Effective leadership : how to be a successful leader by
John Adair, Britain's foremost expert on leadership training, shows how every manager can learn to lead. He draws upon numerous examples of leadership in action - commercial, military and historical - to pinpoint the essential requirements.
Leadership and Motivation by
John Adair has transformed our understanding of how leadership works with his pioneering book Not Bosses But Leaders. Here he explores the nature of motivation, individual needs and how they relate to the key tasks facing leaders and managers - good, positive motivation can create, maintain and improve the performance of any team.In Leadership and Motivation John Adair also puts forward his own theory of motivation - the fifty-fifty rule - and then identifies the eight key principles for motivating others.Motivation increases efficiency and productivity - and makes reaching targets more likely. Leadership and Motivation will stimulate your thoughts and ideas on how to inspire others, and offers you some practical ways to motivate yourself and others to achieve.
Leadership and Management in Healthcare by
The Third Edition of this best-selling text supports readers on their journey from emerging registered healthcare professional to competent care manager. Action points, case studies, and strong practice guidelines enable readers to understand how leadership and management theory applies to the care delivered in a wide range of care settings. Leadership and Management in Healthcare is essential for nursing, health, and social care students taking modules on leadership, management, and transition to practice in their final year, as well as for newly qualified professionals or those seeking to refresh their skills.
Computed Tomography by
The book is intended for all those who work daily, regularly or even occasionally with CT - physicians, engineers, technicians and physicists, as well as students learnig about CT. Written by one of the world's leading experts, it offers a comprehensive description of the theoretical and technical system fundamentals of computed tomography (CT) for a wide readership, from conventional single-slice acquisitions to volume acquisition with multi-slice and cone-beam spiral CT. It covers in detail all characteristic parameters relevant for image quality and all performance features significant for clinical application. Readers will thus be informed how to use a CT system to an optimum depending on the different diagnostic requirements. This includes a detailed discussion about the dose required and about dose measurements as well as how to reduce dose in CT. All considerations pay special attention to spiral CT and to developments towards advanced multi-slice and cone-beam CT. For the fourth edition, latest topics like breast CT and automatic exposure control have been added. A glossary describes important technical terms in alphabetical order. The enclosed DVD offers of all figures in the book and attractive case studies, including many examples from most recent 64-slice acquisitions, and interactive exercises for image viewing and manipulation.
Computed tomography: approaches, applications, and operations by
This book offers a comprehensive and topical depiction of advances in CT imaging. CT has become a leading medical imaging modality, thanks to its superb spatial and temporal resolution to depict anatomical details. New advances have further extended the technology to provide physiological information, enabling a wide and expanding range of clinical applications. The text covers the latest advancements in CT technology and clinical applications for a variety of CT types and imaging methods. The content is presented in seven parts to offer a structure across a board coverage of CT: CT Systems, CT Performance, CT Practice, Spectral CT, Quantitative CT, Functional CT, and Special Purpose CT. Each contain chapters written by leading experts in the field, covering CT hardware and software innovations, CT operation, CT performance characterization, functional and quantitative applications, and CT systems devised for specific anatomical applications. This book is an ideal resource for practitioners of CT applications in medicine, including physicians, trainees, engineers, and scientists.
Computed tomography : physical principles, clinical applications, and quality control by
COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY: Physical Principles, Clinical Applications, and Quality Control; Copyright; DEDICATION; CONTRIBUTORS; REVIEWERS; FOREWORD; PREFACE TO THE FOURTH EDITION; PURPOSE; CONTENT AND ORGANIZATION; USE AND SCOPE; ACKNOWLEDGMENTS; CONTENTS; 1 -- Computed Tomography: An Overview; OUTLINE; LEARNING OBJECTIVES; KEY TERMS TO WATCH FOR AND REMEMBER; MEANING; Image Reconstruction from Projections; Evolution of Terms; PROCESS; Data Acquisition; Image Reconstruction; Image Display, Processing, Storage, Recording, and Communications; HOW CT SCANNERS WORK
HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVESEarly Experiments; Godfrey Newbold Hounsfield; Allan MacLeod Cormack; Growth; First 10 Years; High-Speed CT Scanners; Spiral/Helical CT Scanners: Volume Scanning; Dual-Source CT Scanner; Other Technical Applications of Volume CT; Portable CT; Clinical Efficacy Studies; Radiation Dose Studies; Quality Control; Other Uses; APPLICATIONS OF VOLUME SCANNING; CT Fluoroscopy; Three-Dimensional Imaging and Volume Visualization; CT Angiography; CT Endoscopy: Virtual Reality Imaging; Cardiac CT Imaging; CT Screening; MAJOR TECHNOLOGY TRENDS; Iterative Reconstruction Algorithms
Detector TechnologiesRadiation Dose Optimization; Spectral CT Imaging; GPU Computing in CT; CT SCANNER PRODUCT DATA: CHARACTERISTIC FEATURES; Performance Specifications; Image Quality Consideration; Operating Features; DIGITAL IMAGE PROCESSING; REVIEW QUESTIONS; REVIEW QUESTIONS-cont'd; REFERENCES; BIBLIOGRAPHY; 2 -- Digital Image Processing; OUTLINE; LEARNING OBJECTIVES; KEY TERMS TO WATCH FOR AND REMEMBER; LIMITATIONS OF FILM-BASED IMAGING; GENERIC DIGITAL IMAGING SYSTEM; Data Acquisition; Image Processing; Image Display, Storage, and Communication; HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVES
IMAGE FORMATION AND REPRESENTATIONAnalog Images; Digital Images; WHAT IS DIGITAL IMAGE PROCESSING; Definitions; Image Domains; CHARACTERISTICS OF THE DIGITAL IMAGE; Matrix; Pixels; Voxels; Bit Depth; Effect of Digital Image Parameters on the Appearance of Digital Images; IMAGE DIGITIZATION; Scanning; Sampling; Quantization; Analog-to-Digital Conversion; Why Digitize Images; Image-Processing Techniques; Point Operations; Local Operations; Spatial Location Filtering: Convolution; Spatial Frequency Filtering: High-Pass Filtering; Spatial Frequency Filtering: Low-Pass Filtering
Spatial Frequency Processing: Unsharp (Blurred) MaskingGlobal Operations; Geometric Operations; IMAGE COMPRESSION OVERVIEW; What Is Image Compression; Types of Image Compression; Visual Impact of Irreversible Compression on Digital Images; IMAGE SYNTHESIS OVERVIEW; Magnetic Resonance Imaging; CT Imaging; Three-Dimensional Imaging in Radiology; Virtual Reality Imaging in Radiology; IMAGE-PROCESSING HARDWARE; CT AS A DIGITAL IMAGE-PROCESSING SYSTEM; IMAGE PROCESSING: AN ESSENTIAL TOOL FOR CT; REVIEW QUESTIONS; REFERENCES; 3 -- Physical Principles of Computed Tomography;
Physics of PET and SPECT Imaging by
PET and SPECT imaging has improved to such a level that they are opening up exciting new horizons in medical diagnosis and treatment. This book provides a complete introduction to fundamentals and the latest progress in the field, including an overview of new scintillator materials and innovations in photodetector development, as well as the latest system designs and image reconstruction algorithms. It begins with basics of PET and SPECT physics, followed by technology advances and computing methods, quantitative techniques, multimodality imaging, instrumentation, pre-clinical and clinical imaging applications.
Atlas of Non-Invasive Imaging in Cardiac Anatomy. by
Compares cardiovascular anatomy with exquisite imaging details provided by echo, CT and MRI
Focuses on the anatomic structures that are most relevant for clinical cardiologists and cardiac interventionalists
Provides a comprehensive integrative experience to understand the how imaging reflects anatomic subtleties
Leading Change, with a New Preface by the Author by
The international bestseller--now with a new preface by author John Kotter. Millions worldwide have read and embraced John Kotter's ideas on change management and leadership. From the ill-fated dot-com bubble to unprecedented M&A activity to scandal, greed, and ultimately, recession--we've learned that widespread and difficult change is no longer the exception. It's the rule. Now with a new preface, this refreshed edition of the global bestseller Leading Change is more relevant than ever. John Kotter's now-legendary eight-step process for managing change with positive results has become the foundation for leaders and organizations across the globe. By outlining the process every organization must go through to achieve its goals, and by identifying where and how even top performers derail during the change process, Kotter provides a practical resource for leaders and managers charged with making change initiatives work. Leading Change is widely recognized as his seminal work and is an important precursor to his newer ideas on acceleration published in Harvard Business Review. Needed more today than at any time in the past, this bestselling business book serves as both visionary guide and practical toolkit on how to approach the difficult yet crucial work of leading change in any type of organization. Reading this highly personal book is like spending a day with the world's foremost expert on business leadership. You're sure to walk away inspired--and armed with the tools you need to inspire others. Published by Harvard Business Review Press.
Humble Leadership by
Bestselling author and father of organizational culture studies, Edgar Schein and Peter Schein trail-blaze with a creative perspective on leadership that encourages vulnerability and empathy as a form of strength. The more traditional forms of leadership that are based on static hierarchies and professional distance between leaders and followers are growing increasingly outdated and ineffective. As organizations face more complex interdependent tasks, leadership must become more personal in order to insure open trusting communication that will make more collaborative problem solving and innovation possible. Without open and trusting communications throughout organizations, they will continue to face the productivity and quality problems that result from reward systems that emphasize individual competition and "climbing the corporate ladder". Authors Edgar Schein and Peter Schein recognize this reality and call for a reimagined form of leadership that coincides with emerging trends of relationship building, complex group work, diverse workforces, and cultures in which everyone feels psychologically safe. Humble Leadership calls for "here and now" humility based on a deeper understanding of the constantly evolving complexities of interpersonal, group and intergroup relationships that require shifting our focus towards the process of group dynamics and collaboration. Humble Leadership at all levels and in all working groups will be the key to achieving the creativity, adaptiveness, and agility that organizations will need to survive and grow.
Advanced applications of cardiac computed tomography for the difficult-to image patient. by
Throughout the development of computed tomographic (CT) imaging the challenges of capturing the heart, with its perpetual, vigorous motion, and in particular the tiny detail within the coronary arteries, has driven technological progress. Today, CT is a widely used and rapidly growing modality for the investigation of coronary artery disease, as well as other cardiac pathology. However, limitations remain and particular patient groups present a significant challenge to the CT operator.
This thesis adds new knowledge to the assessment of these difficult-to-image patients. It considers patients with artefact from coronary artery calcification or stents, examining the remarkable diagnostic performance of high definition scanning, as well as material subtraction techniques using dual energy CT, alongside ways in which current technology might be revisited and refined with the use of alternative image reconstruction methods. Patients with challenging heart rate or rhythm abnormalities are considered in three studies; how to achieve diagnostic image quality in atrial fibrillation, the safety of an aggressive approach to intravenous beta-blocker use prior to coronary imaging, and the development of patient information to address anxiety as a source of tachycardia and motion artefact. Finally, the novel application of a single source, dual energy CT scanner to additional cardiac information is considered, with studies of myocardial perfusion CT and delayed iodine enhancement imaging, to identify ways in which non-coronary imaging might be exploited to more thoroughly evaluate a patient’s coronary artery status.
These findings are presented in the context of developing technology and together offer a range of potential options for operators of cardiac CT when faced with a difficult-to-image patient.
Cone Beam Computed Tomography - Imaging in Medical Diagnosis and Therapy by