There is no essential reading for this module.
A lot of the reading for this module will be dictated by the subject of the investigation itself with some guidance from module tutors as necessary.
Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.
Consult your subject guide for recommended websites.
Essential Study Skills by
Packed with study tips, activities, templates and quotes from students, this is your essential guide to university, showing you step-by-step how to study effectively and make the best of your time at university. Whether you are going to university straight from school, a mature, or an overseas student studying in the UK for the first time, you′ll find out how to: Sail through those tricky first weeks Get the most out of lectures by understanding how you learn Learn techniques for academic writing and research Effectively work with others in groups, seminars and workshops Write assignments and pass exams with flying colours Build your CV and plan your next steps after graduation. New to this edition is content on how to thrive at university, learn and research digitally, and how to develop your employability skills. Student Success is a series of essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to boosting your employability and managing your wellbeing, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university.
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed.This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.New to this Edition:- Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments- New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays- More emphasis on reflective learning- Extended guidance on how to balance study with work- More use of visuals to summarise key learning pointsAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/the-study-skills-handbook-5e. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Biomeasurement by
Emphasizing why statistical techniques are essential tools for bioscientists, Biomeasurement removes the stigma attached to statistics by giving students the confidence to use key techniques for themselves. Placing the role of data analysis in the context of the wider scientific method andintroducing students to key terms and common statistical concepts, the text demonstrates the power and importance of statistics throughout the study of bioscience.
Communication Skills for the Biosciences by
Effective scientific communication is a skill highly-prized by potential employers, and is central to success during postgraduate study.Communication Skills for the Biosciences is a straightforward, practical guide to the skills you should master to get the most out of your study and research, to pave the way to a successful career.Focusing on the three key modes of communication - written, oral, and visual - the book also includes valuable advice on associated topics, including peer review, data sharing, data ownership, plagiarism, critical review of scientific information and the role of e-technology.Uniquely, the book incorporates annotated examples, bringing to life the guidance and explanations presented in the text, and helping you to master best practice in all areas of science communication.Communication Skills for the Biosciences is a must-have companion throughout your postgraduate career.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Communication Skills for the Biosciences features:For registered adopters of the book:* Figures from the book in electronic format, ready to download.* PowerPoint slides that can be adapted and used as the basis for workshops or lectures.For students:* Examples of best practice in the use of Powerpoint, and preparation of posters.
Practical skills in biology by
"The primary aim of this revision of Practical Skills in Biology was to update the text, but we also wished to respond to the helpful comments of several anonymous reviewers of the 6th edition, and in so doing, to reorganise the chapters and include significant new material. The main structural changes we have made are to (1) reorder and rewrite several chapters in the first two sections; (2) add three new chapters on working with bacteria, eukaryotic microbes and viruses; (3) include a new chapter on assaying biomolecules; and (4) revise the material on use of software and online sources in biology, to reflect the greater level of knowledge and experience of today's students. In terms of the text itself, we have sought to use more positive phrasing throughout, to emphasise the active nature of learning in this discipline. Some details of further changes and additions are listed on the back cover. The text references and sources for further study have been updated, while the popular study exercises have been retained. We thank again everyone who helped us with earlier editions, and for this one acknowledge in particular the assistance of Jill Muller of CQUniversity in helping to revise the material on finding and citing sources, Lou Attwood for her work in copy editing the text, and Indrasena Mukhopadhyay and Nikhil Kumar in coordinating the production of the text and images, together with other staff who were involved in the book's production. We also recognise Rufus Curnow for his enduring support of all of the Practical Skills titles. Although this revision has largely been the work of two of the original authors ( JDBW and RHR), we thank Allan Jones and Dave Holmes for their contributions to the Practical Skills series throughout the years. Finally, we thank staff at all institutions who have adopted this text. The practical syllabus in biology has come under increasing pressure in recent years, with diminishing resources and timetabling allocation. Yet such changes cannot alter the fundamental fact that biology, in all its facets, is primarily a practical subject - one in which students learn most effectively through 'hands-on' experience in the lab and the field. We hope that this book will help students to prepare better for practicals, projects, lectures, seminars, examinations and assignments, to gain greater enjoyment from taking part in them and to learn more about the organisms that populate our world and the ecosystems that support them. The book is divided into several sections: - Chapters 1-8 cover general skills, including selfmanagement and personal development; how to learn; teamwork; and how to locate, evaluate and cite sources. - Chapters 9-18 deal with assessment, including written assignments; practicals and projects; oral and poster presentations; revision and examinations. - Chapters 19-73 cover a broad range of specific practical skills and techniques, ranging from basic laboratory procedures to more advanced techniques. - Chapters 74-80 explain data analysis and presentation, ranging from the presentation of results as graphs or tables through to the application of statistical tests, with worked examples. - Study exercises and problems are provided for each chapter. They enable you to check your understanding and to practice key calculations, either on your own, under the guidance of a tutor, or working with other students. "-- Provided by publisher.
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by
From reading technical literature, to writing scientific papers and lab reports, gain practical advice in communicating specifically for biology with the Student Handbook for Writing in Biology.
Successful Scientific Writing by
Thoroughly revised and updated, the new edition of this acclaimed and best-selling guide offers a rich blend of practical advice and real-life examples. The authors draw on fifty years of experience, providing detailed step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully through knowledge, practice, and an efficient approach. Retaining the user-friendly style of the previous editions, this fourth edition has been broadened to include detailed information relevant to today's digital world. It covers all aspects of the writing process, from first drafts, literature retrieval, and authorship to final drafts and electronic publication. A new section provides extensive coverage of ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics. Both the text and 30 hands-on exercises include abundant examples applicable to a variety of writing contexts, making this a powerful tool for researchers and students across a range of disciplines.
Experimental Design for the Life Sciences by
The careful design of experiments lies at the core of good research. Experimental Design for the Life Sciences equips you with the skills you need to effectively design experiments, making this essential aspect of the research process readily understandable. It demonstrates how goodexperimental design relies on clear thinking and biological understanding, not mathematical or statistical complexity.With a refreshingly approachable and articulate style, the book walks you through the considerations that go into designing an experiment in clear, practical terms. Using examples drawn from across the life sciences - from ecology, biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, and health sciences - theauthors illustrate how these concepts are applied within the broad context of real biological research.Online Resource Centre:The Online Resource centre to accompany Experimental Design for the Life Sciences features:For students:* Self-test questions and answers* Additional examples* Supplementary sections discuss complex concepts and statistical issues in more depth* Links to useful websites and free softwareFor lecturers:* Suggested course structures, complete with practical exercises* Figures from the book, available to download
