Physiology and Anatomy for Nurses and Healthcare Practitioners by
The third edition of Physiology and Anatomy for Nurses and Healthcare Practitioners: A homeostatic approach presents homeostasis as a dynamic concept that provides the basis for understanding health and well-being. It recognises how failure to respond to homeostatic disturbances results in imbalances responsible for signs and symptoms of ill-health, and describes how healthcare interventions seek to reverse those imbalances. Accompanied by colour illustrations and a description of related anatomy, the book provides an integrated explanation of body functioning. It discusses the organisation of the human body, main features and processes that must be controlled for health, the organ systems that act as homeostatic regulators, and effectors of homeostatic regulation. It also discusses influences on homeostasis and provides case studies that place examples of ill health and health care into the context of homeostasis. Features of the third edition include: An overview of microbiology and principles of infection management Expanded information on pharmacological principles and actions of the major classes of drugs Expanded discussion on physiological functions in relation to specific pathologies Updates on how the Human Genome project has impacted healthcare Additional case studies to illustrate the healthcare provider¿s role as an external agent of homeostatic control Photographs of common clinical conditions Access to an accompanying website with supplemental information An essential physiology and anatomy text, this book guides readers through the basic structure and functions of the body systems to more complex issues of clinical disorders and healthcare practice. Coverage includes the cardiovascular, lymphatic, nervous, endocrine, reproductive, and respiratory systems as well as skeletal muscle, embryo development, and circadian rhythms.
Anatomy, Physiology and Pathology: Colouring and Workbook by
This newly updated and expanded colouring and workbook complements Ruth Hull's companion text, Anatomy, Physiology and Pathology for Therapists and Healthcare Professionals but can also be used in conjunction with any other anatomy and physiology textbook.This comprehensive book covers all the body systems and is the perfect study and revision aid for anyone studying a wide range of complementary therapies from aromatherapy, reflexology and massage to hair and beauty up to level 3. It can be used either in class or as a separate self-study resource, and contains: ? over 75 brand new illustrations for the student to colour;? a section in which students are encouraged to learn for themselves and revise their work. They are guided through creating mind-maps, spider diagrams, cue cards, mnemonics, and summaries that will help them understand and memorise their work;? a series of exercises that test the students' knowledge in different ways - colouring in and labelling diagrams, matching columns, filling in gaps, problem-solving exercises, cross words, word searches, true/false exercises, and un-jumbling words; ? vocabulary tests; ? multiple choice questions; ? mock exam papers - 14 exam papers containing multiple choice questions which cover the entire anatomy and physiology syllabus.
Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy and Physiology for Healthcare Professionals by
Anatomy and Physiology is effectively a broad introductory course that requires the student to devote an enormous amount of effort to understand it on even a basic level. While this necessitates time, it can be streamlined in the early stages of one's learning so that the student may understand why he or she is required to invest such a large amount of time into learning - Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy & Physiology is the textbook that accomplishes this. Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy & Physiology is a book that combines both areas of knowledge for a full comprehension of the human body. It is targeted to healthcare students in need of a better understanding of human physiology to combine with their clinical training. The main objective of this book is to elucidate the organization and functioning of the major organs and systems with an emphasis on the applications of this knowledge on the daily clinical routine. One of the main differences of this textbook that sets it apart from others is that it not only provides the information: it also contextualizes it. Every chapter starts introducing a case study that is related to the content that is going to be approached. At the end of the chapter, there is the conclusion of each case study, which presents the final diagnosis showing every step of the process. This context is essential so that, when the student faces this situation in the real-life clinic he or she will be able to deal with it efficiently. Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy & Physiology also has sections of questions to practice the knowledge that was obtained during the chapter, and the answers to each question are explained so no doubts remain after studying. All of this means that Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy & Physiology is a fully rounded book that combines information and practical applications, as well as questions that help the student to understand and retain all the information in a very efficient and effective way. This book has all the information you need to get started on your journey to learning about the human body.
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology by
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology delivers a highly visual and accessible introduction to pathophysiology for nursing and healthcare students, guiding readers through the subject matter with case studies, exercises, key words, and additional resources to support learning and retention. The new edition of Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology includes brand-new content on homeostasis, systematic approach to assessment, and key terminology. The book features links to clinical observations, vital signs to observe, investigation boxes, clinical red flags, medication alerts, and the latest, contemporary evidence for care management, including National Early Warning Score 2 (NEWS2). Presents comprehensive treatment guidance for all fundamental pathophysiology categories, including disorders of the central nervous system, heart, vascular and renal systems, and more Aligns with the latest NMC standards Full-colour illustrations throughout that brings the subject to life Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology belongs on the bookshelves of all pre-registration nursing students, midwifery students, healthcare assistants, and assistant practitioners. Professionals in allied healthcare areas such as physiotherapy, radiotherapy, and occupational therapy will also benefit from the material contained in this comprehensive resource.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology Workbook by
This new study guide is a companion to the bestselling textbook Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students, and is designed to help and support you with this subject area, by testing and consolidating your knowledge of anatomy and physiology. Jam-packed with tips, hints, activities and exercises, this workbook will guide you through the core areas of anatomy and physiology, and provide you with loads of help with your studies. Designed to support all styles of learning, Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology Workbook provides you with a wide range of activities including: Clear illustrations for tracing, copying, shading and colouring in Blank diagrams for labelling Multiple choice questions Fill in the gap exercises Learning tips and hints Crosswords Word searches Also available: Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students 2nd edition - the bestselling textbook upon which this study guide is based.
The Human Body Book by
An all-in-one visual guide to human anatomy with encyclopedic coverage from bones and muscles to systems and processes. This in-depth manual to the human body's physical structure, chemical workings, and potential problems is a must-have reference to help further your studies or knowledge of how our bodies work.
Each page of The Human Body Book, updated to reflect the latest medical information, is illustrated with colourful and comprehensive diagrams, which are thoroughly annotated to take you right into the cells and fibres that are responsible for keeping the human body ticking.
The opening chapter, Integrated Body, explains how the parts of the body work together at various levels of size and hierarchy to produce the living whole. It also contains an overview of the major body systems, enlivened by real-life 3D medical scans of the entire body. The chapters that follow provide coverage of the body function by function, system by system. Eleven main body systems are covered in turn, with each section ending on common injuries, diseases, and disorders afflicting that system. The book concludes with a chapter on Growth and Development which looks in detail at how the body changes over the course of a human lifespan.
Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology for Healthcare Students by
This book provides a highly accessible introduction to anatomy and physiology. Written for students studying the subject for the first time, it covers the human body from the atomic and cellular levels through to all the major systems and includes chapters on blood, immunity and homeostasis. Logically presented, the chapters build on each other and are designed to develop the reader¿s knowledge and understanding of the human body. By the end of each chapter, the reader will understand and be able to explain how the structures and systems described are organised and contribute to the maintenance of health. Describing how illness and disease undermine the body¿s ability to maintain homeostasis, this text helps readers to predict and account for the consequences when this occurs. Complete with self-test questions, full colour illustrations and a comprehensive glossary, this book is an essential read for all nursing and healthcare students in both further and higher education.
Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: a Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals by
Master the Fundamentals of Anatomy & Physiology with This Concise Learning Guide This book adopts a layered approach to learning anatomy and physiology. It begins with an introduction to anatomical terms of location and orientation, before looking at the basic structural and functional unit of the life: the cell. In the fourth section, the structural organization of the human body and essential medical terminology are covered. This will equip you with the fundamental knowledge you need to embark upon your voyage around the human body. What follows is a thematic presentation of the essential body systems of the human body and their structural and functional significance. Covered in the Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy guide are the following areas: - Anatomic Terms of the Human Body - Cells, DNA and Tissues - Structural Organization and Essential Medical Terminology - Musculoskeletal System - Neurosensory System and the Sense Organs - Integumentary System - Endocrine System - Cardiovascular System - Hematologic System - Lymphatic System and Immunity - Respiratory System - Gastrointestinal System - Urinary System - Reproductive System - Fluids, Electrolytes, and Acid-Base Balance - Nutrition and Metabolism Kickstart Your Anatomy & Physiology Mastery Now!
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses by
Following the success of previous editions, Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses continues to be an excellent reference resource in anatomy and physiology for students of nursing and allied health, as well as for healthcare assistants and those studying Foundation degrees or diplomas in health studies. Its easy-to-understand approach and small size make it an excellent revision tool and invaluable to take on placements. Now enhanced with full colour illustrations throughout, this book is the perfect guide to aid learning and understanding. This new edition includes: Clear text, diagrams, images and tables to aid the learning process Learning objectives to help with learning and revision Questions to test your knowledge Clinical examples to help relate the theory to practice Full colour images for the most effective reference Clear text, diagrams, images and tables to aid the learning process Learning objectives to help with learning and revision Questions to test your knowledge Clinical examples to help relate the theory to practice Full colour images for the most effective reference Full colour artwork programme Updated questions for each chapter Updated clinical content, ensure it is up to date and relevant
Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness by
Now in its fourteenth edition, this best-selling textbook has been honed over many years to provide a clear, straightforward introduction to the human body for students of nursing, allied health or biomedical and paramedical science. The book covers the core essentials of anatomy and physiology, including basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders. This new edition presents additional illustrations to enhance understanding of key concepts, including pathophysiology and diagnostics. Included for the first time is an introduction to surface anatomy, while other updating reflects current scientific knowledge and developments, including coronavirus. Enhanced learning features and an extensive online resource help you grasp all the important areas. Like millions of readers before you, you will treasure Ross & Wilson as a go-to resource that you will refer to time and again to support this critical aspect of your healthcare education. Clear and easy to read - suitable for students new to the area and anyone whose first language is not English Hundreds of stunning illustrations and images to make learning easy Helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and orientation icons to facilitate navigation Definitions of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, examples, glossary and an appendix of normal biological values Self-assessment activities in each chapter, including 'spot check' questions for each section and case studies with answers to develop understanding of key principles Accompanying website with animations, videos, audio-glossary and other self-assessment material Evolve Study Resources Online content offered with Ross & Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness 14th edition includes: New for this edition - a set of expert-narrated 3D videos summarizing key topics in the book, powered by Complete Anatomy: the world's most advanced 3D anatomy platform Over 120 animations clarifying underlying principles and make learning fun More than 1700 audio glossary entries Body Spectrum © online colouring and self-test software Self-assessment questions to help students test their knowledge