A-Z eResources List
Go to A-Z List
A-Z eJournal List
Go to A-Z List
Requesting Articles
Requesting Articles
If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.
University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library.
The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.
Database and Journal information
The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:
- Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Biological Science Database contains abstracts, full-text articles, reports, conference proceedings, and newswires. This resource is most likely to be useful to individuals associated with Biological Science, Biomedical Science, Nutrition and Human Health, Wildlife, Ecology, and Conservation Science; it covers topics such as zoology, cell biology, microbiology, molecular biology, genetics, bioengineering and much more.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
- BioMedCentral (BMC) This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central (BMC) provides access to full-text articles in science, technology, engineering, and medicine. Unlike traditional subscription-based journals, all BMC articles are freely available to anyone, promoting open access and knowledge dissemination within the scientific community.
The content of the BMC is free to access on the open web and is not searchable in Discovery.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Medline contains more than 29 million references to journal articles related to medicine, nursing and sciences, and useful for researchers, clinicians, and students in the medical field. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Coverage from 1950 until present day.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a large online library of medical research. It is a comprehensive database comprising over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
This is an open access resource, so access is freely available without need and account/login details.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
This is an open access resource, so access is freely available without need and account/login details.
- Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Science Database from ProQuest is a comprehensive collection of scholarly articles, research papers, and scientific literature spanning various disciplines. It covers a wide range of subjects, including biology, chemistry, physics, environmental science, and engineering, among others.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to a large collection of scientific research articles, journals, books, and other academic content across various disciplines. It covers subjects ranging from physical and life sciences to social sciences and humanities. You can search for and access articles, read abstracts, download full-text papers, and explore references. Please note that, if you are doing a systematic literature search, the search functionality in this database does not currently allow for the level of search that you will need. It is suitable for more general background searching or where you do not need to take a systematic search approach.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science database allows you to search a large number of scholarly journals, books, and proceedings across many subject areas. You can select which collection(s) you would like to search in this database; the default search is in the Web of Science Core Collection, which covers the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities from 1970-present.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
