Computed Tomography by
The book offers a comprehensive and user-oriented description of the theoretical and technical system fundamentals of computed tomography (CT) for a wide readership, from conventional single-slice acquisitions to volume acquisition with multi-slice and cone-beam spiral CT. It covers in detail all characteristic parameters relevant for image quality and all performance features significant for clinical application. Readers will thus be informed how to use a CT system to an optimum depending on the different diagnostic requirements. This includes a detailed discussion about the dose required and about dose measurements as well as how to reduce dose in CT. All considerations pay special attention to spiral CT and to new developments towards advanced multi-slice and cone-beam CT. For the third edition most of the contents have been updated and latest topics like dual source CT, dual energy CT, flat detector CT and interventional CT have been added. The enclosed CD-ROM again offers copies of all figures in the book and attractive case studies, including many examples from the most recent 64-slice acquisitions, and interactive exercises for image viewing and manipulation. This book is intended for all those who work daily, regularly or even only occasionally with CT: physicians, radiographers, engineers, technicians and physicists. A glossary describes all the important technical terms in alphabetical order. The enclosed DVD again offers attractive case studies, including many examples from the most recent 64-slice acquisitions, and interactive exercises for image viewing and manipulation. This book is intended for all those who work daily, regularly or even only occasionally with CT: physicians, radiographers, engineers, technicians and physicists. A glossary describes all the important technical terms in alphabetical order.
Computed Tomography for Technologists: a Comprehensive Text by
Covering only what CT technologists need to know, this all-in-one solution helps students develop the knowledge and decision-making skills they need for clinical practice while preparing them for the ARRT registry exam. Organized around the four major ARRT content categories (patient care, safety, image production, and procedures), the fully updated 2nd Edition takes an easy-to-understand approach that combines real-world scenarios, and proven pedagogy to help students master the content of the course. NEW ! The latest ARRT and ASRT standards are incorporated to fully prepare students for the registry exam. NEW! Up-to-date content on patient radiation dosing includes methods to reduce doses, such as adaptive statistical iterative reconstruction (ASIR) and factors associated with expanded MDCT that contribute to the dose. EXPANDED! The book's robust online student resources now include new audio flashcards, a new audio glossary, and new animations, as well as an image bank and exam simulator. Clinical Application boxes use real-life scenarios to illustrate and explain concepts. In-text learning aids , including key terms, key concepts boxes, review questions, an end-of-the book glossary, and recommended readings, reinforce learning. Examples of Exam Protocols summarize appropriate protocols and procedures for examining major anatomical areas. CT Cross-Sectional Slices, accompanied by shaded diagrams and a reference image, appear in the Cross-Sectional Anatomy section. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Computed tomography: approaches, applications, and operations by
This book offers a comprehensive and topical depiction of advances in CT imaging. CT has become a leading medical imaging modality, thanks to its superb spatial and temporal resolution to depict anatomical details. New advances have further extended the technology to provide physiological information, enabling a wide and expanding range of clinical applications. The text covers the latest advancements in CT technology and clinical applications for a variety of CT types and imaging methods. The content is presented in seven parts to offer a structure across a board coverage of CT: CT Systems, CT Performance, CT Practice, Spectral CT, Quantitative CT, Functional CT, and Special Purpose CT. Each contain chapters written by leading experts in the field, covering CT hardware and software innovations, CT operation, CT performance characterization, functional and quantitative applications, and CT systems devised for specific anatomical applications. This book is an ideal resource for practitioners of CT applications in medicine, including physicians, trainees, engineers, and scientists.
Computed tomography : physical principles, clinical applications, and quality control by
COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY: Physical Principles, Clinical Applications, and Quality Control; Copyright; DEDICATION; CONTRIBUTORS; REVIEWERS; FOREWORD; PREFACE TO THE FOURTH EDITION; PURPOSE; CONTENT AND ORGANIZATION; USE AND SCOPE; ACKNOWLEDGMENTS; CONTENTS; 1 -- Computed Tomography: An Overview; OUTLINE; LEARNING OBJECTIVES; KEY TERMS TO WATCH FOR AND REMEMBER; MEANING; Image Reconstruction from Projections; Evolution of Terms; PROCESS; Data Acquisition; Image Reconstruction; Image Display, Processing, Storage, Recording, and Communications; HOW CT SCANNERS WORK
HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVESEarly Experiments; Godfrey Newbold Hounsfield; Allan MacLeod Cormack; Growth; First 10 Years; High-Speed CT Scanners; Spiral/Helical CT Scanners: Volume Scanning; Dual-Source CT Scanner; Other Technical Applications of Volume CT; Portable CT; Clinical Efficacy Studies; Radiation Dose Studies; Quality Control; Other Uses; APPLICATIONS OF VOLUME SCANNING; CT Fluoroscopy; Three-Dimensional Imaging and Volume Visualization; CT Angiography; CT Endoscopy: Virtual Reality Imaging; Cardiac CT Imaging; CT Screening; MAJOR TECHNOLOGY TRENDS; Iterative Reconstruction Algorithms
Detector TechnologiesRadiation Dose Optimization; Spectral CT Imaging; GPU Computing in CT; CT SCANNER PRODUCT DATA: CHARACTERISTIC FEATURES; Performance Specifications; Image Quality Consideration; Operating Features; DIGITAL IMAGE PROCESSING; REVIEW QUESTIONS; REVIEW QUESTIONS-cont'd; REFERENCES; BIBLIOGRAPHY; 2 -- Digital Image Processing; OUTLINE; LEARNING OBJECTIVES; KEY TERMS TO WATCH FOR AND REMEMBER; LIMITATIONS OF FILM-BASED IMAGING; GENERIC DIGITAL IMAGING SYSTEM; Data Acquisition; Image Processing; Image Display, Storage, and Communication; HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVES
IMAGE FORMATION AND REPRESENTATIONAnalog Images; Digital Images; WHAT IS DIGITAL IMAGE PROCESSING; Definitions; Image Domains; CHARACTERISTICS OF THE DIGITAL IMAGE; Matrix; Pixels; Voxels; Bit Depth; Effect of Digital Image Parameters on the Appearance of Digital Images; IMAGE DIGITIZATION; Scanning; Sampling; Quantization; Analog-to-Digital Conversion; Why Digitize Images; Image-Processing Techniques; Point Operations; Local Operations; Spatial Location Filtering: Convolution; Spatial Frequency Filtering: High-Pass Filtering; Spatial Frequency Filtering: Low-Pass Filtering
Spatial Frequency Processing: Unsharp (Blurred) MaskingGlobal Operations; Geometric Operations; IMAGE COMPRESSION OVERVIEW; What Is Image Compression; Types of Image Compression; Visual Impact of Irreversible Compression on Digital Images; IMAGE SYNTHESIS OVERVIEW; Magnetic Resonance Imaging; CT Imaging; Three-Dimensional Imaging in Radiology; Virtual Reality Imaging in Radiology; IMAGE-PROCESSING HARDWARE; CT AS A DIGITAL IMAGE-PROCESSING SYSTEM; IMAGE PROCESSING: AN ESSENTIAL TOOL FOR CT; REVIEW QUESTIONS; REFERENCES; 3 -- Physical Principles of Computed Tomography;
Physics of PET and SPECT Imaging by
PET and SPECT imaging has improved to such a level that they are opening up exciting new horizons in medical diagnosis and treatment. This book provides a complete introduction to fundamentals and the latest progress in the field, including an overview of new scintillator materials and innovations in photodetector development, as well as the latest system designs and image reconstruction algorithms. It begins with basics of PET and SPECT physics, followed by technology advances and computing methods, quantitative techniques, multimodality imaging, instrumentation, pre-clinical and clinical imaging applications.
Atlas of Non-Invasive Imaging in Cardiac Anatomy. by
Compares cardiovascular anatomy with exquisite imaging details provided by echo, CT and MRI
Focuses on the anatomic structures that are most relevant for clinical cardiologists and cardiac interventionalists
Provides a comprehensive integrative experience to understand the how imaging reflects anatomic subtleties
Anatomy TV is an interactive educational resource for understanding human anatomy. This resource provides a comprehensive view of all anatomical regions utilising a range of content including 3D models, video clips, slides, animations, and text. This resource is essential for individuals in health and health-adjacent disciplines, including the clinical specialty of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene.
The content of this resource is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this resource is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.