The Development of Children's Thinking by
This book is not available as a print inspection copy. To download an e-version click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.The Development of Children's Thinking offers undergraduate and graduate students in psychology and other disciplines an introduction to several core areas of developmental psychology. It examines recent empirical research within the context of longstanding theoretical debates. In particular, it shows how a grasp of classic theories within developmental psychology is vital for a grasp of new areas of research such as cognitive neuroscience that have impacted on our understanding of how children develop. The focus of this book will be on infancy and childhood, and it looks at: Theories and context of development How developmental psychology attempts to reconcile influences of nature and nurture Communication in infancy as a precursor to later thinking Language development in primates and young children Cognitive and social development, including the child's understanding of the mind How studies of moral reasoning reflect upon our understanding of development
Child Development: an active learning approach. 3rd edn. by
In the Third Edition of the topically organized Child Development: An Active Learning Approach, authors Laura E. Levine and Joyce A. Munsch invite students to take an active journey toward understanding the latest findings from the field of child development. Using robust pedagogical tools built into the chapter narratives, students are challenged to confront myths and misconceptions, participate in real-world activities with children and independently, and utilize video resources and research tools to pursue knowledge and develop critical thinking skills on their own. This new edition covers the latest findings on developmental neuroscience, positive youth development, the role of fathers, and more, with topics of diversity and culture integrated throughout. More than a textbook, this one-of-a-kind resource will continue to serve students as they go on to graduate studies, to work with children and adolescents professionally, and to care for children of their own.
Developmental Psychology by
What does it mean to say that one child is more intelligent than another? Does it really make a difference if we talk to babies even though they can't understand us? What makes children with the same parents have different characters? At what age are children likely to become involved in cyberbullying? Developmental Psychology 2nd edition provides a clear and lively coverage of the main topics and concepts required by the British Psychological Society (BPS). The book takes a broadly topical organisation addressing the social and cognitive strands of development, providing an intuitive pathway through the core topics, and a final section which focuses on the clinical and applied aspects of the subject. This second edition include updated and expanded coverage of play, motor development, genetics and research methods
A Student's Guide to Developmental Psychology by 
The development of children 8th ed., International ed. by 
Child Development: Understanding a cultural perspective by
Every child is born into a community, a society with a culture, in which he or she will live, grow and develop. Cultures lead to differences in children's development, but equally important, culture is an essential component of every child's psychological development. Child Development takes a chronological approach, from prenatal development to adolescence, in which social, cognitive, emotional and physical aspects of development are interwoven. Martin Packer integrates cross-cultural examples from different parts of the world to illustrate how culture plays a constitutive role in children's development. This book includes an in-depth discussion of human evolution, the history of language and the human lifespan, as well as the theoretical perspectives of scientific research on children's development. This textbook is essential reading for undergraduate students taking an introductory course in child development or developmental psychology.
Child Development by
Understanding child development is essential to ensuring a full and rounded psychological grounding, but given the complex nature of the topic it can be a real challenge.Child Development: Concepts and Theories takes a step back to focus just on the key concepts of child development that all students must learn. With this book, their first encounters with theories and their applications will mean that they can move on with a firm foundation in child development. Central to this, is understanding how these theories or concepts are applied in the real world and how psychologists engage with them in research. This book gives clear and detailed examples to bring the subject to life. Each chapter features case studies that run throughout the chapter and develop as the students′ own understanding does.Written for undergraduates, the book will become essential to any student wanting a key to unlock the world of child development.Jean Mercer is Professor Emerita of Psychology at Stockton University, New Jersey, and writes a blog, "Childmyths",at http://childmyths.blogspot.com
Child Development: a practical introduction 2nd edn. by
Focusing on the earliest years (0-8), the new edition of this bestselling textbook continues to provide a comprehensive overview of the research, theory, and current practice in the field of child development. The new edition is fully up to date with current policy and legislation and now includes; · New 'Research boxes' in each chapter helping students link theory to practice · Increased coverage on children's social and emotional development · A brand new companion website including a selection of free SAGE Journal articles, annotated further readings, weblinks and useful online materials.
Lifespan Development in Context by
Award-winning author Tara L. Kuther presents Lifespan Development in Context, a topically organized version of her bestselling Lifespan Development text that provides a panoramic view of the many influences that shape human development. Kuther's student-friendly narrative guides the reader through immersive video cases and real-world examples to illustrate how the places, sociocultural environments, and ways in which we are raised influence who we become and how we grow and change throughout our lives. Three core themes resonate throughout each chapter: the centrality of context, the importance of research, and the value of applied developmental science. Foundational theories and classic studies are combined with contemporary research and culturally diverse perspectives for a modern introduction to the field that is both comprehensive and concise. Visual overviews, case studies, and critical thinking questions encourage self-reflection and class discussion, ensuring students have the tools they need to apply course concepts to their lives and future careers. A Complete Teaching & Learning Package SAGE Premium Video Included in the Interactive eBook! These rich video resources include Dr. Kuther's Chalk Talks and Lives in Context Video Cases that help students understand key concepts. View a sample of Dr. Kuther's Chalk Talks. Interactive eBook Your students save when you bundle the print version with the Interactive eBook, which includes access to SAGE Premium Video, multimedia tools, and much more! Order using bundle ISBN 978-1-5443-3160-7. Learn more. SAGE coursepacks FREE! Easily import our quality instructor and student resource content into your school's learning management system (LMS) and save time.Learn more. SAGE edge This companion website offers both instructors and students a robust online environment with an impressive array of teaching and learning resources. Learn more.
