Speaking Data and Telling Stories by
Speaking Data and Telling Storiesexamines the interdependent relationship between method (Data Verbalization) and practice (performance). Data Verbalization is about communicating and disseminating research data using performance approaches and techniques such as; spoken word, jazz, hip-hop, and reggae theatrics. Martin Glynn calls for the development of performance-driven research dissemination that seeks to bring urgent attention to minority, excluded, and marginalized perspectives within research dissemination as a whole. Employing the data verbalization method creates an exciting new proposition that can give progressive researchers a unique and distinct voice, alongside generating significant reach and impact beyond the academy, conference, and peer reviewed journal. The book will be an invaluable resource for researchers, scholars, and related practitioners who want to strengthen their ability to communicate and disseminate research data using live performance / spoken word approaches and techniques. It will also provide guidance for students and researchers wanting to generate wider environmental, social, and cultural impact using research data creatively. h data using live performance / spoken word approaches and techniques. It will also provide guidance for students and researchers wanting to generate wider environmental, social, and cultural impact using research data creatively.
Doing Criminological Research by
The new edition of this bestselling textbook comes completely revised and updated to take students on a guided tour of criminological research. As a trusted companion, this book brings together a range of experts in the field to provide key perspectives on how to prepare, do and present research. Each chapter comes with a range of learning features and contextualised case studies, giving an in-depth review on conducting research projects. The book: Includes fascinating case studies on transnational crime and policing, victims, male offenders, institutional abuse and more Comes with study questions, activities, key terms and a glossary Includes visual material which highlights and illustrates key points Contains new chapters on mixed methods; web based criminological research; experimental criminological research and quantitative criminological research This is the go-to for any student studying criminology, essential to those conducting their own research in the field.
Social Research by
This fully revised and updated popular text successfully bridges the gap between theory and methods in social research, clearly illuminating these essential components for understanding the dynamics of social relations. The book is divided into two parts, with part one examining the issues and perspectives in social research and part two setting out the methods and processes. Updates to this edition include: A new chapter on case study research A new concluding chapter Links to additional websites and IT applications that are integrated throughout the book Updated experiential examples and scenarios More international examples The clear writing style, chapter summaries, questions for reflection and signposts to further readings continue to make this book the ideal companion to social research for students across the social sciences. In addition, it will be recognised as an invaluable source of reference for those practising and teaching social research who wish to keep abreast of key developments in the field. With contributions from Beth Perry (University of Salford) and Carole Sutton (University of Plymouth).
Realistic Evaluation by
Authors Ray Pawson and Nick Tilley show how program evaluation needs to be and can be bettered. The authors present a profound and highly readable critique of current evaluation practice introducing a manifesto- and handbook-fresh approach. This volume is devoted to articulating a new evaluation paradigm, which promises greater validity and utility for evaluation as a whole. Realistic Evaluation reflects the paradigmÆs foundation in scientific realist philosophy and its commitment to the idea that programs deal with real problems rather than mere social constructions. Its primary intention is to inform realistic developments in policyùmaking that benefit program participants and the public. Pawson and Tilley argue persuasively and passionately that scientific evaluation requires a careful blend of theory and method, quality and quantity, ambition and realism. The book offers a complete blueprint for evaluation activities, covering design to data collection and analysis to the accumulation of findings across programs and onto the realization of research into policy. Practical examples are used throughout this powerful volume and are grounded in the major fields of program evaluation. Realistic Evaluation is essential reading for all those involved in the evaluation process, especially researchers, scholars, and students in sociology, social policy, criminology, health, and education.
Criminological Research by
Good research starts with careful planning and a thorough understanding of the research process. The abilities to design a research study and to evaluate those conducted by others are core skills every student of criminology must learn. With guidance from theoretical considerations through the steps of the research process, this book equips you with the necessary tools to carry out a successful, ethical study. This is a completely updated new edition, and it features A new skills-focused chapter on how to evaluate existing qualitative studies and design new ones Rich examples from real research making the ideas and concepts concrete New in-depth case studies on fashion counterfeiting, electronic monitoring and youth justice to illustrate the realities of conducting qualitative research A full discussion of the politics of research, issues of access, ethics and managing risk in the field Thought-provoking exercises reinforce practical research skills This book is the perfect guide to theory and practice for any student undertaking qualitative research on crime or criminal justice.
Research Methods in Crime and Justice by
Research Methods in Crime and Justice, 2nd Edition, is an innovative text/online hybrid for undergraduate Criminal Justice Research Methods courses. This material uniquely addresses the fundamental teaching issue for this course: how to show students that success as criminal justice practitioners is linked to their acquisition of research skills. Brian Withrow, a widely published academic researcher and former Texas State Trooper, developed this approach for his own undergraduate Research Methods class. He persuasively demonstrates that research skills aren't just essential to university academic researchers but to successful criminal justice practitioners as well. More than 80 short, sharply focused examples throughout the text rely on research that is conducted by, on behalf of, or relevant to criminal justice practitioners to engage students' interest like no other text of its kind. Extensive web materials all written by the author provide an array of instructor support material, including a Researcher's Notebook that provides students (and their instructors) with a series of structured exercises leading to the development of a valid research project. Withrow systematically walks students through defining a question, conducting a literature review, and designing a research method that provides the data necessary to answer the research question--all online, with minimal instructor supervision. The second edition features expanded coverage of measurement, qualitative research methods, and evaluation research methods, as well as additional downloadable journal articles to ensure students begin to think critically about research and can read scholarly literature.
Criminological Imagination by
For the last three decades Jock Young's work has had a profound impact on criminology. Yet, in this provocative new book, Young rejects much of what criminology has become, criticizing the rigid determinism and rampant positivism that dominate the discipline today. His erudite and entertaining examination of what's gone wrong with criminology draws on a range of research - from urban ethnography to sexology and criminal victimization studies - to illustrate its failings. At the same time, Young makes a passionate case for a return to criminology's creative and critical potential, partly informed by the new developments in cultural criminology. A late-modern counterpart to C.Wright Mills's classic The Sociological Imagination, this inspirational piece of writing from one of the most brilliant voices in contemporary criminology will command widespread attention. It will be essential reading for anyone who cares about the future of criminology, and the social sciences more generally.
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for MA Criminology, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Writing for Social Scientists by
Students and researchers all write under pressure, and those pressures--most lamentably, the desire to impress your audience rather than to communicate with them--often lead to pretentious prose, academic posturing, and, not infrequently, writer's block. Sociologist Howard S. Becker has written the classic book on how to conquer these pressures and simply write. First published nearly twenty years ago, Writing for Social Scientists has become a lifesaver for writers in all fields, from beginning students to published authors. Becker's message is clear: in order to learn how to write, take a deep breath and then begin writing. Revise. Repeat. It is not always an easy process, as Becker wryly relates. Decades of teaching, researching, and writing have given him plenty of material, and Becker neatly exposes the foibles of academia and its "publish or perish" atmosphere. Wordiness, the passive voice, inserting a "the way in which" when a simple "how" will do--all these mechanisms are a part of the social structure of academic writing. By shrugging off such impediments--or at the very least, putting them aside for a few hours--we can reform our work habits and start writing lucidly without worrying about grades, peer approval, or the "literature." In this new edition, Becker takes account of major changes in the computer tools available to writers today, and also substantially expands his analysis of how academic institutions create problems for them. As competition in academia grows increasingly heated, Writing for Social Scientists will provide solace to a new generation of frazzled, would-be writers.
Social Research Methods by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys by
The classic survey design reference, updated for the digitalage For over two decades, Dillman's classic text on survey designhas aided both students and professionals in effectively planningand conducting mail, telephone, and, more recently, Internetsurveys. The new edition is thoroughly updated and revised, andcovers all aspects of survey research. It features expandedcoverage of mobile phones, tablets, and the use of do-it-yourselfsurveys, and Dillman's unique Tailored Design Method is alsothoroughly explained. This invaluable resource is crucial for anyresearcher seeking to increase response rates and obtainhigh-quality feedback from survey questions. Consistent withcurrent emphasis on the visual and aural, the new edition iscomplemented by copious examples within the text and accompanyingwebsite. This heavily revised Fourth Edition includes: Strategies and tactics for determining the needs of a givensurvey, how to design it, and how to effectively administer it How and when to use mail, telephone, and Internet surveys tomaximum advantage Proven techniques to increase response rates Guidance on how to obtain high-quality feedback from mail,electronic, and other self-administered surveys Direction on how to construct effective questionnaires,including considerations of layout The effects of sponsorship on the response rates ofsurveys Use of capabilities provided by newly mass-used media:interactivity, presentation of aural and visual stimuli. The Fourth Edition reintroduces thetelephone?including coordinating land and mobile. Grounded in the best research, the book offers practical how-toguidelines and detailed examples for practitioners and studentsalike.
What Is Qualitative Research? by
This book invites readers to explore the nature of qualitative research, and to recognise the varied and conflicting forms it can take. It examines how these contrast with quantitative work, as well as how they differ from journalism and imaginative literature. The book describes various methodological philosophies that have shaped qualitative work, as well as different types of orientation to be found within it today. It offers clear definitions of key terms and concepts, and also a detailed exploration of recent disputes among qualitative researchers, with a view to showing how differences in practice relate to underlying commitments. This book will be a vital resource for both new and experienced researchers.
Doing a literature review : releasing the research imagination by
The ultimate guide to the "what," "how," and "why" of literature reviewing, the Second Edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one's research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new "core skills" framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart's landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Methods of Criminological Research by
Examining the different ways in which data can be collected and analyzed for research on crime and criminal justice, this book deals with social surveys, experimental methods, official statistics, observation and detailed interviews. This practical text includes sections on: * methods of criminological research * types of data * measuring and explaining crime * studying the criminal justice system * gaining access * publishing results. Throughout, it emphasizes the necessity of examining forms of data collection and analysis within the context of the criminological problems being investigated, the theoretical approaches used to address these problems, and the political and institutional contexts within which research takes place.
Doing Criminological Research by
The new edition of this bestselling textbook comes completely revised and updated to take students on a guided tour of criminological research. As a trusted companion, this book brings together a range of experts in the field to provide key perspectives on how to prepare, do and present research. Each chapter comes with a range of learning features and contextualised case studies, giving an in-depth review on conducting research projects. The book: Includes fascinating case studies on transnational crime and policing, victims, male offenders, institutional abuse and more Comes with study questions, activities, key terms and a glossary Includes visual material which highlights and illustrates key points Contains new chapters on mixed methods; web based criminological research; experimental criminological research and quantitative criminological research This is the go-to for any student studying criminology, essential to those conducting their own research in the field.
Doing Research on Crime and Justice by
This volume brings together research principles with the practical issues of carrying out research to provide a clear and fascinating guide to the reality of contemporary criminological research. The experience of leading experts is combined with first-hand accounts from new scholars, toprovide a text that students can refer to throughout their criminological studies.Doing Research on Crime and Justice is divided into five parts, and covers practice and politics in criminology; theory, data and types of criminological research; research on crime, criminals and victims; research on criminal justice agencies and institutions, and concludes with four case studiesfrom new scholars.Incorporating a new international perspective, this volume also addresses contemporary issues such as cyber crime, and provides guidance on conducting research in situations of cultural diversity.
Research Methodology by
Designed with students, for students and now shortlisted for the British Book Design and Production Awards 2019! Eight steps, two pathways, one book. The Fifth Edition of the bestseller Research Methodology has reimagined, redesigned, and fully renovated how a textbook can help students achieve success in their methods course or research project. Eight steps: Foolproof for any beginner researcher, the book breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into achievable stages. It delivers students from research problem to their written research report at the pace they need, with clear explanations, DIY tasks and study skills support. In a new landscape format it presents figures, models and visualizations elegantly, so they don′t break over a page, making even complex concepts easier to understand. Two pathways: With an innovative, beautiful design, regular progress checkpoints have been built into the book and its online resources. As students proceed through the 8 steps, each chapter provides regular opportunities for students to check understanding or give themselves a challenge. Each pathway then gives them the resources they need. Confused? Stop, practise with quizzes and flashcards, or use a video to look at a concept a different way. Up for a challenge? Access a wealth of additional material including research articles, readings, case studies, activities, bibliography tools and inspiration to pursue your curiosity, impress your lecturer, and nail your assignments. With this one book, every student gets what they need to succeed. It is the perfect essential text for students and beginner researchers across the social sciences.
Introduction to Social Research by 
Social Research by
From question development and research design to data collection and statistical analysis, this text guides the reader through every aspect of social research. Encouraging a critical approach in each chapter, this 4th edition includes enhanced coverage of internet sampling, mixed methods, conversation analysis and feminist research.
Criminological Ethnography: an Introduction by
"Written by one of the best Criminological Ethnographers in the business, this text will serve as an invaluable and insightful resource for both novice and seasoned ethnographers of criminological issues." - Anthony Ellis, University of SalfordIn the first textbook to cover ethnography specific to criminology, James Treadwell guides readers through the ethnographic research process in full, starting with a background to criminological ethnography, through planning and doing an ethnographic project, and finally, the writing up and reporting stage. The book provides guidance for navigating key issues in ethnography, including access and researcher safety, and supports readers when carrying out their project with helpful exercises, questions and checklists. It also includes insightful case studies comprised of classic works and the author′s own ethnographic projects, along with a range of extra learning features including key terms, a glossary, and further reading suggestions. A valuable resource for anyone embarking on ethnographic research in criminology for the first time.
The Sociological Imagination by
In particular the 'Appendix: On intellectual craftmanship', pp. 195-226
Hailed upon publication as a cogent and hard-hitting critique, The Sociological Imagination took issue with the ascendant schools of sociology in the United States, calling for a humanist sociology connecting the social, personal, and historical dimensions of our lives. Leading sociologist Todd Gitlin brings this fortieth anniversary edition up to date with a lucid afterword in which he considers the ways social analysis has progressed since Mills first published his study in 1959. A classic in the field, this book still provides rich food for our imagination.