Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law Subject Guide (West Suffolk College): Databases

Introduction

Academic Databases

There are numerous databases available to you which provide access to high-quality information you won't find on Google. 

Most of the databases enable you to find full-text journal articles and references, but we also have newspaper, image and
media databases that you can use.

 

Access Using Summon

The fastest way to access databases is to search using Summon (below):

Looking for something?

Find: Everything  Books  Articles  Books & DVDs at Ipswich 

A-Z of databases|  |  A-Z of journals|  |  A-Z of searches|  |  Advanced search|

A-Z eResources List

In addition to using Summon, you can browse our A-Z of eResources list of you want to access a particular database.
Go to A-Z List

Structuring your Search

You can save yourself time by spending a few minutes planning how you want to search the databases before you begin.

Consider the following:

  • Which database(s) to search
  • Keywords- what will you search for?
  • How to link the keywords together
  • Will you apply any limits to your search? (date of publication, full-text, format)

For more information about searching, take a look at our Searching for Information page

You can also look at our pages in the Assignment Toolkit related to searching for information.

Useful Databases

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

Bailii (British and Irish Legal Information Institute)

provides access to the most comprehensive set of British and Irish primary legal materials that are available for free and in one place on the internet. In August 2012, BAILII included 90 databases covering 7 jurisdictions. The system contains around 36 gigabytes of legal materials and around 297,513 searchable documents.

comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime
 
the official home for revised and enacted legislation from 1267 onwards.
 
the UK’s most authoritative and comprehensive collection of annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary from Butterworths and Tolley. (Not included in Summon)
 
includes national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post
 
 
 
 

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Marc Prime
Contact:
Learning Services
Waterfront Building
Neptune Quay
Ipswich
IP4 1QJ
01473 338700