Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Theories of Crime & Social Deviance reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Criminological Imagination by For the last three decades Jock Young's work has had a profound impact on criminology. Yet, in this provocative new book, Young rejects much of what criminology has become, criticizing the rigid determinism and rampant positivism that dominate the discipline today. His erudite and entertaining examination of what's gone wrong with criminology draws on a range of research - from urban ethnography to sexology and criminal victimization studies - to illustrate its failings. At the same time, Young makes a passionate case for a return to criminology's creative and critical potential, partly informed by the new developments in cultural criminology. A late-modern counterpart to C.Wright Mills's classic The Sociological Imagination, this inspirational piece of writing from one of the most brilliant voices in contemporary criminology will command widespread attention. It will be essential reading for anyone who cares about the future of criminology, and the social sciences more generally.
Call Number: 364 YOU
Publication Date: 2011
Criminology by Chapter 29
Comprehensive and accessible, Tim Newburn's bestselling Criminology provides an introduction to the fundamental themes, concepts, theories, methods and events that underpin the subject and form the basis for all undergraduate degree courses and modules in Criminology and Criminal Justice. This third edition includes: A new chapter on politics, reflecting the ever increasing coverage of political influence and decision making on criminology courses New and updated crime data and analysis of trends, plus new content on recent events such as the Volkswagen scandal, the latest developments on historic child abuse, as well as extended coverage throughout of the English riots A fully revised and updated companion website, including exam, review and multiple choice questions, a live Twitter feed from the author providing links to media and academic coverage of events related to the concepts covered in the book, together with links to a dedicated textbook Facebook page Fully updated to reflect recent developments in the field and extensively illustrated, this authoritative text, written by a leading criminologist and experienced lecturer, is essential reading for all students of Criminology and related fields.
Call Number: 364 NEW + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology by Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology brings the history of criminological thought alive through a collection of fascinating life stories. The book covers a range of historical and contemporary thinkers from around the world, offering a stimulating combination of biographical fact with historical and cultural context. A rich mix of life-and-times detail and theoretical reflection is designed to generate further discussion on some of the key contributions that have shaped the field of criminology. Featured profiles include: Cesare Beccaria Nils Christie Albert Cohen Carol Smart W. E. B. DuBois John Braithwaite. Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology is an accessible and informative guide that includes helpful cross-referencing and suggestions for further reading. It is of value to all students of criminology and of interest to those in related disciplines, such as sociology and criminal justice.
Call Number: 364 HAY + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Key Readings in Criminology by Rock, P. (2009) 'On becoming a victim'
Key Readings in Criminology provides a comprehensive single-volume collection of readings in criminology. It provides students with convenient access to a broad range of excerpts (over 150 readings) from original criminological texts and key articles, and is designed to be used either as a stand-alone text or in conjunction with the same author's textbook, Criminology. This volume can be used in a number of ways in support of the study of criminology: as a source of both 'key' and supplementary reading for lectures; as the basis for organized reading in advance of seminars and tutorials; as the basis for classroom discussion and analysis; as a broad source of reading for exam revision; in addition it provides students with access to a broad range of materials with which to follow up their reading of their main textbook; it includes readings that include more recent summaries of particularly important criminological issues, as well as excerpts from criminological classics; it also introduces students not only to criminological argument and debate, but also encourages them to read primary as well as secondary or summary sources.
Call Number: 364 NEW
Publication Date: 2011
Realist Criminology by This book challenges contemporary criminological thinking, providing a thorough critique of mainstream criminology, including both liberal criminology and administrative criminology. It sets a new agenda for theoretical and practical engagement, and for creating a more effective and just criminal justice system.
Call Number: 364 MAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Theory by The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Theory recenters theory in the boldest, most thought-provoking form possible within the criminological enterprise. Written by a team of internationally respected specialists, it provides readers with a clear overview of criminological theory, enabling them to reflect critically upon the variety of theoretical positions - traditional, emergent and desirable - that are constitutive of the discipline at the beginning of the twenty-first century. Each chapter has been specially commissioned to include the following:A brief historical overview of the theoretical perspective Core ideas and key associated conceptsA critical review of the contemporary status of the perspectiveReflections on future developmentsIn addition, the Handbook features a substantive introduction by the editors, providing a review of the development of criminological theory, the state of contemporary criminological theory and emergent issues and debates. The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Theory is an indispensable international resource for libraries and scholars of all levels studying the rapidly developing, interdisciplinary field of criminology.
Call Number: 9781446270530 + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Causes of Delinquency by In Causes of Delinquency, Hirschi attempts to state and test a theory of delinquency, seeing in the delinquent a person relatively free of the intimate attachments, the aspirations, and the moral beliefs that bind most people to a life within the law. In prominent alternative theories, the delinquent appears either as a frustrated striver forced into delinquency by his acceptance of the goals common to us all, or as an innocent foreigner attempting to obey the rules of a society that is not in position to make the law or define conduct as good or evil. Hirschi analyzes a large body of data on delinquency collected in Western Contra Costa County, California, contrasting throughout the assumptions of the strain, control, and cultural deviance theories. He outlines the assumptions of these theories and discusses the logical and empirical difficulties attributed to each of them. Then draws from sources an outline of social control theory, the theory that informs the subsequent analysis and which is advocated here. Often listed as a "Citation Classic," Causes of Delinquency retains its force and cogency with age. It is an important volume and a necessary addition to the libraries of sociologists, criminologists, scholars and students in the area of delinquency.
Call Number: 364.36 HIR
Publication Date: 2001
Criminology at the Crossroads by Criminology at the Crossroads: Feminist Readings in Crime and Justice is an edited collection of accessible articles on gender, crime, and justice. It contains key works in criminology and law by well-known feminist scholars including Carol Smart, Kristin Bumiller, Hilary Allen, MedaChesney-Lind, Kathleen Ferraro, Laureen Snider, and Regina Austin. The 14 selections, chosen for their empirical focus and sophisticated modes of interpretation, raise difficult, unresolved problems for feminist work in criminology. Themes include the construction of women in feminist, legal, andcriminological discourses; the blurred boundaries of victimization and criminalization; masculinities and violence; and the crossroads and intersections of class-race-gender, politics, and justice.Daly and Mahers introductory essay offers a brief overview of the field, past and present, and analyzes the shifts that occurred in feminist thinking between the 1970s and the 1990s. The editors suggest that feminists need to move beyond the familiar critiques of androcentrism in the field. Theypropose that instead of asking Where are the women? or Where is sex/gender in criminology?, feminists should say Here are the women (and men) and Here is sex/gender in criminal law, lawbreaking, and state responses to harm. While acknowledging the current vitality and energy of feminist scholarship,Daly and Maher also suggest that feminists in criminology stand at the crossroads of discourse and realism and of academic and activist knowledge. Criminology at the Crossroads: Feminist Readings in Crime and Justice will challenge and provoke students, making it an essential text not only forgraduates and advanced undergraduates in criminology, law, and the social sciences, but also for scholars interested in becoming more familiar with feminist work.
Call Number: 364.082 DAL
Publication Date: 1998
Delinquency and Opportunity by First published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: 364.1066 CLO + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The Delinquent Solution (Routledge Revivals) by First published in 1966, The Delinquent Solution presents a study of crime associated with the nature of subcultures. The book discusses issues such as the concept and theory of subcultures, the life of delinquent gangs, and the English experience of delinquent subcultures. It also takes an in-depth look at the Stepney and Poplar survey on crime from 1960, analysing both statistical data and more informal observations. Although the book was written over forty years ago, the issues discussed remain relevant and strong areas of interest.
Call Number: 364.34 DOW
Publication Date: 2014
Deviance by This highly successful reader presents the interactionist approach to the study of deviance, examining deviance as a phenomenon that is constituted through social interpretations and the reactions of persons caught up in this social process. This book focuses on issues such as how individuals interpret and label people, how people relate to one another based on these interpretations, and the consequences of these social processes. This perspective helps students understand both social process in general and the sociology of deviance in particular.
Call Number: 302.542 RUB
Publication Date: 2008
Gang by While gangs and gang culture have been around for countless centuries, The Gang is one of the first academic studies of the phenomenon. Originally published in 1927, Frederic Milton Thrasher's magnum opus offers a profound and careful analysis of hundreds of gangs in Chicago in the early part of the twentieth century. With rich prose and an eye for detail, Thrasher looked specifically at the way in which urban geography shaped gangs, and posited the thesis that neighborhoods in flux were more likely to produce gangs. Moreover, he traced gang culture back to feudal and medieval power systems and linked tribal ethos in other societies to codes of honor and glory found in American gangs. Thrasher approaches his subject with empathy and insightfulness, and creates a multifaceted and textured portrait that still has much to offer to readers today. With handsome images that evoke the era, this unabridged edition of The Gang not only explores an important moment in the history of Chicago, but also is itself a landmark in the history of sociology and subcultural theory.
Call Number: 364.1066 THR
Publication Date: 2013
What Is to Be Done about Crime and Punishment? by This book responds to the claim that criminology is becoming socially and politically irrelevant despite its exponential expansion as an academic sub-discipline. It does so by addressing the question 'what is to be done' in relation to a number of major issues associated with crime and punishment. The original contributions to this volume are provided by leading international experts in a wide range of issues. They address imprisonment, drugs, gangs, cybercrime, prostitution, domestic violence, crime control, as well as white collar and corporate crime. Written in an accessible style, this collection aims to contribute to the development of a more public criminology and encourages students and researchers at all levels to engage in a form of criminology that is more socially relevant and more useful.
Call Number: 364 MAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for MA Criminology, have a look at your Subject Guide.