Understanding and Using Educational Theories by
" I expect that this book will equip and inspire students to engage first-hand with the texts of these creative and influential educational writers."-David Aldridge, Programme Lead: Professional Education, Oxford Brookes University If you're training to teach or studying education a clear understanding of major educational theories and the thinkers behind them is essential in order to appreciate how different practices impact on learning. This textbook gives you a clear overview of the most influential twentieth and twenty-first century thinkers on education, including established names (including Vygotsky, Bruner, Dewey), more recent writers (such as Freire, Kolb, Claxton) and many other important theorists whose writings have helped shaped our views on teaching and learning. Each chapter includes: Practical examples showing how theories can be used to inform classroom teaching Critiques of each theorist exploring opposing viewpoints and the strengths and weaknesses of different ideas Reflective tasks inviting you to apply what you've read to your own educational experiences
Successful Placements in Early Years Settings by 
Working with Children in the Early Years by 
Teaching Children 3-11 by
Focusing on the major topics underpinning professional studies strands in primary and early years teacher education, Teaching Children Three-Eleven provides indispensable coverage of vital practical and conceptual issues that support good teaching practice. This Third Edition of the popular textbook has been carefully revised, following detailed lecturer feedback, to meet the evolving needs of students training to teach across the three to eleven age range. Featuring four new chapters on curriculum development, cross-curricular teaching, diversity and inclusion, and communication in the classroom, and engaging with the growing need for Master's-level study in teacher education, the new edition offers a balanced contemporary overview of modern teaching practice in an engaging and accessible manner. This is essential reading for all students on primary and early years initial teacher education courses including undergraduate (BEd, BA with QTS), postgraduate (PGCE, SCITT), and employment-based routes into teaching. It will also be invaluable for those starting out on their professional careers. Anne Cockburn is Professor of Early Years Education at the University of East Anglia Graham Handscomb is Senior Manager in Strategic Development, for School Improvement and Early Years at Essex County Council
The Reflective Early Years Practitioner by 
Beginning Teaching, Beginning Learning by 
Child Observation for Early Childhood by
This is a key text for all those studying for degrees and foundation degrees in early childhood, early years and related disciplines and for Early Years Teacher candidates. It enables students to appreciate and understand the central role of observation for understanding, planning for and educating early years children. This new Third Edition has been updated in line with recent policy and legislation changes and includes: a new first chapter to help students to understand the context of early childhood in England and elsewhere an exploration of the essential elements of child observation that are important across the world new international case studies a research chapter that has been re-written to improve its accessibility to students more case studies throughout to link theory to practice.
Planning an Appropriate Curriculum in the Early Years by 
The Role of the Adult in Early Years Settings by 
Supporting Pedagogy and Practice in Early Years Settings by 
The New Early Years Foundation Stage by 
Care and Education in Early Childhood by 
Early Years Work-Based Learning by
This book supports students on foundation degrees and degrees in Early Years and Early Childhood Studies that have a work-based element. An essential introduction to becoming a professional in the sector, it begins by looking at work-based learning and goes on to cover study, research skills and essential subject knowledge. It includes activities to help students increase their confidence and get the most out of their course. Essential information on Early Years Professional Status (EYPS) considers the current scene and the future of the sector.
Reflective Practice and Early Years Professionalism by 
Understanding Transitions in the Early Years by 
A Practical Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage by 
Themes and debates in early childhood by 
Play, Learning and the Early Childhood Curriculum by 
Understanding Schemas and Emotion in Early Childhood by 
Understanding Cultural Diversity in the Early Years by 
Play and Learning in the Early Years by 
Observation, Assessment and Planning in the Early Years - Bringing It All Together by
Children develop and learn best when their environment is tailored to their individual needs, supported through careful observation, informed assessment and dynamic planning - a cycle which is the bedrock of good early years practice. Although the EYFS recommends that observation, assessment and planning should be linked in a constant, cyclical process, in practice this can be a significant challenge. This book presents an integrated framework which puts the cycle into practical terms, bringing it all together to ensure a seamless process and to support you in this vital part of your work. The focus is on the critical links within the cycle and combines theory with proven good practice, including: Making and recording observations effectively and efficiently How observations should inform next steps, assessment and planning Bringing all the information together into a cyclical process Exploring potential challenges Using reflective practice to refine and improve your techniques Rich in practical examples and case studies that illustrate how the cyclical framework works in practice, this is an excellent resource for early years practitioners and students looking to improve their observation, assessment and planning techniques. "Observation, Assessment and Planning in the Early Years - Bringing it All Together, actually does bring it all together. Kathy Brodie has linked theorists from the past to the present, skilfully connecting to the revised EYFS. Early Years students and practitioners will have the opportunity to reflect on the innovative ideas that she has suggested. Kathy has also included detailed information on observing SEN children. This modern update to observation, assessment and planning is a must read for the early years sector." Laura Henry, Managing Director, Childcare Consultancy "This is a very well researched and practical guide to observation, planning and assessment in the Early Years. Kathy has collected together both historical and current thinking and ideas around the subject and then presented them in a way that is easy for the reader to access, understand and, more importantly, apply. The structure and format of the book helps the reader to check their understanding of the key learning points and then supports them in working through any challenges that they may have along with answers to key questions. Observation, Planning and Assessment in the Early Years is an essential read for all Early Years Practitioners from those with experience to those just starting out." Alistair Bryce-Clegg, Early Years Consultant "This is a wonderful and timely resource to help practitioners make and use well informed judgements of young children's learning and achievement. The four threads of observation, assessment, next steps and planning are skilfully woven together. Plentiful exemplifications and case studies vividly illustrate theoretical points and give young children a central place in the book." Marion Dowling, Early Years Specialist and Vice President of Early Education
Essentials of Literacy from 0-7 by 
Sustaining shared thinking : supporting thinking skills in young learners by 
Development and Learning for Very Young Children by 
Treasure Baskets and Beyond by 
Assessment for Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage by
Are you struggling with the complexities of assessment? Demystifying the process of assessment for learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), Assessment for Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage explains in straightforward language how to put principles into practice. Looking at models of assessment, the book draws heavily on examples of real assessments from practice, and the relevant theory is explained in context. Lessons from research are applied to best practice, and issues covered include: self-assessment and peer assessment collecting evidence as a basis for making judgements how to track the child's development in the six areas of learning using assessment to inform future planning summative assessment in the EYFS involving parents and carers in the assessment process using assessment to support children with additional needs moderation
Children, Play, and Development by 
Effective Practice in the Early Years Foundation Stage by
In this compelling new book Vicky Hutchin provides an accessible and readable guide to effective practice in the revised EYFS which Explains the revised EYFS areas of learning and development Considers the three ''characteristics of effective learning'' and the implications for practitioners in their interactions with children and the provision they make for them Explores in detail the role of practitioners and parents in supporting children''s learning and development Examines the importance of partnership with parents in their children''s learning and development and how to develop this Details the observation, assessment and planning cycle with a particular focus on the statutory summative assessment, the ''Progress Check at Age Two'' This is the revised EYFS brought to life for early years practitioners, professionals and students. Threaded throughout the book are real case studies taken from a range of inspiring early years settings. These are backed up by interviews with practitioners as they reflect on and develop their practice to ensure the best support for young children''s development, learning and wellbeing. Each chapter makes reference to relevant research and includes ''top tips for effective practice''. "Effective Practice in the EYFS is a clear, comprehensive and accessible exposition of the new EYFS and its requirements for practitioners. Using case studies, examples from settings and observations of children, Vicky Hutchin brings breadth and depth to each aspect of the EYFS and ensures that practitioners have a principled understanding of the importance and relevance of each aspect of their work with young children. The Characteristics of Early Learning are given appropriate significance and can be seen to underpin all subsequent chapters. The Prime and Specific Areas of Learning are each highlighted with great clarity and every chapter concludes with ''Top Tips for Effective Practice'' which could be used to create a development plan by any setting wanting to reflect on current practice. This book would be valuable for all practitioners but particularly those new to the early years and wanting a clear reference guide to all that is important about teaching in this phase." Julie Fisher, Independent Early Years Advisor "This book will guide practitioners on their journey into the new requirements of the EYFS, and will build confidence. It is written with clarity, encourages common sense and draws on the good practice of real settings together with useful reference to research and literature. Just what is needed!" Professor Tina Bruce CBE, University of Roehampton, UK "As an Essential Guide to the revised EYFS Vicky Hutchin''s book covers everything a practitioner needs to know and think about. The emphasis on the Characteristics of Effective Learning ensures that the reader understands right from the outset that HOW children learn rather than WHAT they learn is a priority. There are clear explanations of the Characteristics which are underpinned by the theory of how children learn and develop, including important connections to the psychology of children''s early learning. Vicky has woven together the statutory requirements of the EYFS with examples of good early years practice and the voice of the child. The central strand of observation and interpreting how children are learning supports practitioners''understanding and gives them helpful directions to the work of Ferre Laevers, Julie Fisher and others. There is a strong reflective element running through the book with helpful case studies, questions to think about and useful summaries at the end of each chapter. Chapter 12 helpfully directs the reader to think about the EYFS as an evaluative tool to improve the quality of practice. These are the strengths of Vicky''s book along with the following A good explanation of school readiness Clear explanations of child initiated and adult- led thinking and learning Links to parental involvement throughout the book as well as a dedicated chapter Assessment which is child focussed and based in the context of observation and planning next steps. The messages are clear and respectful of children Unpicking each area of learning and making the linksbetween theory and practice as well as a frequent reminderof the holistic nature of children''s development and learning Top tips for effective practice and points for reflection" Di Chilvers, Advisory Consultant in Early Childhood
Early childhood studies : a multidisciplinary and holistic introduction by 
The early years foundation stage in practice by 
Good Practice in Nursery Management 3rd Edition by 
Safeguarding Babies and Young Children by 
Developing Reflective Practice in the Early Years by 
Child Development for Early Childhood Studies by 
Mathematics in Early Years Education by 
Supporting Early Mathematical Development by 
