Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
There are no essential texts for this module.
Criminal Justice Research Methods by The study of research methodologies can be daunting to many students due to complex terminology, mathematical formulas, and lack of practical examples. Now in its second edition, Criminal Justice Research Methods: Theory and Practiceoffers a straightforward, easy-to-understand text that clarifies this complex subject matter, keeping perplexing research language and associated complexities to a minimum and ensuring that students get a practical grasp of this essential topic. The authors discuss scientific inquiry, establishing a framework for thinking about and understanding the nature of research. They examine various types of research methods in the broad categories of quantitative, qualitative, and evaluation designs and provide coverage of analytical and experimental research designs. The book also examines survey methods, survey instruments, and questionnaires, including wording, organization, and pretesting. It describes the fundamental characteristics of the qualitative approach, setting the stage for an in-depth discussion of the participant observation and case study methods of research. Other topics include ethical standards of conduct, topic selection, literature review, and guidelines for writing a research report or grand proposal. The second edition features updated examples, reworked exercises, additional discussion points, and new research-in-action sections. Defining a clear approach to the study of research, the book enables student experiencing their initial exposure to this subject to be fundamentally prepared to be proficient researchers in criminal justice and criminology.
Publication Date: 2010-12-13
Managing and Sharing Research Data by Research funders in the UK, USA and across Europe are implementing data management and sharing policies to maximize openness of data, transparency and accountability of the research they support. Written by experts from the UK Data Archive with over 20 years experience, this book gives post-graduate students, researchers and research support staff the data management skills required in today's changing research environment. The book features guidance on: how to plan your research using a data management checklist how to format and organize data how to store and transfer data research ethics and privacy in data sharing and intellectual property rights data strategies for collaborative research how to publish and cite data how to make use of other people's research data, illustrated with six real-life case studies of data use.
Call Number: 300.72 COR
Publication Date: 2014-04-09
Applied Police Research: Challenges and Opportunities by Remarkably little has been written about the theory and practice of applied police research, despite growing demand for evidence in crime prevention. Designed to fill this gap, this book offers a valuable new resource. It contains a carefully curated selection of contributions from some of the world's leading applied police researchers. Together, the authors have almost 300 years of relevant experience across three continents. The volume contains both practical everyday advice and calls for more fundamental change in how police research is created, consumed and applied. It covers diverse topics, including the art of effective collaborations, the interaction between policing, academia and policy, the interplay between theory and practice and managing ethical dilemmas. This book will interest a broad and international audience from academics and students, to police management, officers and trainees, to policymakers and research funders.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Doing Work Based Research by Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors here With the growth of work based learning and practitioner research this book leads the way by addressing key issues faced by 'insider-researchers' - learners, practitioners and managers doing research projects in the organizations and communities in which they themselves work, or where they are already familiar with the setting. The authors explore the implications of these research contexts, and discuss approaches and methodologies that work based researchers might adopt, with a particular focus on ethics - one of the key concerns for those undertaking a research project of this type. This book is an authoritative and readable guide to the theory and practice of work based research. It is for anyone undertaking a research project based on work practice, including learners on postgraduate, undergraduate and doctoral programmes. Practitioners, managers and participants in work based courses or modules in education, healthcare and business management, will find it particularly useful.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Doing Criminological Research by The new edition of this best selling textbook brings research alive for students studying criminology and related subjects. Contextualising research with real-life examples of crime and criminal justice, the book looks at the processes, practicalities and problems of doing criminological research, ensuring students get to grips with preparing for and doing their own research. Thoroughly revised and updated, the book includes 12 new chapters and a revised 3-part structure designed around the core elements of a research project (preparing, doing and reflecting). It explores: o Designing Criminological Research o Undertaking a Criminological Literature Review o Crime Analysis and Survey Research o Longitudinal and Ethnographic Research o Researching the Media o Using the Internet to Research Crime and Justice o Ethics and Politics of Criminological Research o Doing Critical Criminological Research The book is also now equipped with student support features including chapter key points, summaries, study questions/activities and resources, further reading, and a comprehensive glossary. It is essential reading for students and researchers in criminology, criminal justice and community safety.
Call Number: 364.072
Publication Date: 2011-01-19
Statistics for Criminal Justice and Criminology in Practice and Research by Statistics in Criminal Justice and Criminology Research: An Introduction is for advanced undergraduate and graduate level students in criminology and criminal justice statistics courses. It is designed for students pursuing careers in criminology and/or criminal justice by adequately and evenly covering statistical research for both professions. The engaging writing style, real-life applications, and comprehensive format will distinguish this text from its competitors and help establish it as more than just another statistics book.ááááFitzgerald and Fitzgerald have teamed up to create a flexible and useful text that will not only meet the needs of criminal justiceiminology students but also provide motivation for students who have math anxiety yet strive to become criminal justice professionals.Features and Benefits:1)áFrequent use ofádiagrams and graphs to illustrate ideas and procedures discussed in the text.2) Attention devoted to discussing 'conceptual' formulas and what they represent about the data to helpástudents make sense of the results.3) Extensive sets of review questions and exercises at ends of chapters help students master the content presented. 4) Quotes from actual reports in 'From the Literature' boxes help connect the discussion of research methods and statistical analysis with the research process as a whole.5) 'Pause, Think and Explore' boxes follow the mathematical formulas and are intended to help students develop an understanding of how the formula works, gain confidence in working with the mathematics, and develop better insight about what the formulas are signaling about the data being analyzed.
Call Number: 519.5 FIT
Publication Date: 2013-01-17
Research, Evaluation and Audit by This handbook provides library and information professionals with the information they need to undertake research projects in the workplace in order to inform their own practice and improve service delivery. Whether you are a complete novice or have experience of undertaking evaluations, audits or research, this book will guide you step-by-step through the key phases of planning, doing and disseminating research. The text is divided into three sections: - Part 1: Getting started introduces the concepts, ethics and planning stages. - Part 2: Doing research, evaluation and audit explores the fundamentals of projects, including the literature review, qualitative and quantitative research methods, data analysis and research tools. - Part 3: Impact of research, evaluation and audit guides you through writing up your project, putting the results of your project findings into practice and dissemination to the wider community. Written by academics and practitioners from a diverse range of sectors throughout the world, the book offers a thorough but common sense approach. Each chapter is structured to begin with a comprehensive introduction to a discrete topic area complemented with case studies drawn from a broad range of LIS contexts to illustrate the issues raised and provide transferable lessons to your own context. Whatever your experience, this book will support your project development and explain how evidence-based library and information practice is relevant to you. Readership: This is the essential handbook for any librarian or information professional who wants to undertake research in the workplace in order to inform their own practice and the wider evidence base for library and information science. It's also a useful guide for undergraduate and postgraduate LIS students undertaking their final year research project.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Essential Guide to Using the Web for Research by This book will be vital reading for anyone doing research, since using the web to find high quality information is a key research skill. It introduces beginners and experts alike to the most effective techniques for searching the web, assessing and organising information and using it in a range of scenarios from undergraduate essays and projects to PhD research. Nigel Ford shows how using the web poses opportunities and challenges that impact on student research at every level, and he explains the skills needed to navigate the web and use it effectively to produce high quality work. Ford connects online skills to the research process. He helps readers to understand research questions and how to answer them by constructing arguments and presenting evidence in ways that will enhance their impact and credibility. The book includes clear and helpful coverage of beginner and advanced search tools and techniques, as well as the processes of: @!critically evaluating online information @!creating and presenting evidence-based arguments @!organizing, storing and sharing information @!referencing, copyright and plagiarism. As well as providing all the basic techniques students need to find high quality information on the web, this book will help readers use this information effectively in their own research. Nigel Ford is Professor in the University of Sheffield's Information School.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Sage Handbook of Criminological Research Methods by Conducting research into crime and criminal justice carries unique challenges. This Handbook focuses on the application of 'methods' to address the core substantive questions that currently motivate contemporary criminological research. It maps a canon of methods that are more elaborated than in most other fields of social science, and the intellectual terrain of research problems with which criminologists are routinely confronted. Drawing on exemplary studies, chapters in each section illustrate the techniques (qualitative and quantitative) that are commonly applied in empirical studies, as well as the logic of criminological enquiry. Organized into five sections, each prefaced by an editorial introduction, the Handbook covers: - Crime and Criminals - Contextualizing Crimes in Space and Time: Networks, Communities and Culture - Perceptual Dimensions of Crime - Criminal Justice Systems: Organizations and Institutions - Preventing Crime and Improving Justice Edited by leaders in the field of criminological research, and with contributions from internationally renowned experts, The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research Methods is set to become the definitive resource for postgraduates, researchers and academics in criminology, criminal justice, policing, law, and sociology. David Gadd is Professor of Criminology at Manchester University School of Law where he is also Director of the Centre for Criminology and Criminal Justice. Susanne Karstedt has a Chair in Criminology and Criminological Justice at the University of Leeds. Steven F. Messner is Distinguished Teaching Professor of Sociology, University at Albany, State University of New York.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Community Research for Participation by Presenting the latest thinking in the field, this book bridges a major gap in knowledge by considering both theoretical and practical issues relating to community research methodologies.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Innovative Possibilities by Innovative Possibilities: Global Policing Research and Practice brings together observations that reflect upon the state of police (and policing) across the globe and associated forms of policing scholarship with inputs from Africa, Australia, South and Central America, China, Europe, and the USA. Following the introduction the book begins with a review of the nature of the relationship between policing research and practice with the Victoria Police in Australia and moves on to Britain where the focus is on how the National Improvement Strategy for Policing (NISP) is developing and how research is being used to design, define, monitor, and develop its strategic interventions using a series of case studies. In the United States the complex American terrain of the police is examined -- in particular this chapter examines how crime statistics are used to rationalize, justify, and account for their actions. In Latin America a comprehensive review of research on police reform in Latin America during the last two decades is given. Africa provides a complex and diverse social terrain which needs to be understood in relation to its plural policing landscape. Police scholarship in China looks at the historical development and current status of police scholarship in China, together with the emerging issues arising from it. The overarching concern of all these reflections is with bridging the deep seated tensions that exist between scholarship and practice within policing across the globe and the call for a new relationship of mutual respect that is committed to exploring better ways of governing security.This book was published as a special issue of Police Practice and Research.
Publication Date: 2013-12-16
Research and Evaluation for Busy Practitioners by “The book’s content is capably brought to life by examples from research projects, mainly from the author’s own experience. . . . it gets a ‘thumbs up’ for its contribution in helping promote the quality of social research messages.”
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The SAGE Handbook of Innovation in Social Research Methods by Social research is a bourgeoning field. Of course it has many traditions and approaches, but there is a high premium upon thinking differently and thinking anew because social life is never static or wholly predictable. The Handbook, edited by internationally recognized scholars, provides a comprehensive, pitch-perfect critical assessment of the field. The main features of the Handbook are: Clear organization into 4 parts dealing with The Social Context of Research; Design and Data Collection; Integrating The Analysis of New Data Types; Sampling, Inference and Measurement Clear, cutting edge chapters on Objectivity; Causation; Organizing Social Research; Correspondence Analysis; Grounded Theory; Conversational Surveys; Mixed Methods; Meta-Analysis; Optimal Matching Analysis; GIS Analysis; Quantitative Narrative Analysis; Longitudinal Studies; SEM; MLM; Qualitative Comparative Analysis; Respondent Driven Sampling Brings together a glittering assembly of the key figures working in the field of research methods Demonstrates the continuities and productive tensions between classical traditions and real world research. The result is a superbly organized text which will be required reading for anyone interested in the routes and future of social research. It is an unparalleled teaching resource and a 'must have' for serious social researchers.
Call Number: E Book
Publication Date: 2011-03-31
Crime Linkage by The increasing portrayal of forensic investigative techniques in the popular media--CSI, for example, has resulted in criminals becoming "forensically aware" and more careful about leaving behind physical evidence at a crime scene. This presents law enforcement with a significant problem: how can they detect serial offenders if they cannot rely on physical forensic evidence? One solution comes from psychology. A growing body of research has amassed in the area of behavioral consistency and the detection of serial offenders. A number of innovations are taking place in the field that have important implications for the practice of crime linkage and its use by police and the courts. Crime Linkage: Theory, Research, and Practiceassembles this research and discusses its practical use. Topics include: Theoretical explanations for how, when, and why we may (or may not) see similarities in a person's crime scene behavior Consistency and distinctiveness in sexual offending An overview of crime linkage research conducted to date The use of crime linkage in the United Kingdom, South Africa, and the United States New directions for research and practice, including linking across crime types to expand the suspect pool The range of statistical methods used in research of crime linkage principles The book represents a collaboration of researchers and practitioners from across the globe who are recognized as experts in the area of behavioral consistency and detection of serial offenders. They provide a comprehensive and informative text on the psychological and criminological theories underpinning crime linkage, how it is used in practice, the challenges practitioners face, and current innovations that will shape the future of crime linkage research and practice. This book is in the Advances in Police Theory and Practiceseries.
Publication Date: 2014-10-27
Criminological Imagination by For the last three decades Jock Young's work has had a profound impact on criminology. Yet, in this provocative new book, Young rejects much of what criminology has become, criticizing the rigid determinism and rampant positivism that dominate the discipline today. His erudite and entertaining examination of what's gone wrong with criminology draws on a range of research - from urban ethnography to sexology and criminal victimization studies - to illustrate its failings. At the same time, Young makes a passionate case for a return to criminology's creative and critical potential, partly informed by the new developments in cultural criminology. A late-modern counterpart to C.Wright Mills's classic The Sociological Imagination, this inspirational piece of writing from one of the most brilliant voices in contemporary criminology will command widespread attention. It will be essential reading for anyone who cares about the future of criminology, and the social sciences more generally.
Call Number: 364 YOU
Publication Date: 2011
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for MA Criminology, have a look at your Subject Guide.