Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z eResources List
Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
A-Z eJournal List
Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.
University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library.
The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.
Database and Journal information
The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
with Full Text comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, and more. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
provides access to more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world
Wiley-Blackwell Journals (Frontfile Content) This link opens in a new window
hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 11,500 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
(We would highly recommend using the latest versions of either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers to access this site as we have encountered problems when using Internet Explorer) provides access to the world's leading citation databases, including powerful cited reference searching, the Analyze Tool, and over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data.
All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0