Welcome to your Research Design & Statistics reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
The Practice of Social Research, 15th edn by
Known as the gold standard for research methods, Babbie's THE PRACTICE OF SOCIAL RESEARCH gives you a definitive guide to research as practiced by social scientists. Combining a straightforward approach with the author's renowned sense of humor, this student-friendly text equips you with the tools and knowledge to apply research concepts as both researcher and consumer. The author emphasizes the process by showing you how to design and construct projects, introducing today's various observation modes and answering critical questions about research methods, such as how to conduct online surveys and analyze both qualitative and quantitative data. The 15th Edition includes the latest General Social Survey findings along with new coverage of the global use of social research, the emerging role of big data, demographic analysis and more. Also available: MindTap digital learning solution.
Doing a Systematic Review by
Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology, 7th edn by
A good introduction to the quantitative statistics incorporated in the social sciences. A comprehensive coverage of the statistics covered in research modules at this level in a clear and comprehensive format.
The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology provides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of experimental, interviewing and observational methods, psychological testing, qualitative methods and analysis and statistical procedures which include nominal level tests, multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression, log linear analysis, and factor analysis.　It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for all these and other procedures, eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features to this edition include: Additional coverage of factor analysis and online and modern research methods Expanded coverage of report writing guidelines References updated throughout Presentation updated throughout, to include more figures, tables and full colour to help break up the text Companion website signposted throughout the book to improve student usability Improved and extended web links and further reading associated with every chapter. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A fully updated companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, testbanks for each chapter, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Statistics Explained by
Statistics Explained is an accessible introduction to statistical concepts and ideas. It makes few assumptions about the reader's statistical knowledge, carefully explaining each step of the analysis and the logic behind it. The book: provides a clear explanation of statistical analysis and the key statistical tests employed in analysing research data gives accessible explanations of how and why statistical tests are used includes a wide range of practical, easy-to-understand worked examples. Building on the international success of earlier editions, this fully updated revision includes developments in statistical analysis, with new sections explaining concepts such as bootstrapping and structural equation modelling. A new chapter - 'Samples and Statistical Inference' - explains how data can be analysed in detail to examine its suitability for certain statistical tests. The friendly and straightforward style of the text makes it accessible to all those new to statistics, as well as more experienced students requiring a concise guide. It is suitable for students and new researchers in disciplines including Psychology, Education, Sociology, Sports Science, Nursing, Communication, and Media and Business Studies. Presented in full colour and with an updated, reader-friendly layout, this new edition also comes with a companion website featuring supplementary resources for students. Unobtrusive cross-referencing makes it the ideal companion to Perry R. Hinton's SPSS Explained, also published by Routledge. Perry R. Hinton has many years of experience in teaching statistics to students from a wide range of disciplines and his understanding of the problems students face forms the basis of this book.
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews, 2nd edn by
Focused on actively using systematic review as method, An Introduction to Systematic Reviews provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this practical text carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism. The second edition features a new chapter on statistical synthesis and introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis, including text mining, living reviews, and new ideas in mixed methods reviews, such as qualitative comparative analysis. Packed with examples from across the social sciences, this book helps students and researchers alike in turning systematic reviews into recommendations for policy and practice. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Chapter One: 'Experiments and Generalized Causal Inference', in Experimental and Quasi-Experimental Designs for Generalized Causal Inference, pp.1-32 by
This long awaited successor of the original Cook/Campbell Quasi-Experimentation: Design and Analysis Issues for Field Settings represents updates in the field over the last two decades. The book covers four major topics in field experimentation: