Handbook Integrated Care by
This handbook shares profound insights into the main principles and concepts of integrated care. It offers a multi-disciplinary perspective with a focus on patient orientation, efficiency, and quality by applying widely recognized management approaches to the field of healthcare. The handbook also highlights international best practices and shows how integrated care can work in various health systems. In the majority of health systems around the world, the delivery of healthcare and social care is characterised by fragmentation and complexity. Consequently, much of the recent international discussion in the fields of health policy and health management has focused on the topic of integrated care. "Integrated" acknowledges the complexity of patients' needs and aims to meet them by taking into account both health and social care aspects. Changing and improving processes in a coordinated way is at the heart of this approach. The second edition offers new chapters on people-centredness, complexity theories and evaluation methods, additional management tools and a wealth of experiences from different countries and localities. It is essential reading both for health policymakers seeking inspiration for legislation and for practitioners involved in the management of public health services who want to learn from good practice.
Healthcare management by Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.
The Integration of Health and Social Care in the UK by
This timely and much needed text book provides a systematic assessment of recent policy developments across the UK and introduces the different models of integration which currently operate - from structural integration in Northern Ireland to health and care partnerships in Scotland. It examines the achievements of integrated working, showing how it can lead to improvements in the quality of services and access to services, as well as create cost efficiencies. It also considers barriers to integration and draw comparisons with experiences in the US, Canada, Australia and Europe to identify lessons for practice in the UK. Supported throughout by case studies and a wealth of illustrative material - including charts and diagrams - this is key reading for students taking degree programmes and foundational qualifications in health and social care, or related degrees in social policy, health studies, social work and nursing.
Managing and Leading in Inter-Agency Settings by
Although leadership and management are seen as central to developing effective integrated working, there is relatively little thoughtful work analysing the relationship between the two sets of ideas. Until now. This updated edition of this essential textbook provides a robust guide to the leadership and management of inter-agency collaborative endeavours. It summarises recent trends in policy, establishes what we can learn from research and practice, and uses international evidence to set out useful frameworks and approaches to address a range of problems that collaborations face.
Partnership Working in Health and Social Care by
UK health and social care are increasingly being asked to work together across traditional agency boundaries. Although this sounds easy in theory, doing it in practice is complicated and difficult. In many cases, moreover, current training programmes, research and textbooks are even more divided than front-line services, and practitioners and managers are often being given the task of making partnerships work without the necessary support.Against this background, the second edition of this bestselling book provides a concise 'warts and all' introduction to partnership and integration, summarising updated references to current policy and research, setting out useful frameworks and approaches, and helping policy makers and practitioners to work more effectively together, with greater emphasis on 'integrated care'. Written by the leading authors in the field and fully updated since the Health and Social Care Act 2012, the book is also fully evidence- and research-based, while still being accessible and applicable to everyday practice. Aimed at students, practitioners, managers and policy makers in health and social care, and including new reflective exercises and boxed examples, this is still the one book that everyone in the field should read.
How to Deliver Integrated Care by
Care integration has become an important part of managing health and social care services all over the world. Bringing organisations together is thought to produce better access to care, reduce health care expenditure and improve quality of care for patients and service users. This book helps managers to think about how to collaborate in integrated care programmes. It provides practical advice on how to implement various aspects of care integration, such as finance, digital technology and evaluation. The book also contains chapters on the social and behavioural strategies, values and leadership approaches that should underpin integration. Each chapter contains key information based on the current state of research, illustrations from practical contexts and further reading.
Integrated Care in Action by
Integration is now a key expectation within the delivery of health and social care services in the UK and internationally. However, it still remains difficult to achieve and sustain in practice. Based on learning from successful, and unsuccessful, integrated care initiatives, this book is an invaluable guide for those responsible for leading, managing and delivering integrated care across health, social care and housing. Written by an experienced team of researchers who have studied, led and supported integrated care for many years Integrated Care in Practice draws on latest evidence, innovative practice and helpful theory. It provides insights into the common pitfalls that such initiatives can encounter and demonstrates positive approaches to anticipating and responding to such challenges. Throughout, real-case examples are provided, and concepts and models are connected with the realities of day-to-day life for those working within these services. Integrated care is a goal to aspire to - this book helps to explain how we can turn this goal into practical action and positive outcomes.