ACR Manual on Contrast Media 2021 by
This manual was developed by the ACR Committee on Drugs and Contrast Media of the ACR Commission on
Quality and Safety as a guide for radiologists to enhance the safe and effective use of contrast media. The
Committee offers this document to practicing radiologists as a consensus of scientific evidence and clinical
experience concerning the use of contrast media. Suggestions for patient screening, premedication, recognition
of adverse reactions, and emergency treatment of such reactions are emphasized. Its major purpose is to provide
useful information regarding contrast media used in daily practice.
Sectional Anatomy by MRI and CT by
Now available with state-of-the-art digital enhancements, the highly anticipated 4th edition of this classic reference is even more relevant and accessible for daily practice. A sure grasp of cross sectional anatomy is essential for accurate radiologic interpretation, and this atlas provides exactly the information needed in a practical, quick reference format. New color coding of anatomic structures and new scroll and zoom capabilities on photos in the eBook version make this title an essential diagnostic tool for both residents and practicing radiologists. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices Color-coded labels for nerves, vessels, muscles, bone tendons, and ligaments facilitate accurate identification of key anatomic structures Scroll and zoom capabilities on photos in the accompanying eBook version enable easier accessibility during interpretation sessions and real-time resident education Carefully labeled MRIs for all body parts, as well as schematic diagrams and concise statements, clarify correlations between bones and tissues CT scans for selected body parts enhance anatomic visualization More than 2,300 state-of-the-art images can be viewed in three standard planes: axial, coronal, and sagittal Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Color-coded labels for nerves, vessels, muscles, bone tendons, and ligaments facilitate accurate identification of key anatomic structures. Scroll and zoom capabilities on photos in the accompanying eBook version enable easier accessibility during interpretation sessions and real-time resident education. Carefully labeled MRIs for all body parts, as well as schematic diagrams and concise statements, clarify correlations between bones and tissues. CT scans for selected body parts enhance anatomic visualization. More than 2,300 state-of-the-art images can be viewed in three standard planes: axial, coronal, and sagittal.
Human Sectional Anatomy by
First published in 1991, Human Sectional Anatomy set new standards for the quality of cadaver sections and accompanying radiological images. Now in its fourth edition, this unsurpassed quality remains and is further enhanced by the addition of new material. The superb full-colour cadaver sections are compared with CT and MRI images, with accompanying, labelled, line diagrams. Many of the radiological images have been replaced with new examples for this latest edition, captured using the most up-to date imaging technologies to ensure excellent visualization of the anatomy. The photographic material is enhanced by useful notes with details of important anatomical and radiological features. Beautifully presented in a convenient and portable format, the fourth edition of this popular pocket atlas continues to be an essential textbook for medical and allied health students and those taking postgraduate qualifications in radiology, surgery and medicine, and an invaluable ready-reference for all practising anatomists, radiologists, radiographers, surgeons and medics.
Magnetic resonance imaging equipment in clinical use: safety guidelines by
Relevant safety information for users of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) equipment in clinical use.
Safety and Biological Effects in MRI by
In vivo magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) has evolved into a versatile and critical, if not 'gold standard', imaging tool with applications ranging from the physical sciences to the clinical '-ology'. In addition, there is a vast amount of accumulated but unpublished inside knowledge on what is needed to perform a safe, in vivo MRI. The goal of this comprehensive text, written by an outstanding group of world experts, is to present information about the effect of the MRI environment on the human body, and tools and methods to quantify such effects. By presenting such information all in one place, the expectation is that this book will help everyone interested in the Safety and Biological Effects in MRI find relevant information relatively quickly and know where we stand as a community. The information is expected to improve patient safety in the MR scanners of today, and facilitate developing faster, more powerful, yet safer MR scanners of tomorrow. This book is arranged in three sections. The first, named 'Static and Gradient Fields' (Chapters 1-9), presents the effects of static magnetic field and the gradients of magnetic field, in time and space, on the human body. The second section, named 'Radiofrequency Fields' (Chapters 10-30), presents ways to quantify radiofrequency (RF) field induced heating in patients undergoing MRI. The effect of the three fields of MRI environment (i.e. Static Magnetic Field, Time-varying Gradient Magnetic Field, and RF Field) on medical devices, that may be carried into the environment with patients, is also included. Finally, the third section, named 'Engineering' (chapters 31-35), presents the basic background engineering information regarding the equipment (i.e. superconducting magnets, gradient coils, and RF coils) that produce the Static Magnetic Field, Time-varying Gradient Magnetic Field, and RF Field. The book is intended for undergraduate and post-graduate students, engineers, physicists, biologists, clinicians, MR technologists, other healthcare professionals, and everyone else who might be interested in looking into the role of MRI environment on patient safety, as well as those just wishing to update their knowledge of the state of MRI safety. Those, who are learning about MRI or training in magnetic resonance in medicine, will find the book a useful compendium of the current state of the art of the field.
Weir and Abrahams' Imaging Atlas of Human Anatomy by
BMA Book Awards - Winner of Basic and Clinical Sciences category! The perfect up-to-date imaging guide for a complete and 3-dimensional understanding of applied human anatomy Imaging is ever more integral to anatomy education and throughout modern medicine. Building on the success of previous editions, this fully revised sixth edition provides a superb foundation for understanding applied human anatomy, offering a complete view of the structures and relationships within the whole body, using the very latest imaging techniques. All relevant imaging modalities are included, from plain radiographs to more advanced imaging of ultrasound, CT, MRI, functional imaging and angiography. Coverage is further enhanced by a carefully selected range of BONUS electronic content, including clinical photos and cases, ultrasound videos, labelled radiograph 'slidelines', cross-sectional imaging stacks and test-yourself materials. Uniquely, key syllabus image sets are now highlighted throughout to aid efficient study, as well as the most common, clinically important anatomical variants that you should be aware of. This superb package is ideally suited to the needs of medical students, as well as radiologists, radiographers and surgeons in training. It will also prove invaluable to the range of other students and professionals who require a clear, accurate, view of anatomy in current practice. Fully revised legends and labels and new high-quality images-featuring the latest imaging techniques and modalities as seen in clinical practice Covers the full variety of relevant modern imaging-including cross-sectional views in CT and MRI, angiography, ultrasound, fetal anatomy, plain film anatomy, nuclear medicine imaging and more - with better resolution to ensure the clearest anatomical views Core syllabus image sets now highlighted throughout-to help you focus on the most essential areas to excel on your course and in examinations Unique summaries of the most common, clinically important anatomical variants for each body region-reflects the fact that around 20% of human bodies have at least one clinically significant variant New orientation drawings-to help you understand the different views and the 3D anatomy of 2D images, as well as the conventions between cross-sectional modalities Ideal as a stand-alone resource or in conjunction with Abrahams' and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy-where new links help put imaging in the context of the dissection room Now a more complete learning package than ever before, with superb BONUS electronic enhancements embedded within the accompanying eBook, including: Labelled image 'stacks'-that allow you to review cross-sectional imaging as if using an imaging workstation Labelled image 'slidelines'-showing features in a full range of body radiographs to enhance understanding of anatomy in this essential modality Self-test image 'slideshows' with multi-tier labelling-to aid learning and cater for beginner to more advanced experience levels Labelled ultrasound videos-bring images to life, reflecting this increasingly clinically practiced technique Questions and answers accompany each chapter-to test your understanding and aid exam preparation 34 pathology tutorials-based around nine key concepts and illustrated with hundreds of additional pathology images, to further develop your memory of anatomical structures and lead you through the essential relationships between normal and abnormal anatomy High-yield USMLE topics-clinical photos and cases for key topics, linked and highlighted in chapters
Handbook of MRI Technique by
HANDBOOK OF MRI TECHNIQUE FIFTH EDITION Distinguished educator Catherine Westbrook delivers a comprehensive and intuitive resource for radiologic technologists in this newly revised Fifth Edition of the Handbook of MRI Technique. With a heavy emphasis on protocol optimisation and patient care, the book guides the uninitiated through scanning techniques and assists more experienced technologists with image quality improvement. The new edition includes up-to-date scanning techniques and an additional chapter on paediatric imaging. The latest regulations on MRI safety are referenced and there are expanded sections on slice prescription criteria. The book also includes the contributions of several clinical experts, walking readers through key theoretical concepts, discussing practical tips on cardiac gating, equipment use, patient care, MRI safety, and contrast media. Step-by-step instruction is provided on scanning each anatomical area, complete with patient positioning and image quality optimisation techniques. The book includes: A thorough introduction to the concepts of parameters and trade-offs, as well as pulse sequences, flow phenomena, and artefacts Comprehensive explorations of cardiac gating and respiratory compensation techniques, patient care and safety, contrast agents, and slice prescription criteria Practical discussions of a wide variety of examination areas, including the head and neck, spine, chest, abdomen, pelvis, the upper and lower limbs, and paediatric imaging A companion website with self-assessment questions and image flashcards Perfect for radiography students and newly qualified practitioners, as well as practitioners preparing for MRI-based certification and examination, the Handbook of MRI Technique will also prove to be an invaluable addition to the libraries of students in biomedical engineering technology and radiology residents.
MRI in Practice by
Since the first edition was published in 1993, MRI in Practice has become the standard text for radiographers, technologists, radiology residents, radiologists and even sales representatives on the subject of Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). This text is essential reading on undergraduate and postgraduate MRI courses. Furthermore MRI in Practice has come to be known as the number one reference book and study guide in the areas of MR instrumentation, principles, pulse sequences, image acquisition, and imaging parameters for the advanced level examination for MRI offered by the American Registry for Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) in the USA. The book explains in clear terms the theory that underpins magnetic resonance so that the capabilities and operation of MRI systems can be fully appreciated and maximised. This fourth edition captures recent advances, and coverage includes: parallel imaging techniques and new sequences such as balanced gradient echo. Building on the success of the first three editions, the fourth edition has been fully revised and updated. The book now comes with a companion website at www.wiley.com/go/mriinpractice which hosts animated versions of a selection of illustrations in the book that are used on the MRI in Practice Course. These animations and accompanying text are aimed at helping the reader's comprehension of some of the more difficult concepts. The website also hosts over 200 interactive self-assessment exercises to help the reader test their understanding. MRI in Practice features: Full color illustrations Logical presentation of the theory and applications of MRI A new page design A companion website at www.wiley.com/go/mriinpractice featuring interactive multiple choice questions, short answer questions PLUS animations of more complex concepts from the book For more information on the MRI in Practice Course and other learning resources by Westbrook and Talbot, please visit www.mrieducation.com
The Physics of Clinical MR taught through images by
To make optimal use of MRI technology, radiologists need an understanding of MRI physics. This can be a difficult area to master for radiologists, and it becomes increasingly challenging as new MRI techniques and new software programs are introduced. While most MRI physics books and chapters are filled with dense text and equations, Runge's book takes a very reader-friendly and practice-oriented approach, leading with images and presenting clear, concise text on understanding MRI physics and on using these principles to acquire optimal MRI Images and interpret results. The new edition text and images are extensively revised to reflect developments in the field, and there are 12 new chapters.
MRI Physics by
MRI PHYSICS MRI PHYSICS TECH TO TECH EXPLANATIONS Technologists must have a solid understanding of the physics behind Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), including safety, the hows and whys of the quantum physics of the MR phenomenon, and how to competently operate MRI scanners. Generating the highest quality images of the human body involves thorough knowledge of scanner hardware, pulse sequences, image contrast, geometric parameters, and tissue suppression techniques. MRI Physics: Tech to Tech Explanations is designed to help student MRI technologists and radiotherapists preparing for Advanced MRI certification examinations to better understand difficult concepts and topics in a quick and easy manner. Written by a highly experienced technologist, this useful guide provides clear and reader-friendly coverage of what every MR Technologist needs to know. Topics include safety considerations associated with the magnetic field and RF, pulse sequences, artifacts, MRI math, the much-feared gradients, and I.V. contrast. Provides basic guidance on safety considerations, protocols options, critical thinking, and image contrast optimization Simplifies the challenging topic of MRI physics using straightforward language and clear explanations Covers content for American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) and Continuing Qualifications Requirements (CQR) exams Features numerous illustrations and photographs of various MRI concepts, pulse sequence design, artifacts, and the application of concepts in clinical settings MRI Physics: Tech to Tech Explanations is a must-have resource for the experienced and training MRI technologist, medical students, and radiology residency rotations.