Mythologies. (Print copy) by Barthes, R.A series of essays in which Barthes seeks to tear away masks and demystify the signs, signals, gestures and messages through which western society sustains, sells, identifies and yet obscures itself.
Call Number: 840.9 BAR
Publication Date: 1993
Camera Lucida by Barthes, R.A graceful, contemplative volume,Camera Lucidawas first published in 1979. Commenting on artists such as Avedon, Clifford, Mapplethorpe, and Nadar, Roland Barthes presents photography as being outside the codes of language or culture, acting on the body as much as on the mind, and rendering death and loss more acutely than any other medium. This groundbreaking approach establishedCamera Lucidaas one of the most important books of theory on the subject, along with Susan Sontag'sOn Photography.
Surrealism by Bradley, F.Surrealism was one of the most interesting and influential at movements of the 20th century. A collective adventure begun by a small group of intellectuals in Paris in the early 1920s, amongst them Max Ernst, Rene Magritte and Salvador Dali, its influence was felt through the rest of continental Europe and in Britain, the Americas, Mexico and Japan.
Call Number: 709.04063 BRA
Publication Date: 1997
Photography Degree Zero by Batchen, J.H.; Batchen, G. (Editor)Roland Barthes's 1980 book Camera Lucida is perhaps the most influential book ever published on photography. The terms studium and punctum, coined by Barthes for two different ways of responding to photographs, are part of the standard lexicon for discussions of photography; Barthes's understanding of photographic time and the relationship he forges between photography and death have been invoked countless times in photographic discourse; and the current interest in vernacular photographs and the ubiquity of subjective, even novelistic, ways of writing about photography both owe something to Barthes. Photography Degree Zero, the first anthology of writings on Camera Lucida, goes beyond the usual critical orthodoxies to offer a range of perspectives on Barthes's important book. Photography Degree Zero (the title links Barthes's first book, Writing Degree Zero, to his last, Camera Lucida) includes essays written soon after Barthes's book appeared as well as more recent rereadings of it, some previously unpublished. The contributors' approaches range from psychoanalytical (in an essay drawing on the work of Lacan) to Buddhist (in an essay that compares the photographic flash to the mystic's light of revelation); they include a history of Barthes's writings on photography and an account of Camera Lucida and its reception; two views of the book through the lens of race; and a provocative essay by Michael Fried and two responses to it. The variety of perspectives included in Photography Degree Zero, and the focus on Camera Lucida in the context of photography rather than literature or philosophy, serve to reopen a vital conversation on Barthes's influential work.
Call Number: 770.1 BAT
Publication Date: 2011
Art Photography by Bate, D.In the last decade, interest in photography has exploded. Among the most compelling and popular art forms, photography is now recognized as central to the development of modern and contemporary art. In this accessibly written survey, art photography comes alive through a series of frames--from documentary style and pictorialism to archives, narratives, and the conceptual uses of the medium. David Bate traces major developments and themes from the earliest days of photography, in the 1830s, to the present day, examining the many ways in which photography and art have intersected since the birth of the medium. Featuring works from a wide and international group of artists--including Henry Fox Talbot, Roger Fenton, Lee Miller, Brassa#65533;, Robert Frank, Nan Goldin, Ed Ruscha, and Gillian Wearing--this comprehensive volume uncovers the Anglo-American and European contexts of art photography, as well as the Asian, African, and Middle Eastern perspectives.
Babe by Collins, P. (Editor)Curated by one of today's most sought-after photographers, this collection of work by young female artists captures the voices and visions that are shaping a generation of women. 21-year-old Canadian photographer Petra Collins is leading the way in a contemporary girl power revolution that proves feminism and sexuality aren't mutually exclusive. Babe includes work by Collins as well as over 30 artists who have been part of her online collective The Ardorous. Though their work is aesthetically varied, it all represents a current zeitgeist characterized by explorations of female identity, scrutinization of the role of the Internet and social media, and a penchant for pastel colors. The artists in the book, such as Arvida Bystrom, Sandy Kim, Harley Weir, Jeanette Hayes, and Kristie Muller, hail from a variety of places, including New York, London, Moscow, Stockholm, Los Angeles, Berlin, and Toronto. Together they reflect an all-accepting, affirming, distinctly female point of view that teens and young women everywhere can respond to. With a Foreword by Tavi Gevinson, writer, actress, fashion blogger, and creator of the online magazine Rookie, this is an inspiring collection for a new generation of creative, forward thinking women.
Call Number: 770.92 COL COL
Publication Date: 2015
The Photograph As Contemporary Art by Cotton, C.In the 21st century photography has come of age as a contemporary art form. Nearly two centuries after photographic technology was first invented, the art world has fully embraced it as a legitimate medium, equal in status to painting and sculpture. This book provides an introduction to contemporary art-photography, identifying its most important features and themes and celebrating its exciting pluralism through an overview of its most important and innovative practitioners. The work of nearly 250 photographers is reproduced, from established artists such as Isa Genzken, Jeff Wall, Sophie Calle, Thomas Demand, Nan Goldin, and Sherrie Levine to emerging talents such Walead Beshty, Jason Evans, Lucas Blalock, Sara VanDerBeek, and Viviane Sassen.This new edition brings the story of contemporary art photography up to date with a revised introduction outlining the evolution of photography from documentary tool to art form, and an updated final chapter focusing on the younger generation of artists who emphasize the technical and material properties of photography, employ it as part of a wider pan-media practice, or respond to evolving new modes of dissemination in the digital age.
Advertising As Communication by Dyer, G.As consumers, we all encounter advertising as part of our daily lives. However we are often unaware of its more subtle form of persuasion. This book examies advertising in modern society and also views its cultural and economic impact.
Call Number: 659.1 DYE
Publication Date: 1982
The Fashioned Body by Entwistle, J.The Fashioned Body provides a wide-ranging and original overview of fashion and dress from an historical and sociological perspective. Where once fashion was seen as marginal, it has now entered into core economic discourse focused around ideas about 'cultural' and 'creative' work as a major driver of developed economies. With a new preface and new material on the evolving fashion industry, this second edition gives a clear summary of the theories surrounding the role and function of fashion in modern society. Entwistle examines how fashion plays a crucial role in the formation of modern identity through its articulation of the body, gender and sexuality. The book offers a much needed synthesis between the literature on fashion and dress, and the sociology of the body, offering an updated critique of the issues raised in the first edition. Entwistle shows how an understanding of fashion and dress requires an understanding of the meanings acquired by the body in culture since it is the body that fashion speaks to and which is dressed in almost all social situations and encounters. She argues that while fashion refers to a specific system of dress originating in the west, all cultures 'dress' the body in the same way, making it a crucial feature of social order. Drawing on the work of theorists, the book offers insights into the connections that need to be made between the body, fashion and dress. The Fashioned Body will be an invaluable resource for anyone interested in the social role of fashion and dress in modern culture.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Introduction to Communication Studies by Fiske, J.This revised edition of a now classic text includes a new introduction by Henry Jenkins, explaining Why Fiske Still Matters for today s students, followed by a discussion between former Fiske students Ron Becker, Elana Levine, Darrell Newton and Pamela Wilson on the theme of Structuralism and Semiotics, Fiske-Style . Both underline the continuing relevance of this foundational text in communication studies. How can we study communication? What are the main theories and methods of approach? This classic text provides a lucid, accessible introduction to the main authorities in the field of communication studies, aimed at students coming to the subject for the first time. It outlines a range of methods of analysing examples of communication, and describes the theories underpinning them. Thus armed, the reader will be able to tease out the latent cultural meanings in such apparently simple communications as news photos or popular TV programmes, and to see them with new eyes."
Call Number: 302.2 FIS
Publication Date: 2010
This Means This, This Means That by Hall, S.Semiotics is the theory of signs, and reading signs is a part of everyday life: from road signs that point to a destination, to smoke that warns of fire, to the symbols buried within art and literature. Semiotic theory can, however, seem mysterious and impenetrable. This introductory book decodes that mystery using visual examples instead of abstract theory. Read straight through or dipped into regularly, this book provides practical examples of how meaningis made in contemporary culture.
Getting the Picture by Hill, J.E. (Editor); Schwartz, V.R. (Editor)Powerful and often controversial, news pictures promise to make the world at once immediate and knowable. Yet while many great writers and thinkers have evaluated photographs of atrocity and crisis, few have sought to set these images in a broader context by defining the rich and diverse history of news pictures in their many forms. For the first time, this volume defines what counts as a news picture, how pictures are selected and distributed, where they are seen and how we critique and value them. Presenting the best new thinking on this fascinating topic, this book considers the news picture over time, from the dawn of the illustrated press in the nineteenth century, through photojournalism's heyday and the rise of broadcast news and newsreels in the twentieth century and into today's digital platforms. It examines the many kinds of images: sport, fashion, society, celebrity, war, catastrophe and exoticism; and many mediums, including photography, painting, wood engraving, film and video. Packed with the best research and full colour-illustrations throughout, this book will appeal to students and readers interested in how news and history are key sources of our rich visual culture.
Call Number: 070.49 HIL
Publication Date: 2015
Photograph: A Concise History by Jeffrey, I.An examination of the history and development of photography, from its earliest days in the mid C19 to the present. Using examples from the world's greatest photographers, this book guides the reader through critical issues, such as the criteria by which we carry out judgements and analyses.
Call Number: 770.9 JEF
Publication Date: 1985
The Violence of the Image by Kennedy, L. (Editor); Patrick, C. (Editor)Photography has visualized international relations and conflicts from the mid-nineteenth century onwards and continues to be an important medium in framing the worlds of distant and suffering others. The Violence of the Image examines the roles of image producers and the functions of photographic imagery in the documentation and communication of wars, violent conflicts and human rights issues. The book focuses on photojournalism, the premier visual genre in news media framing of international affairs through much of the twentieth century. Many photojournalists promote an ethos of critique, ethically underwritten by the idea of 'witnessing' and affective appeals to action based on displays of human suffering. The book deals with the much-cited concept of 'compassion fatigue' and shows how public commitment to such a 'documentary ethos' remains strong today. The Violence of the Image also engages with the ways in which the newer vernacular and artistic modes of photographic production, including digital photography, camera phones and social media platforms, articulate international friction. Illustrated in color and in black and white, this is a welcome, innovative contribution to writing and thinking on media and conflict.
Call Number: 778.9 KEN
Publication Date: 2014
L' Amour Fou by Krauss, R.E.; Livingston, J.; Ades, D.Much has been written about Surrealist painting and sculpture, but most of the erotic, disorienting, and exquisite Surrealist photographs of Man Ray, Marcel Duchamp, Max Ernst, André Breton, Brassaï, Salvador Dalí, André Kertész, and Hans Bellmer have remained all but unknown -- until now. Traditional criticism has viewed Surrealist photography as a pale imitation of authentic Surrealist work. The assumption has been that photography, a "realistic" medium, is fundamentally incompatible with a cause devoted to the wildly subjective, the world of dreams, and the unconscious. As a consequence, Surrealist photography, a major body of twentieth-century art, has remained largely unexplored. L Amour fou is the first book to study the crucial role photography did in fact play in the Surrealist movement. It shows how photographers enlisted into the service of "subjective" Surrealism their mediums very claim to "objective" reality. Of greatest interest, of course, is the books abundant reproductions of the fantastic and distorted photographic creations that must be acknowledged as an important part of the Surrealist oeuvre. Rosalind Krauss, a professor of art history at Hunter College, CUNY, New York City, is a widely published author of books and articles on art subjects, including Surrealism. Jane Livingston, former associate director and chief curator of The Corcoran Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., has written major books and exhibition catalogues on art and photography. Dawn Ades has written several art books, including Abbevilles The 20th-Century Poster.
Digital Snaps by Larsen, J. (Editor); Sandbye, M. (Editor)Photography as an everyday practice is once again changing dramatically. At this moment of transition from analogue to digital, Digital Snaps aims to develop a new media ecology that can accommodate these changes to photography 'as we know it'. Expert contributors representing varied disciplines demonstrate how and to what extent the traditional social practices, technologies and images of analogue photography are being transformed with the movement to digital photography. They zoom in on typical, vernacular, everyday practices: the development of the family photo album from a physical object in the living room to a digital practice on the Internet; the use of mobile phones in everyday life; photo communities on the Internet; photo booth photography; studio photography; and fine arts' appropriation of amateur photography. They explore how this media convergence transforms the media ecology – the networks, objects, performances, meanings and circulations – of vernacularphotography, as we research it through ordinary people's use of such new cameras and interactive Internet spaces as part of their everyday lives.
Call Number: 770 LAR
Publication Date: 2014
Design Anarchy by Lasn, K.'Design Anarchy' is a pictorial history of advertising promotions, consumerism and marketing design in twentieth century America. It also provides cultural insight into one of the world's most influential nations.
Call Number: 741.6 LAS
Publication Date: 2006
Manifesto Collage by Lütgens, A.; Brenner, B.; Salm, C.Z.;In contemporary art, the collage technique has been experiencing a renaissance with artists finding new ways to use collage; they might adopt the classical approach – glueing, overpainting and alienating existing images – but they also draw on new, comput
Call Number: 709.05 LUT
Publication Date: 2013
Visual and Other Pleasures by Laura Mulvey, L.A new edition of Laura Mulvey's groundbreaking collection of essays, originally published in 1989. In an extensive introduction to this second edition, Mulvey looks back at the historical and personal contexts for her famous article Visual Pleasure and Narrative Cinema , and reassesses her theories in the light of new technologies.
Call Number: 305.4 MUL
Publication Date: 2009
Marketing Semiotics by Laura R. Oswald, L.R.Everyday consumers buy into the concept of brands and their associated meanings--the perception of quality, a symbolic relationship, a vicarious experience, or even a sense of identity. Marketing Semiotics suggests that the extent to which consumers recognize, internalize, and relate to brand meanings is not only an academic question. These meanings contribute to "brand equity", the financial value of intangible brand benefits that exceed the use value of goods, and impacts upon a firm's financial performance. Therefore, the management of brand equity demands first and foremost the management of brand meanings, or semiotics. The book uses structural semiotics, a discipline that extends the laws of structural linguistics to the analysis of verbal, visual, and spatial sign systems, to shed light on the cultural codes and discourse of brands. It proposes that semiotic research should form the cornerstone of brand equity management, since brands rely so heavily on sign systems that contribute to profitability by distinguishing brands from simple commodities, from competitors, and engaging consumers in the brand world. The book includes dozens of global business cases where semiotics has been used to refocus, reposition, or extend the brand to new products, customers, and markets. Drawing upon twenty years of academic and consulting experience, the book provides actionable direction for steering brands through technological and cultural change, differentiating brands in the competitive environment, and counteracting the natural depletion of brand meaning over time.
Call Number: 658.802 OSW + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Feminism-Art-Theory by Robinson, H. (Editor)Charting over 45 years of feminist debate on the significance of gender in the making and understanding of art, the long-anticipated new edition of Feminism-Art-Theory has been extensively updated and reworked. Completely revised, retaining only one-third of the texts of the earlier edition, with all other material being new inclusions Brings together 88 revealing texts from North America, Europe and Australasia, juxtaposing writings from artists and activists with those of academics Embraces a broad range of threads and perspectives, from diverse national and global approaches, lesbian and queer theory, and postmodernism, to education and aesthetics Includes many classic texts, but is particularly notable for its inclusion of rare and significant material not reprinted elsewhere Provides a uniquely flexible resource for study and research due to its scale and structure; each of the seven sections focuses on a specific area of debate, with texts arranged chronologically in order to show how issues and arguments developed over time
Call Number: 700.8 ROB
Publication Date: 2015
Fashion As Photograph by Shinkle, E. (Editor)Despite its significance, visual and cultural studies have paid little attention to fashion photography as a media form. Fashion as Photograph brings together distinguished contributors from the UK, North America, Australia and Europe, to examine the production and consumption of fashion images from the points of view of industry and academia, the museum, the auction house, and the art gallery. Chapters identify and discuss key issues in recent fashion photography, examining its aesthetic, political, creative, and commercial dimensions.
Call Number: 778.9974692 SHI
Publication Date: 2008
Rethinking Photography by Smith, P.; Lefley, C.Rethinking Photography is an accessible and illuminating critical introduction to the practice and interpretation of photography today. Peter Smith and Carolyn Lefley closely link critical approaches to photographic practices and present a detailed study of differing historical and contemporary perspectives on social and artistic functions of the medium, including photography as art, documentary forms, advertising and personal narratives. Richly illustrated full colour images throughout connect key concepts to real world examples. It also includes: Accessible book chapters on key topics including early photography, photography and industrial society, the rise of photography theory, critical engagement with anti-realist trends in the theory and practice of photography, photography and language, photography education, and photography and the creative economy Specific case studies on photographic practices include snapshot and portable box cameras, digital and mobile phone cultures, and computer-generated imagery Critical summaries of current photography theoretical studies in the field, displaying how critical theory has been mapped on to working practices of photographers and students In-depth profiles of selected key photographers and theorists and studies of their professional practices Assessment of photography as a key area of contemporary aesthetic debate Focused and critical study of the world of working photographers beyond the horizons of the academy. Rethinking Photography provides readers with an engaging mix of photographic case studies and an accessible exploration of essential theory. It is the perfect guide for students of Photography, Fine Art, Art History, and Graphic Design as well as practitioners from any background wishing to understand the place of photography in global societies today.
City Gorged with Dreams by Walker, I.The author analyses how the Surrealists utilised the tactics of documentary and how Surrealist ideas in turn influenced the development of documentary photography. The re-emergence of Surrealist photography, has an emphasis on work made in the studio or the darkroom. This, however, is a study of what Louis Aragon called surrealist realism: the exploration of a real-life surreality encountered on the streets of the city.
Call Number: 770.932 WAL
Publication Date: 2002
Feminism: A Very short Introduction by Walters, M.This book provides an historical account of feminism, exploring its earliest roots as well as key issues including voting rights, the liberation of the sixties, and its relevance today. Margaret Walters touches on the difficulties and inequities that women still face more than forty years after the 'new wave' of 1960s feminism, such as how successful women are at combining domesticity, motherhood, and work outside the house. She brings the subject completely up to date by providing an analysis of the current situation of women across the globe, from Europe and the United States to Third World countries.
Call Number: 305.42 WAL +eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Land Matters: Landscape Photography, Culture and Identity by Wells, L.In this major work on landscape photography, extensively illustrated in color and black and white, Liz Wells is concerned with the ways in which photographers engage with issues about land, its representation and idealization. She demonstrates how the visual interpretation of land as landscape reflects and reinforces contemporary political, social, and environmental attitudes. She also asks what is at stake in landscape photography now through placing critical appraisal of key examples of work by photographers working in, for example, the USA, in Europe, Scandinavia and Baltic areas, within broader art historical and political concerns. This illuminating book will interest readers in photography and media, geography, art history, and travel, as well as those concerned with environmental issues.
Call Number: 778.936 WEL + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The Photography Reader by Wells, L. (Editor)The Photography Reader is a comprehensive introduction to theories of photography; its production; and its uses and effects. Including articles by photographers from Edward Weston to Jo Spence, as well as key thinkers like Roland Barthes, Victor Burgin and Susan Sontag, the essays trace the development of ideas about photography. Each themed section features an editor's introduction setting ideas and debates in their historical and theoretical context. Sections include: Reflections on Photography; Photographic Seeing; Coding and Rhetoric; Photography and the Postmodern; Photo-digital; Documentary and Photojournalism; The Photographic Gaze; Image and Identity; Institutions and Contexts.
Call Number: 770.1 WEL
Publication Date: 2002
Decoding Advertisements by Williamson, J.A fascinating account of how the admen achieve their effects.'Stuart Hood This book sets out not simply to criticize advertisements on the grounds of dishonesty and exploitation, but to examine in detail, through over a hundred illustrations, their undoubted attractiveness and appeal. The overt economic function of this appeal is to make us buy things. Its ideological function, however, is to involve us as 'individuals' in perpetuating the ideas which endorse the economic basis of our society. If it is economic conditions which make ideology necessary, it is ideology which makes those conditionsseem necessary. If society is to be changed, this vicious circle of "necessity" and ideas must be broken.Decoding Advertisements is an attempt to undo one link in the chain which we ourselves help to forge, in our acceptance not only of the images and values of advertising, but of the 'transparent' forms and structures in which they are embodied. It provides not an "answer," but a "set of tools" which we can use to alter our own perceptions of one of society's subtlest and most complex forms of propaganda. Other books by Judith Williamson published by Marion Boyars areConsuming Passions: the Dynamics of Popular Culture andDeadline at Dawn: Film Criticism 1980-1990.