The Employability Journal by Bassot, B.Get the most from your work experience, placements and internships with this journal. The journal format provides a great structure for processing your learning and reflecting on your progress, with sections on self-awareness, effective communication, managing change, networking and other key skills for working life. You'll find plenty of space to record key achievements, alongside activities and prompts for reflection to enhance your career and personal development.The Employability Journal is the ultimate companion for all undergraduate students looking to create a personal development record and enhance their employability. It is an invaluable resource for students undertaking industrial placements and those on personal development planning or employability modules.
Call Number: 371.425 BAS
Publication Date: 2017
Skills for Success by Cottrell, S.Now in its fourth edition, this indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and build the skills and capabilities today's employers want. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Part 1 prompts students to think about what 'success' means to them and to think more deeply about what matters to them, what inspires them, and what will help them to achieve their long-term ambitions. This section also helps students to better manage their time, energies and resources so that they can achieve the kind of success they want. Part 2 shows students how to refine their people and task management skills, enabling them to become the effective communicators and problem-solvers that today's employers want. Part 3 develops students' creative and reflective thinking, thereby strengthening students' academic and professional abilities. Part 4 helps readers to reflect on what employers really want from job applicants and explains how they can take concrete action to improve their job prospects. Chapters contain guidance on how to put forward a strong application, how to make the best use of placements, and how to keep records so that students feel more in control during the application process. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. Whether you're just starting at college or university, or about to leave a postgraduate programme, Skills for Success will help you to think creatively and constructively about personal, academic and career goals.New to this Edition:- Contains increased coverage of different styles and models of leadership, and managing and leading teams- Includes more material on engaging with cultural difference- Provides students with guidance on looking after their mental health and wellbeing, to help reduce stress around planning for life after university- Features more insights and case studies from employersAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/skills-for-success. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Medical Ethics: A Very short introduction by Hope, T.Issues in medical ethics are rarely out of the media and it is an area of ethics that has particular interest for the general public as well as the medical practitioner. This short and accessible introduction provides an invaluable tool with which to think about the ethical values that lie atthe heart of medicine. Tony Hope deals with the thorny moral questions such as euthanasia and the morality of killing, and also explores political questions such as: how should health care resources be distributed fairly? Each chapter in this book considers a different issue: genetics, modernreproductive technologies, resource allocation, mental health, medical research, and discusses controversial questions such as:DT Who should have access to reproductive technology? Who should pay?DT Is it right to fund expensive drug treatment for individuals?DT Should active euthanasia be legalized?DT Should treatment for mental illness be imposed on patients without their consent?DT Who should have access to information from genetic testing?DT Should we require consent for the use of dead bodies or organs in medical research?
Stand Out from the Crowd by Loughlin, E.; Dorian, L.This book takes a hands-on approach to skills development and will help your students to stand out from the crowd, both during their studies and when applying for jobs. It supports students in the development of key organisational and interpersonal skills, including time management, teamwork and leadership, through activities and reflective tasks. It also provides practical guidance on developing vital entrepreneurial attributes, such as critical thinking and problem solving, and articulating these skills to prospective employers. This text is an essential resource for all students looking to develop the skills, experience and attributes which are desired by today's employers. It is also ideal for students on personal development planning and employability modules across all disciplines and levels.
How to Succeed at University by Smale, B.; Fowlie, J.Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy hereAchieve all your goals for university - whatever they are! How to Succeed at University provides straightforward, practical advice for anyone experiencing university life. Introducing the personal, academic and life skills you need to succeed - both at university and in today's competitive job market - you'll find help with managing your time and budget, and guidance on a range of study skills including skills for research and examination success. You'll also learn how to identify and develop key transferable skills that will stay with you throughout your professional life. Discover how to: Improve your employability prospects and give yourself the advantage in the job market Benefit from other students′ experience, with top tips and insider advice on succeeding in your studies Explore the uses of digital technologies in learning and assessment Use what you learn right away, with handy downloadable checklists and worksheets. Pragmatic, up-front and sympathetic, this is an essential companion for all undergraduate students, as well as anyone preparing for study at university.SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!