The Global Cold War by
The Cold War shaped the world we live in today - its politics, economics, and military affairs. This book shows how the globalization of the Cold War during the last century created the foundations for most of the key conflicts we see today, including the War on Terror. It focuses on how the Third World policies of the two twentieth-century superpowers - the United States and the Soviet Union - gave rise to resentments and resistance that in the end helped topple one superpower and still seriously challenge the other. Ranging from China to Indonesia, Iran, Ethiopia, Angola, Cuba, and Nicaragua, it provides a truly global perspective on the Cold War. And by exploring both the development of interventionist ideologies and the revolutionary movements that confronted interventions, the book links the past with the present in ways that no other major work on the Cold War era has succeeded in doing.
We Now Know by
The end of the Cold War makes it possible, for the first time, to begin writing its history from a truly international perspective, one reflecting Soviet, East European, and Chinese as well as American and West European viewpoints. In a major departure from his earlier scholarship, John LewisGaddis, the pre-eminent American authority on the United States and the Cold War, has written a comprehensive comparative history of that conflict from its origins through to its most dangerous moment, the Cuban missile crisis. We Now Know is packed with new information drawn from previously unavailable sources; it also reflects the findings of a new generation of Cold War historians. It contains striking new insights into the role of ideology, democracy, economics, alliances, and nuclear weapons, as well as majorreinterpretations of Stalin, Truman, Khrushchev, Mao, Eisenhower, and Kennedy. It suggests solutions to long-standing puzzles: Did the Soviet Union want world revolution? Why was Germany divided? Who started the Korean War? What did the Americans mean by "massive retaliation"? When did theSino-Soviet split begin? Why did the U.S.S.R. send missiles to Cuba? And what made the Cold War last as long as it did? This is a fresh, thought-provoking and powerfully argued reassessment of the Cold War by one of its most distinguished historians. It will set the agenda for debates on this subject for years to come.
The Cold War by
The Cold War contains a selection of official and unofficial documents which provide a truly multi-faceted account of the entire Cold War era. This volume presents the different kinds of materials necessary to understand what the Cold War was about, how it was fought, and the ways in which itaffected the lives of people around the globe.By depicting the experiences of East Berlin housewives and South African students, as well as those of political leaders from Europe and the Third World, The Cold War emphasizes the variety of ways in which the Cold War conflict was experienced. The significance of these differences is essential tounderstanding the Cold War: it demonstrates how the causes of the clash may have looked very different in Santiago from the way they looked in Seoul, New York, Moscow, or Beijing. The book examines the entirety of the Cold War era, presenting documents from the end of World War II right up to the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991. A final selection of source material goes on to illustrate the impact of the Cold War to the present day. Again, the emphasis is global: thereare documents on the aftermath of the Cold War in Africa and Europe, as well as on the links between the Cold War and the dramatic events of 11 September 2001.By providing a truly international glimpse of the Cold War and its various actors and subjects, The Cold War helps cut through the often simplistic notions of the recent past and allows the reader to explore the truly global impact of the East-West confrontation that dominated internationalrelations in the second half of the twentieth century.
For the Soul of Mankind by
To the amazement of the public, pundits, and even the policymakers themselves, the ideological and political conflict that had endangered the world for half a century came to an end in 1990. How did that happen? What caused the cold war in the first place, and why did it last as long as it did? The distinguished historian Melvyn P. Leffler homes in on four crucial episodes when American and Soviet leaders considered modulating, avoiding, or ending hostilities and asks why they failed: Stalin and Truman devising new policies after 1945; Malenkov and Eisenhower exploring the chance for peace after Stalin's death in 1953; Kennedy, Khrushchev, and LBJ trying to reduce tensions after the Cuban Missile Crisis of 1962; and Brezhnev and Carter aiming to sustain d#65533;tente after the Helsinki Conference of 1975. All these leaders glimpsed possibilities for peace, yet they allowed ideologies, political pressures, the expectations of allies and clients, the dynamics of the international system, and their own fearful memories to trap them in a cycle of hostility that seemed to have no end. For the Soul of Mankind illuminates how Reagan, Bush, and, above all, Gorbachev finally extricated themselves from the policies and mind-sets that had imprisoned their predecessors, and were able to reconfigure Soviet-American relations after decades of confrontation.
World Politics, 1945 - 2000 by
An enormously successful, comprehensive and up-to-date analysis of world history since the end of the Second World War. The 8th and last ever edition of Calvocoressi's World Politics, is fully updated to provide a complete guide to the second half of the 20th Century. Since the first edition in 1968, World Politics has established itself as a vital text for anyone involved in international politics or history. As world events happened, Calvocoressi added more and more to his book to maintain its status as a current and complete source. It is the only single volume book to give full international coverage and to be written in clear, succint and accessibly writing style.
The Cold War, 1945-1991 by
Michael Dockrill's concise study of the early years of the Cold War between the Western Powers and Soviet Union has been widely acclaimed as an authoritative guide to the subject. In this second edition, he and Michael Hopkins bring the story up to the events of 1991, and also expand coverage of key topics.
Strategies of Containment by
When Strategies of Containment was first published, the Soviet Union was still a superpower, Ronald Reagan was president of the United States, and the Berlin Wall was still standing. This updated edition of Gaddis' classic carries the history of containment through the end of the Cold War. Beginning with Franklin D. Roosevelt's postwar plans, Gaddis provides a thorough critical analysis of George F. Kennan's original strategy of containment, NSC-68, The Eisenhower-Dulles "New Look," the Kennedy-Johnson "flexible response" strategy, the Nixon-Kissinger strategy of detente, and now a comprehensive assessment of how Reagan - and Gorbechev - completed the process of containment, thereby bringing the Cold War to an end. He concludes, provocatively, that Reagan more effectively than any other Cold War president drew upon the strengths of both approaches while avoiding their weaknesses. A must-read for anyone interested in Cold War history, grand strategy, and the origins of the post-Cold War world.
Detente and Confrontation by
Chs. 15 & 19. For wider reading consult parts V-IX
Cold War by
Cold War is the story of the half-century since the end of the Second World War - the story of our lives. Its framework is the confrontation, military and ideological, between two great powers that dominated the world during these years. It is a story of crises and conflict on a global scale: from the Berlin Blockade and the Cuban Missile Crisis, to the tanks in the streets of Warsaw, Budapest and Prague, to spies, student riots and encounters in space. In Cold War, Jeremy Isaacs and Taylor Downing record epic history through the detail of individual human experience: the recollections not only of statesmen whose decisions led to these momentous events, but also of the ordinary men and women whose lives were bound up in these years of conflict. Cold War is the first comprehensive history for the general reader to benefit from the recent opening of Soviet, East European and Chinese archives as well as formerly classified American documents. In a driving narrative that it both gripping and informative, the true story of the Cold War can at last be told.
The Cold War by
This collection brings together the most influential and commonly-studied articles on the Cold War. Together with an introduction and concise headnotes, this book provides students with easy access to seminal work and an analytical framework with which to approach their studies.
America, Russia, and the Cold War, 1945-2002 by
This new edition of a textbook examining Russo-American relations in the context of their global military and political rivalry has been examined to take into account some of the repercussions of the reactions to the September 11th attack on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon. LaFeber (history,
The Cold War International History Project (CWIHP)
The Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) website
The CWIHP site contains a huge amount of useful material, including papers and original source materials that can be cited in essays. For working papers and other publications, see:
https://www.wilsoncenter.org/program-publications/Cold%20War%20International%20History%20Project
For source material, see: http://www.wilsoncenter.org/digital-archive
Atlases (the History Department at the United States Military Academy)
http://www.westpoint.edu/history/SitePages/Our%20Atlases.aspx
Maps of various wars and conflicts throughout history – including many of relevance to this course (see the links to maps from the end of the Second World War onwards).
The Avalon Project
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/coldwar.asp
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/mutdef.asp
The above links will take you to large collections of original source material connected to the Cold War, although feel free to browse the site more widely at:
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/20th.asp
Institute of Historical Research: History in Focus site on the Cold War
http://www.history.ac.uk/ihr/Focus/cold/index.html
The portal above lists various resources (including book reviews and bibliographies). You may also want to read some of the ten original articles (which can be cited in essays, where relevant):
http://www.history.ac.uk/ihr/Focus/cold/articles/index.html
There is also a list of further online resources:
http://www.history.ac.uk/ihr/Focus/cold/websites.html
Foreign Relations of the United States
http://history.state.gov/historicaldocuments
A vast number of citable primary documents connected to US foreign relations – topics covered include the Cuban Missile Crisis, Vietnam and arms control and disarmament.
US National Security Archive
http://www2.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/
Lots of information on US policy throughout the Cold War, including primary sources.
Parallel History Project on Cooperative Security
Records and other information on NATO and the Warsaw Pact.
US Presidential Libraries and Museums
These institutions gather and archive material on the terms of individual US Presidents, and make some of it available on the internet.
FDR (1933-1945)
Truman (1945-1953)
Eisenhower (1953-1961)
JFK (1961-1963)
LBJ (1963-1969)
Nixon (1969-1974)
Ford (1974-1977)
Carter (1977-1981)
Reagan (1981-1989)
Bush (1989-1993)
