The pursuit of glory by
What came before 'postmodernism' in historical studies? By thinking through the assumptions, methods and cast of mind of English historians writing between about 1870 and 1970, this book reveals the intellectual world of the modernists and offers a full analysis of English historiography in this crucial period. Modernist historiography set itself the objective of going beyond the colourful narratives of 'whigs' and 'popularizers' in order to establish history as the queen of the humanities and as a rival to the sciences as a vehicle of knowledge. Professor Bentley does not follow those who deride modernism as 'positivist' or 'empiricist' but instead shows how it set in train brilliant new styles of investigation that transformed how historians understood the English past. But he shows how these strengths were eventually outweighed by inherent confusions and misapprehensions that threatened to kill the very subject that the modernists had intended to sustain.
Wuthering Heights by
The immortal story of love and obsession in the North of England Atop the stormy Yorkshire moors sits Wuthering Heights, a manor inhabited by Mr. and Mrs. Earnshaw and their two children, Catherine and Hindley. The fate of the manor, and the family that lives in it, is forever changed when the Earnshaws adopt a dark-skinned orphan boy named Heathcliff. As the years pass, Heathcliff and Catherine fall deeply in love, but even their great passion cannot survive the pressures of society and the black force of jealousy. Driven away by a broken heart, Heathcliff leaves Wuthering Heights only to return years later, bent on the cruelest kind of revenge. Published just one year before Emily Brontë's untimely death, her only novel shocked Victorian reviewers with its vivid depictions of passion and brutality. It is now considered a masterpiece of English literature and one of the most enduring romances of all time. This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano by
The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, written in 1789, details its writer's life in slavery, his time spent serving on galleys, the eventual attainment of his own freedom and later success in business. Including a look at how slavery stood in West Africa, the book received favorable reviews and was one of the first slave narratives to be read widely.
The European World 1500-1800 by
The European World 1500-1800provides a concise and authoritative textbook for the centuries between the Renaissance and the French Revolution. It presents early modern Europe not as a mere transition phase, but a dynamic period worth studying in its own right. Written by an experienced team of specialists, associated with a university module of the same name, it offers a student-friendly introduction to all major themes and processes of early modern history. Structured in four parts dealing with socio-economic, religious, cultural and political issues, it adopts a broad geographical perspective: Western and Central Europe receive particular attention, but dedicated chapters also explore the wider global context. Thematic priorities include social structures, Reformation change, expanding cultural horizons and the emergence of the modern state. Specially designed to assist learning, The European World 1500-1800features: up-to-date surveys of key topics written by an international team of historians suggestions for seminar discussion and further reading extracts from primary sources and vivid illustrations, including maps a glossary of key terms and concepts a chronology of major events a full index of persons, places and subjects a fully-featured companion website accessible at www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415432535. The European World 1500-1800will be essential reading for all students embarking on the discovery of the early modern period.
Two Treatises of Government and a Letter Concerning Toleration by
Two of Locke's most mature and influential political writings and three brilliant interpretive essays combined in an outstanding volume "The new standard edition of Locke for students of political theory. Dunn, Grant, and Shapiro combine authoritative historical scholarship and contemporary political theory to give us Locke for our time."--Elisabeth H. Ellis, Texas A&M University Among the most influential writings in the history of Western political thought, John Locke's Two Treatises of Government and A Letter Concerning Toleration remainvital to political debates today, more than three centuries after they were written. The complete texts appear in this volume, accompanied by interpretive essays by three prominent Locke scholars. Ian Shapiro's introduction places Locke's political writings in historical and biographical context. John Dunn explores both the intellectual context in which Locke wrote the Two Treatises of Government and A Letter Concerning Toleration andthe major interpretive controversies surrounding their meaning. Ruth Grant offers a comprehensive discussion of Locke's views on women and the family, and Shapiro contributes an essay on the democratic elements of Locke's political theory. Taken together, the texts and essays in this volume offer invaluable insights into the history of ideas and the enduring influence of Locke's political thought.
The Transformation of European Politics 1763-1848 by
This landmark study of European international politics is a worthy complement to A.J.P. Taylor's classic The Struggle for Mastery in Europe 1848-1918. Paul Schroeder's comprehensive and authoritative addition to the Oxford History of Modern Europe charts the course of international history over the turbulent era of 1763-1848 in which the map of Europe and much of the world was redrawn time and again. Schroeder examines the wars, political crises, and intricate diplomatic transactions of the age, many of which, especially the Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars, and the Congress of Vienna and its aftermath, had far-reaching consequences for modern Europe. Schroeder also provides a new sharply revisionist account of the course of international politics over these years and a major reinterpretation of the structure and operation of the international system. He shows how the practice of international politics was transformed in revolutionary ways with extensive and beneficial effects. The Vienna Settlement established peace, he demonstrates, by abandoning, not restoring, the competitive balance-of-power politics of the eighteenth century, and devising a new political equilibrium in its stead. A European consensus on a new political balance was developed, with new rules to maintain it, ushering in a uniquely peaceful, progressive period in European international politics. This wide-ranging and penetrating study will be of great interest to historians, political scientists, and students of international relations.
The 18th Century (1701-1800) by
These volumes highlight important historical documents -speeches, letters, manifestos and more -from influential figures during this pivotal century. Readers will find detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: Emanuel Swedenborg: Invitation to the New Church Voltaire: Candide Thomas Malthus: An Essay on the Principle of Population Adam Smith: The Wealth of Nations Qianlong: Letter to George III Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. From the Enlightenment to the advent of revolutionary movements around the world toward the end of the century, these volumes provide thoughtful analysis of documents and speeches allowing readers to gain a better understanding of the currents running through the history of the eighteenth century. An important resource for the history collections of high schools, undergraduate libraries and public libraries.
The 19th Century by
The 19th century was an era of rapidly accelerating scientific discovery and invention that laid the groundwork for the technological advances of the 20th century as well as important social and political reforms. This 2-volume set offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including legal codes, letters, speeches, constitutions, reports, and books that impacted the world throughout the nineteenth century, from the Napoleonic code to Darwin's Descent of Man. Readers will find detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: Speech on South American Independence (Henry Clay) ""Moral Advice to Queen Victoria"" (Lin Zexu) Communist Manifesto (Karl Marx and Friederich Engels) Address to the Cherokee Nation (John Ross) On Liberty (John Stuart Mill) Heart of Darkness (Joseph Conrad) Each document chapter includes the primary source, often reproduced in its entirety, the Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes.
Frankenstein by
Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read At the age of eighteen, Mary Shelley, while staying in the Swiss Alps with her lover Percy Shelley, Lord Byron, and others, conceived the tale of Dr. Victor Frankenstein and the monster he brings to life. The resulting book, Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus, is a dark parable warning against the risks of scientific and creative endeavor, the corrupting influence of technology and progress, and the dangers of knowledge without understanding. Frankenstein was an instant bestseller on publication in 1818 and has long been regarded as a masterpiece of suspense, a classic of nineteenth-century Romanticism and Gothic horror, and the prototype of the science fiction novel. Though it has spawned countless imitations and adaptations, it remains the most powerful story of its kind.
The 17th Century (1601-1700) by
Defining Documents in World History: The 17th Century profiles major documents from important figures and events of the 1600s, from the Scientific Revolution to the Exploration of the New World and more. This new two-volume set offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped the 17th century around the globe. Defining Documents in World History: The 17th Century provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of Galileo Galilei: Starry Messenger Mayflower Compact Japan's Closed Country Edict Treaty of Westphalia John Locke: An Essay on Human Understanding . Articles begin by introducing readers to the historical context surrounding the document, followed by a description of the author's life and circumstances in which the document was written. Next, a detailed analysis of the document provides an in-depth examination of the issues surrounding the document and its historical significance. An historical timeline and bibliography of supplemental readings will suport readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period.
The Making of Modern Europe, 1648-1780 by
This reissue of a classic textbook has been revised and updated with a new introduction by the author. Geoffrey Treasure provides a thoroughly comprehensive account of the European experience at a time when so much of what is today identified as 'modern' began to take shape. Discussing key issues of the period, The Making of Modern Europe, 1647-1980nbsp;examines: the evolution of the developing society detailed studies of the people, their environment, attitudes and beliefs economic aspects the growth of the states politics, war and diplomacy religion, intellectualism and science. This work provides an excellent grounding for the study of seventeenth and eighteenth-century European history.
Australian Journal of Politics and History - available in module area
Comparative Studies in Society and History
Holocaust and Genocide Studies
International Journal of Middle East Studies
International Migration Review
International Review of Social History
Journal of the American Academy of Religion
Journal of Contemporary History
Journal of the Historical Society - available in module area
Journal of the History of Ideas
Journal of the History of Sexuality
Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History
Journal of Interdisciplinary History
Journal of Religious History - available in module area
Journal of Southeast Asian Studies
Scottish Historical Review - available in module area
Social Science History - available in module area
