Power, Politics, and Organizational Change by
Organization politics can be seen as a game in which players compete for different kinds of territory such as status, power, and influence. In Power, Politics and Organizational Change, David Buchanan and Richard Badham ask: What's the relevance of politics to change and innovation? What kind of game is this? What, if any, are the rules? How is the game played? What ethical issues arise? Should one play this game to win, and if so, how? How can you develop political expertise? The third edition has been thoroughly updated and revised. This includes discussion of current trends heightening the importance of developing political will and skill in a post-truth era, the rise of 'new power', the role of 'BS busting', the power of storytelling, and the politics of speaking up.
Managing Change, Creativity and Innovation by
This bestselling text brings a fresh and unique approach to managing organizational change, taking the view that change, creativity and innovation are interconnected. It offers a strong theoretical understanding of change, creativity and innovation along with practical guidance and ideas for organizational change and development.The fourth edition comes with: lots of brand-new case studies and examples from around the world extra content on innovation and technology extended discussion and an additional chapter on the people aspects of change that includes culture, sensemaking and temporality Written in an engaging and accessible style, this books is essential for those studying organizational change management or creativity and innovation.
Leadership by
This seminal textbook provides a critical review and analysis of the key components of leadership-and its limits. Against a historical backdrop, the text explores the foundations of successful and unsuccessful leadership, the relationship between the leaders and subordinates and the role leaders play in the dynamics of organisational life. Taking four key approaches, Leadership as Results, as Process, as Position and as Identity, the author analyses the theoretical source of each alternative and then provides a wide range of illustrative case studies to support his points. In this way, the textbook provides a holistic view of how leaders operate in different contexts as well as the limitations that can restrain emerging/successful leaders. Written by a world-leading expert on leadership, this unique and engaging text is an ideal course companion for undergraduate, postgraduate and MBA students studying leadership. It is suitable for those with no prior business knowledge.
The Politics of Organizational Change by
Politics is an aspect of everyday life within organizations, and is a force that inhibits individual and collective behaviour. If not fully understood, it can impede organizational change and development. In order to minimise the political aspects of organizational dynamics there is a need to understand the extent to which organizational culture brings about politicised conformance and how individuals shape their behaviour through self-interest to conform--sense-giving and sense-making nexus--thus moderating the degree of change initiatives. The Politics of Organizational Change explores the relationship between self-interest, power, politics and managing organizational change from a theoretical perspective. It encourages the fundamental questioning of the relationship between self-interest, power and control inherent within organizational change, and discusses the attendant implications for managing change. It will be of value to those who require a text that goes beyond set patterns of coverage found in textbooks dealing with managing change.
The Personality of the Organization by
Continuing the themes of Containing Anxiety in Institutions, Menzies Lyth reflects on a variety of social situations: the dynamics of the Fire Brigade, conflicts between psychiatric hospitals and the communities that they serve and family patterns of consumption. The collection concludes with a survey of the psychological aftermath of disaster.
The Leadership Experience by
Master critical leadership skills and gain an understanding of the theory needed to become an effective business leader in today�s turbulent times with Richard Daft's THE LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCE, 8E. In this edition you explore the latest thinking in leadership theory and contemporary practices in organizations throughout the world. New content addresses emerging topics from how to lead agile, hybrid and remote work teams to establishing a growth mindset, encouraging mindfulness and embracing diversity. New discussions also examine moral awareness, optimism bias, leading with grit, the leader's responsibility to followers, creating a healthy culture and collective activism. You find approximately 30 brief real leader examples in each chapter as well as new "Put It Into Practice" short exercises and more than 32 new experiential exercises in this edition. Unique insights behind actual leadership decisions make topics come alive.
The New Psychology of Leadership by
This ground-breaking book provides a refreshing introduction to the field of leadership and is jam-packed with theoretical and practical insights derived from a wealth of applied scientific research conducted by the authors and their colleagues around the world over the last three decades. It starts from the premise that leadership is never just about leaders. Instead it is about　leaders and followers who are joined together as members of a social group that provides them with a sense of shared social identity -- a sense of 'us-ness'.　　In these terms, leadership is understood as the process through which leaders work with followers to　create, represent, advance, and embed this sense of shared social identity. The new edition of this award-winning book presents a　wealth of evidence from historical, organizational, political and sporting contexts to　provide an expanded exploration of these processes of identity leadership in action. In particular, it builds upon the success of the first edition by examining the operation of identity leadership in contemporary society and fleshing out practical answers to key organizational and institutional challenges. Drawing on real-world examples and rich data sources, this book will appeal to academics, researchers and students of psychology, business and management, as well as to practitioners, policy makers and anyone interested in the workings of　leadership, influence and power.
The Theory and Practice of Change Management by
Technological advances, an increasingly globalized workforce and seismic global events mean that change is a constant feature of business life today. The consequences of not managing change effectively can be devastating for businesses. How can managers deal with change brought about by unpredictable events? How can they embrace change and communicate its benefits to stakeholders? How can organizations ensure the ongoing success of change? John Hayes's bestselling textbook equips you with the practical tools and academic knowledge to tackle these questions and many more. Offering unrivalled breadth, it will guide you clearly through all stages of the change process, from recognizing the need for change to ensuring its successful implementation. Its unique underpinning framework, based on a process model of change, will help you to view change as purposeful and ordered, rather than something chaotic and unmanageable. This sixth edition covers all of the key theories, tools and techniques of organizational change, and offers everything you need to know about organizational change today: - Brand new international case studies and examples allow you to understand change in context - Coverage of 'big-bang' disruptions, offers you a framework for dealing with unforeseen global events like pandemics, economic instability and climate change - Updated research reports show you the latest theory in the field - New learning objectives, reflective questions and experiential exercises help you to consolidate your learning and revise effectively - Increased coverage of SMEs, public sector and family businesses shows you change in diverse sectors
Leading change management; leadership strategies that really work by 
The Leadership Challenge by
The most trusted source of leadership wisdom, updated to address today's realities The Leadership Challenge is the gold-standard manual for effective leadership, grounded in research and written by the premier authorities in the field. With deep insight into the complex interpersonal dynamics of the workplace, this book positions leadership both as a skill to be learned, and as a relationship that must be nurtured to reach its full potential. This new sixth edition has been revised to address current challenges, and includes more international examples and a laser focus on business issues; you'll learn how extraordinary leaders accomplish extraordinary things, and how to develop your leadership skills and style to deliver quality results every time. Engaging stories delve into the fundamental roles that great leaders fulfill, and simple frameworks provide a primer for those who seek continuous improvement; by internalizing key insights and putting concepts into action, you'll become a more effective, more impactful leader. A good leader gets things done; a great leader aspires, inspires, and achieves more. This book highlights the differences between good and great, and shows you how to bridge the chasm between getting things done and making things happen. Gain deep insight into leadership's critical role in organizational health Navigate the shift toward team-oriented work relationships Motivate and inspire to break through the pervasive new cynicism Leverage the electronic global village to deliver better results Business is evolving at an increasingly rapid rate, and leaders must keep pace with the changes or risk stagnation. People work differently, are motivated differently, and have different expectations today--business as usual is quickly losing its effectiveness. The Leadership Challenge helps you stay current, relevant, and effective in the modern workplace.
