Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Pathophysiology and Pharmacology for Adult Nursing reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Essentials of Pathophysiology by Prepare your students for their future careers with Essentials of Pathophysiology: Concepts of Altered Health States, 4e. This clear, readable, and student-friendly text delivers "need to know" disease content, along with the essential foundation in science that nursing, physician assistant, pharmacology, advanced health science, and medical students need to succeed in their future careers. Approaching the topic as an exploration of pathophysiology, the book relates normal body functioning to the physiologic changes that occur as a result of disease and provides concise yet complete coverage of how the body works. The Fourth Edition builds on the book''s extremely successful art program and the "Understanding" feature and incorporates summary concept boxes after each section. In addition, an expanded, robust, and flexible suite of supplements, including a Study Guide, over 40 advanced 3-D animations, PrepU, and Lippincott''s CoursePoint , provide students with all the tools they need to succeed. Student Resources: A fully searchable eBook online is ideal for review on the go. Learning Objectives for each chapter provide an outline of key content that must be mastered. Journal Articles by chapter, updated for this edition, offer access to current research available in LWW journals. Concepts in Action Animations for every chapter help students master key topics. New! More than 40 Advanced, 3-D Narrated Animations help students master complex pathophysiological concepts. A Spanish-English Audio Glossary provides terms and phrases for communicating with patients in Spanish. Monographs of the most commonly prescribed drugs provide up-to-date information. 600 NCLEX-style Review Questions help students improve their test-taking skills and prepare for the NCLEX. A Dosage Calculations Question & Review Question Bank gives students practice in math skills and calculating drug dosages and reinforce key topics of the course. Instructor Resources: PowerPoint presentations make it easy for you to integrate the textbook with your students'' classroom experience, via either handouts or slide shows. Guided Lecture Notes walk you through the chapters, objective by objective, and provide corresponding PowerPoint numbers. Discussion Topics (and suggested answers) can be used as a conversation starter or in online discussion boards. Assignments (and suggested answers) include group, written, clinical, and Web assignments. Case Studies (with related questions and suggested answers) give your students an opportunity to apply their knowledge to a client case similar to what they will encounter in practice. Journal Articles, updated for this edition, offer access to research available in LWW journals. Answers to Review Exercises in the Book are provided for your convenience. Pre-Lecture Quizzes (and answers) are quick, knowledge-based assessments that allow you to check students'' reading. Learning Objectives for each chapter allow you to assess your students'' mastery of key skills. A QSEN Map demonstrates how the text supports QSEN competencies and their relationship to excellent clinical practice. A Sample Syllabus provides guidance for structuring your course. Concepts in Action Animations and Advanced 3-D Narrated Animations are provided to enhance your lectures. To further support your course, the Fourth Edition is accompanied by a Study Guide, PrepU , and new to this edition, Lippincott CoursePoint, a digital curriculum solution that integrates adaptive learning powered by PrepU with access to personalized, perfectly timed remediation built on trusted content. Each product in the suite can be purchased separately or packaged with the main text.
Call Number: 616.07 POR
Publication Date: 2015
Pathophysiology and Pharmacology for Nursing Students by Carefully designed to provide an integrated introduction to both the biology of disease and the therapeutic agents that are used to manage them, this book considers the underlying pathology of many common illnesses and diseases but by focusing on those conditions which have a pharmacological intervention is able to provide nurses with a broader understanding of bioscience that reflects care given in practice. It covers the basics of pharmacology, the core pathological concepts of inflammation, infection and cancer as well as a systems-based consideration of the pathophysiology and relevant pharmacology of common disorders. Providing the ideal starting point for student nurses to develop a robust, integrated knowledge of human disease and pharmacology, this book will enable them to provide care based on up-to-date knowledge of this important subject.
Call Number: 615.1 ASH
Publication Date: 2016
Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions by Learn the essential concepts of major diseases/disorders and disease processes. Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions, 6th Edition is a concise, easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of pathophysiology. Continuing in its well-known tradition of readability and vivid, full-color illustrations, the text is updated with the latest research and trends in human disease. Disorders are described by body system, with coverage of the interactions between systems, and special features help you to apply the material to real-life situations. No matter which healthcare field you may enter, this book provides solid preparation for the conditions you may encounter in clinical practice. Updated graphics help you recognize and identify various concepts and specific disorders through enhanced flowcharts, photos, and illustrations. Concise and readable approach includes the information you need without overwhelming you, even if you have a limited scientific background. Format for individual disorder discussions includes 1) background, 2) pathophysiology, 3) etiology, 4) signs and symptoms, 5) diagnoses, 6) possible related complications/disorders, and 7) treatments/research. UNIQUE! Apply Your Knowledge questions ask you to use what you've learned to predict What can go wrong with this structure or system, transitioning you from normal anatomy and physiology into pathophysiology. UNIQUE! Think About questions alert you to important points and help with self-evaluation, test preparation, and review. Warning Signs boxes help in identifying the pre-emptive signs of physiologic events such as strokes. Emergency Treatment boxes give step-by-step instructions to follow for emergencies such as shock, cardiac arrest, and pneumothorax. Research boxes discuss new developments, problem areas of pathophysiology, and complications associated with research. Key terms, learning objectives, and bulleted chapter summaries help you focus on key concepts and information. NEW! All chapters updated to include new data on major diseases and other changes in guidelines and the literature, reflecting latest developments in pathophysiology including, updated drug therapy content, expanded coverage of viruses, new cancer treatments, new research on the links between mental health and biochemical/physiologic factors, and much more! NEW! Streamlined narrative content enhances the readability of imperative information.
Call Number: 616.07 HUB
Publication Date: 2018
Understanding Pathophysiology by Master the important pathophysiology concepts you need to know with the most engaging and reader-friendly text available. Filled with vibrant illustrations and complemented by online resources that bring pathophysiology concepts to life, Understanding Pathophysiology, 6th Edition continues its tradition of delivering the most accurate information on treatments, manifestations, and mechanisms of disease across the lifespan, giving you the fundamental knowledge needed to move forward in your nursing education and career. New additions include a new chapter on epigenetics, new content on rare diseases, a separate chapter for male and female reproductive alterations, streamlined features, simplified language, and fully updated information throughout. Introduction to Pathophysiology in the front matter section provides intro to the subject of pathophysiology and explains why it is important. Consistent presentation helps readers better distinguish pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment for each disease. More than 1,000 high-quality illustrations vividly depict clinical manifestations and cellular mechanisms underlying diseases. Lifespan coverage details age-specific conditions affecting pediatric, adult, and aging patients in depth. Algorithms throughout the text clarify disease progression. Risk Factor boxes alert readers to important safety considerations associated with specific diseases. Health Alert boxes highlight new developments in biologic research, diagnostic studies, preventive care, treatments, and more. Quick Check boxes test readers' retention of important chapter concepts. Geriatric Considerations boxes and Pediatric Considerations boxes highlight key considerations for these demographics in relevant chapters. Did You Understand? sections provide a fast and efficient review of chapter content. Chapter outlines help readers find specific information with ease. Chapter introductions explain why chapter content is important and how it fits into a broader health care context. Key terms are bolded throughout the text for fast, easy reference. Glossary of selected terms familiarizes readers with the most difficult or important terminology. Additional online resources on Evolve companion website offers access to animations, review questions, key terms matching exercises, and more. NEW! Chapter on Epigenetics gives students knowledge and insight into key processes that influence normal and abnormal cell growth and development. NEW! Streamlined tables and flowcharts make information easier to access. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest clinical findings and research across the full spectrum of pathophysiology. NEW! Additional content on rare diseases gives students a more comprehensive understanding of conditions that affect the human body. NEW! Division of Alterations of the Reproductive Systems chapter will now cover male and female reproductive systems in separate chapters. NEW! 25 additional illustrations bring key concepts to life.
Call Number: 616.07 HUE
Publication Date: 2017
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 14th Edition by The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Call Number: 615.1 KAT
Publication Date: 2017
Introducing Pharmacology by This third edition of Introducing Pharmacology provides an accessible and engaging introduction to the subject of pharmacology for nursing and healthcare students - and anyone needing to refresh their knowledge of this important area. The third edition recognises that many nursing and healthcare courses are now requiring students to engage with the subject of pharmacology at a higher level. Accordingly, this edition has been reinforced with more advanced pharmacology that will help these students, but without losing the clarity and accessibility of earlier editions. This popular text includes: * Clear explanations of how drugs work in the human body * The underlying physiology and pathophysiology necessary for an understanding of the action of drugs * Coverage of the common drug groups that nurses and other healthcare professionals are likely to encounter in practice * Case-studies, relating pharmacological theory to clinical practice * An extensive glossary of key terms and definitions New to this edition: A new 'beyond the basics' feature, providing a deeper explanation of the mechanism of action of key drugs, supporting students studying at a more advanced level A new section covering drugs for the treatment of nausea and labyrinthine disorders An expanded chapter on drug metabolism and pharmacokinetics Enhanced and more detailed illustrations Updated content that reflects latest guidelines and recently licensed drugs
Call Number: 615.1 MCF
Publication Date: 2019
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology by Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology continues to be an accessible and comprehensive introductory text to pathophysiology, written specifically for nursing and healthcare students to assist in the understanding of human anatomy, and the complex disease patterns that affect normal physiology. Thoroughly updated, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, this new edition incorporates additional learning features including reflective questions at the end of each chapter, investigation boxes, medication alerts, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, vital signs boxes relating to physiological measurements as well as inclusion of the National Early Warning Score. With emphasis placed on a multidisciplinary approach, Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology highlights the importance of contemporary, safe, and effective practice in an environment in which the delivery of care is constantly evolving.
Call Number: 616.07 PEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Pathophysiology by Stressed about the ins and outs of pathophysiology? Gain confidence, with the newly updated PathophysiologyMade Incredibly Easy!®, 6th Edition.Offering helpful learning aids that boost your understanding and retention, this colorfully illustrated, enjoyable text offers all the vitals: cell development, the infection process, cancer warning signs, abnormal cell growth, and more. Packed with easy-to-remember definitions and plentiful illustrations, this supportive guide is the ideal study partner and on-the-job reference for new nurses, students, and all healthcare practitioners.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018