South Asian Resistances in Britain, 1858 - 1947 by
This volume offers an alternative way of conceiving the history of Britain by excavating and exploring the numerous ways in which South Asians in Britain engaged in radical discourse and political activism from 1858 to 1947, before their more permanent migration and settlement. The book focuses on a tumultuous period of resistance against the backdrop of high imperialism under the reign of Victoria, through the turmoil of two World Wars and Partition in 1947. As well as addressing resistances against empire and hierarchies of race, the authors investigate how South Asians in Britain mobilized to campaign for women's suffrage (the Indian princess Sophia Duleep Singh), for example, or for an international socialism (the Communist MP Shapurji Saklatvala), thereby contributing to and complicating notions of freedom, equality and justice. This volume reframes these pioneers as social and political agents and activists and shows how Britain's contemporary multicultural society is rooted in their mobilization for equality of citizenship.
Jewish Lives by
"Offers a guide to family historians who want to reconstruct their family trees. Invaluable . . . to other Jews in search of their roots" (Jewish Renaissance). Jewish Lives presents the life-stories of ten individual Jews who immigrated to Britain between 1750 and 1950, based on actual genealogical research. Their stories, enriched by a variety of sources, reflect the experiences of all Jewish immigrants as they settled in their adopted land. Melody Amsel-Arieli does not just piece together the detail of their lives--their work, pastimes, families, daily chores, food, and celebrations. Drawing on social, economic, and historical records, she also explores their background, places of origin, motives for immigration, arrival in the United Kingdom, and experiences as they adjusted to their new surroundings--placing them in the wider historical context of their adopted community and society. This selection of revealing life-stories will prove fascinating for family historians and researchers, Jewish and non-Jewish alike, by offering parallels with their own lives and the lives of their ancestors. Jewish Lives: Britain 1750-1950 will inspire readers to pursue their own quest for information and understanding of their pasts. "Each tale is based on research shared by a descendent, so sources very from official documents to diaries and memories, adding a rich, personal dimension." --Family Tree "Melody Amsel-Arieli is a prolific writer on matters genealogical and historical, but in this book her expertise in both fields shines out. For anyone researching his or her own immigrant family, Jewish Lives really is a must-read." --Who Do You Think You Are?
Mother Country by
***LONGLISTED FOR THE 2019 JHALAK PRIZE*** A leading new exploration of the Windrush generation featuring David Lammy, Lenny Henry, Corinne Bailey Rae, Sharmaine Lovegrove, Hannah Lowe, Jamz Supernova, Natasha Gordon and Rikki Beadle-Blair. For the pioneers of the Windrush generation, Britain was 'the Mother Country'. They made the long journey across the sea, expecting to find a place where they would be be welcomed with open arms; a land in which you were free to build a new life, eight thousand miles away from home. This remarkable book explores the reality of their experiences, and those of their children and grandchildren, through 22 unique real-life stories spanning more than 70 years. "The story of Windrush, is, like any other, a story of humanity. Of life, love, struggle, hope, misery, success and failure. It's one that is too often neglected in our media ... but this volume acts as a remedy to that failure of story-telling, which I ask you to both savour and share." - David Lammy MP Contributors include: Catherine Ross, Corinne Bailey-Rae, David Lammy, Gail Lewis, Hannah Lowe, Howard Gardner, Jamz Supernova, Kay Montano, Kemi Alemoru, Kimberley McIntosh, Lazare Sylvestre, Lenny Henry, Maria del Pilar Kaladeen, Myrna Simpson, Naomi Oppenheim, Natasha Gordon, Nellie Brown, Paul Reid, Riaz Phillips, Rikki Beadle-Blair, Sharmaine Lovegrove, Sharon Frazer-Carroll.
Here to Stay by
The struggle for survival by Gypsies in Britain is introduced in this sociological perspective that includes a look at government policy and the discrimination that follows gypsy caravans. With a full description of the Gypsies and Travellers' historical origins and current community groups, this text explores their complex relationship with British society, from dealing with local authorities and human rights issues to moving into permanent brick-and-mortar residency and seeking representation in local and national governments.
The Italian factor : the Italian community in Great Britain by 
Making Sense of Place by
The term "sense of place" is an important multidisciplinary concept, used to understand the complex processes through which individuals and groups define themselves and their relationship to their natural and cultural environments, and which over the last twenty years or so has been increasingly defined, theorized and used across diverse disciplines in different ways. Sense of place mediates our relationship with the world and with each other; it provides a profoundly important foundation for individual and community identity. It can be an intimate, deeply personal experience yet also something which we share with others. It is at once recognizable but never constant; rather it is embodied in the flux between familiarity and difference. Research in this area requires culturally and geographically nuanced analyses, approaches that are sensitive to difference and specificity, event and locale. The essays collected here, drawn from a variety of disciplines (including but not limited to sociology, history, geography, outdoor education, museum and heritage studies, health, and English literature), offer an international perspective on the relationship between people and place, via five interlinked sections (Histories, Landscapes and Identities; Rural Sense of Place; Urban Sense of Place; Cultural Landscapes; Conservation, Biodiversity and Tourism). Ian Convery is Reader in Conservation and Forestry, National School of Forestry, University of Cumbria; Gerard Corsane is Senior Lecturer in Heritage, Museum and Galley Studies, International Centre for Cultural and Heritage Studies, Newcastle University; Peter Davis is Professor of Museology, International Centre for Cultural and Heritage Studies, Newcastle University. Contributors: Doreen Massey, Ian Convery, Gerard Corsane, Peter Davis, David Storey, Mark Haywood, Penny Bradshaw, Vincent O'Brien, Michael Woods, Jesse Heley, Carol Richards, Suzie Watkin, Lois Mansfield, Kenesh Djusipov, Tamara Kudaibergonova, Jennifer Rogers, Eunice Simmons, Andrew Weatherall, Amanda Bingley, Michael Clark, Rhiannon Mason, Chris Whitehead, Helen Graham, Christopher Hartworth, Joanne Hartworth, Ian Thompson, Paul Cammack, Philippe Dubé, Josie Baxter, Maggie Roe, Lyn Leader-Elliott, John Studley, Stephanie K. Hawke, D. Jared Bowers, Mark Toogood, Owen T. Nevin, Peter Swain, Rachel M. Dunk, Mary-Ann Smyth, Lisa J. Gibson, Stefaan Dondeyne, Randi Kaarhus, Gaia Allison, Ellie Lindsay, Andrew Ramsay
The Gypsies by
Since their unexplained appearance in Europe over nine centuries ago, the Gypsies have refused to fall in with conventional settled life. They remain a people whose culture and customs are beset with misunderstanding, and who cling to their distinct identity in the teeth of persistent rejection and pressure to conform. This book describes their history.
The Windrush betrayal : exposing the hostile environment by 
Homecoming : voices of the Windrush generation by 
We Are the Romani People by
Written by a Romani (Gypsy), this introduction to Roma life, health, food, culture, and society provides an insightful look at this despised by mysterious minority originating in India. Extensively illustrated, it looks at the people, their history since leaving India 1,000 years ago, and their rejection and exclusion from society in the countries where they settled. It offers candid advice on rejecting prejudices and stereotypes and getting to know the Roma as individuals, with short biographies of Roma in many different walks of life.
Danger! Educated Gypsy by
Penned by a noted Gypsy scholar, this collection of writings examines Romani history, culture, language, and politics and covers topics that range from responses to the Romani Holocaust and Romani religion to anti-Gypsy racism and oppression. Giving a voice to an often misunderstood community, this record includes personal stories, persuasive research, heartfelt criticisms, and sincere advice. Informative and dynamic, this volume strives to debunk the myths and prejudices surrounding the Roma and to examine how Romani identity has been formed in the course of their long history.
Gypsies by
This illustrated text tracing the origin of the Gypsies in India and their journey westward up until their arrival on the shores of the Mediterranean at Constantinople was first published in France in 1993 (in French and English) as Gypsies - From India to the Mediterranean but the English edition was not easily obtainable in this country. It has since been translated into ten European languages including Romani.
Immigrants and Aliens by
Over the centuries there have been many waves of immigrants (or aliens as they are often described in official documentation) arriving in Britain. From medieval times Jews, Huguenots and many religious minorities escaping from persecution have made their home in this country. In more recent times many people from former British colonies have come to Britain for economic reasons. The National Archives holds a wealth of records relating to immigration to these shores: lists of arrivals, naturalisation papers, records of religious dissenters and spies are among the key sources for those tracing individuals or communities who came to the UK from overseas. The guide also provides information on Moving Here, a major new website relating to the experience of Irish, Caribbean, Jewish and South Asian immigrants over the past two centuries.
Migration, Settlement and Belonging in Europe, 1500-1930s by
The issues around settlement, belonging, and poor relief have for too long been understood largely from the perspective of England and Wales. This volume offers a pan-European survey that encompasses Switzerland, Prussia, Belgium, the Netherlands, and Britain. It explores how the conception of belonging changed over time and space from the 1500s onwards, how communities dealt with the welfare expectations of an increasingly mobile population that migrated both within and between states, the welfare rights that were attached to those who "belonged," and how ordinary people secured access to welfare resources. What emerged was a sophisticated European settlement system, which on the one hand structured itself to limit the claims of the poor, and yet on the other was peculiarly sensitive to their demands and negotiations.
The battle of Britishness : migrant journeys, 1685 to the present by 
All Change! by
Offering new perspectives on the Romani experience, this volume investigates the culture's origins, history, and identity. Written by leading Romani scholars, this authoritative account considers various topics, including how linguistics has clarified the origins of the Roma, how Gypsies have been classified in Russian research, and how the history of the Gypsy diaspora has shaped Romani culture. Arguing for the exploration of personal and family histories, this study delves into the newly emergent Romani academic community and takes heed of its reflections and reassessments of previous ideas surrounding Romani life.
Hosts, Immigrants and Minorities by 
Voices of the Windrush Generation : the real story told by the people themselves by 
Gypsy Identities 1500-2000 by
Gypsies have lived in England since the early sixteenth century, yet considerable confusion and disagreement remain over the precise identity of the group. The question 'Who are the Gypsies?' is still asked and the debates about the positioning and permanence of the boundary between Gypsy and non-Gypsy are contested as fiercely today as at any time before. This study locates these debates in their historical perspective, tracing the origins and reproduction of the various ways of defining and representing the Gypsy from the early sixteenth century to the present day. Starting with a consideration of the early modern description of Gypsies as Egyptians, land pirates and vagabonds, the volume goes on to examine the racial classification of the nineteenth century and the emergence of the ethnic Gypsy in the twentieth century. The book closes with an exploration of the long-lasting image of the group as vagrant and parasitic nuisances which spans the whole period from 1500 to 2000.
Migrant Women's Voices by
Between 1945 and the new century millions of women, including mothers and migrants, joined the labour force. These changes are brought to life through the stories of migrant women, working in factories and hospitals, banks, care homes, shops and universities over a period of 60 years.Migrant Women's Voices is an autobiography of the post-war period as Britain became a multi-cultural society and waged work the norm for most women. McDowell illustrates the shift in migration patterns as post-imperial migrants to the UK replaced the immediate post-war pattern of migrants from war-torn Europe and who were then themselves joined by migrants from an increasingly diverse range of countries as the 20th century drew to a close.
Susanna Moodie : Letters of a Lifetime. by
First published in 1985, this volume of letters follows Susanna Moodie from her Suffolk girlhood and her experience as an aspiring young writer in London, through her emigration to Upper Canada and five decades of Canadian life.
Gypsies and the British Imagination, 1807-1930 by
Deborah Epstein Nord traces the nearly ubiquitous British preoccupation with Gypsies in imaginative works by John Clare, Walter Scott, William Wordsworth, George Eliot, Arthur Conan Doyle, and D. H. Lawrence. She also exhumes lesser-known literary, ethnographic, and historical texts, exploring the fascinating histories of the nomadic writer George Borrow, the Gypsy Lore Society, Dora Yates, and other rarely examined figures and institutions. These textual representations are characterized by a tension between Gypsies as an alien, often despised "race" and the psychic or aesthetic desire to dissolve the boundary between English and Gypsy worlds. Nord suggests that, by the beginning of the twentieth century, romantic identification with Gypsies hardened into caricature and served to obscure the realities of Gypsy life and history. This phenomenon is reflected most famously in The Virgin and the Gipsy, in which D. H. Lawrence both exploits and criticizes the myth of Gypsies' unfettered sensuality, closeness to nature, and opposition to the oppressive strictures of modern life.
Black and British by
A Waterstones History Book of the YearLonglisted for the Orwell PrizeShortlisted for the inaugural Jhalak PrizeA vital re-examination of a shared history, published to accompany the landmark BBC Two series.In Black and British, award-winning historian and broadcaster David Olusoga offers readers a rich and revealing exploration of the extraordinarily long relationship between the British Isles and the people of Africa. Drawing on new genetic and genealogical research, original records, expert testimony and contemporary interviews, Black and British reaches back to Roman Britain, the medieval imagination and Shakespeare's Othello. It reveals that behind the South Sea Bubble was Britain's global slave-trading empire and that much of the great industrial boom of the nineteenth century was built on American slavery. It shows that black Britons fought at Trafalgar and in the trenches of the First World War. Black British history can be read in stately homes, street names, statues and memorials across Britain and is woven into the cultural and economic histories of the nation.Unflinching, confronting taboos and revealing hitherto unknown scandals, Olusoga describes how black and white Britons have been intimately entwined for centuries.
Windrush by
50 years ago 500 West indians made a 30 day journey across the Atlantic in an ageing merchant ship, the Empire Windrush. They were to become the symbolic founders of Britain's black communities. For the first time there were would be communities that would not, could not, blend into the background. British society faced an entirely new challenge.
Gypsies and Travellers by
The eviction at Dale Farm in the UK in 2011 brought the conflicting issues relating to Gypsy and Traveller accommodation to the attention of the world's media. However, as the furore surrounding the eviction has died down, the very pressing issues of accommodation need, inequality of access to education, healthcare and employment, and exclusion from British (and European) society is still very much evident. This topical book examines and debates a range of themes facing Gypsies and Travellers in British society, including health, social policy, employment and education. It also looks at the dilemmas faced in representing disadvantaged minority groups in media and political discourse, theories on power, control and justice and the impact of European initiatives on inclusion. Gypsies and Travellers: Empowerment and inclusion in British society will be of interest to students, academics, policy makers, practitioners, those working in the media, police, education and health services, and of course to Gypsies and Travellers themselves.
Seeking Sanctuary by
Seeking Sanctuary explores the history of people looking for refuge in this country. It starts with those Protestant refugees fleeing oppression and persecution from Catholic Spain who ruled the Netherlands in the 16th century. It traces successive waves of peoples in the context of why they fled. At various times this was due to religious persecution, political upheaval, war and ethnic cleansing.
Italian Immigrants in Nineteenth Century Britain by 
Little Slaves of the Harp by
The padrone were often known to the families of the children or were from the same villages. While some were cruel exploiters who compelled obedience through terror and abuse - a view promoted by a few, well-publicized cases - the lot of most of these children was similar to that of child apprentices and helpers in other trades. Public reactions to the child performers were different in each city and reflected the host society's view of the influx of foreign immigrants in general. Although England, France, and the United States developed legislation in the mid-nineteenth century to deal with children in factories, they did not attempt to regulate children in street trades until later in the century because they saw the work as a form of begging. The battle to get Italian child musicians off the street dragged on for years before legislation and new work opportunities - often as onerous as or worse than street performing - directed the children into new trades.
Migration in a Mature Economy by
In this study Mr Baines has devised a method of estimating the county of birth of all permanent emigrants from England and Wales in the last four decades of the nineteenth century - some 2.3 million people. He has related the rate and timing of migration to the social and economic characteristics of the counties, which has provided answers to many of the outstanding questions in the history of English emigration, including, for example, the idea of an 'Atlantic Economy' and the extent to which Welsh migration was distinct from or integrated into the English pattern. Briefly, the book concludes that the emigrants did not, in the main, come from 'peripheral' parts of the country. Probably one half of the emigrants had known no environment other than a large town. It is likely that English and Welsh emigrants were more likely to return than emigrants from any European country. Most of the emigrants seem to have been well-informed about the costs and benefits of moving - most probably from the experience of previous emigrants. English emigration could not therefore have been a simple flight from poverty, but was rather based on a well considered decision to leave home, although not necessarily for ever.
British Emigration, 1603-1914 by
The idea of Britain has been understood largely in terms of sectarian conflict and state formation, whereas emigration has most often been explored in terms of economic and social history. This book explores the relationship between two subjects normally studied in isolation, and includes emigration from Ireland as a social phenomenon which cannot be understood in isolation from modern British History, as well as the impact of British emigration on the ethos and identity of the British Empire at its zenith at the turn of the Nineteenth and Twentieth centuries.
Britannia's Children by
Twenty-five million emigrants have left the British Isles since 1600, mainly travelling to America or to parts of the British Empire around the world. Britannia's Children is the first account of emigration from the British Isles as a whole, including England, Scotland and Ireland. Tracing the stages of this extraordinary movement from the days of the Mayflower to modern times, Eric Roberts shows the variety of motives that drove men and women to make the most momentous decisions of their lives as well as providing a mass of individual stories, voyages, destinations and fates.
The Genesis of International Mass Migration by
Why did very large numbers of people begin to depart the British Isles for the New Worlds after about 1770? They were the vanguard of mass economic migration, the carriers of new global labour forces, agents of dispossession and settlement, of family dreams, of individual aspirations, of imperial strategies. But it was new in scale, and it was a pioneering movement, a rehearsal for modern international migration. These first mass inter-continental stirrings began most of all in the British Isles. What activated these great exchanges of humanity, the precursors of so much modern population transfer and turmoil around the globe? This is a question in the middle of most genealogies and central to the making of the modern world.
Bridging Boundaries in British Migration History by
This memorial book honours the legacy of Eric Richards's work in an interplay of academic essays and personal accounts of Eric Richards. Following the Eric Richards methodology, it combines micro- and macro-perspectives of British migration history and covers topics such as Scottish and Irish diasporas, religious, labour and wartime migrations. Eric Richards was an international leading historian of British migration history and a pioneer at exploring small- and large-scale migrations. His last public intervention, given in Amiens, France, in September 2018, opens the book. It is preceded by a tribute from David Fitzpatrick and Ngaire Naffine's eulogy. This book brings together renowned scholars of British migration history. The book combines local and global migrations as well as economic and social aspects of nineteenth and twentieth century British migration history.
Bloody Foreigners by Romani Studies - Previously: Journal of the Gypsy Lore Society (1888-1995)
