Understanding Social Work Practice in Mental Health by 
Social Approaches to Mental Distress by
Mental Health Foundation Online
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Online
Care Quality Commission Online
The Social Psychology Network Online
Preventing Young Suicide Online
https://www.scie.org.uk/publications/guides/guide44/ Guide for working with young people and service transition
Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) (2006). SCIE Report 14: Doing it for themselves: participation and black and minority service users.
SCIE Research Briefing 29: Black and minority ethnic parents with mental health problems and their children.
National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) (2009) Depression: Treatment and management of depression in adults, including adults with a chronic physical health problem.
The British Psychological Society is the representative body for psychology and psychologists in the UK.
Social Psychology Network, one of the largest internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching. In these pages, you'll find more than 14,000 links related to psychology.
Reflective Reader: Social Work and Mental Health by
Social work practice involves working with and supporting people with mental health problems in many settings and across the life span. Growing as a reflective and informed practitioner is central to one′s development as a student social worker and as a registered social worker. With a focus on legislation, policy and practice, this book draws on excerpts from seminal writing, journal articles, policy papers, government initiatives, statistics and user perspectives and invites readers to deepen their appreciation and understanding of social work practice in the mental health context.
Outsiders: Studies in Sociology of Deviance by
One of the most groundbreaking sociology texts of the mid-20th century, Howard S. Becker's Outsiders is a thorough exploration of social deviance and how it can be addressed in an understanding and helpful manner. A compulsively readable and thoroughly researched exploration of social deviance and the application of what is known as "labeling theory" to the studies of deviance. With particular research into drug culture, Outsiders analyzes unconventional individuals and their place in normal society.
Mental Health Law in England and Wales, 3rd edn by
Lecturers, click here to request your electronic inspection copy. This is a complete guide to the Mental Health Act 1983, and is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference guide for any mental health professional - from social workers, psychologists and occupational therapists, to doctors and nurses. The book aims to simplify mental health law so that it's accessible to busy professionals at all stages of practice as well as those affected by mental health law. Key chapters include details on who operates the Act, who is affected by it, how people may be subject to compulsion, how the law governs issues of capacity and consent to treatment, how to appeal against compulsion, and the role of the nearest relative. There are also important chapters on advocacy, children and human rights issues, as well as extensive appendices, which provide access to the 1983 Act itself, important rules and regulations and a summary of key cases that have been decided by the courts. Key updates for this edition include: - revised Codes of Practice for both England and Wales - the impact of the Cheshire West case decisions in the Supreme Court- expanded consideration of the assessment of capacity - revisions of the tribunal report requirements in England - revised Reference Guide - much expanded case law Appendix
An Introduction to Child and Adolescent Mental Health by
Anyone who works within children and adolescent mental health services will tell you what a challenging and complex world it is. To help prepare you, the authors have produced a clear introduction to child and adolescent mental health that takes you step-by-step on a journey through the subject. Beginning with the foundations, the book explores the common mental health concepts and influences that you can expect to encounter examining topics like the difference between emotional and mental health issues and how mental health problems develop. It then moves on to explore the vital skills that you will need to develop like effective communication and basic counselling skills, and introduces some of the common interventions like Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, Psychodynamic theory and Family work. Written by a multi-disciplinary team of passionate and experienced experts, the book strikes an effective balance between introducing the relevant theory and showing how this can be applied in the real world. It is an essential starting point to the subject of child and adolescent mental health and suitable for any students planning to support this group.
Psychiatry in Dissent, 2nd edn by
Tavistock Press was established as a co-operative venture between the Tavistock Institute and Routledge & Kegan Paul (RKP) in the 1950s to produce a series of major contributions across the social sciences. This volume is part of a 2001 reissue of a selection of those important works which have since gone out of print, or are difficult to locate. Published by Routledge, 112 volumes in total are being brought together under the name The International Behavioural and Social Sciences Library: Classics from the Tavistock Press. Reproduced here in facsimile, this volume was originally published in 1980 and is available individually. The collection is also available in a number of themed mini-sets of between 5 and 13 volumes, or as a complete collection.
A Multidisciplinary Handbook of Child and Adolescent Mental Health for Front-Line Professionals, 3rd edn by
This handbook provides a succinct introduction to child mental health, covering the nature, prevalence, treatment and management of mental health problems in children and young people. The authors explore a range of issues surrounding the emotional needs of young people, showing how specific problems such as ADHD and learning difficulties can be targeted, while also recognising diversity issues and paying particular attention to at-risk groups. This edition is updated to reflect current direction in services, cutting edge approaches to interventions in primary health care, teaching and social service settings, as well as incorporating children's views on what mental health means to them and the impact of social media. Setting out ways in which young people can be supported by all practitioners in primary care, and covering early years through to late adolescence, the authors have created an invaluable resource for any front-line practitioner working in this area.
The Skilled Helper: A Client-Centred Approach by
Internationally recognised for its successful problem-management approach to effective helping, this book offers a step-by-step guide to the counselling process.
Institutional Racism in Psychiatry and Clinical Psychology: Race Matters in Mental Health by
his book examines the deep roots of racism in the mental health system. Suman Fernando weaves the histories of racial discourse and clinical practice into a narrative of power, knowledge, and black suffering in an ostensibly progressive and scientifically grounded system. Drawing on a lifetime of experience as a practicing psychiatrist, he examines how the system has shifted in response to new forms of racism which have emerged since the 1960s, highlighting the widespread pathologization of black people, the impact of Islamophobia on clinical practice after 9/11, and various struggles to reform. Engaging and accessible, this book makes a compelling case for the entrenchment of racism across all aspects of psychiatry and clinical psychology, and calls for a paradigm shift in both theory and practice.
Social Work and Mental Health by
Social Work and Mental Health offers a fresh approach to addressing mental health issues across all aspects of social work practice, emphasising the relevance of mental health for all social workers, not just those in specialist mental health settings. The book provides critical engagement with the complexities of contemporary theory, policy and practice in this area, recognising developments in user and carer involvement and interprofessional working. Key chapters focus on issues of inequality and diversity, drawing attention to the social determinants of health and the important contribution of social work in promoting social perspectives in mental health. Practice issues addressed include the mental health of children, young people and families, and older people, as well as a range of mental health conditions that are likely to be encountered. Promoting rights, recovery and social justice - and balancing these with considerations of risk - are core themes that run throughout the text. The book contains a number of practice examples and points for reflection intended to encourage critical thinking and further exploration of the issues raised. Suggestions for additional reading and resources are also offered at the end of each chapter. Overall the book provides a valuable framework for understanding and responding to mental health issues that will be useful for all social work students and practitioners as well as a wider audience.
The Mental Health Needs of Children and Young People: Guiding you to key issues and practices in CAMHS by 
Key Concepts in Mental Health, 5th edn by
Now in an updated fifth edition, this book provides readers with overviews of all the key theories, concepts and terminology associated with mental health, summarising them succinctly in a series of easily digestible yet expertly written entries. Structured into four sections, the text starts with entries related to Mental Health and Mental Abnormality, before moving onto Mental Health Services and Society. The new edition offers: 68 concise chapters including new entries on ADHD, Secondary Prevention, Challenges for Practitioners, and The Impact of Social Media on Mental Health. Updates across all chapters to make the content more in-line with contemporary critical debates in mental health, including new terminology and references to modern mental health services. A new contextualising introduction on the sticky subject of mental health terminology. Additional further reading examples and suggestions An essential guide for students of mental health studies, health, nursing, social work, psychology, counselling and psychotherapy.
A Sociology of Mental Health and Illness by
How do we understand mental health problems in their social context? A former BMA Medical Book of the Year award winner, this book provides a sociological analysis of major areas of mental health and illness. The book considers contemporary and historical aspects of sociology, social psychiatry, policy and therapeutic law to help students develop an in-depth and critical approach to this complex subject.New developments for the fifth edition include: Brand new chapter on prisons, criminal justice and mental health Expanded coverage of stigma, class and social networks Updated material on the Mental Capacity Act, Mental Health Act and the Deprivation of Liberty A classic in its field, this well established textbook offers a rich and well-crafted overview of mental health and illness unrivalled by competitors and is essential reading for students and professionals studying a range of medical sociology and health-related courses. It is also highly suitable for trainee mental health workers in the fields of social work, nursing, clinical psychology and psychiatry. "Rogers and Pilgrim go from strength to strength! This fifth edition of their classic text is not only a sociology but also a psychology, a philosophy, a history and a polity. It combines rigorous scholarship with radical argument to produce incisive perspectives on the major contemporary questions concerning mental health and illness. The authors admirably balance judicious presentation of the range of available understandings with clear articulation of their own positions on key issues. This book is essential reading for everyone involved in mental health work." Christopher Dowrick, Professor of Primary Medical Care, University of Liverpool, UK "Pilgrim and Rogers have for the last twenty years given us the key text in the sociology of mental health and illness. Each edition has captured the multi-layered and ever changing landscape of theory and practice around psychiatry and mental health, providing an essential tool for teachers and researchers, and much loved by students for the dexterity in combining scope and accessibility. This latest volume, with its focus on community mental health, user movements criminal justice and the need for inter-agency working, alongside the more classical sociological critiques around social theories and social inequalities, demonstrates more than ever that sociological perspectives are crucial in the understanding and explanation of mental and emotional healthcare and practice, hence its audience extends across the related disciplines to everyone who is involved in this highly controversial and socially relevant arena." Gillian Bendelow, School of Law Politics and Sociology, University of Sussex, UK "From the classic bedrock studies to contemporary sociological perspectives on the current controversy over which scientific organizations will define diagnosis, Rogers and Pilgrim provide a comprehensive, readable and elegant overview of how social factors shape the onset and response to mental health and mental illness. Their sociological vision embraces historical, professional and socio-cultural context and processes as they shape the lives of those in the community and those who provide care; the organizations mandated to deliver services and those that have ended up becoming unsuitable substitutes; and the successful and unsuccessful efforts to improve the lives through science, challenge and law." Bernice Pescosolido, Distinguished Professor of Sociology, Indiana University, USA
Models for Mental Disorder by
Written by distinguished academic and Editor of the British Journal of Psychiatry, and a now retired NHS consultant psychiatrist, this latest edition of Models for Mental Disorders reflects the significant changes in clinical practice and understanding in the last four years. With increased emphasis on the multidisciplinary approach now being used in all mental health facilities in Europe, the two new chapters on application of models in multidisciplinary teams and how understanding of models improves communication are particularly timely and relevant. The book also features an easy-to-read new appendix providing a glossary of commonly-used terms in psychiatry for the interested lay-reader. An adopted title on many psychology courses throughout the UK, this fourth edition continues to provide an invaluable introduction to the different models used in evaluating mental health, and is recommended reading for all those interested in mental health and illness.
The Social Worker's Guide to Child and Adolescent Mental Health by
The Social Worker's Guide to Child and Adolescent Mental Health provides a comprehensive guide to working with children and young people who are experiencing mental health problems, and equips the reader with the knowledge and skills to provide the best service to these vulnerable young people. The first part of the book considers what role social work can play in child and adolescent mental health, and explores key ideas related to mental health and young people, including attachment issues, children's emotional development and common and complex mental health problems. The author then covers how social work skills and methods can be applied to working with children and young people with mental health problems, including guidance on assessment tools, intervention, and multi-disciplinary working. The final section focuses on the wider context, such as legislative and policy frameworks and the importance of considering cultural, spiritual and religious identity. Case examples, reflective activities and practical exercises are included to underpin theory and knowledge. This book will be essential reading for all pre- and post-qualifying social work practitioners involved with children, adolescents and families, in particular those working in mental health settings, as well as approved mental health professionals.
Risk in Social Work Practice by
The study of 'risk' in social work involves complex interplay between human behaviour, emotion, evidence of fact, professional values and organisational systems. This book brings together contributions from key social work researchers and theorists from the UK, USA, New Zealand and Italy, writing with a focus on aspects of risk within social work. It examines key debates concerning risk in contemporary social work practice, including ethical dilemmas, approaches to decision-making and the challenges of ignorance and errors. Contributions range from the perennial challenges of how one uses formal knowledge when assessing risk to emerging risks arising from the counterterrorism agenda. This book will enable practitioners, policy makers and researchers to appreciate the complexities of risk in different settings and apply this understanding to their own practice. This book was originally published as a special issue of the Journal of Social Work Practice.