Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Information technologies for Performance Analysis reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Soccer Systems and Strategies by Build a successful team around the strengths of your players! In Soccer Systems and Strategies, two coaches of the Danish national team provide a practical guide to implementing the world's top styles of play into your game plan. They present soccer's four primary systems of play--defined by the number of players at each position and their alignment on the field--and then break down the different strategies, tactics, and styles of play that can be used within these systems. First, learn the basics of the four primary systems of play: the 4-3-3, the 4-4-2, the 3-5-2, and the 3-4-3. Second, choose a style of play that can be used within some or all of these systems. These include different attacking styles, various defensive styles, and styles that are characteristic of international soccer powers, including the Latin, British, Norwegian, South American, and African styles of play. After you determine the optimal system and style for your team, you learn how to counter opponents' tactics and how to teach your system, style, and tactics through practice instruction and drills. Detailed diagrams and plans of action for implementing the systems are included, along with insights on how to make adjustments during the game. Top coaches throughout the world have proven that adapting your system to match your players' strengths and your opponents' weaknesses is the key to developing teams that are competitive year in and year out. With Soccer Systems and Strategies, you have all the information you need to implement the ideal system for your team.
Call Number: 796.3342 BAN
Publication Date: 2000
The Essentials of Performance Analysis by What is performance analysis and how does its use benefit sports performance? How can you use performance analysis in your sport? The Essentials of Performance Analysisanswers your questions, providing a complete guide to the foundational elements of match and performance analysis for new students and beginners. As well as a basic introduction to the sport science and theory that underlies performance analysis, the book contains many practical examples to show performance analysis in its applied context. It includes discussion of: approaches to analyzing sport performance the use of feedback technologies the use of video and biomechanical analysis interpreting data coaching with notational analysis. The Essentials of Performance Analysisis a straightforward, concise and authoritative guide for students of sport science and sports coaching, as well as for coaches and athletes looking to develop their insight into sports performance analysis.
Call Number: 613.71 HUG
Publication Date: 2008
An Introduction to Sports Coaching by An Introduction to Sports Coaching provides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of ¿knowledges¿ which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well as seminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course.
Call Number: 796.077 JON + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Microsoft Office 2016 Step by Step by Now in full color! This is learning made easy. Get more done quickly with Office 2016. Jump in wherever you need answers - brisk lessons and colorful screenshots show you exactly what to do, step by step. Covers Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook Includes Office 365 subscription information Discover how to use cloud storage with OneDrive and your Office 365 subscription Format Word documents for maximum visual impact Build powerful, reliable Excel workbooks for analysis and reporting Prepare highly effective PowerPoint presentations Use Outlook to organize your email, calendar, and contacts Includes downloadable practice files
Call Number: 005.5 LAM
Publication Date: 2015
Routledge Handbook of Sports Performance Analysis by Sport performance analysis techniques help coaches, athletes and sport scientists develop an objective understanding of actual sport performance, as opposed to self-report, fitness tests or laboratory based experiments. For example, contemporary performance analysis enables elite sports people and coaches to obtain live feedback of match statistics and video sequences using flexible internet systems, systems that have become an indispensible tool for all those involved in high performance sport. The Routledge Handbook of Sports Performance Analysis is the most comprehensive guide to this exciting and dynamic branch of sport science ever to be published. The book explores performance analysis across the four main contexts in which it is commonly used: support for coaches and athletes; the media; judging sport contests, and academic research. It offers an up-to-date account of methodological advances in PA research, assesses the evidence underpinning contemporary theories of sport performance, and reviews developments in applied PA across a wide range of sports, from soccer to track and field athletics. Covering every important aspect of PA, including tactics, strategy, mechanical aspects of technique, physical aspects of performance such as work-rate, coach behaviour and referee behaviour, this is an essential reference for any serious student, researcher or practitioner working in sport performance analysis, sport coaching or high performance sport.
Call Number: 796.019 MCG + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Research Methods for Sports Performance Analysis by Modern techniques of sports performance analysis enable the sport scientist, coach and athlete to objectively assess, and therefore improve upon, sporting performance. They are an important tool for any serious practitioner in sport and, as a result, performance analysis has become a key component of degree programmes in sport science and sports coaching. Research Methods for Sports Performance Analysis explains how to undertake a research project in performance analysis including: selection and specification of a research topic the research proposal gaining ethical approval for a study developing a performance analysis system testing a system for reliability analysing and discussing data writing up results. Covering the full research cycle and clearly introducing the key themes and issues in contemporary performance analysis, this is the only book that sports students will need to support a research project in performance analysis, from undergraduate dissertation to doctoral thesis. Including case studies, examples and data throughout, this book is essential reading for any student or practitioner with an interest in performance analysis, sports coaching or applied sport science.
Call Number: 612.044 ODO
Publication Date: 2010
An Introduction to Performance Analysis of Sport by Performance analysis has become an essential tool for coaches, athletes, sports organisations and academic researchers. Collecting and interpreting performance data enables coaches to improve their training programmes, athletes to make better tactical decisions, sports organisations to manage teams more effectively, and researchers to develop a better understanding of sports performance. This book is an essential introduction to the fundamental principles of performance analysis of sport and how to develop and operate performance analysis systems. Containing worked examples from real sporting events throughout, the book introduces the basics of quantitative and qualitative performance analysis, reviews the different types of data and information that performance analysis can generate, and explains how to test for reliability. It presents a step-by-step guide to developing both manual and computerised analysis systems, and writing up and presenting findings from performance analysis programmes. Representing the most up-to-date, concise and engaging introduction to sports performance analysis, this book is an ideal course text for all introductory performance analysis courses, as well as an invaluable primer for coaches and practitioners in sport.
Call Number: 613.71072 ODO
Publication Date: 2014
Data Analysis in Sport by Making sense of sports performance data can be a challenging task but is nevertheless an essential part of performance analysis investigations. Focusing on techniques used in the analysis of sport performance, this book introduces the fundamental principles of data analysis, explores the most important tools used in data analysis, and offers guidance on the presentation of results. The book covers key topics such as: The purpose of data analysis, from statistical analysis to algorithmic processing Commercial packages for performance and data analysis, including Focus, Sportscode, Dartfish, Prozone, Excel, SPSS and Matlab Effective use of statistical procedures in sport performance analysis Analysing data from manual notation systems, player tracking systems and computerized match analysis systems Creating visually appealing ¿dashboard¿ interfaces for presenting data Assessing reliability. The book¿includes worked examples from real sport, offering clear guidance to the reader and bringing the subject to life. This book is invaluable reading for any student, researcher or analyst working in sport performance or undertaking a sport-related research project or methods course
Call Number: 613.71072 ODO + eBook
Publication Date: 2014