Research Design, qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods 5th edn. by 
Doing Your Early Years Research Project by
This bestselling guide to undertaking your Early Years research project takes the reader on a practical step-by-step journey. Breaking down each section into accessible and digestible topics, and accompanied by a multitude of practical examples, case studies, research summaries and key points, the author brings this process to life. The updated and revised fourth edition includes: Useful additional resources at the end of each chapter Extended material on the child's voice within research Signposted glossary terms throughout the text Updated website materials for further study From learning how to structure and organise your project, through to the final presentation and written report of your findings, this is the essential guide and companion for undergraduate and postgraduate students throughout their early childhood and social science courses. Guy Roberts-Holmes will be discussing key ideas in Doing Your Early Years Research Project, a SAGE Masterclass for early years students and practitioners in collaboration with Kathy Brodie. Find out more here.
Social Research Methods 5th edn. by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Interpreting Qualitative Data by 
Research with Children by
The entirely revised third edition of Research with Children forms a unique resource book on the methodology of childhood research with a core emphasis on theory driven practices. As in the previous two editions, this edition presents particular standpoints in the field, whilst also reflecting the latest developments in the now well-established interdisciplinary field of childhood studies. A rich collection of contributions from leading researchers across a range of disciplinary backgrounds, research practices and theoretical perspectives discuss central questions of epistemology and methodology, demonstrating the links between theory and practice. This edition includes exciting new chapters on: Internet-based research and contemporary technology, Family based research, Children as researchers, Participatory research in the global context, New directions for childhood research. Both theoretical and practical questions are set out in a well-argued fashion that enables easier navigation through the various complexities of the epistemological and methodological questions arising in contemporary research practices with children. As such, this text will appeal to both the newcomer to childhood studies and to experienced researchers in the field. With fully updated chapters, new material and a revised, clearer structure, this new edition will be a valuable resource for researchers working with children.
Listening to young children; the Mosaic approach by 
Understanding Research with Children and Young People by 
Researching Children's Experience by 
Doing Ethical Research with Children by 
Researching with Children and Young People by 
Researching Children and Youth by
pp. 127-147
Researching Children and Youth: Methodological Issues, Strategies, and Innovations, part of the Sociological Studies of Children and Youth series, seeks to fill a void in current publications directly addressing the problems and pitfalls that often accompany researching children and youth in today's society. Sociologists face increasingly limited access to children and youth given their "vulnerable" status, growing requirements from Institutional Review Boards, and more restricted access from organizations and educational institutions. As a result, researchers must be creative in the pursuit of researching kids and teens. Chapters in this volume address such topics as participatory and feminist ethnographic approaches, digital mining, children's agency, and navigating IRBs. The importance of contextualizing sociological research with children with special consideration of space, location, and identity thematically runs throughout all of the contributions to this volume.
Constructing Research Questions by 
Listening to Young Children by
Viewing children as 'experts in their own lives', the Mosaic approach offers a creative framework for listening to young children's perspectives through talking, walking, making and reviewing together. Serving as a tool to ensure that children's views and experiences become the focus for reviewing quality in early childhood provision, it explains how children's own photographs, tours and maps can be joined to interviews and observations to enable adults to gain deeper understandings of young children's lives. This updated second edition builds on the authors' original ground-breaking work, and offers case studies of the Mosaic approach in action, as well as guidance on using and adapt the framework in different settings. The Mosaic approach can also be adapted to work with older children, particularly those with communication difficulties or for whom English is an additional language.Listening to Young Children is required reading for practitioners in nurseries, children's centres, pre-schools and schools and residential settings. It will also be welcomed by early childhood students and other researchers looking for new theoretical, practical and imaginative ways of listening to young children.
A Student's Guide to Methodology by 
Developing Effective Research Proposals by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy This is your step-by-step guide to success with your research proposal. This new edition covers every section of the proposal, telling you all you need to know on how to structure it, bring rigour to your methods section, impress your readers and get your proposal accepted. With practical tips and advice throughout, new features include: Comprehensive explanation of method and methodology, and how to maximize this crucial section of your proposal A new section on mixed methods: an increasingly common approach in research A new chapter on how to get it right with ethics Fresh exercises and activities, now for each key chapter. The Third Edition provides an authoritative and accessible guide for anyone tackling a research proposal. It is perfect for students in education, nursing, health, and across the social sciences.
Researching with Children and Young People by 
Focus Group Methodology by
Focus Group Methodology is an introductory text which leads readers through the entire process of designing a focus group study, from conducting interviews to analysing data and presenting the findings. It also includes discussions on cross-cultural and virtual focus group. Liamputtong presents clear, practical advice in simple terms which will be appropriate for undergraduate and postgraduate students who are undertaking research, making this an ideal starter text for anyone new to focus group research. Like her previous book, Researching the Vulnerable, Liamputtong's latest work pays close attention to research ethics and will also be of great interest to researchers who are working with different social groups - such as women, men, older people, children and ethnic groups - and anybody who is engaging in cross-cultural research. Illustrated with case studies and examples throughout, this is a perfect introduction to focus group methods for students and new researchers alike.
Developing Effective Research Proposals by 
Reflexive Methodology 3rd edn. by
Praise for the Second Edition: "In opposition to most literature on how to conduct good social science research which is either empirically oriented or gives priority to theoretical and philosophical considerations, which tends to make empirical research look odd or irrelevant, this volume on ′Reflexive Methodology′ explicitly turns towards a consideration of the perceptual, cognitive, theoretical, linguistic, political and cultural circumstances as backdrop of data interpretation and research design. It showed up to be the most important and informative resource and a source of enlightenment to my lecture on methodology at our institute. I can highly recommend the volume to lecturers and students alike." Professor Sabine Troeger, Geography Institute - Library, University of Bonn Reflexivity is an essential part of the research process. Mats Alvesson and Kaj Sk#65533;ldberg make explicit the links between techniques used in empirical research and different research traditions, giving a theoretically informed approach to qualitative research. The authors provide balanced reviews and critiques of the major schools of grounded theory, ethnography, hermeneutics, critical theory, postmodernism and poststructuralism, discourse analysis, genealogy and feminism. Useful reading for students and researchers across the social sciences. The first edition established itself as a ground-breaking success, providing researchers with an invaluable guide to a central problem in research methodology - namely, how to put field research and interpretations in perspective, paying attention to the interpretive, political and rhetorical nature of empirical research. The second edition introduced a new chapter on positivism, social constructionism and critical realism, and offered new conclusions on the applications of methodology. This third edition of Reflexive Methodology provides further updates on new research, including neorealism, and illustrations and applications of reflexive methodology in formulating research strategies, that build on the acclaimed and successful previous editions
Researching Children's Experience by
`Strongly recommended as it provides a very useful overview of a range of methods, mainly textual, for exploring children′s experiences. These accounts are placed well in the broader conceptual frameworks concerning both methodologies and ethical considerations′ - Educational Review How should the researcher approach the sensitive subject of the child? What are the ethical issues involved in researching children′s experiences? In essays written by a collection of key, international authors, Researching Children′s Experience addresses these questions, and examines up-to-date methodological and conceptual approaches to researching children. This book is a practical, comprehensive and interdisciplinary guide for advanced students and researchers, exploring a range of studies, and the theoretical and ethical motivations behind them. The book is divided into three coherent sections: - Conceptual, methodological and ethical issues in researching children′s experiences. - Methods for conducting research with children. - The generation and analysis of text. Researching Children′s Experience provides examples of how researchers from a variety of social science perspectives have set about carrying out research into children′s experience. Useful to students embarking on a research project, and to experienced researchers wishing to explore new methods, Greene and Hogan′s book is an essential addition to anyone doing research on children. It will be especially useful to those in developmental psychology, education, nursing and other disciplines interested in studying children′s experience.
