Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MA Criminology: Crime & Victimisation: Databases and Journals

A-Z eResources List

Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

A-Z eJournal List

Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Requesting Articles

Requesting Articles 

If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.

University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library. 

The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.  
 

Database and Journal information

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

Children, Young People Now
A dedicated magazine for professionals working with children, young people and families. This essential read for the sector covers childcare and early years, education, health, social care, youth justice, and youth work.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Full-text archive of sociology journals (excluding the last few years.)  Titles include Social Forces; Family Relations; Journal of Marriage and Family; British Journal of Sociology; Ethics; Social Psychology Quarterly

Lexis Library
Legal research database - covers UK legislation, case law and commentary. Includes Industrial Relations Law Reports

Oxford Journals
over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.

Proquest Central
provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world

Proquest Criminal Justice
comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Proquest Psychology Journals
Full-text psychology articles from 1992, including child psychology and child development. Titles includeFamily Therapy

Sage Premier
Includes over 645 peer-reviewed, full-text journals and over 500,000 articles, dating back to 1999 spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more. 

ScienceDirect
is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.  There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, with a growing content base.

Taylor and Francis
Full-text journal articles covering all subject areas.Titles include Journal of Youth Studies

Wiley Online Library
Full text journal articles covering all subject areas. Titles include Gender and Society; Sociological Review; Law and Society.

Action Research

Ageing and Society

American Journal of Sociology

British Journal of Criminology

British Journal of Sociology

Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Capital & Class

Criminal Justice Matters

Community Care

Community Development Journal

Comparative Studies in Society and History

Contemporary Sociology

Crime, Law and Social Change

Crime, Media, Culture

Criminology & Criminal Justice

Critical Sociology

Current Sociology

Ethnic and Racial Studies

European Journal of Crime, Criminal Law and Criminal Justice

European Journal of Social Equality

European Journal of Sociology

Evaluation Review

Feminist Criminology

Feminist Review

Globalization and Health

Health and Social Care in the Community

Historical Materialism

History of the Human Sciences

Howard Journal of Crime and Justice

International Journal of Labour Research

International Journal of Law, Crime and Justice

International Journal of Social Research Methodology

International Journal of the Sociology of Law

International Sociology

Jane's Police Review

Journal of Development Studies

Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies

Journal of Refugee Studies

Max Weber Studies

Milbank Quarterly

New Internationalist

Police Practice and Research

Punishment & Society

Qualitative Inquiry

Social & Legal Studies

Social Policy and Society: a Journal of the Social Policy Association

Social Politics

Social Problems

Social Research

Sociological Review

Sociology

Theoretical Criminology

Theory and Society

Urban Studies

Voluntas

Women and Criminal Justice

Women, Employment and Society

How to use Journals

Attribution

All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0