Organizational Behaviour 10th edn. by 
Business Ethics by
The fifth edition of Business Ethics addresses current, intriguing, often complex issues in corporate morality through 53 readings and 30 pertinent case studies. Now significantly updated, it includes new leading articles, related current cases, and mini-cases based on MBA student dilemmas. Addresses a broad range of the most current, intriguing, often complex issues and cases in corporate morality Provides impartial, point-counterpoint presentations of different perspectives on the most important and highly contended issues of business ethics Updated and significant case studies are included to reinforce student learning Now contains mini-cases based on actual MBA student dilemmas Each author has substantial experience in teaching, writing, and conducting research in the field
Human Relations
Journal of Business Ethics
Organization
Journal of Management
Journal of Management Studies
Business Ethics Quarterly
Orgnanization Studies
Culture and Organization
Theory, Culture and Society
Critical Management Studies by
Drawing on a range of influential contemporary movements in the social sciences, particularly Critical Theory, this volume introduces a critical analysis for the study of management and the various management functions. The book examines: the relations between power and discursive practices in the modern corporation; the construction of pleasure as a potentially subversive and emancipatory force in organizational life; the double-edged role of a critical social science for managers; and doing critical management research. It also analyzes the nature and consequences of current practices in accounting, operational research, marketing, personnel and organizational psychology and information systems. Key issues of power/knowledge relations across these areas are addressed and new agendas both for these fields and for management studies as a whole are introduced.
Work Psychology by
For undergraduate students in business, management and psychology, as well as those studying for professional qualifications. Gain a clear and authoritative introduction to human behaviour in the workplace Work Psychology: Understanding Human Behaviour in the Workplace, 7th edition, by Arnold, Coyne, Randall and Pattterson is an accessible and fascinating examination of human behaviour in today's workplace, written by authors who are all experts in their fields. Substantially updated with new chapters from new authors, and new material that reflects current research and debate in the area, the text retains its popular blend of theory, research and engaging examples. Pearson, the world's learning company.
Key Concepts in Corporate Social Responsibility by 
Dynamics of Employee Relations by
The Dynamics of Employee Relations provides a critical assessment of employee relations within contemporary organisations. Written in a lively and readable style, The Dynamics of Employee Relations captures the essence of working reality within a variety of working environments. The third edition has been updated to include insights into the latest developments in the field and contains new case studies to illustate the nature of employee relations at the turn of the century. A must read for all undergraduate, postgraduate and MBA students studying employee relations and a valuable resource for anyone engaged in grappling with the challenges presented by employee relations in contemporary workplaces.
Pandemonium by
"Pandemonium is a dark, gothic place, full of dangers and enchantment for all who enter its labyrinth, a retro-vision that seeks to ensnare, disarm, and disturb all who enter whatever sense they make from the many opportunities that it provides." --Stewart R. Clegg, University of Western Sydney, Macarthur, Australia "Two volumes in one, Pandemonium is a disorganisationally challenging contribution to the postmodern theory of organizations which systematically questions the underlying assumptions and values of contemporary administrative science and organization theory. The MBA will never be the same again." --Bryan S. Turner, Deakin University In this irreverent, yet highly serious book, Gibson Burrell challenges the established frameworks that have defined our understanding of organization and organizations. With a vision that extends deep into the history of Western societies, an interdisciplinary sweep that encompasses the broad domain of social and cultural theory and critical vigor that exposes the staleness of tired ideas, Pandemonium disconcerts and reinvigorates the study of organizations. Moving the field of organization theory back into the center of contemporary critical thought, Gibson Burrell brings to bear different forms of analysis: notions of discourse and genealogy, or narrative and text. Disclaiming the voices of modern, positivist science and of authorial distance, the text itself presents a metaphor for the rejection of linearity and the reassertion of organizational creativity. This is not an organizational behavior textbook, but an exploration mining new ideas and insights that take organization theory into another era.
Critical Analysis of Organizations by
`Catherine Casey has written an excellent book that provides a lucid and comprehensive critical analysis of organizations....[It] extends in reach and relevance beyond the specific field of organization studies and the sociology of organizations to encompass broader intellectual developments that have had a significant impact on contemporary sociology and cultural studies' - Barry Smart, Professor of Sociology, University of Portsmouth `I anticipate that it will prove to be an attractive book in organization studies, industrial sociology and general sociology. I am sure that this will be a book that will make a major impact' - Mike Reed, Professor of Organization Theory, Lancaster University In this comprehensive and scholarly book, the essential critical strands in organizational analysis are explained. It examines how central traditions have realigned in relation to the challenge of postmodernism and the new reflexive turn in organizational studies. Judicious, innovative and written with the needs of students in mind, this book offers a renewed and revitalized critical accent in organization studies - one that focuses on existing and emerging social tendencies, contestations and struggles. It will be essential reading for senior students of organization studies and sociology.
Honest Work by
Combining readings and case studies, this text asserts that business ethics is primarily about the ethics of individuals and challenges students to reconcile their personal value systems with standard business practice. With a unique focus on the personal dimension of ethics, this is apractical overview of the ethical issues students are most likely to face in the workforce.
A Very Short, Fairly Interesting and Reasonably Cheap Book about Management by
Conceived by Chris Grey as an antidote to conventional textbooks, each book in the 'Very Short, Fairly Interesting and Reasonably Cheap' series takes a core area of the curriculum and turns it on its head by providing a critical and sophisticated overview of the key issues and debates in an informal, conversational and often humorous way. The Second Edition of Cunliffe′s Management covers topics that are central to management, organizational behaviour or leadership courses, with updated international content referring to current issues such as the economic crisis and unemployment.Suitable for students of Business and Management at Undergraduate, Postgraduate and MBA levels and anyone intrigued by the field of Management studies.
Discipline and Punish: The birth of the prison by 
Modernity and Self-Identity by
This major study develops a new account of modernity and its relation to the self. Building upon the ideas set out in The Consequences of Modernity, Giddens argues that 'high' or 'late' modernity is a post traditional order characterised by a developed institutional reflexivity. In the current period, the globalising tendencies of modern institutions are accompanied by a transformation of day-to-day social life having profound implications for personal activities. The self becomes a 'reflexive project', sustained through a revisable narrative of self identity. The reflexive project of the self, the author seeks to show, is a form of control or mastery which parallels the overall orientation of modern institutions towards 'colonising the future'. Yet it also helps promote tendencies which place that orientation radically in question - and which provide the substance of a new political agenda for late modernity. In this book Giddens concerns himself with themes he has often been accused of unduly neglecting, including especially the psychology of self and self-identity. The volumes are a decisive step in the development of his thinking, and will be essential reading for students and professionals in the areas of social and political theory, sociology, human geography and social psychology.
Haralambos and Holborn - Sociology Themes and Perspectives by
Level: A-level, undergraduate Subject: Sociology Themes and Perspectives is your essential A-level and undergraduate sociology guide. It''s fully updated to match the latest sociology teaching, research and developments to support your learning about sociology today. Brought to you by a team of experts, Collins Sociology Themes and Perspectives is written by Michael Haralambos and Martin Holborn and has supported over one million sociology students worldwide. Build your understanding through clear and comprehensive explanations and apply your knowledge with contextualised examples and research. Stay relevant with the most up-to-date developments, empirical studies and theories while consolidating your learning with quick-reference conclusions and summaries at the end of each chapter. Bring sociology alive with full-colour explanations and photos. New topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory ew topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory pter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theoryew topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory ew topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory pter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theorypter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theoryew topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory pter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theorye * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theorypter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory
Understanding Identity and Organizations by
Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors here An understanding of identity is fundamental to a complete understanding of organizational life. While conventional management textbooks nod to in-groups, cohesion and discrimination, this text offers instead a deeper, more nuanced understanding of why people, groups and organizations behave the way they do. With conceptions of identity perhaps less stable than they have ever been, the authors make complex theoretical issues accessible to the reader through the use of lively examples from popular culture. The authors present an overview of the key issues, as well as an examination of cutting-edge research and topical forces currently re-defining identity, such as globalisation, the fair trade movement and online identities. This text is a succinct, relevant and exciting overview of the field of identity studies as it relates to business and management and applied social sciences, an is an invaluable resource to undergraduate and postgraduate students of management on any course that has an identity component.
Building Dioramas by
Acclaimed modeler Chris Mrosko explains how to build dioramas that showcase models and create dramatic scenes, as well as offering expert modeling tips. Focusing on a step-by-step, how-to approach, modelers will learn the fundamentals of construction and design, airbrushing and finishing tips, how to cast pieces out of resin, and more.
Caring: a relational approach to ethics & moral education by
With numerous examples to supplement her rich theoretical discussion, Nel Noddings builds a compelling philosophical argument for an ethics based on natural caring, as in the care of a mother for her child. In Caring--now updated with a new preface and afterword reflecting on the ongoing relevance of the subject matter--the author provides a wide-ranging consideration of whether organizations, which operate at a remove from the caring relationship, can truly be called ethical. She discusses the extent to which we may truly care for plants, animals, or ideas. Finally, she proposes a realignment of education to encourage and reward not just rationality and trained intelligence, but also enhanced sensitivity in moral matters.
The Corrosion of Character by
In The Corrosion of Character, Richard Sennett, "among the country's most distinguished thinkers . . . has concentrated into 176 pages a profoundly affecting argument" (Business Week) that draws on interviews with dismissed IBM executives, bakers, a bartender turned advertising executive, and many others to call into question the terms of our new economy. In his 1972 classic, The Hidden Injuries of Class (written with Jonathan Cobb), Sennett interviewed a man he called Enrico, a hardworking janitor whose life was structured by a union pay schedule and given meaning by his sacrifices for the future. In this new book-a #1 bestseller in Germany-Sennett explores the contemporary scene characterized by Enrico's son, Rico, whose life is more materially successful, yet whose work lacks long-term commitments or loyalties. Distinguished by Sennett's "combination of broad historical and literary learning and a reporter's willingness to walk into a store or factory [and] strike up a conversation" (New York Times Book Review), this book "challenges the reader to decide whether the flexibility of modern capitalism . . . is merely a fresh form of oppression" (Publishers Weekly, starred review). Praise for The Corrosion of Character: "A benchmark for our time."--Daniel Bell "[A]n incredibly insightful book."--William Julius Wilson "[A] remarkable synthesis of acute empirical observation and serious moral reflection."--Richard Rorty "[Sennett] offers abundant fresh insights . . . illuminated by his concern with people's struggle to give meaning to their lives."--[Memphis] Commercial Appeal
The Craftsman by
In his most ambitious book to date, Richard Sennett offers an original perspective on craftsmanship and its close connections to work and ethical values Craftsmanship, says Richard Sennett, names the basic human impulse to do a job well for its own sake, and good craftsmanship involves developing skills and focusing on the work rather than ourselves. The computer programmer, the doctor, the artist, and even the parent and citizen all engage in a craftsman's work. In this thought-provoking book, Sennett explores the work of craftsmen past and present, identifies deep connections between material consciousness and ethical values, and challenges received ideas about what constitutes good work in today's world. The Craftsman engages the many dimensions of skill--from the technical demands to the obsessive energy required to do good work. Craftsmanship leads Sennett across time and space, from ancient Roman brickmakers to Renaissance goldsmiths to the printing presses of Enlightenment Paris and the factories of industrial London; in the modern world he explores what experiences of good work are shared by computer programmers, nurses and doctors, musicians, glassblowers, and cooks. Unique in the scope of his thinking, Sennett expands previous notions of crafts and craftsmen and apprises us of the surprising extent to which we can learn about ourselves through the labor of making physical things.
New Directions in Organizational Behavior by 
The Paradox of Control in Organizations by
Business leaders are expected to be 'in control' of the situation in which their businesses find themselves. But how can organizational leaders and managers control matters entirely out of their hands; such as the next action a competitor takes, or the next law a government may pass? In this book, Philip Streatfield reflects on his own experience as a manager to explore the question: who, or what is 'in control' in an organization? Adopting the perspective of complex responsive processes developed in the first two volumes of this series, the author takes self-organization and emergence as central themes in thinking about life in organizations. He focuses on the tension between spontaneously forming patterns of conversation and intentional actions arguing that the order of organizations emerges through a combination of collective interaction and individual intentions. The argument is developed by considering the day-to-day experiences of life in a large pharmaceutical organization, SmithKline Beecham. In today's organization, managers find that they have to live with the paradox of being 'in control' and 'not in control' simultaneously. It is this capacity to live with paradox, and to continue to participate creatively in spite of 'not being in control', that constitutes effective management.
The Management of Wicked Problems in Health and Social Care by
At a time of growing pressure on the services and people charged with improving population well-being this book draws together contributions which highlight contemporary challenges for the management of health and social care. Drawing on a Critical Management Studies perspective, this volume introduces the reader to broad-brush concerns with theory, demography and money, as well as micro concerns with the nature of leadership, voice and engagement, all with a view to providing new insights into organising and managing care. The Challenge of Wicked Problems in Health and Social Care explores four main topics: identifying contemporary challenges in health and social care; managing, leading and following; listening to silent voices in delivering change; and new methodologies for understanding care challenges. Between them they highlight the ¿wicked¿ problems that beset providers. Such problems are ¿wicked¿ in so far as they are persistent, pernicious and beyond the curative abilities of any one organisation or profession. Such problems require collaboration but also new approaches to listening to those who suffer their effects. This book demonstrates such listening through its engagement with policy makers, leaders, followers, professions, patients, and silenced voices. This is a timely and engaging book that challenges the reader to think again about how we should look at, engage with and support all those involved in health and social care and will be of vital reading to academics and researchers in the fields of Health Management, Social Care, Organizational Studies and Critical Management Studies plus the related disciplines.
Bureaucracy by
Bureaucracy is a curse - it seems we can't live with it, we can't live without it. It is without doubt one of the fundamental ideas which underpin the business world and society at large. In this book, Tom Vine observes, analyses and critiques the concept, placing it at the heart of our understanding of organisation. The author unveils bureaucracy as an endlessly emergent phenomenon which defies binary debate - in analysing organisation, we are all bureaucrats. In building an experiential perspective, the book develops more effective ways to interact with bureaucracy in theory and practice. Empirical material take centre stage, whilst the book employs ethnographic and auto-ethnographic methods to illuminate the existential function of bureaucracy. Taking examples from art, history and culture, this book provides an entertaining alternative academic analysis of bureaucracy as a key idea in business and society which will be essential reading for students and scholars of work and organisation
Work, Self and Society by
Despite recent interest in the effects of restructuring and redesigning the work place, the link between individual identity and structural change has usually been asserted rather than demonstrated. Through an extensive review of data from field work in a multi-national corporation Catherine Casey changes this. She knows that changes currently occurring in the world of work are part of the vast social and cultural changes that are challenging the assumptions of modern industrialism. These events affect what people do everyday, and they are altering relations among ourselves and with the physical world. This valuable book is not only a critcal analysis of the transformations occurring in the world of work, but an exploration of the effects of contemporary practices of work on the self.
The Condition of Postmodernity by
In this new book, David Harvey seeks to determine what is meant by the term in its different contexts and to identify how accurate and useful it is as a description of contemporary experience.
Spirituality, Organization and Neoliberalism by 
