Researching and Writing a Dissertation by 
Research Methods for Business Students by 
Essentials of Business Research Methods by 
Indigenous Research Methodologies by
Author Bagele Chilisa has revised and updated her groundbreaking textbook to give a new generation of scholars a crucial foundation in indigenous methods, methodologies, and epistemologies. Addressing the increasing emphasis in the classroom and in the field to sensitize researchers and students to diverse perspectives--especially those of women, minority groups, former colonized societies, indigenous people, historically oppressed communities, and people with disabilities--the second edition of Indigenous Research Methodologies situates research in a larger, historical, cultural, and global context to make visible the specific methodologies that are commensurate with the transformative paradigm of social science research. Chapters cover the history of research methods, ethical conduct, colonial and postcolonial epistemologies, relational epistemologies, emergent and indigenous methodologies, Afrocentric research, feminist research, narrative frameworks, interviewing, and participatory methods. New to the second edition are three new chapters covering evaluation, mixed methods, and mixed methods evaluation. These chapters focusing on decolonizing, indigenizing, and integrating these methods and applications to enhance participation of indigenous peoples as knowers and foster collaborative relationships. Additional information on indigenous quantitative research reflects new developments in the field. New activities and web resources offer more depth and new ways for students to extend their knowledge. This textbook includes features such as key points, learning objectives, student exercises, chapter summaries, and suggested readings, making it an ideal textbook for graduate-level courses.
A Student's Guide to Methodology by
Essential for anyone undertaking a dissertation or theses, this book presents clear and straightforward information and advice on the process and functions of methodology. Although methodology is normally reported within a single methodology chapter, the authors show how every element of the account-from the framing of Research Questions to the drawing of Conclusions-is a function of methodology. They also clearly differentiate methodology and methods, and explain how their relationship is articulated in practice. This Second Edition includes a range of new examples as well as updated readings and suggestions on using the internet as a research tool and resource.
Critical Thinking Skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Ethnography by
Now in its fourth edition, this leading introduction to ethnography has been thoroughly updated and substantially rewritten. The volume offers a systematic introduction to ethnographic principles and practice, and includes a new chapter on 'Ethnography in the digital world'. The authors argue that ethnography is best understood as a reflexive process. This requires recognition that social research is part of the world that it studies, and demands that researchers reflect on how they shape both data and analysis. Starting in Chapter 1 with an outline of the principle of reflexivity, against the background of competing research philosophies, the authors go on to discuss the main features of ethnographic work, including: the selection and sampling of cases the problem of access field relations and observation interviewing the use of documents recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities. mp;lt;LI>recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities.
Research Ethics in the Real World by
Research ethics and integrity are growing in importance as academics face increasing pressure to win grants and publish, and universities promote themselves in the competitive HE market. Research Ethics in the Real World is the first book to highlight the links between research ethics and individual, social, professional, institutional, and political ethics. Drawing on Indigenous and Euro-Western research traditions, Helen Kara considers all stages of the research process, from the formulation of a research question to aftercare for participants, data and findings. She argues that knowledge of both ethical approaches is helpful for researchers working in either paradigm. Students, academics, and research ethics experts from around the world contribute real-world perspectives on navigating and managing ethics in practice. Research Ethics in the Real World provides guidance for quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methods researchers from all disciplines about how to act ethically throughout your research work. This book is invaluable in supporting teachers of research ethics to design and deliver effective courses.
Creative Research Methods in the Social Sciences by
With foreword by Kenneth J. Gergen and Mary M. Gergen. Creative research methods can help to answer complex contemporary questions, which are hard to answer using traditional methods alone. Creative methods can also be more ethical, helping researchers to address social injustice. This accessible book is the first to identify and examine the four areas of creative research methods: arts-based research, research using technology, mixed-method research and transformative research frameworks. Written in a practical and jargon-free style, with over 100 boxed examples, it offers numerous examples of creative methods in practice, from the social sciences, arts, and humanities around the world. Spanning the gulf between academia and practice, this useful book will inform and inspire researchers by showing readers why, when, and how to use creative methods in their research.
Quantitative Approaches in Business Studies by
Quantitative Approaches in Business Studiesprovides a clear and accessible introduction to these methods, ideal for students of business and management on undergraduate, Masters and professional courses. This 8th edition comes with MyMathLabGlobal, an unrivalled online tutorial and assessment system available to users of this book. This resource generates a personalised study plan and provides extensive practice questions exactly where you need them.
Essential Quantitative Methods by
This concise and accessible textbook covers all of the key quantitative methods needed to solve everyday business problems. Les Oakshott's clear and friendly writing style guides students from basic statistics, through to advanced topics, such as hypothesis testing and time series, as well as operational research techniques such as linear programming and inventory management. Step-by-step instructions and accompanying activities will help students to practice and gain confidence in carrying out techniques. The book's coverage is fully grounded within the real world of business. Real-life case studies open every chapter and numerous examples throughout demonstrate why quantitative techniques are needed for a business to be successful. An ideal textbook for undergraduate students of business, management and finance, it is also widely used by MBA students and postgraduates.
Introducing Social Research Methods by
Introducing Social Research Methods: Essentials for Getting the Edge is a concise and student-friendly introduction to research methods that uses examples from around the world to illustrate the centrality of social science research in our everyday lives. Explains complex, multi-faceted concepts and methodologies in straightforward prose Designed for students who are new to or skeptical of social science research methods as useful tools for approaching real-world challenges Persuasively argues that social scientific proficiency unlocks an array of personal and professional opportunities beyond the realms of academia A supplementary website features a glossary, test bank, Power Point presentations, a comprehensive list of web resources, a guide to relevant TED lectures and much more
Qualitative Research in Business : a Practical Overview by 
White logic, white methods : racism and methodology by