our actions in the present through our understanding of the past. But we live in a time when politicians lie brazenly about historical facts and meddle with the content of history books, while media differ wildly in their reporting of the same event. Frequently, new discoveries force us to re-evaluate everything we thought we knew about the past. So how can any certainty about history be established, and why does it matter? Lynn Hunt shows why the search for truth about the past, as a continual process of discovery, is vital for our societies. History has an essential role to play in ensuring honest presentation of evidence. In this way, it can foster humility about our present-day concerns, a critical attitude toward chauvinism, and an openness to other peoples and cultures. History, Hunt argues, is our best defense against tyranny. Introducing Polity's Why it Matters series: In these short and lively books, world-leading thinkers make the case for the importance of their subject and aim to inspire a new generation of students.
New Perspectives on Historical Writing 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by
The way in which history is written has changed quite dramatically - so much so that the phrase ?the new history? is now commonly used by historians. But what is the new history and how ?new? is it? Is it a temporary fashion or a long-term trend? Will it - or should it - replace traditional history, or can the two coexist in peace?<br /> <br /> <br /> This second edition of New Perspectives on Historical Writing sets out to answer these questions, examining the most exciting and important developments in the methodology and practice of history. Concentrating on some of the more recent movements, it sets out to place these within the context of long-term changes in the writing of history. Peter Burke is joined here by a distinguished group of internationally renowned historians including Robert Darnton, Ivan Gaskell, Richard Grove, Giovanni Levi, Roy Porter, Gwyn Prins, Joan Scott, Jim Sharpe, Richard Tuck and Henk Wesseling. The contributions examine a wide range of interdisciplinary areas of historical research, including women's history, history ?from below?, the history of reading, oral history, the history of the body, microhistory, the history of events, the ?new history?, the history of images, political history and overseas history. This volume has been thoroughly revised and updated for the second edition, and includes an entirely new chapter on environmental history.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> New Perspectives on Historical Writing is a timely and important account of the new approaches to the writing of history. It has become a key reference work and is used by students and researchers in a wide range of disciplines: history and historiography, women's studies, anthropology, sociology, politics and literature.
Fifty Key Thinkers on History. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Fifty Key Thinkers on History is an essential guide to the most influential historians, theorists and philosophers of history. The entries offer comprehensive coverage of the long history of historiography ranging from ancient China, Greece and Rome, through the Middle Ages to the contemporary world. This third edition has been updated throughout and features new entries on Machiavelli, Ranajit Guha, William McNeil and Niall Ferguson. Other thinkers who are introduced include: Herodotus Bede Ibn Khaldun E. H. Carr Fernand Braudel Eric Hobsbawm Michel Foucault Edward Gibbon Each clear and concise essay offers a brief biographical introduction; a summary and discussion of each thinker's approach to history and how others have engaged with it; a list of their major works and a list of resources for further study.
What Is History Now? (Print Copy) by
E. H. Carr's What is History? was originally published by Macmillan in 1961. Since then it has sold hundreds of thousands of copies throughout the world. In this book, ten internationally renowned scholars, writing from a range of historical vantage points, answer Carr's question for a new generation of historians: What does it mean to study history at the start of the Twenty-first century? This volume stands alongside Carr's classic, paying tribute to his seminal enquiry while moving the debate into new territory, to ensure its freshness and relevance for a new century of historical study.
The Idea of History Rev. edn. (Print Copy) by
The Idea of History is the best-known work of the great Oxford philosopher, historian, and archaeologist R. G. Collingwood. Published posthumously in 1946, it examines how the idea of history has evolved from the time of Herodotus to the twentieth century, and offers Collingwood's own view ofwhat history is. This revised edition has a substantial new introduction which discusses how scholars have responded to Collingwood's classic over the last fifty years. It also makes available for the first time some of Collingwood's lectures on the philosophy of history - essential for a fuller understanding ofhis thought, and in particular for the interpretation of The Idea of History itself.
The Practice of History 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by
The new edition of G. R. Elton's classic work is a wide-ranging, succinct and practical introduction for all students and general readers of history. It makes a major contribution to the question "what is history?".
In Defence of History. New edn. (Print Copy) by 
The Houses of History 2nd edn. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by
The houses of history is a clear, jargon-free introduction to the major theoretical approaches employed by historians. This innovative critical reader provides accessible introductions to fourteen schools of thought, from the empiricist to the postcolonial, including chapters on Marxist history, Freud and psychohistory, the Annales, historical sociology, narrative, gender, public history and the history of the emotions.Each chapter begins with a succinct description of the ideas integral to a particular theory. The authors then explore the insights and controversies arising from the application of this model, drawing upon debates and examples from around the world. Each chapter concludes with a representative example from a historian writing within this conceptual framework.This newly revised edition of the highly successful textbook is the ideal basis for an introductory course in history and theory for students of history at all levels.
The New History and the Old Rev. edn. (Print Copy) by
For this updated edition of her acclaimed work on historians and the writing of history, Gertrude Himmelfarb adds four insightful and provocative essays dealing with changes in the discipline over the past twenty years. In examining the effects of postmodernism, the illusions of cosmopolitanism, A. J. P. Taylor and revisionism, and Francis Fukuyama's "end of history," Himmelfarb enriches her illuminating exploration of the myriad ways-new and old-in which historians make sense of the past.
Historiography in the Twentieth Century New edn. (Print Copy) by
In this book, now published in 10 languages, a preeminent intellectual historian examines the profound changes in ideas about the nature of history and historiography. Georg G. Iggers traces the basic assumptions upon which historical research and writing have been based, and describes how the newly emerging social sciences transformed historiography following World War II. The discipline's greatest challenge may have come in the last two decades, when postmodern ideas forced a reevaluation of the relationship of historians to their subject and questioned the very possibility of objective history. Iggers sees the contemporary discipline as a hybrid, moving away from a classical, macrohistorical approach toward microhistory, cultural history, and the history of everyday life. The new epilogue, by the author, examines the movement away from postmodernism towards new social science approaches that give greater attention to cultural factors and to the problems of globalization.
History in Practice. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Exploring the breadth and complexities of history as a field of study, History in Practice demystifies what historians actually do and the tasks they take on. This study, written by one of the most acute practitioners in the field, examines not only the academic discipline but also engages with the use of historical ideas in the wider world. The new edition features- - A new chapter on history in the digital age, covering the use of information technology in historical practice - Extended coverage of the relationships between history and other disciplines - Fresh material on current trends in the practice of history - Over 35 new illustrations spread throughout the book drawn from around the world This book is essential reading for all students seeking an understanding of history as a discipline.
Historical Controversies and Historians (Print Copy) by
For students new to the subject of history there are many books on the "theory" of writing history but fewer on how history is actually "practised". This work by a team of historians from the University of Sussex fills this gap. The first half of the book examines a number of notable controversies that have been, and still are, the subject of historical debate - for example, race in South Africa, the legacy of the French Resistance, the origins of the Welfare State. These illustrate the issues involved in "doing" history. The second half of the book focuses upon the historians themselves - such as Tawney, Carr, Buckhardt, Weber, Thompson - and demonstrates how the historian puts his/her own spin on historical interpretation. Together the study of controversies and historians shows with clarity the practical issues of historical method. "Historical Controversies and Historians" should be a useful primer for any student embarking on a course in history.
The history men: the historical profession in England since the Renaissance Rev. edn. (Print Copy) by 
The Nature of History. 3rd edn (Print Copy) by 
The Routledge Companion to Historical Studies. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
The Routledge Companion to Historical Studies provides a much-needed critical introduction to the major historians and philosophers together with the central issues, ideas and theories which have prompted the rethinking of history that has gathered pace since the 1990s. With twenty-nine new entries, and many that have been substantially updated, key concepts for the new history are examined through the ideas of leading thinkers such as Kant, Nietzsche, Croce, Collingwood, White, Foucault and Derrida, and subjects range over class, empiricism, hermeneutics, inference, relativism and technology. New entries for the second edition include: Carl Becker Frank R. Ankersmit Jean-Francois Lyotard gender justified belief the aesthetic turn race film biography cultural history critical theory and experimental history. With a revised introduction setting out the state of the discipline of history today, as well as an extended and updated bibliography,nbsp;this is the essential reference work for all students of history.
Death of the Past by
In this book, J.H. Plumb investigates the way that humankind has moulded the past to give sanction to their institutions of government, their social structure and morality. The past has also been called upon to explain the nature of our destiny in order both to strengthen the objectives of society and to reconcile us to our lot.
After the End of History (with an introduction by Alan Ryan)
Historians on History. 3rd edn. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by
Bringing together in one volume the key writings of many of the major historians from the last few decades, Historians on History provides an overview of the evolving nature of historical enquiry, illuminating the political, social and personal assumptions that have governed and sustained historical theory and practice. John Tosh's Reader begins with a substantial introductory survey charting the course of historiographical developments since the second half of the nineteenth century. He explores both the academic mainstream and more radical voices within the discipline. The text is composed of readings by historians such as Braudel, Carr, Elton, Guha, Hobsbawm, Scott and Jordanova. This third edition has been brought up to date by taking the 1960s as its starting point. It now includes more recent topics like public history, microhistory and global history, in addition to established fields like Marxist history, gender history and postcolonialism. Historians on History is essential reading for all students of historiography and historical theory.
Experiments in Rethinking History (Print Copy) by
From two of the world s leading postmodern historians, this thoroughly original collection of articles allows students and researchers to understand and learn important new ways of thinking and writing about the past. This book includes a thorough two-part introduction on theory and practice as well as introductory material in each section that allows the reader to fully engage with the theoretical aspects of the book. It provides a deeper understanding of how to engage with the past today. Fourteen thought-provoking experimental pieces of historical writing tackle subjects as diverse as lynching in South Carolina, the life of an eighteenth-century Marquise, and a journey to a string of Pacific islands, and demonstrates how little-considered factors such as the impact of emotions, authorial subjectivity, the confining character of boundaries, and even a sense of boredom with conventional historical writing practices, can intrude on historical practice This text works as a Reader companion alongside the Routledge best-seller Rethinking History and provides students with an innovative, engaging and easy-to-read research tool to enhance all history-related course studies."
On "What Is History?" from Carr and Elton to Rorty and White (Print Copy) by
On What is History?' provides a student introduction to contemporary historiographical debates. Carr and Elton are still the starting point for the vast majority of introductory courses on the nature of history. Building on his highly successful Rethinking History, Keith Jenkins explores in greater detail the influence of these key figures. He argues that historians need to move beyond their modernist' thinking and embrace the postmodern-type approaches of thinkers such as Richard Rorty and Hayden White. Through its radical critique of Carr and Elton and its championing of Rorty and White, On What is History'? represents a significant development for introductory studies on the nature of history.
The Past and Its Presenters (Print Copy) by
A discussion of the acerbic debate on whether historical writing can justly claim to recapture the truth about the past, or whether historians, whatever their claims, are the prisoners of their own time and the slaves of the language they can never fully control.
The Postmodern History Reader (Print Copy) by
The Postmodern History Readeris the most comprehensive collection of influential texts on historiography and postmodernism yet compiled. Keith Jenkins expertly selects from the books and journal articles across the whole historiographical range that have been key to the transforming debates. This unique reader is a clear introduction to the impact of postmodernism on historical debate, allowing easy access to one of the more stimulating and exciting areas of current history. It provides: * extracts from influential historians, such as Barthes, Joyce, White, Foucault and Baudrillard * individual introductions to each carefully defined debate * many thoroughly up-to-date as well as 'classic' pieces * texts from a range of subdisciplines in history and theory * arguments both for and against postmodernism * advice on further reading * access to key writings which are not normally readily available. Presented in a format that is both easy to use and challenging, The Postmodern History Readerwill serve as an invaluable course text and reference tool for students and postgraduates.
Why History Matters (Print Copy) by
In order to better understand our current society, we need to critically examine the historical events which have shaped it and this textbook thoroughly demonstrates how analysing history can provide the basis for an informed and insightful understanding of our society as it is today. Examining key events in history such as the Iraq War and the AIDS crisis, John Tosh persuasively argues that we are in danger of missing history's principal contribution - how we can practically apply the lessons learnt from history to society today. The text clearly demonstrates why historical examination needs to have a bigger role in current decisions and how we should reconfigure our priorities in order to make that happen. Providing an important and engaging introduction to the study of history, this text is perfect for undergraduate students of the subject.
History Through Material Culture. (Print copy) by
History through material culture is a unique, step-by-step guide for students and researchers who wish to use objects as historical sources. Responding to the significant, scholarly interest in historical material culture studies, this book makes clear how students and researchers ready to use these rich material sources can make important, valuable and original contributions to history. Written by two experienced museum practitioners and historians, the book recognises the theoretical and practical challenges of this approach and offers clear advice on methods to get the best out of material culture research. With a focus on the early modern and modern periods, this volume draws on examples from across the world and demonstrates how to use material culture to answer a range of enquiries, including social, economic, gender, cultural and global history.
The Modern Historiography Reader. (Print copy) by
In The Modern Historiography Reader, Adam Budd guides readers through European and North American developments in history-writing since the eighteenth century. Starting with Enlightenment history and moving through subjects such as moral history, national history, the emergence of history as a profession, and the impact of scientific principles on history, he then looks at some of the most important developments in twentieth-century historiography such as social history, traumatic memory, postcolonialism, gender history, postmodernism, and the history of material objects. This is the only book that brings together historiographical writing from anthropology, literary theory, philosophy, psychology, and sociology - as well as history. Each of the thirteen thematic sections begins with a clear introduction that familiarizes readers with the topics and articles, setting them in their wider contexts. They explain what historiography is, how historians' perspectives and sources determine the kinds of questions they ask, and discuss how social and ideological developments have shaped historical writing over the past three centuries. With a glossary of critical terms and reading lists for each section, The Modern Historiography Reader: Western Sources is the perfect introduction to modern historiography.
