Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by
This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers 6th ed. by
Step-by-step advice on completing an outstanding research project.
This is the market-leading book for anyone doing a research project for the first time. Clear, concise and extremely readable, this bestselling resource provides a practical, step-by-step guide from initial concept through to completion of your final written research report.
Research methods in health : investigating health and health services 4th ed. by
This bestselling book provides an accessible introduction to the concepts and practicalities of research methods in health and health services. This new edition has been extensively re-worked and expanded and now includes expanded coverage of: Qualitative methodsSocial researchEvaluation methodologyMixed methodsSecondary data analysisLiterature reviewing and critical appraisalEvidence based practiceCovering all core methodologies in detail the book looks at the following kinds of health research: health needsmorbidity and mortality trends and ratescosting health servicessampling for survey researchcross-sectional and longitudinal survey designexperimental methods and techniques of group assignmentquestionnaire designinterviewing techniquescoding and analysis of quantitative datamethods and analysis of qualitative observational studiesunstructured interviewingThe book is grounded in the author's career as a researcher on health and health service issues, and the valuable experience this has provided in meeting the challenges of research on people and organisations in real life settings. Research Methods in Health, Fourth Editionis an essential companion for students and researchers of health and health services, health clinicians and policy-makers with responsibility for applying research findings and judging the soundness of research. "Health service researchers - new and old - will be delighted by this new edition of a popular and useful text. There is new content but also updated material making this practically useful as a resource at any stage of the research trajectory. While health is the focus the book is hugely valuable to researchers in cognate areas. such as social care, education and housing. The book meets its own high standards in being easy to follow, well indexed and containing interesting examples of approaches. The limitations of different methods are also honestly reported. A 'must have' for the book shelf." Jill Manthorpe, Professor of Social Work, King's College London, UK "When first published in 1997, this volume was the first systematic overview of research methods used in the health field. In its updated 4th Edition it remains vital and, if anything, more important given the growing number of researchers and students investigating health issues and health services. It provides an impressively comprehensive overview of health research methods in which the wealth and variety of experience of the author shines through at every point. Qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods are appraised and explained with unpartisan authority and rigour, and the volume covers everything from multidisciplinary collaboration in health service evaluation through the Delphi technique of consensus development to the health economics needed to evaluate costing." Paul Stenner, Professor of Social Psychology, The Open University, UK "This excellent text really is a must for anyone involved in health research. It is truly multidisciplinary in its scope, drawing on a breadth of relevant research from health economics, to epidemiology to psychology which is beyond the scope of most books on research methods. Yet in spite of the wealth of material included it is written and presented in an accessible way so that it will be an invaluable source for those with a background in either qualitative or quantitative research and from students to experienced researchers." Robert J. Edelmann, Professor of Forensic and Clinical psychology, Roehampton University, UK Reviews of previous editions:"Provides an excellent broad based introduction to the subject. The content is clearly presented and at a suitable level for health professionals and postgraduate students in health and health-related social sciences." Virginia Berridge, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK "A valuable source book for health services researchers, health care providers, and others interested in quantifying quality of life for clinical or research purposes." The International Journal for Quality in Health Care "Includes accounts of a number of recently developed scales, while retaining the breadth, concision and clarity that marked the first edition." Medicine, Healthcare and Philosophy
Clinical Audit for Doctors and Healthcare Professionals by
It is well recognised that clinical audit is a fundamental tool to maintain high standards of clinical excellence within healthcare. It is therefore important that doctors of all grades of seniority have a clear understanding of what clinical audit is, how to conduct effective clinical audit and how the results contribute to clinical excellence. This book has been written by doctors for doctors. It provides step-by-step guidance through the entire clinical audit process, from initial conception to the completion of the clinical audit loop, for all healthcare professionals from medical students to Consultants. Through following the clear and concise guidance and advice laid down in this book, you wil learn how involvement in clinical audit can advance your career, understand the context clinical audit plays in maintaining clinical excellence as part of clinical governance, become clear on how to gain involvement in clinical audit, learn how to design, conduct, analyse and present your clinical audit and become familiar with the step-by-step instructions on how to design and perform effective clinical audit. This easy-to-use book will provide you with the knowledge and skills required to achieve clinical effectiveness through clinical audit.
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Essentials of Nursing Research by 
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Showing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques.New to This Edition: Full re-organization takes you step-by-step through the process from beginning to end New chapter showing you how to choose the right method for your project Practical guidance on integrating qualitative and quantitative data New coverage of rapid reviews Comprehensive inclusion of literature review tools, including concept analysis, scoping and mappingWith an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
New Principles of Best Practice in Clinical Audit by 
Research Proposals by
"This indispensable guide to writing research proposals takes the reader on a carefully planned journey, which is clearly sign-posted from the outset to the destination of the final proposal ... Denscombe demystifies the academic jargon inherent in proposal writing, instilling confidence in all those writing proposals, from undergraduate to doctoral level." Dr Kate Adams, Reader in Education, Bishop Grosseteste University College, Lincoln, UK "This much-needed handbook provides a guide for any researcher to turn a research idea into a successful research proposal ... Denscombe offers both a clear framework for organising the research thought process and plentiful hints for crafting a persuasive case for why a research proposal deserves financial support for getting it done." Dr Alberto Asquer, Lecturer of Business Strategy and Policy, Faculty of Economics, University of Cagliari, Italy "This is a clear and unambiguous guide covering all the essentials needed to build strong research proposals. It will prove to be invaluable not only to those new to writing research proposals but as a fast reference point for those already familiar with the requirements." Jennifer Grant, PhD researcher, University of Sunderland, UK "This how-to guide is 'a candle in the dark' for many who want to start writing research proposals. It is ... brimming with straightforward strategies which anyone can use to overcome the key fears associated with 'keeping on track' and 'selling your' research to convince funders and even your professors!" Hosea Handoyo, Boehringer - Ingelheim Fonds Research Fellow, Germany Whether you are an undergraduate student doing your final year project, a masters student writing your dissertation, or a PhD student applying for acceptance onto a doctoral programme, this practical book will help you to produce a successful and persuasive research proposal. Written by an experienced and best-selling author, this handbook uniquely draws a parallel between a research proposal and a sales pitch. The book provides guidance on what to include and what to omit from your proposal and demonstrates how to 'sell' your research idea. Denscombe ably guides you through each stage of the process: Choosing a research topic Reviewing the literature Formulating the research question Explaining the research methods Estimating the costs and planning the time involved Obtaining research ethics approval With top tips throughout, this book provides an insight to the logic behind research proposals and the way that good proposals address 7 basic questions that readers will ask when they evaluate any proposal.
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
Students and researchers across the social sciences
Doing a Literature Review by
The ultimate guide to the 'what', 'how' and 'why' of literature reviewing, the second edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one′s research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new 'core skills' framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart′s landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Medical Statistics from Scratch by
Correctly understanding and using medical statistics is a key skill for all medical students and health professionals. In an informal and friendly style, Medical Statistics from Scratch provides a practical foundation for everyone whose first interest is probably not medical statistics. Keeping the level of mathematics to a minimum, it clearly illustrates statistical concepts and practice with numerous real-world examples and cases drawn from current medical literature. Medical Statistics from Scratch is an ideal learning partner for all medical students and health professionals needing an accessible introduction, or a friendly refresher, to the fundamentals of medical statistics.
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
How do I start my literature review? What sources can I go to for information? How do I analyse the work of others? This clear, practical book guides readers undertaking their own literature review through the process, giving them the skills and knowledge they need for success. The chapters address: - Different types of literature reviews - Critically analysing material - Presenting the final piece of work - Best practice in referencing and plagiarism - Systematic approaches to literature reviews It will be an essential guide for all nursing and all allied healthcare students, as well as professionals working in practice.
The good research guide : for small-scale social research projects Sixth edition. by
The Good Research Guide by bestselling author Martyn Denscombe has established itself as THE introductory book on the basics of social research. It provides practical and straightforward guidance for those who need to conduct small-scale research projects as part of their undergraduate, postgraduate or professional studies.
The Foundations of Research by
Fully revised for the third edition, this popular text provides an advanced yet accessible introduction to the tools, terminology and research perspectives that students need to know in order to engage in academic debate and successfully complete research-based assignments. It first explores the language and nature of research, before developing readers' understanding of different research methods and the role of theory in research. Chapters are complemented by examples, boxed summaries of key ideas and suggestions for further reading. This text will be an essential resource for advanced undergraduates and postgraduates of all disciplines.
The Essential Guide to Doing a Health and Social Care Literature Review by
This step-by-step guide takes the reader logically through the process of undertaking a literature review, from determining when this methodology might be useful, through to publishing the findings. It is designed particularly for students undertaking a dissertation using literature review methodology. However, it also caters to practitioners who wish to review the existing evidence in order to develop practice. Key features of the text include: a chapter on what makes a good literature review, so that readers are clear and confident about what they're aiming f∨ discussion of the value of literature reviews, whether for fulfilling the requirements of a course or for developing practice; a chapter structure that reflects the structure of a typical dissertation by literature review, making the material intuitive and easy to navigate; case examples throughout to illustrate how methodological principles work in practice; a troubleshooting guide to provide support and advice on common problems when carrying out a literature review; advice on the dissemination of findings. Written by an established author with significant experience teaching and supervising students doing literature reviews, this invaluable text offers systematic and insightful advice on all aspects of literature review methodology, from problem identification to synthesizing information to forming conclusions. It is ideal for any student or practitioner in health and social care looking to undertake a literature review for study or practice purposes.
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. It is intended to assist: Professionals and academics in the healthcare field who undertake or teach research in clinical or educational settings; Postgraduates who are undertaking qualitative research and want to revise qualitative research approaches and procedures before going on to more specialist texts; and Undergraduates in their last year who wish to learn about qualitative perspectives or carry out a project using these approaches. Fully updated from the earlier editions by Holloway and Wheeler, it reflects recent developments in nursing research. This new edition provides clear explanations of abstract ideas in qualitative research as well as practical procedures. Structured into four sections, the book looks at the initial stages, methods of data collection, qualitative approaches and analysis of collected data. It also contains a chapter on writing up and publishing qualitative research. With applied and practical examples throughout, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is essential reading for those who are looking for a comprehensive introduction to qualitative research.
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals by
Research can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this new edition is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, the third edition includes:  a new chapter on systematic literature views;  a new chapter on research ethics;  a completely revised chapter on evidence-based practice which now focuses more tightly on the implementation of research and other forms of evidence. This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions at any level but who find themselves studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, which help build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
Critical Thinking Skills for Healthcare by
Thinking critically is an essential skill, both for students and for the modern, evidence-based, healthcare practitioner. You need to be able to find, understand and evaluate the evidence that underpins your assignments, clinical decision making and practice. The good news is that you use all of these skills in everyday life. You don't believe every advert you see or respond to every spam email. It's just a question of taking these critical skills and having the confidence to apply them to your academic work. This book will help you do just that. It will enable you to: - recognise your existing ability to be a critical thinker - spot logical flaws and inconsistencies in arguments - consider health issues from multiple perspectives, weighing up the strengths and weaknesses of a case - build a convincing argument in assessments - develop a range of critical skills for successful study and healthcare practice. Critical Thinking Skills for Healthcare is an essential resource for all health professionals in training.
Research for Evidence-Based Practice in Healthcare by
This is an essential, accessible introduction to thepracticalities of research and evidence-based practice aimed at allpre-registration nursing and healthcare students. It placesresearch and evidence in the context of clinical practice,introduces the main methodological approaches in qualitative andquantitative research, and describes the processes of researchappraisal, dissemination and implementation. The new edition of Research for Evidence-Based Practicein Healthcare has been updated to include information for abroader health care audience. It engages students with the researchand evidence agenda, demonstrates the relevance of research andevidence to nursing practice, and provides the skills needed toexplore these areas in greater detail. Special features: · Apractical guide to research methods and evidence-based practice · Newedition of a successful student textbook · Includesa glossary of common research terms · Providescase studies, key points, further reading, and activitiesthroughout · Accompanying website with links to further reading
The Student's Guide to Research Ethics by
This title examines the ethical issues and questions which occur in university and professional research. The book helps both beginning and experienced researchers to identify ethical issues when they are conducting research, and attempts to resolve those issues. It examines ethical issues which arise throughout research, from the design stage through to data collection and analysis; investigates topical issues including consent, confidentiality, ethical questions in the dissemination of research; discusses ethical theories and how these may be applied towards resolving ethical problems; and provides examples of ethical dilemmas and case studies throughout the text.
Medical Statistics by
Medical Statistics provides the necessary statistical tools to enable researchers to undertake and understand evidence-based clinical research. It is a practical guide to conducting statistical research and interpreting statistics in the context of how the participants were recruited, how the study was designed, what types of variables were used, what effect size was found, and what the P values mean. It guides researchers through the process of selecting the correct statistics and show how to best report results for presentation and publication. Clear and concise explanations, combined with plenty of examples and tabulated explanations are based on the authors' popular medical statistics courses. The table of contents is divided into sections according to whether data are continuous or categorical in nature as this distinction is fundamental to selecting the correct statistics. Each chapter provides a clear step-by-step guide to each statistical test with practical instructions on how to generate and interpret the numbers, and present the results as scientific tables or graphs. The chapters conclude with critical appraisal guidelines to help researchers review the reporting of results from each type of statistical test. This new edition includes a new chapter on repeated measures and mixed models and a helpful glossary of terms provides an easy reference that applies to all chapters.