Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapters 1 and 2 in The Criminal Process (4th edn) by
The Criminal Process provides an accessible and thought-provoking overview of key issues in criminal processes and procedures, drawing on arguments from the law, research policy, and principle. Following introductory chapters outlining the context of recent changes to the criminal justiceprocess, the theoretical framework, and the various professional roles involved, Andrew Ashworth and Mike Redmayne examine nine key issues in the criminal process, integrating and commenting upon the latest developments in law and practice. The chapters offer up-to-date coverage of developing areassuch as the use of DNA samples and eyewitness identification evidence, as well as discussion of the Criminal Justice Act 2003.The book will continue to be the ideal text for all students of criminal justice and criminology, as well as academics and practitioners interested in the criminal justice system.
‘Groundwork for a Jurisprudence of Criminal Procedure’ in Philosophical Foundations of Criminal Law by
25 leading contemporary theorists of criminal law tackle a range of foundational issues about the proper aims and structure of the criminal law in a liberal democracy. The challenges facing criminal law are many. There are crises of over-criminalization and over-imprisonment; penal policy has become so politicized that it is difficult to find any clear consensus on what aims the criminal law can properly serve; governments seeking to protect their citizens in the face of a range of perceived threats have pushed the outer limits of criminal law and blurred its boundaries. To think clearly about the future of criminal law, and its role in a liberal society, foundational questions about its proper scope, structure, and operations must be re-examined. What kinds of conduct should be criminalized? What are the principles of criminal responsibility? How should offences and defences be defined? The criminal process and the criminal trial need to be studied closely, and the purposes and modes of punishment should be scrutinized. Such a re-examination must draw on the resources of various disciplines-notably law, political and moral philosophy, criminology and history; it must examine both the inner logic of criminal law and its place in a larger legal and political structure; it must attend to the growing field of international criminal law, it must consider how the criminal law can respond to the challenges of a changing world. Topics covered in this volume include the question of criminalization and the proper scope of the criminal law; the grounds of criminal responsibility; the ways in which offences and defences should be defined; the criminal process and its values; criminal punishment; the relationship between international criminal law and domestic criminal law. Together, the essays provide a picture of the exciting state of criminal law theory today, and the basis for further research and debate in the coming years.
Chapter 7 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Chapter 2 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 6 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Chapter 1 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 7 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Chapter 1 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 8 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Chapter 2 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 3 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 4 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 5 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 2 in A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure (15th edn) by
Now in its fifteenth edition, A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure provides a complete guide to the criminal process in England and Wales. It explains what happens before the accused appears in court, the way in which prosecutions are commenced, funding by the criminal defence service,and bail. It describes proceedings in the magistrates' court, including summary trial and committal for sentence, as well as the way in which the youth court operates. The process by which serious offences are sent direct to the Crown Court is also examined. Trial on indictment is discussed indetail, as are sentencing and appeals.This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field. In particular, attention is paid to changes to deferred prosecution agreements, alternations to life sentences and mandatory minimum sentence, criminal behaviour orders and youth rehabilitation orders. Changesto the Criminal Practice Directions and Criminal Procedure Rules are also discussed. The changes to the process of sending indictable and related cases to the Crown Court are examined, in the light of the abolition of committal proceedings.Very much a practical guide, this title makes frequent use of examples, flowcharts, and tables, and is specifically designed to assist the busy professional and student. A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure is an indispensable resource for those working in this field.The A Practical Approach series is the perfect partner for practice work. Each title focuses on one field of the law and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject together with clear, practical advice and tips on issues likely to arise in practice. The books are also an excellent resource forthose new to the law, where the expert overview and clear layout promote ease of understanding.
Chapters 13 and 14 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 13.7 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 14 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 5 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapters 5 and 10.5 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapter 1.9 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapters 8, 9 and 10 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapters 7 and 11 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapters 2 and 3 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Chapters 13 and 14 in Criminal Procedure and Sentencing (9th edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Sentencing provides a comprehensive, engaging and up-to-date guide to each step of criminal procedure, from the arrest of the suspect through to trial, sentencing and appeals. Taking a strong practical focus throughout, it covers all aspects of the process of the criminal courts. The ninth edition has been fully revised and significantly expanded to include more information about the workings of the criminal courts of England and Wales. The supporting website offers readers access to regular updates to the law and also a comprehensive set of web links and advice on additional reading and research for those seeking to engage in critical evaluation of the criminal justice system. This is an ideal text for anyone studying the criminal justice system at a professional or academic level. The author's authoritative yet engaging writing style brings the subject to life and helps to explain complex issues in an easy-to-understand way.
Blackstone's Criminal Practice by
Led by The Right Honourable Lord Justice Hooper and David Ormerod, our team of authors has been hand-picked to ensure that you can trust our unique combination of authority and practicality. With a simultaneous supplement containing essential materials, you can rely on Blackstone's Criminal Practice to be your constant companion through every courtroom appearance.This new edition has been meticulously revised to provide extensive coverage of all new legislation, case law, and Practice Directions. With free Quarterly Updates, and monthly web updates, you can trust Blackstone's Criminal Practice to provide reassurance on all the latest developments in criminal law and procedure.
Archbold Magistrates’ Courts Criminal Practice by 
Sentencing and Criminal Justice (6th edn) by
Now in its sixth edition, Sentencing and Criminal Justice has been extensively rewritten to reflect recent legislation, guidelines and judicial decisions. New material includes comparative sentencing research, which looks at models from other countries in comparison with the approach in England and Wales, and an additional chapter focusing on civil preventive orders and other ancillary orders. Written with clarity of expression coupled with critical analysis, this textbook offers an unrivalled combination of expertise, accessibility and coverage. This is the essential text for anyone interested in criminal justice.
The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Criminal Procedure and Punishment (2nd edn) by
Criminal Procedure and Punishment provides a holistic overview of the English and Welsh system of criminal justice, from the earliest stages of investigation and arrest through to the punishment and release of offenders. Aimed at students, it examines not only the law and procedure of criminal justice and punishment, but underpinning theories and surrounding issues. The book is designed as the set text for a new undergraduate law module entitled Criminal Procedure and Punishment, but is suitable for courses on criminal justice, penology and criminology. The book is divided into two linked parts. The first focuses on criminal procedure, including: the influence of adversarial and inquisitorial theory; the use (and misuse) of police powers; the trial process and fundamental fair trial rights; and sentencing. The second part focuses on punishment, including: discussion of its history; theoretical and philosophical arguments from scholars including Kant, Bentham, and Rawls; punishment in the modern era; and the prison crisis. Both parts link to common themes and issues, with connections drawn between the different stages of the process and their impact on each other. The book thus offers, through doctrinal and socio-legal methods, a contemporary and rounded approach to two constantly evolving and overlapping topics. [Subject: Criminal Law, Criminology, Penology]
Criminal Justice (4th edn) by
What does it mean to be 'under arrest'? Who can limit police powers, and why do miscarriages of justice occur? The fourth edition of Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the criminal justice system in England and Wales, as well as thought-provoking insights into how it mightbe altered and improved. Tracing the procedures surrounding the apprehension, investigation and trial of suspected offenders, this book is the ideal companion for law and criminology students alike. As the authors combine the relevant legislation with fresh research findings and policy initiatives,the resulting text is a fascinating blend of socio-legal analysis.Whilst retaining its authoritative treatment of the issues at the heart of criminal justice, the fourth edition has been fully updated with recent developments, including recent terrorism legislation and the Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill. Students are aided by the addition of chaptersummaries and further reading lists, while a new Online Resource Centre directs them to related cases and current events, successfully highlighting the importance and ever-changing nature of the subject.Online Resource Centre* Updates* Web links
A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure (15th edn) by
Now in its fifteenth edition, A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure provides a complete guide to the criminal process in England and Wales. It explains what happens before the accused appears in court, the way in which prosecutions are commenced, funding by the criminal defence service,and bail. It describes proceedings in the magistrates' court, including summary trial and committal for sentence, as well as the way in which the youth court operates. The process by which serious offences are sent direct to the Crown Court is also examined. Trial on indictment is discussed indetail, as are sentencing and appeals.This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field. In particular, attention is paid to changes to deferred prosecution agreements, alternations to life sentences and mandatory minimum sentence, criminal behaviour orders and youth rehabilitation orders. Changesto the Criminal Practice Directions and Criminal Procedure Rules are also discussed. The changes to the process of sending indictable and related cases to the Crown Court are examined, in the light of the abolition of committal proceedings.Very much a practical guide, this title makes frequent use of examples, flowcharts, and tables, and is specifically designed to assist the busy professional and student. A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure is an indispensable resource for those working in this field.The A Practical Approach series is the perfect partner for practice work. Each title focuses on one field of the law and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject together with clear, practical advice and tips on issues likely to arise in practice. The books are also an excellent resource forthose new to the law, where the expert overview and clear layout promote ease of understanding.
Chapter 1 in Criminal Justice by
What does it mean to be 'under arrest'? Who can limit police powers, and why do miscarriages of justice occur? The fourth edition of Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the criminal justice system in England and Wales, as well as thought-provoking insights into how it mightbe altered and improved. Tracing the procedures surrounding the apprehension, investigation and trial of suspected offenders, this book is the ideal companion for law and criminology students alike. As the authors combine the relevant legislation with fresh research findings and policy initiatives,the resulting text is a fascinating blend of socio-legal analysis.Whilst retaining its authoritative treatment of the issues at the heart of criminal justice, the fourth edition has been fully updated with recent developments, including recent terrorism legislation and the Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill. Students are aided by the addition of chaptersummaries and further reading lists, while a new Online Resource Centre directs them to related cases and current events, successfully highlighting the importance and ever-changing nature of the subject.Online Resource Centre* Updates* Web links
Chapter 7 in Criminal Justice by
What does it mean to be 'under arrest'? Who can limit police powers, and why do miscarriages of justice occur? The fourth edition of Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the criminal justice system in England and Wales, as well as thought-provoking insights into how it mightbe altered and improved. Tracing the procedures surrounding the apprehension, investigation and trial of suspected offenders, this book is the ideal companion for law and criminology students alike. As the authors combine the relevant legislation with fresh research findings and policy initiatives,the resulting text is a fascinating blend of socio-legal analysis.Whilst retaining its authoritative treatment of the issues at the heart of criminal justice, the fourth edition has been fully updated with recent developments, including recent terrorism legislation and the Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill. Students are aided by the addition of chaptersummaries and further reading lists, while a new Online Resource Centre directs them to related cases and current events, successfully highlighting the importance and ever-changing nature of the subject.Online Resource Centre* Updates* Web links
Chapter 9.4 in Criminal Justice by
What does it mean to be 'under arrest'? Who can limit police powers, and why do miscarriages of justice occur? The fourth edition of Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the criminal justice system in England and Wales, as well as thought-provoking insights into how it mightbe altered and improved. Tracing the procedures surrounding the apprehension, investigation and trial of suspected offenders, this book is the ideal companion for law and criminology students alike. As the authors combine the relevant legislation with fresh research findings and policy initiatives,the resulting text is a fascinating blend of socio-legal analysis.Whilst retaining its authoritative treatment of the issues at the heart of criminal justice, the fourth edition has been fully updated with recent developments, including recent terrorism legislation and the Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill. Students are aided by the addition of chaptersummaries and further reading lists, while a new Online Resource Centre directs them to related cases and current events, successfully highlighting the importance and ever-changing nature of the subject.Online Resource Centre* Updates* Web links
Chapter 8 in A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure (15th edn) by
Now in its fifteenth edition, A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure provides a complete guide to the criminal process in England and Wales. It explains what happens before the accused appears in court, the way in which prosecutions are commenced, funding by the criminal defence service,and bail. It describes proceedings in the magistrates' court, including summary trial and committal for sentence, as well as the way in which the youth court operates. The process by which serious offences are sent direct to the Crown Court is also examined. Trial on indictment is discussed indetail, as are sentencing and appeals.This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field. In particular, attention is paid to changes to deferred prosecution agreements, alternations to life sentences and mandatory minimum sentence, criminal behaviour orders and youth rehabilitation orders. Changesto the Criminal Practice Directions and Criminal Procedure Rules are also discussed. The changes to the process of sending indictable and related cases to the Crown Court are examined, in the light of the abolition of committal proceedings.Very much a practical guide, this title makes frequent use of examples, flowcharts, and tables, and is specifically designed to assist the busy professional and student. A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure is an indispensable resource for those working in this field.The A Practical Approach series is the perfect partner for practice work. Each title focuses on one field of the law and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject together with clear, practical advice and tips on issues likely to arise in practice. The books are also an excellent resource forthose new to the law, where the expert overview and clear layout promote ease of understanding.
Chapter 8 in Criminal Justice (4th edn) by
What does it mean to be 'under arrest'? Who can limit police powers, and why do miscarriages of justice occur? The fourth edition of Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the criminal justice system in England and Wales, as well as thought-provoking insights into how it mightbe altered and improved. Tracing the procedures surrounding the apprehension, investigation and trial of suspected offenders, this book is the ideal companion for law and criminology students alike. As the authors combine the relevant legislation with fresh research findings and policy initiatives,the resulting text is a fascinating blend of socio-legal analysis.Whilst retaining its authoritative treatment of the issues at the heart of criminal justice, the fourth edition has been fully updated with recent developments, including recent terrorism legislation and the Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill. Students are aided by the addition of chaptersummaries and further reading lists, while a new Online Resource Centre directs them to related cases and current events, successfully highlighting the importance and ever-changing nature of the subject.Online Resource Centre* Updates* Web links
Chapter 13 in Sentencing and Criminal Justice (6th edn) by
Now in its sixth edition, Sentencing and Criminal Justice has been extensively rewritten to reflect recent legislation, guidelines and judicial decisions. New material includes comparative sentencing research, which looks at models from other countries in comparison with the approach in England and Wales, and an additional chapter focusing on civil preventive orders and other ancillary orders. Written with clarity of expression coupled with critical analysis, this textbook offers an unrivalled combination of expertise, accessibility and coverage. This is the essential text for anyone interested in criminal justice.
Chapter 10 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Chapter 17.12 to 17.26 in A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure (15th edn) by
Now in its fifteenth edition, A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure provides a complete guide to the criminal process in England and Wales. It explains what happens before the accused appears in court, the way in which prosecutions are commenced, funding by the criminal defence service,and bail. It describes proceedings in the magistrates' court, including summary trial and committal for sentence, as well as the way in which the youth court operates. The process by which serious offences are sent direct to the Crown Court is also examined. Trial on indictment is discussed indetail, as are sentencing and appeals.This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field. In particular, attention is paid to changes to deferred prosecution agreements, alternations to life sentences and mandatory minimum sentence, criminal behaviour orders and youth rehabilitation orders. Changesto the Criminal Practice Directions and Criminal Procedure Rules are also discussed. The changes to the process of sending indictable and related cases to the Crown Court are examined, in the light of the abolition of committal proceedings.Very much a practical guide, this title makes frequent use of examples, flowcharts, and tables, and is specifically designed to assist the busy professional and student. A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure is an indispensable resource for those working in this field.The A Practical Approach series is the perfect partner for practice work. Each title focuses on one field of the law and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject together with clear, practical advice and tips on issues likely to arise in practice. The books are also an excellent resource forthose new to the law, where the expert overview and clear layout promote ease of understanding.
Chapter 7 in A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure (15th edn) by
Now in its fifteenth edition, A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure provides a complete guide to the criminal process in England and Wales. It explains what happens before the accused appears in court, the way in which prosecutions are commenced, funding by the criminal defence service,and bail. It describes proceedings in the magistrates' court, including summary trial and committal for sentence, as well as the way in which the youth court operates. The process by which serious offences are sent direct to the Crown Court is also examined. Trial on indictment is discussed indetail, as are sentencing and appeals.This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field. In particular, attention is paid to changes to deferred prosecution agreements, alternations to life sentences and mandatory minimum sentence, criminal behaviour orders and youth rehabilitation orders. Changesto the Criminal Practice Directions and Criminal Procedure Rules are also discussed. The changes to the process of sending indictable and related cases to the Crown Court are examined, in the light of the abolition of committal proceedings.Very much a practical guide, this title makes frequent use of examples, flowcharts, and tables, and is specifically designed to assist the busy professional and student. A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure is an indispensable resource for those working in this field.The A Practical Approach series is the perfect partner for practice work. Each title focuses on one field of the law and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject together with clear, practical advice and tips on issues likely to arise in practice. The books are also an excellent resource forthose new to the law, where the expert overview and clear layout promote ease of understanding.
Chapter 9 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Blackstone's Criminal Practice by
Led by The Right Honourable Lord Justice Hooper and David Ormerod, our team of authors has been hand-picked to ensure that you can trust our unique combination of authority and practicality. With a simultaneous supplement containing essential materials, you can rely on Blackstone's Criminal Practice to be your constant companion through every courtroom appearance.This new edition has been meticulously revised to provide extensive coverage of all new legislation, case law, and Practice Directions. With free Quarterly Updates, and monthly web updates, you can trust Blackstone's Criminal Practice to provide reassurance on all the latest developments in criminal law and procedure.
Sentencing and Criminal Justice (6th edn) by
Now in its sixth edition, Sentencing and Criminal Justice has been extensively rewritten to reflect recent legislation, guidelines and judicial decisions. New material includes comparative sentencing research, which looks at models from other countries in comparison with the approach in England and Wales, and an additional chapter focusing on civil preventive orders and other ancillary orders. Written with clarity of expression coupled with critical analysis, this textbook offers an unrivalled combination of expertise, accessibility and coverage. This is the essential text for anyone interested in criminal justice.
Chapters 22 to 25 in A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure (15th edn) by
Now in its fifteenth edition, A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure provides a complete guide to the criminal process in England and Wales. It explains what happens before the accused appears in court, the way in which prosecutions are commenced, funding by the criminal defence service,and bail. It describes proceedings in the magistrates' court, including summary trial and committal for sentence, as well as the way in which the youth court operates. The process by which serious offences are sent direct to the Crown Court is also examined. Trial on indictment is discussed indetail, as are sentencing and appeals.This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field. In particular, attention is paid to changes to deferred prosecution agreements, alternations to life sentences and mandatory minimum sentence, criminal behaviour orders and youth rehabilitation orders. Changesto the Criminal Practice Directions and Criminal Procedure Rules are also discussed. The changes to the process of sending indictable and related cases to the Crown Court are examined, in the light of the abolition of committal proceedings.Very much a practical guide, this title makes frequent use of examples, flowcharts, and tables, and is specifically designed to assist the busy professional and student. A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure is an indispensable resource for those working in this field.The A Practical Approach series is the perfect partner for practice work. Each title focuses on one field of the law and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject together with clear, practical advice and tips on issues likely to arise in practice. The books are also an excellent resource forthose new to the law, where the expert overview and clear layout promote ease of understanding.
Chapter 8.4 in Criminal Justice (4th edn) by
What does it mean to be 'under arrest'? Who can limit police powers, and why do miscarriages of justice occur? The fourth edition of Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the criminal justice system in England and Wales, as well as thought-provoking insights into how it mightbe altered and improved. Tracing the procedures surrounding the apprehension, investigation and trial of suspected offenders, this book is the ideal companion for law and criminology students alike. As the authors combine the relevant legislation with fresh research findings and policy initiatives,the resulting text is a fascinating blend of socio-legal analysis.Whilst retaining its authoritative treatment of the issues at the heart of criminal justice, the fourth edition has been fully updated with recent developments, including recent terrorism legislation and the Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill. Students are aided by the addition of chaptersummaries and further reading lists, while a new Online Resource Centre directs them to related cases and current events, successfully highlighting the importance and ever-changing nature of the subject.Online Resource Centre* Updates* Web links
Chapter 9 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Chapter 10 in A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure (15th edn) by
Now in its fifteenth edition, A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure provides a complete guide to the criminal process in England and Wales. It explains what happens before the accused appears in court, the way in which prosecutions are commenced, funding by the criminal defence service,and bail. It describes proceedings in the magistrates' court, including summary trial and committal for sentence, as well as the way in which the youth court operates. The process by which serious offences are sent direct to the Crown Court is also examined. Trial on indictment is discussed indetail, as are sentencing and appeals.This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field. In particular, attention is paid to changes to deferred prosecution agreements, alternations to life sentences and mandatory minimum sentence, criminal behaviour orders and youth rehabilitation orders. Changesto the Criminal Practice Directions and Criminal Procedure Rules are also discussed. The changes to the process of sending indictable and related cases to the Crown Court are examined, in the light of the abolition of committal proceedings.Very much a practical guide, this title makes frequent use of examples, flowcharts, and tables, and is specifically designed to assist the busy professional and student. A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure is an indispensable resource for those working in this field.The A Practical Approach series is the perfect partner for practice work. Each title focuses on one field of the law and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject together with clear, practical advice and tips on issues likely to arise in practice. The books are also an excellent resource forthose new to the law, where the expert overview and clear layout promote ease of understanding.
Chapter 11.2 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Chapter 12 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Chapter 11 in Sentencing and Criminal Justice (6th edn) by
Now in its sixth edition, Sentencing and Criminal Justice has been extensively rewritten to reflect recent legislation, guidelines and judicial decisions. New material includes comparative sentencing research, which looks at models from other countries in comparison with the approach in England and Wales, and an additional chapter focusing on civil preventive orders and other ancillary orders. Written with clarity of expression coupled with critical analysis, this textbook offers an unrivalled combination of expertise, accessibility and coverage. This is the essential text for anyone interested in criminal justice.
Chapter 11 in The Criminal Process (5th edn) by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
Chapter 10 in A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure (15th edn) by
Now in its fifteenth edition, A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure provides a complete guide to the criminal process in England and Wales. It explains what happens before the accused appears in court, the way in which prosecutions are commenced, funding by the criminal defence service,and bail. It describes proceedings in the magistrates' court, including summary trial and committal for sentence, as well as the way in which the youth court operates. The process by which serious offences are sent direct to the Crown Court is also examined. Trial on indictment is discussed indetail, as are sentencing and appeals.This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field. In particular, attention is paid to changes to deferred prosecution agreements, alternations to life sentences and mandatory minimum sentence, criminal behaviour orders and youth rehabilitation orders. Changesto the Criminal Practice Directions and Criminal Procedure Rules are also discussed. The changes to the process of sending indictable and related cases to the Crown Court are examined, in the light of the abolition of committal proceedings.Very much a practical guide, this title makes frequent use of examples, flowcharts, and tables, and is specifically designed to assist the busy professional and student. A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure is an indispensable resource for those working in this field.The A Practical Approach series is the perfect partner for practice work. Each title focuses on one field of the law and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject together with clear, practical advice and tips on issues likely to arise in practice. The books are also an excellent resource forthose new to the law, where the expert overview and clear layout promote ease of understanding.
Inside Crown Court by
With a new Foreword by David Ormerod of the Law Commission. Within the criminal justice system of England and Wales, the Crown Court is the arena in which serious criminal offences are prosecuted and sentenced. On the basis of up-to-date ethnographic research, this timely book provides a vivid description of what it is like to attend court as a victim, a witness or a defendant; the interplay between the different players in the courtroom; and the extent to which the court process is viewed as legitimate by those involved in it. This valuable addition to the field brings to life the range of issues involved and is aimed at students and scholars of criminal justice, policy-makers and practitioners, and interested members of the general public.
Chapters 18, 20 and 21 in A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure (15th edn) by
Now in its fifteenth edition, A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure provides a complete guide to the criminal process in England and Wales. It explains what happens before the accused appears in court, the way in which prosecutions are commenced, funding by the criminal defence service,and bail. It describes proceedings in the magistrates' court, including summary trial and committal for sentence, as well as the way in which the youth court operates. The process by which serious offences are sent direct to the Crown Court is also examined. Trial on indictment is discussed indetail, as are sentencing and appeals.This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field. In particular, attention is paid to changes to deferred prosecution agreements, alternations to life sentences and mandatory minimum sentence, criminal behaviour orders and youth rehabilitation orders. Changesto the Criminal Practice Directions and Criminal Procedure Rules are also discussed. The changes to the process of sending indictable and related cases to the Crown Court are examined, in the light of the abolition of committal proceedings.Very much a practical guide, this title makes frequent use of examples, flowcharts, and tables, and is specifically designed to assist the busy professional and student. A Practical Approach to Criminal Procedure is an indispensable resource for those working in this field.The A Practical Approach series is the perfect partner for practice work. Each title focuses on one field of the law and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject together with clear, practical advice and tips on issues likely to arise in practice. The books are also an excellent resource forthose new to the law, where the expert overview and clear layout promote ease of understanding.
