The Student's Companion to Social Policy by
This fully updated and expanded edition of the bestselling Student's Companion to Social Policy charts the latest developments, research, challenges, and controversies in the field in a concise, authoritative format. Provides students with the analytical base from which to investigate and evaluate key concepts, perspectives, policies, and outcomes at national and international levels Features a new section on devolution and social policy in the UK; enhanced discussion of international and comparative issues; and new coverage of 'nudge'-based policies, austerity politics, sustainable welfare, working age conditionality, social movements, policy learning and transfer, and social policy in the BRIC countries Offers essential information for anyone studying social policy, from undergraduates on introductory courses to those pursuing postgraduate or professional programmes Accompanied by updated online resources to support independent learning and skill development with chapter overviews, study questions, guides to key sources and career opportunities, a key term glossary, and more Written by a team of experts working at the forefront of social policy
Understanding the Sociology of Health by
Understanding the Sociology of Health continues to offer an easy to read introduction to sociological theories essential to understanding the current health climate. Up-to-date with key policy and research, and including case studies and exercises to critically engage the reader, this book shows how sociology can answer complex questions about health and illness, such as why health inequalities exist. To better help with your studies this book contains: · a global perspective with international examples; · a new chapter on health technologies; · online access to videos of the author discussing key topics as well as recommended further readings; · a glossary, chapter summaries and reflective questions to help you engage with the subject. Though aimed primarily at students on health and social care courses and professions allied to medicine, this textbook provides valuable insights for anyone interested in the social aspects of health.
Health Promotion by
Globally recognized as the definitive text on health promotion, this fourth edition becomes ever more useful for public health and health promotion courses around the world. It offers a firm foundation in health promotion before helping you to understand the process of planning, implementing and assessing programmes in the real world.New to the 4th Edition: A chapter on "Evidence-Based Health Promotion" addressing the development of an evidence base for health promotion. Expanded coverage of health inequalities, equity and social exclusion Further discussion of mental health promotion and well-being Key concepts are now highlighted and explained throughout the book ′Critical reflection' boxes have been added to help the reader think critically about an issue or approach. The book is supported by online resources, with up to 20 original case studies from around the world, access to full SAGE journal articles, and seminar questions for lecturers.
Health promotion throughout the life span by 
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing provides nurses of all levels with a crash course in law written in clear and straightforward language. It is filled with insightful case studies and thought-provoking activities that demonstrate the relevance of law and how it underpins safe and effective practice. Written explicitly for nurses, the book is an ideal starting point for nurses seeking to better understand the legal obligations they face leaving them better prepared for safe and effective practice. New to This Edition: Fully updated in light of the revised NMC Code (2015) Expanded analysis and discussion of the law relating to end of life care, withdrawing treatment, DNR, and assisted dying Updated to take account of the provisions of the care Act 2014 Discusses the revised fundamental standards in England
Public Health by
This highly anticipated new edition of Glenn Laverack's Public Health: Power, Empowerment and Professional Practice has been fully revised throughout to provide readers with a practical understanding of how to help others to empower themselves in public health practice. The book explores the key concept of power and offers practical solutions for transforming professional power relations; it introduces a methodology to plan, implement and evaluate public health programmes; and it investigates the implications of empowerment on public health practice. The book also offers two new chapters: 'Patient Empowerment' and 'Helping Migrant Populations to Become Empowered', both emerging international public health issues. The new edition is a timely and valuable literary addition that has been designed for those who want to work in a more empowering way. So whether you're studying or practising, if you aspire to be a more effective and empowering practitioner this book will help you realise your professional goals. Glenn Laverack has spent his whole life living and working with people who experience powerlessness and who suffer the consequences of poverty and inequality. He has a strong academic and practice background and has worked for more than 30 years in Africa, Asia, Europe and the Pacific regions.
Introduction to Health Psychology by
This edition retains the highly praised approach of previous editions, with each chapter providing an overview of the theory and research before moving on to explore applications and intervention practice. The primary goals of health psychologists are to describe, predict and then to intervene and this book continues to reflect that process.
Health Studies by
This new edition of a very successful textbook provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative introduction to studying health. With chapters including biology, epidemiology, anthropology, politics and psychology, it is the only book to explore all the major disciplines and highlight how they can contribute to our understanding of health in one single volume. Comprehensive, accessible and written by leading experts in the different fields, this is the introductory text for all students of health studies.
Contemporary Health Promotion in Nursing Practice by
Contemporary Health Promotion In Nursing Practice, Second Edition Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access
Managing Long-Term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Care by
Effective management of long-term conditions is an essential part of contemporary nursing policy and practice. Systematic and evidence-based care which takes account of the expert patient and reduces unnecessary hospital admissions is vital to support those with long-term conditions/chronic diseases and those who care for them. Reflecting recent changes in treatment, the nurse's role and the patient journey and including additional content on rehabilitation, palliative care, and non-medical prescribing, this fully updated new edition highlights the key issues in managing long-term conditions. It provides a practical and accessible guide for nurses and allied health professionals in the primary care environment and covers: -　　　　　　　　　 the physical and psychosocial impact of long-term conditions -　　　　　　　　　 effective case management -　　　　　　　　　 self-management and the expert patient -　　　　　　　　　 behavioural change strategies and motivational counselling -　　　　　　　　　 telehealth and information technology -　　　　　　　　　 nutritional and medication management. Packed with helpful, clearly written information, Managing Long-term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Careincludes case studies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements. 2288;　　　　　　　　 effective case management -　　　　　　　　　 self-management and the expert patient -　　　　　　　　　 behavioural change strategies and motivational counselling -　　　　　　　　　 telehealth and information technology -　　　　　　　　　 nutritional and medication management. Packed with helpful, clearly written information, Managing Long-term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Careincludes case studies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements. dies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements.
Health Promotion and Public Health for Nursing Students by
Preventing illness and improving the general health of the population is a vital priority for the health service with nurses expected to play a central role. Written using clear language this book explains what health promotion is and how it interacts with public health. It shows how health promotion can be implemented while drawing on the main theories, models and evidence that inform practice. The book covers the essential topics like lifestyle changes, health screening and patient education giving you the necessary tools and confidence to integrate health promotion into your day to day nursing practice.Transforming Nursing Practice is a series tailor made for pre-registration student nurses. Each book in the series is: Affordable Mapped to the NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters Focused on applying theory to practice Full of active learning features 'The set of books is an excellent resource for students. The series is small, easily portable and valuable. I use the whole set on a regular basis.' - Fiona Davies, Senior Nurse Lecturer, University of Derby
Nursing Adults with Long Term Conditions by
With the number of people living with long term conditions set to increase, ensuring nurses are equipped with the knowledge and skills required to care for this group of people is essential. This book focuses on the relevant essential knowledge and skills, including the impact of long term conditions across the lifespan, the therapeutic relationship, health promotion and empowerment, self-management, symptom management, case management and advance care planning.
Practical Health Promotion and Public Health by
In the twenty-first century, public health is everyone¿s business. The nursing and medical professions are well placed to provide advice to their clients, especially in respect to lifestyle change, and public health initiatives are supported by a range of statutory and voluntary organisations and health workers, ranging from health promotion specialists to smoking cessation advisers and nutrition assistants. Designed to help readers develop the practical skills they need to become effective public health practitioners, this concise text gives an easily digested overview of public health and health promotion theory in accessible language and diagrams, before moving on to the ways readers can apply this in practice. Providing an opportunity for practitioners to understand possible barriers to lifestyle change, debate health inequalities and responsibilities, and explore the role of the media in changing attitudes, it: Outlines the roles of specific organisations involved in the work of public health work. Covers health needs assessment, agenda setting and the technical aspects of how to research plan and evaluate effective practice either with individual clients or when devising programmes and initiatives for population groups. Details methods of helping people with motivation for lifestyle change, building rapport, ongoing support, monitoring and signposting to specific services. Discusses role of neighbourhoods and communities in improving health and how workers may support local populations to improve the health of their community. The Essential Guide to Public Health and Health Promotion is an accessible introduction to the principles and practice of health promotion and public health for all those new to working or studying in the area, whatever their professional background.
Promoting Equality by
Practitioners working within the people professions have a legal and moral responsibility to promote equality wherever possible. This insightful book from a leading author provides a lucid guide to the complexities of inequality, and offers a sound foundation for practice that makes a positive contribution to equality, social justice and empowerment. Now in its fourth edition, this highly successful text challenges oversimplified approaches to tackling discrimination and oppression. It combines an impressive blend of theoretical analysis and practice insights, all conveyed in the accessible and engaging style which has earned Neil Thompson his sterling reputation in the field. With a clear exposition of a coherent theory base that does justice to the multi-level and multi-dimensional nature of discrimination, Promoting Equality is essential reading for students and practitioners within the helping professions, and managers and supervisors across the public, private and voluntary sectors.