Human Growth and Development, 4th edn by
Written for students training for careers in the helping professions, this Fourth Edition covers all the essential topics central to understanding people whether they are clients, service users, patients or pupils. Following the shape of a human life, beginning with birth and ending with death, it combines theoretical concepts and reflective learning to help your students develop an understanding of what makes us grow and change over our lives.The NEW Online Case Study Resource - Tangled WebsNow you and your students can explore key issues and themes raised in the book and develop the skill of linking theory to practice with free access to a new online case study resource. By following the lives of people living in the fictional London Borough of Bexford, this series of interlinked and extended case studies will allow your students to explore complex situations, much as they might do as practitioners in their working lives, and consider what ideas about Human Growth and Development might inform their thinking and practice.
Learning Through Child Observation, 3rd edn by
This fully updated third edition of Learning Through Child Observation is a handbook for professionals working in, or students preparing to work in, children's services. This accessible text examines the value of observation, its use in assessment and the practical aspects and methods of observational study. The authors focus on the importance of fully recognising the child's developmental and emotional state when intervening, and the need to see children 'holistically' and as unique individuals within the wider context of the family and community. This new edition reflects updates to policy and practice and further develops the critical perspective on contemporary thinking about childhood and observational methods. This edition has also expanded its focus to include observation of primary-aged children. A popular text, it will appeal to students and professionals in all children's services, whether in pre-school, schools, social care, mental health or health settings.
Psychology for Social Workers: Black Perspectives on Human Development and Behaviour by
Social work education has recently undergone major changes, with anti-discriminatory practice being a high priority area in professional training. Psychology for Social Workers provides an introductory text which will help qualifying and practising social workers to: understand and counteract the impact of discrimination; work in an ethnically sensitive way; demonstrate an awareness of ways to combat both individual and institutional racism through anti-racist practice. Drawing together research material and literature on black perspectives in human development and behaviour from North America and Britain, it provides a starting point that will inspire discussion and debate in the social work field and will generate future theoretical and research questions. Among the topics covered are black perspectives in group work and the family, identity development and academic achievement in black children, and mental health issues in relation to black people. Updated throughout to cover recent legislation, this second edition is an essential introductory text for all social workers in training and practice and for their teachers and trainers.
Social Work and Human Development, 5th edn by
Social work engages with people across the life course, and social workers are expected to work with groups of people at very different stages of their life. Developing a thorough understanding of human growth to encompass the whole of the life course is therefore a central part of all qualifying social work training and practice. A clear favorite among students and lecturers, this bestselling book introduces the main theoretical models in a clear and accessible way before applying them to various stages of the life course. From infants to older adults, author Janet Walker uses case studies and practice examples to bring social work methods, skills, and principles to life.
The Developing Person Through the Life Span, 10th edn by
Highlighting the everyday relevance of developmental pscyhology, Developing Person Through the Life Span interconnects the study of development across all stages of life with the life you live yourself for a deeper understanding of the material.
The Developing Child, 13th edn by
This topical text includes activities that help students replicate classic research. It has balanced coverage of both theory and application and strong emphasis on culture.
Children’s Needs: Parenting Capacity, 2nd edn by 
Human Growth, Behaviour and Development by
Understanding the way in which individuals develop before birth, as babies, children and adolescents through to young and older adulthood towards death is an important part of any social work role. Being able to skilfully apply this understanding in real life practice situations is even more important, as purposeful translations of human development are at the heart of effective professional practice. Introducing students to emotional, psychological and social developmental theories of human growth before exploring in detail how these theories can be incorporated into practice, this book will ensure students have all the tools they need to not only understand but critically appraise and apply psychosocial theories early on in training and whilst on placement. With the help of real world case studies, summaries and tips for further study, it will show students how life course theories inter-relate and how they can make appropriate, purposeful translations of theory into skilled, professional practice.
Psychology: The Science of Mind and Behaviour, 7th edn by
Richard Gross offers a clear introduction to the key areas of psychology - the nature and scope of psychology, the biological basis of behaviour and experience, cognitive, social and developmental psychology, and individual differences.Psychology: The Science of Mind and Behaviour has helped over half a million students worldwide. It is the essential introduction to psychology, covering all students need to know to understand and evaluate classic and contemporary topics. Enables students to easily access psychological theories and research with colourful, user-friendly content and useful features including summaries, critical discussion and research updates. Helps students to understand the research process with contributions from leading psychologists including Elizabeth Loftus, Alex Haslam and David Canter. Ensures students are up to date with the latest issues and debates with this fully updated edition. Perfect for Psychology students at all levels as well as those studying or working in health, nursing and social work.
The Critical Years: Early Years Development from Conception to 5 by
A book that brings up to date theory and understanding of child development in the early years into the workplace. During the last ten years our understanding of early child development, from conception through to 5, has greatly increased. This includes our understanding of neuro science and brain development, the ability to modify fetal development in the womb and the move away from the traditional debate of nature versus nurture to nature via nurture. It is vitally important that childcare social workers are fully aware of these issues if we are to intervene successfully to support children in need and children that need protecting. This book introduces the new science while affirming many of the older theories. By linking theories of child development with the law, policy and guidelines, it provides students with a source that will enhance their learning, but also has meaning in day-to-day practice.
A Student's Guide to Developmental Psychology by
This major new undergraduate textbook provides students with everything they need when studying developmental psychology. Guiding students through the key topics, the book provides both an overview of traditional research and theory as well as an insight into the latest research findings and techniques. Taking a chronological approach, the key milestones from birth to adolescence are highlighted and clear links between changes in behaviour and developments in brain activity are made. Each chapter also highlights both typical and atypical developments, as well as discussing and contrasting the effects of genetic and environmental factors. The book contains a wealth of pedagogical features to help students engage with the material, including: Learning objectives for every chapter Key term definitions Over 100 colour illustrations Chapter summaries Further reading Suggested essay questions. A Student's Guide to Developmental Psychology is supported by a companion website, featuring a range of helpful supplementary resources including exclusive video clips to illustrate key developmental concepts. This book is essential reading for all undergraduate students of developmental psychology. It will also be of interest to those in education, healthcare and other subjects requiring an up-to-date and accessible overview of child development.
Attachment Across the Lifecourse by
This succinct and highly readable book from one of our best-selling authors offers the perfect introduction to a fascinating and fast-growing field. It explains the key concepts in attachment theory and describes how the main attachment types play out both in childhood and later life. It identifies some of the intriguing questions being explored by research, such as: 'What part do individuals' attachment histories play in adult relationships?' and 'What scope is there for attachment styles established in infancy to change later in life?'Students and professionals alike from across the fields of psychology, counselling, health and social work will find this an illuminating and thought-provoking guide to the rich complexity of human behaviour.
Attachment Theory for Social Work Practice by
This work addresses the needs of social workers in understanding and assessing the nature and origins of disturbed social relationships, and examines the theories emerging in and around attachment theory.
Attachment Theory, Child Maltreatment and Family Support by
This ground-breaking text offers a comprehensive and penetrating account of how social developmental perspectives and attachment theory can illuminate practice in the field of child protection and family support. Drawing extensively throughout on fascinating case-study material, the text moves from an introduction to the key theories to a detailed outline of the main methods and processes. It offers a carefully developed and systematically tested practice and assessment model for professionals in this challenging and complex area and, as such, will be an invaluable resource for students and professionals alike.
Dimensions of Human Behavior, 6th edn by
Dimensions of Human Behavior: The Changing Life Course presents a current and comprehensive examination of human behavior across time using a multidimensional framework. Author Elizabeth D. Hutchison explores both the predictable and unpredictable changes that can affect human behavior through all the major developmental stages of the life course, from conception to very late adulthood. Aligned with the 2015 curriculum guidelines set forth by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), the Sixth Edition has been substantially updated with contemporary issues related to gender and sexuality, race and ethnicity, and social class and disability across the lifespan.
Applied Psychology for Social Work, 2nd edn by
Not just another psychology textbook, this book combines practical social work alongside sound academic analysis.
Understanding Child Development: Linking Theory and Practice by
Jennie Lindon explains all the key approaches to studying child development in a straightforward way that helps students understand the links between theories and their learning and practice. Experienced practitioners will find that the material supports continuing professional development.
A Critical Approach to Human Growth and Development by 
Psychology for Social Work: A Comprehensive Guide to Human Growth and Development. by
Social Workers work with people who are vulnerable or need support to enhance their wellbeing and promote social change. This book provides an exciting introduction to understanding human behaviour and development from a psychological perspective. Throughout it applies this understanding to the social work role, from mental health to disability.
Social Work Perspectives on Human Behaviour by
Using a bio-psychosocial framework, this popular textbook explains the wide basis of perspectives on which we build an understanding of people's behaviours and why and how we respond in the way we do. This book accessibly explains key concepts including attachment, trauma, developmental psychology and oppression to highlight and enhance social workers' understanding of practice. Thoroughly updated since its popular first edition, the book now includes: A brand new chapter on Attachment More coverage of neurological concepts and their influence on behaviour Expanded material on older people and resilience, crime and violence against black and minority ethnic groups, and domestic violence issues More coverage of mental health, alcohol and drugs and their impact on behaviour Fully updated to reflect the Munro report and recent social worker task force recommendations, this new edition also includes brand new and additional case studies and pedagogy, making this a practical, insightful and wonderfully comprehensive text suitable for all students of social work. "This second edition is a most inclusive, accessible and fully updated text. It provides a thorough overview of the major theories and concepts and brings these to life with case examples. The inclusion of contemporary issues such as domestic abuse is a welcome feature. I would fully recommend this text to any student studying for a social work qualification." Debbie Thackray, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK "This second edition expands on topics that are vital to good social work practice. The chapters on attachment and trauma are particularly well-written, and speak to topics often overlooked in academic texts. The sections on foetal alcohol syndrome (FAS) provide readers with essential knowledge that will enhance practice on many levels. Although this has been written in the context of social work practice, this important book will be compulsory reading for a broad range of students... I consider this an invaluable contribution to any student library." Jill Davey, Framework Lead for Social Work, Sociology, Social Policy and Anthropology, Bournemouth University, UK "This is the most useful text I have ever found for teaching social care and youth students the basic explanatory frameworks for human behaviour. It is superbly balanced in that it gives weight to all perspectives and proffers critiques of key theories. It is also very strong in applying theory to practice - a skill which is always difficult to develop in students. Particular areas of strength are the chapters on attachment and mental health/ trauma. The work is an engaging read as it includes some fascinating historical insights and illustrations as well as contemporary case studies. I will certainly recommend it to my students." Gwen Chaney, Course Leader for Social Care & Faculty Lead for Learning and Teaching, University of Gloucestershire, UK
Cross-Cultural Child Development for Social Workers by
This innovative text explains child development from a cross-cultural perspective. Using examples to illuminate key points, it considers a range of topics from attachment to identity and communication to socialization. This is essential reading for social workers at all stages of their careers who want to develop culturally sensitive practice.
Development Through Adulthood by
Now updated for its second edition, this illuminating textbook explores the developmental stages and changes during adulthood that define some of the most pivotal years of our lives. Relationships, cognitive ageing, parenthood, personality shifts, life crises, fulfilment, funerals, friendships, retirement, and death - all are presented in light of psychological theory and the latest research.Taking a thematic approach, the chapters cover interdependent areas of our cognitive, psychological, social, cultural and moral lives that constitute this fascinating area in psychology. Providing an empirical analysis, Robinson considers models for understanding behaviour and development, methods of collecting data and study design.Academically rigorous and elegantly written, Development through Adulthood is the perfect guide to classic and current research in the field. It is essential reading for students studying adult or lifespan development, gerontology and the psychology of ageing. It will also appeal to those studying an applied social science, and anyone interested in fully understanding adulthood and ageing. New to this Edition:- Spotlights on landmark studies, fully updated to cover the latest key research in each subject area- Increased focus on gender issues- Real-world applications boxes updated with current and relevant examples of important intervention strategies
Life-Span Development, 16th edn by
Connecting researchand results. As a master teacher,John Santrock connects students to current research and real-world application,helping students see how developmental psychology plays a role in their ownlives and future careers. Through an integrated, personalized digital learningprogram, students gain the insight they need to study smarter and improve performance.
The Process of Human Development: A Holistic Life-Span Approach by
Revised and updated, this book on human development, which is aimed at undergraduate nurses, covers the five domains of development - biophysical, cognitive, affective, social and spiritual - from conception through to old age. The multidisciplinary, integrated coverage enables the student to view the individual at all stages of the life span from different perspectives. Coverage in this edition includes historical factors contributing to the understanding of African-Americans, native Americans and women; issues of blended and single parent families; the contribution of fathers to early development; stresses faced by families with disabled members; and ethical questions faced in reproductive issues and technology.
Mary Sheridan's from Birth to Five Years by
From Birth to Five Years, based on the pioneering work of Mary Sheridan, is widely regarded as the go-to reference for health, education and social care professionals, or anyone concerned with the developmental progress of pre-school children. In this new fourth edition, the text has been developed to further align it with current child development philosophies and practices, and to support the wider group of professionals that are now required to take steps for promoting children's development as part of their assessment and management plans. This book aims to improve the clinical management of children with developmental disorders, through providing the full range of developmental attainments, methods of observation, and advice about when to seek help. Features of this completely revised edition include: For students and tutors - information on theoretical aspects of development, with further reading suggestions and references including the most recent international studies in the field A new section on the development of attention and self-regulation Contemporary case studies with guidance on when to raise concerns for students and teachers Discussion points to stimulate class debate To complement this book, a new companion volume, From Birth to Five Years: Practical Developmental Examination, offers a step-by-step 'how to' guide, including guidance on enquiry and observation, how to chart typical and atypical patterns, and 'red flags' for recognising significant delay or abnormality. To consolidate and expand on the practical and theoretical information across both books, a new companion website is available at www.routledge.com/cw/sharma, which includes the following additional learning material: An interactive timeline of the key developmental domains Introductions to theory with links to further reading Research summaries Video clips demonstrating practical assessment skills
Understanding human development: biological, social and psychological processes from conception to adult life by
How does a fertilized egg become a person? How do the processes which shape the common features of human development also produce the rich variety of individual diversity? Understanding Human Development explores these questions in a lively and wide-ranging survey of the subject, offering both a topical and a chronological view of development. The author critically reviews research on human development from the earliest studies to the theories and issues of the 21st century, including recent breakthroughs in neuropsychology, cross-cultural psychology and in the application of dynamic systems theory. Coverage of methodology and ethics combined with thorough revision summaries in each chapter make this an invaluable introduction for students of developmental psychology.