Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Energy, Nutrition and Exercise Performance reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module
There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the “Recommended Reading” selection, based on their personal preferences for textbook style and presentation. Students must use relevant peer reviewed journals to supplement the resources listed below. Academic staff will assist with selection and interpretation of peer reviewed research journal papers.
ACSM's Nutrition for Exercise Science by New from the American College of Sports Medicine! This clear and highly applied overview of exercise nutrition illustrates difficult concepts using real-world examples and case studies that allow students to put learning into practice. Well-known author Dan Benardot draws on his vast experience as an instructor, scientist, and practitioner to craft an engaging and factual resource that makes the nutrition of exercise science accessible. Written at a level appropriate for both exercise science majors and non-majors, this practical book is packed with helpful in-text learning aids and stunning visuals that bring concepts to life. As an ACSM publication, this text offers the unsurpassed quality and excellence that has become synonymous with titles by the leading exercise science organization in the world. Case studies with discussion questions in every chapter show real-world application of the science of nutrition. Important Factors to Considerboxes throughout chapters summarize key points. Practical advice and clear explanations in every chapter prepare students for effective practice. In-text learning aids, including Chapter Objectives, boxed Key Terms, bulleted Chapter Summaries , and multiple-choice Chapter Questions, help students master the content of the course. Practical Application Activityboxes that challenge students to get actively involved with the content include such activities as using a nutrition tracker to assess their diet for a full day and analyze their energy balance. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Call Number: 613.711 BEN
Publication Date: 2018
Sport Nutrition by Sport Nutrition, Third Edition, presents the principles and rationale for current nutrition guidelines for athletes. Using a physiological basis, this text provides an in-depth look at the science behind sport nutrition. Students will come away with an understanding of nutrition as it relates to sport and the influence of nutrition on performance, training, and recovery. This text is organized with the student in mind, with content sequenced in a logical order that puts building blocks in place to facilitate greater comprehension as more advanced topics are introduced. The book moves from general principles of nutrition and nutrient requirements to estimating and fulfilling energy needs with the appropriate combinations of macronutrients and micronutrients. Supplements are addressed from a scientific standpoint, followed by the influence of nutrition on training adaptations, immune function, body composition, weight management, and eating disorders. The new chapter on personalized nutrition covers periodized nutrition, gender differences, and special populations (young athletes, older athletes, and diabetic athletes) and offers practical examples from specific sports. This third edition contains revised and expanded information to keep students current on the latest findings in sport nutrition: * Updated nutrition guidelines * A new chapter on personalized nutrition that helps readers move from theory into practice as they better understand how to customize nutrition based on an individual's unique background and needs * Addition of practical carbohydrate intake guidelines for athletes in a wide variety of sports * Updated information on protein metabolism and recommendations on the type, amount, and timing of protein intake to maximize training adaptation * Developments from the field of molecular biology that explain how adaptations to exercise training are influenced by nutrition * Expanded coverage of the rapidly developing field of immunonutrition Sport Nutrition, Third Edition, includes a number of tools to facilitate student learning. More than 300 figures, tables, and photos offer visual illustration of important concepts, methods, and research findings. Updated and new sidebars provide in-depth coverage of selected topics, making it easier to grasp the scientific concepts presented. Each chapter also includes learning objectives and key points to help students retain the information. In addition to being mindful of students, the authors remained conscious of the needs of instructors. With years of experience in teaching sport nutrition, the authors constructed chapters in a natural progression, making class lectures easier to prepare and deliver. Instructors will also find an ancillary package consisting of an instructor guide, test package, and presentation package plus image bank to further support their efforts. More than a simple prescription of recommendations, Sport Nutrition, Third Edition, offers a systematic presentation of the science supporting nutrition guidelines. It is an ideal book to provide a comprehensive understanding of nutrition as it relates to sport, exercise performance, training, and recovery.
Call Number: 613.202479 JEU
Publication Date: 2019
Exercise physiology by Setting the standard for more than 30 years, Exercise Physiology has helped more than 350,000 students build a solid foundation in the scientific principles underlying modern exercise physiology. This Eighth Edition is updated with the latest research in the field to give you easy-to-understand, up-to-date coverage of how nutrition, energy transfer, and exercise training affect human performance.
Get quick access to the resources available to help you master each section of the text with "Ancillaries at a Glance."
Maximize your study time with the book's vibrant, "magazine style" design that makes the content more engaging and accessible and key information easier to find.
Reinforce your understanding with Chapter Objectives, Integrative Questions that pose open-ended questions for reflection on complex concepts, and FYI sections that offer "good to know" information.
Gain an understanding of how researchers contribute to our knowledge of exercise physiology through engaging section-opening interviews with key figures in the field.
Learn how theoretical concepts relate to practical skills through "In a Practical Sense" features.
Access the most relevant current information in the field through figures and tables that clarify important concepts and information.
Gain an understanding of the past, present, and future of the profession through coverage of important milestones and future directions in the field.
Visit the free companion website for anywhere, anytime access to over 30 animations of key exercise physiology concepts, the book's complete list of references, and more.
Call Number: 612.044 MCA
Publication Date: 2015
Exercise Biochemistry by Exercise Biochemistry brings an admittedly difficult and technical subject to life. Extremely user- and student-friendly, it is written in conversational style by Vassilis Mougios, who poses and then answers questions as if in conversation with a student. Mougios does an excellent job of making the information interesting by using simple language without compromising scientific accuracy and content. He also uses ample analogies, related works of art, and numerous illustrations to drive home his points for readers. The result is that Exercise Biochemistry is a highly informative and illuminating text on the effects of exercise on molecular-level functioning. It presents the basics of biochemistry as well as in-depth coverage of exercise biochemistry. The book uses key terms, sidebars, and questions and problems posed at the end of each chapter to facilitate learning. It also covers metabolism, endocrinology, and assessment all in one volume, unlike other exercise biochemistry books. In exploring all of these topics, Exercise Biochemistry makes the case for exercise biochemistry to have a stand-alone textbook. In fact, this book will encourage more universities to introduce exercise biochemistry courses to their curricula. Having the necessary topics of basic biochemistry in a single volume will facilitate the work of both instructors and students. Exercise Biochemistry will also be useful to graduate students in sport science who have not been formally introduced to exercise biochemistry during their undergraduate programs. Additionally, it can supplement exercise physiology textbooks with its coverage of the molecular basis of physiological processes. This book is also for physical education and sport professionals who have an interest in how the human body functions during and after exercise. And this book is addressed to health scientists who are interested in the transformations in human metabolism brought about by physical activity. The book is organized in four parts. Part I introduces readers to biochemistry basics, including chapters on metabolism, proteins, nucleic acids and gene expression, and carbohydrates and lipids. Part II consists of two chapters that explore neural control of movement and muscle contraction. The essence of the book is found in part III, which details exercise metabolism in its six chapters. Included are chapters on carbohydrate, lipid, and protein metabolism in exercise; compounds of high phosphoryl transfer potential; effects of exercise on gene expression; and integration of exercise metabolism. In part IV, the author focuses on biochemical assessment of people who exercise, with chapters on iron status, metabolites, and enzymes and hormones. Simple biochemical tests are provided to assess an athlete's health and performance. Exercise Biochemistry is a highly readable book that serves as a source for understanding how exercise changes bodily functions. The text is useful for both students and practitioners alike.
Call Number: 612.044 MOU
Publication Date: 2006
Nutrition for health, fitness & sport by Nutrition for Health, Fitness and Sport uses a question-answer approach, which is convenient when you may have occasional short periods to study, such as riding a bus or during a lunch break. In addition, the questions are arranged in a logical sequence, the answer to one question often leading into the question that follows. Where appropriate, cross-referencing within the text is used to expand the discussion. No deep scientific background is needed for the chemical aspects of nutrition and energy expenditure,as these have been simplified. Instructors who use this book as a course text may add details of biochemistry as they feel necessary.
Call Number: 613.2 RAW
Publication Date: 2020