Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Imaging 5: Endocrine and Central Nervous Systems reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care, 7th Edition delivers the latest radiologic, imaging science and patient care skills you need to prepare for certification and practice. This new edition includes updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation, providing you with the essential information and tools needed to master any introduction to radiologic sciences class. Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and on tear sheets in the text give you easy access to on-the-go learning. This text not only helps to prepare you for parts of the certification exam, but the content provides useful and practical information that is needed for professional practice and clinical success. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text supply you with easy to follow steps so you are well prepared for clinical success. Back-of-book review questions provide you with an opportunity for review and greater challenge. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Strong pedagogy, including chapter objectives, key terms, outline and summaries helps you organize information and ensure that you understand what is most important in every chapter. NEW and UPDATED! Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation provide you with the important information you need for clinical success. NEW! The latest technical terminology incorporated throughout text keeps you up-to-date with industry verbiage. NEW and UPDATED! Appendices containing practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics and patient care partnership offer you additional information about professional opportunities and obligations and prepare you for what you will encounter in the practice environment.
Call Number: 616.07572 ADL
Publication Date: 2018
The Endocrine System at a Glance by The Endocrine System at a Glance provides a highly illustrated and unambiguous introduction to the basic principles and mechanisms of endocrinology and the key endocrine organs, followed by sections on reproductive and metabolic endocrinology. Clinical scenarios contextualise the basic science and illustrate how endocrine conditions present, are diagnosed, and are treated on the wards. This third edition: Includes new material on basic diagnostic tests used in the diagnosis of endocrine disorders Features new material on cancer and endocrinology Includes MCQs for each chapter The Endocrine System at a Glance is ideal for all medical students studying endocrinology and revising for final exams, as well as preparing for clinical attachments. The book is also suitable for those training in allied health professions and nurses specialising in endocrinology.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures by Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures has become the classic, concise guide to the common procedures in imaging on which a radiology trainee will be expected to be familiar. Now fully revised and updated in line with current practice, it will also prove invaluable to the wider clinical team that now delivers modern imaging services, including radiographers and radiology nurses, as well as a handy refresher for radiologists at all levels. The highly accessible format has been retained, with every technique described under a set of standard headings, making it ideal for quick reference and exam preparation. * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations Previous edition review comments: "The book provides a comprehensive and well-referenced guide to a wide range of imaging techniques and the imaging modalities employed...Overall, an excellent book. " Rad Magazine * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations
Call Number: 616.0757 WAT
Publication Date: 2017
Patient Care in Radiography by Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations.? Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Call Number: 616 EHR + eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by The phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the discipline standard with the 15th edition. Designed for the 2-semester anatomy and physiology course, Principles of Anatomy and Physiology combines exceptional content and outstanding visuals for a rich and comprehensive classroom experience. Enhanced for a digital delivery, the 15th edition, gives students the ability to learn and explore anatomy and physiology both inside and outside of the classroom.
Call Number: 612 TOR
Publication Date: 2017
Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology, 2 Volume Set by Master the information you need to know for practice and prepare for certification or recertification with a succinct, comprehensive account of the entire spectrum of imaging modalities and their clinical applications. Throughout six outstanding editions, Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology has stood alone as the single comprehensive reference on general diagnostic radiology. Now in two succinct volumes, the 7th Edition of this landmark text continues to provide complete coverage of all currently available imaging techniques and their clinical applications - the essential information you need to succeed in examinations and understand current best practices in radiological diagnosis. Organizes content along an organ and systems basis, covering all diagnostic imaging techniques in an integrated, correlative fashion, with a focus on the topics that matter most to a trainee radiologist in the initial years of training. Contains more than 4,000 high-quality illustrations that enhance and clarify the text. Features an expanded section on cardiac imaging to reflect major developments in cardiac MRI, including 3D ultrasound, PET, and SPECT. Integrates functional and molecular imaging throughout each section, and includes the latest image-guided biopsy and ablation techniques. Provides an ideal resource for written, oral, and re-certifying board study as well as for a clinical practice refresher on topics that may have been forgotten. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: 616.0757 ADA
Publication Date: 2020
Imaging of Traumatic Brain Injury by An image-rich text on neuroimaging of trauma patients Imaging of Traumatic Brain Injury is a radiological reference that covers all aspects of neurotrauma imaging and provides a clinical overview of traumatic brain injury (TBI). It describes the imaging features of acute head trauma, the pathophysiology of TBI, and the application of advanced imaging technology to brain-injured patients. Key Features: Covers acute as well as chronic traumatic brain injury Written in an easily accessible format, with pearls and summary boxes at the end of each chapter Includes state-of-the-art imaging techniques, including the multiplanar format, the utility of multiplanar reformats, perfusion imaging, susceptibility weighted imaging, and advanced MRI techniques Contains over 250 high-quality images This book will serve as a practical reference for practicing radiologists as well as radiology residents and fellows, neurosurgeons, trauma surgeons, and emergency physicians.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Interventional Radiology Cases by In 104 cases featuring over 500, high-quality images, Interventional Radiology Cases is a thorough and accessible review of the interventional procedures that radiology residents are expected to be familiar with upon completion of residency and general radiologists need to know forrecertification examinations. The cases present both benign and malignant conditions and all pertinent imaging modalities incorporated including: CT, MR, PET, fluoroscopy, and ultrasound.Part of the Cases in Radiology series, this book follows the easy-to-use format of question and answer in which the patient history is provided on the first page of the case, and radiologic findings, differential diagnosis, teaching points, next steps in management, and suggestions for furtheringreading are revealed on the following page.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Interventional Radiology: a Survival Guide by What are the must-know aspects to preparing for and performing the most frequently requested diagnostic and therapeutic interventional procedures? Interventional Radiology: A Survival Guide, 4th Edition gives you the information you need to provide safe care in an easy-to-read, concise format. Written by experienced radiologists Drs. H. David Kessel and Iain Robertson, this edition features clear, step-by-step instructions for fundamental skills in this fast-growing field. Extensively restructured into 4 sections: Core interventional skills; Essential equipment; Principles of Vascular intervention and Principles of Non-vascular intervention. Increased emphasis on Interventional Oncology including the management of cancer and its complications. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Nearly 300 line diagrams and photos illustrate procedures, including anatomical and technical points. Tip boxes highlight key facts and technical recommendations. Troubleshooting guides help get you back on track when things don't go exactly as planned. Warning boxes highlight common and important pitfalls.
Call Number: 617.05 KES + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Neuroimaging by With 100 illustrated cases in print and an eBook containing the 100 print cases plus another200 cases, this volume in the Teaching File Series gives you ready access to actual cases culled from the teaching files of major medical centers. Neuroradiology: A Teaching File covers a wide variety of CNS diseases that are presented as unknowns with coverage of both brain and head and neck cases. Each case features two to four images and follows the Teaching File template: clinical history, findings, differential diagnosis, diagnosis, discussion, questions, key issues for the report, what the clinician needs to know, and answers. It's the next-best thing to a personal consultation with teaching hospital experts!Key Features Clear, concise discussions mimic those performed on a daily basis between residents and faculty members. Cases are now randomized, to better prepare you for challenges faced in an everyday clinical setting. Both brain and head and neck cases are highlighted by color perfusion, PET, and functional/MR spectroscopy images. Common neuroimaging cases are featured, including both normal anatomy and the use of advanced imaging in differential diagnosis. Collaboration with clinical services and pathology provides an interdisciplinary perspective whenever possible. Dozens of cases feature full-color images. New softcover format for the entire series. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: 300 cases, including 200 eBook only cases Complete content with enhanced navigation . Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web. Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation. Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text. Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues. Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Radiology 101 by Radiology 101 is a popular introduction to radiologic anatomy, the imaging manifestations of common disease processes, and what imaging studies to use when. The first section addresses basic principles of the various imaging modalities, while the second section deals with imaging of body regions plus, contains a chapter on nuclear imaging. Each chapter starts with a brief outline and ends with key points. Great depictions of normal anatomy and common pathology help guide those seeking a basic understanding of radiology especially interns and radiology residents, and non-radiology professionals desiring a concise overview of the field, such as nurse practitioners, physician assistants and primary-care physicians. Emphasis is placed on plain-film imaging with CT, MRI & Ultrasound included. Plus, there are numerous tables for typical symptoms, causes and differential diagnosis of common diseases and disorders. New for this edition: Book is 4-color for first time with new anatomic variants added to each chapter Inside cover lists common acronyms and treatment of acute contrast media reactions Discussion of biopsy of thyroid nodules (procedure commonly ordered by primary-care providers) Expanded nuclear imaging section to include basics of PET/CT New chapters on radiation protection/dose reduction and medical decision-making
Call Number: 616.0757 SMI + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness by The new edition of the hugely successful Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness continues to bring its readers the core essentials of human biology presented in a clear and straightforward manner. Fully updated throughout, the book now comes with enhanced learning features including helpful revision questions and an all new art programme to further clarify the explanations given in the text. The 13th edition retains its popular website, which contains a wide range of 'critical thinking' exercises as well as new animations, an audio-glossary, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test program, and helpful weblinks. This book is ideal for students of nursing and allied health professions, biomedical and paramedical science, operating department practice, complementary therapy and massage therapy, as well as trainee Health Care Assistants and those studying A' level or BTEC (or equivalent) human biology. Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness will be of particular help to readers new to the subject area, those returning to study after a period of absence and for anyone whose first language is not English. Latest edition of the world's most popular textbook on basic human anatomy and physiology with over 1.5 million copies sold worldwide Clear, no nonsense writing style helps make learning easy Accompanying website contains animations, audio-glossary, case studies and other self-assessment material, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test software, and helpful weblinks Includes basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders Contains helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and design icons together with a stunning illustration and photography collection Contains clear explanations of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, with helpful examples from the text, plus a glossary and an appendix of normal biological values. Particularly valuable for students who are completely new to the subject, or returning to study after a period of absence, and for anyone whose first language is not English All new illustration programme brings the book right up-to-date for today's student Helpful 'Spot Check' questions at the end of each topic to monitor progress Fully updated throughout with the latest information on common and/or life threatening diseases and disorders Review and Revise end-of-chapter exercises assist with reader understanding and recall Over 120 animations - many of them newly created - help clarify underlying scientific and physiological principles and make learning fun
Call Number: 612 WAU
Publication Date: 2018